Impeachment rally against Gov. Aregbesola to take place today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

Impeachment rally against Gov. Aregbesola to take place today

Civil Societies’ Coalition for Emancipation of Osun State, CSCEO is organizing an impeachment rally against Governor Rauf Aregbesola’s impeachment and they say they have the support of the Osun State indigenes.

According to the group at a press briefing held in Osogbo yesterday, over 20 civil and faith based societies who are members of CSCEO are already mobilising their members towards the mass rally.
The group’s Chairman, Comrade Adeniyi Sulaiman Alimi, gave the names of association ready for the rally as The Voices, KIMPACT, Centre for Human Rights and Social Justice, Grassroot Democratic Network, Christian Initiative for Nation Building, Christian Leadership Mobilisation and Better Future Initiative.
Alimi explained that over three petitions including the one sent by a state serving judge, Justice Folaranmi Oloyede, calling for Aregbesola’s probe and impeachment are presently before members of the state House of Assembly and the Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC).

Meanwhile, APC is blaming the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Iyiola Omisore and his party responsible for any breach of the peace in the state.
The party, in a statement by the Directorate of Publicity, Research and Strategy yesterday said it was aware of plans by a group of profiteers who were being sponsored by Omisore and his party to unleash violence on the state, using the issue of workers’ salaries as camouflage.
Specifically we must alert the whole world to a threat issued by Omisore on June 14 this year at the secretariat of the PDP in Osogbo where he promised members of his party that he was prepared to make this state ungovernable for Governor Rauf Aregesola.
We are therefore certain that the crisis being orchestrated in the state is to get what the people of Osun denied him through a democratic process on August 9, 2014. This was his resolution after the Supreme Court decision which finally sealed his ambition  through a pronouncement on May 27, this year.
We are using this medium to inform the public and the media to be wary of activities of this set of opportunists who are the real profiteers behind the undeserved focus on Osun among the more than 20 states that are currently facing salary challenges.
The APC government under Aregbesola in Osun has been having very fruitful negotiations with the labour and we can therefore say without any contradiction that the labour has no hand in this proposed protest.’’
The PDP in response said;
“PDP observe with disillusion the allegation by Aregbesola and his paid agents that Otunba Iyiola Omisore and PDP are sponsoring workers to protest unpaid salaries.’’
A statement by the PDP spokesperson in Osun state, Prince Diran Odeyemi added, “It is unfortunate that the sinking government still be engaging in buck passing when he should be busy looking for money to settle unpaid salaries and allowances of workers.
“In the last one week, we have not issued any statement because we observe workers are rising to the occasion to fight for their rights.
“We are not involved as a party, Omisore is not involved and will never be party to any act of lawlessness but we demand from the governor to explain if he has paid these workers.
“Have they been paid their salaries? If no, whatever the steps they take inasmuch as such is within the ambit of the law, nothing can stop workers from demanding for their rights.

Vanguard

39 comments:

Their whala jare

Okpemu!

75billion said...

Very serious situation in Osun state

Why naa...its unfair

Politricians are all the same. This wouldnt have happen during his 4t term

Allybrownny said...

See him face,looks funny n dry,Lol

When he refuse to pay workers for months nko?

Beloved #CHIVIDO 2020 said...

The political Thussle between This two parties will never end

~~~PINKY

Beloved #CHIVIDO 2020 said...

The political Thussle between This two parties will never end

WAR WITHOUT END

~~~PINKY

Omisore is behind this one. Shameless man.

Na wa oooo. Politicians and drama

kemikane said...

That's better cos am sure he can't pay up all that money. This man is d biggest clown of a govenor.

PDP is right on these

Na wa oooo. Politicians and drama

But y? He's not d only one owing his workers na

Aregbe has tried I think he should go and rest

meggy said...

Am so in support of his impeachment as well

Abraham Ndu said...

Hmmmmmm

Pay them thier salaries

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

His impeachment is long overdue.

Okowright Balaxy said...

Aregbesola should resign in shame with his goat beard. Enough of clueless leaders.

All the best to him. Linda take note!

Endydecency said...

Even on the Ramadan period APC Alfa refuse to pay the state workers so that they will also break their own fast, shame.

Collins said...

he deserves it........pls click my name

I don't like the man anyway, it's a welcome development

I dey laugh (in Obj's voice).

I pray dis issue of salaries should b resolve asap in order to bring abt peace in Osun. I wish them well.

WATEVER....TOMJERRYSWIT

Osun APC is so shameless. I expect them to hide their faces in shame and remain silent until this difficult period passes. How can a governor whose name means friend owe his workers for 8months and did not quickly resign?He should be ashamed that after deceiving the people of Osun state into voting for him, he has no plans to better the lots of his people. In saner climes, he should resign.

By d grace of God dis salaries issue wil b a tin of d past in Osun. Its well wit them.

Dat juju Man!!

#BushBeninBoy

OSUN LAWMAKERS SHOULD SEEK REFUGE IN EKITI AND FAYOSE SHOULD GIVE THEM 250M LIKE THIS HE-GOAT DID DURING EKITI IMPEACHMENT SAGA!HE SHOULD BE PAID BACK IN HIS OWN COINS!!EWU!!!

The honarable and decent thing Aregbesola should do is just peacefully resign because even if he pays now,he can never be trusted and can never regain the honor he has lost forever!but 9ja politicians and their shamelessness though!!

aregbe is a gonner hi ha hi ha hooo!!!

The lord will strengthen the workers as they usher the most hated governor in Nigeria out!!

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Amen ooo...it's really unfair for real.

Pls check my blog out for new Posts.
Thanks

Lapal said...

These guys are selfish, self centered, wicked and heartless. The Osun peoples voted him, they should wait for his 4yrs to finish.

abosede said...

Aregbesola has proven himself to be a useless man from time being. He is a shameless man and i blame people of osun for voting blindly. After wasting money on several irrelevant projects like the opon imo for students that we are yet to see till date, merging all the public schools together, which was rather unnecessary, dredging and digging holes in our roads without completing one after the other, i mean, they are all abandoned now..people who travel through odeomu on your way to ibadan can testify to this insanity, even spent money on useless campaigns. Instead of focusing on his state and performing his duties, he is busy being one of tinubu's lapdogs, always running to lagos. It is not like he didnt do anything at all, but he needs to go. I said after the election that the decision to elect him would be a regret.