We were not led by a woman: Ikorodu bank robbers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

We were not led by a woman: Ikorodu bank robbers

The Ikorodu bank robbery suspects that were paraded at the Lagos state Police command yesterday July 6th , said contrary to what many believed, no woman led their 18-man gang in the robbery attack they conducted on two banks in Ikorordu on June 24th.

The robbers,  Omoboye, alias Alarm blow, 39; Bright Agbojule, 25; Ikuesan, 37, and Abiwa, 20. during interrogation said some of their members were recruited from Warri, Delta state and that they planned the robbery incident in about 30 minutes.

Cars they bought with the stolen loot
25 year old Bright Agbojule who is a married man with two children said a meeting with members of the gang, led by the gang’s leader whom he identified as 'Million', was held in Abule area of Lagos same day the operation was carried out. He said they stole N80 million and he was given N2 million

He said:
"Million is our leader. I was introduced to the gang by a friend named Akpan. I joined because I had no means of feeding my family. I am a wood logger, but business has been bad. Akpan took me to the gang’s meeting same day of the operation, on June 24, at Abule Ishawo area of Ikorodu". 
"Those of us from Lagos included myself, M. O., Kelvin, S. K. Careboy and Million, while the rest were recruited from Warri, Delta State, by Million. He also brought eight rifles and two pump action guns from Warri, including the two operational vehicles. He taught us how to aim at our targets during the meeting, which lasted 30 minutes, with each of us instructed on what to do on reaching the venue". 
 "My role was to stand outside, with one of the pump action guns, shooting sporadically. I was also instructed to shoot at anyone who dared to intrude, while the boys recruited from Warri confronted the police. I had over 900 cartridges. At the end of the operation, we escaped in a fibre boat and went to the creeks, where the loot was shared". 
"At the creeks, we analysed the operation and Million said we did well, promising to use us for subsequent operations. I was not allowed to go near where the money was counted. Million and other leaders counted the money. But Akpan told me they got N80 million". 
He added:
"I was given N2 million. I bought a Lexus SUV for N1.5 million and I gave my wife N30,000 to enrol for an exam. I also gave some of my friends out of it and also bought jerry cans for my brother, who is a pipeline vandal. Million instructed those from Warri to set the operational vehicles ablaze before leaving the scene. That was after the numbers plates were removed".
"He collected the cost of the cars from the loot before sharing the rest among us. That was my first time of joining them. I did not go with them to the Lekki and Ijede banks operations.”

PM News

128 comments:

For all i care those boys paraded may not even be d real robbers, probably forced to confess to the crime to cover d face n dignity of d police force.. No be naija? Next.

Dem still get mouth to talk?

May God forgive

Imagine, oloshi men. Kirikiri here they come

Let justice take it's due course.

COLLIN said...

Those stupid bokoharam pple on uniform alwyz beating pple on d road,shud berra cme nd do wht dey do best

Evil pple....I pray dey get wat dey deserve

Lib's namesake*

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Just look at some people's hubby and bf
Odiegwu!

Thank God these robbers were caught on time. Either u were led by a lady or not, U guys still remains the most dreaded criminals that terrorized Lagos recently n u should be jailed

Hmmmm! Maybe one of them dressed or had the looks of a woman. Even if it's your first time, you're a bloody criminal. If you joined bcos of money to feed your family, then why did you buy an SUV first? Nothing you say, will justify your act.

See ur Life? What a way o end it.

Dave Mide said...

Stupid guy! You didnt have money prior to the operation but after the looting the first thing u did was buy an SUV ?? serzly? who does that ? scumbag!

Luvly4luv said...

Waterloo! End of d road for u all

THE NAIJAGRAPHY BLOG said...

Ur share of loot was N2m and you used N1.5m to buy a car?! This is not stupid but STOOPID.

Who cares.....dem sha don catch una....

Nuelcode

Nawah oooh

haryodele said...

