Man who killed his son and left another almost dead is spared jail term by judge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

Man who killed his son and left another almost dead is spared jail term by judge

A dangerous driver who killed his young son and left another with life-changing injuries has been spared jail by a judge who said the father had suffered enough. Abdul Mosa, 43, was driving on the wrong side of the road when his family's car hit a lorry head-on, killing his seven-year-old, Alin, and injuring six-year-old Ara.

The family from Leeds, West Yorkshire, had been returning from a holiday in France and had just left the Channel Tunnel terminal in their Kia Soul when they crashed on the A20 at Hythe, Kent.

Mosa's wife, Huzan, and one-year-old daughter, Arda, were also seriously hurt in the collision last August, while lorry driver Anthony Brown was left with career-threatening injuries.

Mosa escaped with just minor injuries, thanks to his airbag, and sobbed loudly as Canterbury Crown Court heard how he cradled dying Alin in his arms.

The court was also told that two of the children were not wearing seat belts, and that Mosa had ignored other motorists as they tried to warn him he was going the wrong way.

Mosa admitted five charges of causing death and serious injury by dangerous driving and was facing a prison sentence as a deterrent, only for Judge James O'Mahony to spare him from jail. 
'I do not know a greater deterrent for this defendant to know his mistake ended up with the killing of his own child,' said Judge O'Mahony.

Stephen Shay, prosecuting, said Mosa had just exited the Eurotunnel and had travelled at least 200 yards in the right-hand lane - ignoring clear signs posted along the route.

'It would seem that he simply forgot and was driving in European conditions,' said Mr Shay. 'This was a mistake, a brief mistake with appalling consequences.'
Mosa later told police he thought he was on a one way road - but the prosecution added the clear road markings made that unlikely.
Lorry driver Mr Brown spent eight days in hospital after suffering a series of fractures to his right arm.

And he is now unable to use one of his fingers, which was injured when part of the Kia's roof rack was hurled through the lorry's windscreen in the impact of the crash.
Andrew Nuttall, mitigating, said little Ara will now 'never lead a normal life' because of his injuries.
He said: 'This is an appalling case which arose out of a simple mistake.
'This defendant started his punishment the moment his son died in his arms and he realised the enormity of his mistake.
'The harsh reality is that this defendant is going to be punished every minute of the rest of his life.

'He has to live with the consequences of his mistake... there can be no greater punishment in this world than that.'

The court heard that Mosa was now 'the glue' holding his 'fragile family' together, and Judge O'Mahony added that despite the aggravating features in the case, jailing him would probably result in his surviving children being taken into care because his wife was unable to cope.
He said: 'That would further punish the victims of these offences.'

Instead, Judge O'Mahony imposed a two year sentence, suspended for two years, and banned Mosa from driving for three years.

Source: Mail Online

46 comments:

Devil doer!

Wat abt justice?

BabaGoSlow said...

Pity. But omo we dey take one-way everyday for Lagos o.

What do you think about President Muhammadu Buhari's progress in office? Is he really BabaGoSlow? Click here to have your say.

Nawa oh!

You need to Read this..If you're still in Love with your EX.

Fuck your opinion said...

Who am I to judge? It's God giving him another Chance. Hope he makes use of it well.

olaniyan tosin said...

this is terrible, mehn.. its spiritual

'He has to live with the consequences of his mistake... there can be no greater punishment in this world than that.' better said.

Imagine, wich kind mumu judge be that

Eeyyaahhh......I feel for him. This is what a moment of mistake can cause.

WTF?! Was he high on kerosene?

A.K.A LIB'ier

HMMMMMMMM.....TOMJERRYSWIT

I agree,he's suffered enough.If care is not taken,the guilt and trauma can send him to the grave.

Well the judge is kinda right. Linda take note!

Fair judgement

He made a dangerous mistake.....the judge may be right to spare him though....wish his family quick recovery & rest in peace to d lil boy.

HEARD!!!

Even without jail....His conscience will prick him for long...

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

What a punishment to live with for the rest of his life. A mistake anyone can make from UK to EU conditions. But kids must wear seat belts. I am sure he will never drive again.

Bierbieklaus said...

Awwwww...
That judge with a heart of gold.
He has been punished enough and will live with the guilt all his life

Bierbieklaus said...

Awwwww...

TONIA GREEN said...

Truly a brief mistake with appalling consequences. It's a pity though.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

Bierbieklaus said...

Awwwww...

Bierbieklaus said...

Awwwww...

#It Is Well!

Can't happen in 9ja.

Linda cogitate

I agreed with the judge,the father had suffered enough,his son died in his arm is an image that wld forever be with him till he dies just becos of a silly mistake...

hmmm

His son's death is punishment enough! Jail would have changed nothing!!!

Iam_Blaise said...

Having to lose a Child because of your deeds is hard enough. . He will be stigmatized forever

No greater punishment than killing his own son out of his own mistake. Is that a kind judgement or sending him to an early grave. I doubt if the man will ever remain sane again.

Pathetic! The sentence is actually reasonable.

see heading.. u go think say he carry knife slaughter him pickin. So cos of an accident that got him to loose a son and leave d other kinda handicap, they shld kill him by hanging? U don't know what he has bn going through blaming himself all these days.. pple and judging others.. u know how many stubborn drivers we have arnd these days in Nigeria, that don't keep to rules, especially in Lagos..

Wise judge.very wise!

Well dis is solely@d discretion of d judge dat use her compassionate heart to grant dis mercy, and justice. Definitely she knows better.

Fair judgemet..

He as sentence himsf alrdy by killing his own son

Nky said...

indeed he has suffered enough.

Nkwobi na Isiewu said...

Did u even read the story? What greater punishment is loosing a son and having his other child disabled? If he is thrown in jail,how will the family survive? Mumu! Just to comment first na him be ur own

caesar said...

Oyinbo dey judge wit sense na... in Naija d only tin judges ar gud at is adjournment and kirikiri maximum

Oooooooooh my...!

Good judgment

Why would u refer to an accident as killing?

Why would Linda refer to an accident as killing. Aah abeg d man don suffer enough

Innocentia Annie said...

He will forever be traumatized
No punishment is harder than this
I pity the man

hmmmmm

So sad