Within 30mins? Una try o, but d show is over nw n u gat kirikiri ahead of ya n that ur kids will have to suffer 2× what they were suffering before because of ur impatience. N u couldn't even do something meaningful sef. Out of 2mill u bought a car of 1.5. Na wa o, poverty mentality.

I don't think I believe the Nigerian police force o.
How are we sure these are the culprits maybe they just went to pick some people on the streets.
Very soon they would bring another female as the leader of the gang.

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

99 days for d thief...

I can virtually say that this boys were staged, I usually don't comment on blogs, but this one ehn, police don lie. I hope it's not to make sure that the matter dies and it's buried because trust Nigerians, as soon as they hear this we don believe. The reports self no join. Imagine! With that kind operation wey run so smooth, they just dey give one stupid haphazard explanation even if dem no dey write thief for head this guys just look like agberos wey dem tip come tell say make them pretend like say na dem do am. To me this whole bunch are fakes, the real thieves or armed robbers are yet to be caught. Am sure they are laughing thier asses out when they see this whole lies and fake report nonsense

Beloved #CHIVIDO 2020 said...

You re not a correct guy o... Ur mouth na basket

~~~PINKY

I dnt believe nigeria police lai lai ... This could be a confession borne out of torure

Who then taught him how to shoot a gun, if he was just recruited that same day and in thirty minutes. Lair. May God have mercy on you all.

Story for the gods. Welcome to ur new free apartment. Mugu

Foolish man, you make 2 million and spend more than half of it on a car? This is why you rob people, because you are too stupid to do something meaningful with your life. How is it you are married sir?!!

There's something fishy about this story...just saying though

I know, they will catch u all...MUMU

Hang em all.

Innocentia Annie said...

Stole 80 million
Given 2 million
Then bought SUV of 1.5 million
Gave his wife 30k
Mtchewwww!!!!!!
That's how to spend money u didn't suffer for
You guyz will rot in jail

Upon not say i be warri product, my liver no reach so.

warri no dey carry last.lol.. Warri boys are fearless hence they were recruited to confront the police cos if na lagos boys dem use those ones no get liver...

The law should deal with these miscreants

Some pple sha.....Business has been bad...but U didnt invest d 2million in d business or any oda business......Bot car 1.5M....to do wat...wen U dont have a job dat provides u money constantly....

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Same stories all the time! U had no means of feeding ur family b4 d operation and d first thing u did after d operation was to buy LEXUS SUV for 1.5m. Oloshi!!!

I don't know y I don't believe this story up here.

@gidifinest! said...

Abeg shoot this criminal

Mek una free dem joor afta all na govt moni wey no even reach d one wey our leadas dey steal evryday

See what poverty has turned this man into

biggiesmalls said...

Hmm Nigeria mentality inside 2m u went and buy 1.5 SUV so u no sabi do business

biggiesmalls said...

Mumu

Endydecency said...

Fool they gave you 2million out of 80million. I said it before where were their wives and girl friends because besides every armed. Robber there is a woman. Warri no dey take last only on evil and negative things. God must punish all of you.

Of course every thief claims that it's their first time. Linda take note!

Okowright Balaxy said...

Sorry man, you guys weren't smart enough, you received two million and decided to waste 1.5 million to buy a car instead of investing. Na so Satan wan use expose ona...

Of course every thief claims that it's their first time. Linda take note!

All the police went to OTUOKE dat day @Fashola.frm Ihiala

Unbelievable

Sincerely their operations was very smooth indicating a chief master planner but some of them need to b taught how to lay low after such operations. Thank God no life was lost during their operations.

They should b punished accordingly so dat it wil serve as deterrent to others.

U own don finish

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

Make sure dis Is not an innocent people dat polish caught and name them theif. And they accepted it becus of touture they receive in d in polish costudy. See meooo

Typical Nigerian, packagers anonymous, u make 2million and buy a car for 1.5 million chaii diarrizz god ooo.

U can run but can't hide.

Thank God, they met their Waterloo

I knw dere where nt from lag I knw it! I was tellin som ppl n dey didn't believe me!

Hw do we knw ds pple were nt forced to make a wrong confessional statement? People there said they saw a girl who led the gang now we hearing a different thing... I can never believe the nigerian police... They r no diff frm robbers

does it matter how many you went to? they will soon bribe their way out.

You've not started oh! Spill more. Una go die gor prison. Idiotssss.

Ladybird banks.birdlover said...

Jesus christ.....sars can Mk u confess Ur mother is a witch

QL Homes said...

Order for original Raulph Lauren Polo. Male: #2,300. Female: #2,000. Delivery Nation wide. 2754B912, 08130373753

Whether you stole once or twice, a thief is a thief.

But you will go with them to kirikiri..

Buh u will follow dem to kirikiri don't worry.

FRESH said...

Wow! Nigerian criminals are really getting brazen.Our police should really understand their mandate.No policeman should flee from an armed robber as long as unarmed civilians are in danger.It's always going to be a call to duty.If you die in the line of duty, everyone would know what you did.Stop shaming us.if you can't cope,leave the job.

GUD FOR DEM...TOMJERRYSWIT

I rilly wnt 2 giv it 2 d Nigerian Police Force 4 a well done job. If dey could fish out d robbers in jes 1week aftr d robbery, it is a good job frm dem. My question is, where were d patrols al through d operation lasted? Ikorodu is an environ I stay. Ishawo in ikorodu is a big hide-out of criminals nd hoodlums in Lagos state. Linda, please make dis known to the Authorities so dat lifes and properties could be saved! I salute the courage and efforts of the Inspector General, Arase Solomon.

One thing i know is that NPF should stopped fooling us or they think everyone in Nigeria are deaf and dump? These guys are not the robbers that came to ikorodu because they once we saw the first day along ijede are able men and bold not all this once way be say na fuel them dey sell. If this guys said Woman is not among them, that means we that saw them are seeing something else. they should wise up and learn to write genuine news.

THIS IS JUST A SCRIPT

Dnt knw wht ti blv...

He really would follow Dem to kirikiri, why is dat after every robbery case d confession is always the same it's my first time I was taken der by my friend, am a carpenter but no work am a firewood seller but no work am beginning to doubt the Police force are u sure these guys are robbers or u pay Dem to say dese things cos dis new commissioner seems to catch every thief. Munachi

@ejiro, I am reasoning along ur thought bcos wit d way, and manner d operation was carried out shows it was masterminded by an expert dat u wil, and can never apprehended even in d next world to come.

Sincerely their operations was very smooth indicating a chief master planner but some of them need to b taught how to lay low after such operations. Thank God no life was lost during their operations.

They should b punished accordingly so dat it wil serve as deterrent to others.

This story doesn't sound right to the ears, i perceive lies.

D operations was effortlessly executed witout any hitches despite d presence of police station in dat environs.

Dis shows d guys behind d act r core professional in their trade, and u don't messed around wit such people bcos they r ever ready to wippe out any obstacle in their way.

I don't think our police force can combact them wit d sophiscated weapons they possess.

cocked up stories,this aint they robbers,you cant plan that operation for just 30mins.....na liar jo.......it will take months......naija police,corrupt force.....

My thoughts exactly. My neighbour was once tortured to write a statement that he was a robber. Thank God for prayers

My thought exactly. My neighbour was in one of the banks and he said a female kept telling them not to kill anybody.

These might just be random people picked up at night. My cousin was tortured to write a statement that he was an armed robber. Thank God for prayers

ASAMPOKOTO said...

I'm 100% sure that these guys are not the robbers.

My colleague said a girl was giving the orders and instructed the gang members not to kill anyone

Staged

Thank God they have been captured

ASAMPOKOTO said...

I'm 100% sure that these guys are not the robbers.

Wjp gives a fcuk abt ur opinion......they never consider human beings finish, come be tooth pick like u

Exactly my tots#Gbam#. It's only in Nigeria one will see a police office kill a bike man cuz of egunje,but report he's an armed robber.

Idiot.......its obvious u didn't read the psot......

Oga investigator how you take know?

Lol 9ja police i hail Una Na woman lead that team.

ALL I CAN SAY HERE IS HMMMMMMMMMMM
WHAT A WORLD, THEY DIDNT EVEN USE THE MOOTED MONEY FOR ANY THING REASONABLE

Lmao

I live in around Abule Oba where the proposed planning took place and I'm very certain these guys are part of the culprits. The Ijaw boys in that area hide under the pretence of pipe vandaliation but they are actually armed robbers. You need to see the way they run the street. They are always dressed in camouflag and carry gun up and down the street like they owned it. They even made it worse now and decalre war on any law enforcement that comes to the area. Recently they still killed a soldier who came to escort some goods. The lekki robbery also, those they caught mentioned the name of the gang leader and it's that same guy I often see acting like a president in the street. I wish they get nabbed soon. Idiots!!!!!!

emi said...

I believe these guys were coerced to confess to committing these crimes. The story looks like a poorly cooked one. There's no way they would have planned this type of robbery in 30mins. I am sure the real thieves are laughing at them in one corner...prob reading this blog too and shaking their heads.

leah said...

If they are the real robbers which one is ricko?

Oby said...

I don't believe this. Our policemen normally use innocent people they arrests on the street, level allegations on them compelling them to confess to the crimes. they do this trying to show they are working. They are evil. It has happened to someone I know. He slept their over night outside ooooo. He witnessed them killing and throwing dead bodies. They even tortured him. in fact, we need serious prayers in this country. That was how they said they caught some of those that robbed in Lekki and we didn't hear anything about it again. This is a lie.

There's no way they can be innocent either. For you to be connected to a crime, you must have been mixing with the wrong crowd and have played a role in the crime. Now, he can drive his lexus jeep in his dreams while chilling in a hot prison cell. Kpele

COMING SOON!
THE COUNTDOWN BEGINS!!
JULY 15TH!!!

[Music] LYNDY _ MY HERO [A TRIBUTE TO DR GOODLUCK JONATHAN]

My hero is a tribute to Dr Goodluck Jonathan appreciating his achievements and efforts towards making Nigeria great, for being a true
democrat and for preserving our peace and unity.

IT DROPS ON JULY 15TH!!!
YOU DON'T WANNA MISS THIS!!!

Follow on twitter: @ Lyndymk

Ade Joke said...

You still dey doubt? You sef.

Amy said...

They might be real or they might be fake. The thing is that any robbery that has to do with the waterways are usually successful. Nigerians always think robberies are always perpetuated from land only. See the one that happened at Lekki and how successful it was carried out.
And we claim we have police check points. Meanwhile the guns were transported from Warri to Lagos. I guess they were hidden in sacks of beans or baskets of tomatoes. Nonsense.

These ones cannot be the robbers, the police are just looking for cheap popularity. There was this incident in 2006, zenith bank, ogudu road. The robbers look well fed. This once look so hungry and cannot carry out such operations... The Nigeria Police should wake up to their civic responsibility of protecting lives and properties and not parading street urchins and touts as robbers...

stanloo! said...

This is a back yard story I don't believe it

U av no faith. I doubt if u believe in God.....fOr those who doesn't believe in human can't believe in God.

All this story were false. How can an operation last for hours and no security agencies show face. now they were telling us that na investigation arrest dem. Naija wit fake stories. the real robbers were not yet to be identified cause Arm handling is not for untrained. Mtcheeewwww let police provide finger print or foot print obtained from the Banking hall and trace or track the real robbers.

First time I'd ever agree with your comment Onyx.
These are not the robbers. The real robbers are sitting abck and watching the whole nollywood NPF is acting. Awon weerey wey no know their job.

Lols. As in who does that? Oloshi.

yeah that's it but are they being caught, if govt is bad masses should use your brain. just saying

Well said

Xsmart04 said...

Thats my thought as well

Yeah, cause you are one of the real armed robbers that attacked

I believe with little iota of truth that these guys are the real thieves. Such experience have happened before I left Nigeria, and that was when I knew it will take more than a century if ever Nigeria especially the police force would be rid from corruption ..Some classmate of mine where arrested while coming back at night from the club and taken to the station , the next morning we saw all over the newspaper that the highways robbers have been arrested . If not for the fact that we were together studying for exams the day the robbery happened i would have thought these innocent student were thieves, it took the intervention of the governor for them to be released .Imagine they were just poor innocent people with no connection with the governor, they would have rotted in jail .Nigerian police are worst than devil. If indeed these are the thieves then kudos to the police force, but if these are not the thieves may the burning fire from hell consume the police ...

TONIA GREEN said...

Only Got knows.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

U may be right. I hv heard of cases like that o.

The guy shud be jailed 4 mis management of money....hw can u hav 2m and you bought 1.5m naira car....meanin u are not plannin 2 stop robbery soon...give others 20yrs buh giv this fool 40 I just pity ya wife and children

I see sense here....those guys were professional and who every dt planned dt robbery ws a genuis...there no way naija po po can get those robber within a space of 2weeks lie lie..this mayb armed robbers that were in prison already...som eye witness saidd they a woman ws among...now they are saying another tin just 2 make the story look real,,

Bless you Onyx, many of us think it so too. They could be arranged for media. If eye witness said a lady was their gang leader and they are here saying something different, calls to question there authenticity.

To buttress your point, those vehicles doesn't look new. Fake news. Maybe the police station opposite the bank collaborated with them

Well,God knows the best

Well GODknows the best

I dont need a soothsayer to tell me these guys are not the thieves dat robbed the banks in ikorodu!! I find it very hard to believe it... NPF shouldnt fool us!

d story did not explain how the police managed to catch the robbers after the initial successful operation.hence its possible these are not the real robbers.

Alfie Fijikori said...

Fake Confession. How can a wood logger speak or write such good English? ?? Something is surely amiss. #CantheNPFbetrusted

THE STORY LINDA FIRST GAVE US WAS THAT THE BOYS LOOKED SOPHISTICATED. THESE ONES LOOK VERY LOCAL AND LIKE ILLITERATES. ABEG POLICE IS CORRUPT AND HAVE A HAND IN THIS.

Statement or story is cunny somehow. The first story was that there were lots of money in the lexus jeep when the military men stopped the owner but now the owner of the lexus said he got 2million from the raid and he bought the car 1.5mill. So where did he get the 1000naira notes stashed in the car(lexus). Naija police sef nawa o

mary nwa mama said...

so with all the money they stole they could only buy these old used cars. these cars look very old and nothing close to a car bought for 1.5 million. are we sure these are not staged, everything is possible in Nigeria. even forcing people to confess to a crime they did not commit.

NPF n der drama, I think oga @ d top shd look in2 dis matter b4 d oga 4 down suffer dis innocent pple

caesar said...

Nigerian police is organisation worst than any terrorist gang in d world. Even if this guy's ar d actual robbers, it'll take miracle 2 convince me

THE FIRST STORY WE HEARD WAS THAT THE MEN LOOKED SOPHISTICATED BUT THESE ONES LOOK LOCAL AND LIKE ILLITERATES. ABEG POLICE HAVE A HAND IN THIS JARE.

Hahahahaha this is so funny abeg linda Ikeji don't fool us Abeg,let's be realistic about it Biko this are not the robbers i was there live and direct and dint c this people the people that robbed are able bodied youths not this palm wine tapper men Abeg lets be realistic,story too funny.Nigeria police thinks we are fools or what ??una Don collect bribe abi??hian what nonsense Abeg

MentallyU.Org said...

Terrible

Can someone please tell me how this men were caught? i seem not to get it