Cake bakers fined $135,000 for not baking cake for lesbian couple | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

Cake bakers fined $135,000 for not baking cake for lesbian couple

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industry told the owners of Sweet Cakes By Melissa, a bakery owned by Christians who refused to bake a cake for a lesbian wedding to be quiet and pay a fine.

On Friday the state ordered owners Aaron and Melissa Klein to pay $135,000 in damages to a lesbian couple they turned away in 2013.

The state also slapped a gag order on the evangelical Christian bakers, banning them from speaking publicly about their refusal to participate in or bake wedding cakes for same-sex unions.

“This effectively strips us of all our First Amendment rights,” Mrs. Klein wrote on Facebook. “According to the state of Oregon, we neither have freedom of religion or freedom of speech.”
The Kleins tell me they have been ordered not to speak to any news organizations or speak publicly – an order they violated when they called me.
The Kleins were ordered to “cease and desist from publishing, circulating, issuing or displaying, or causing to be published, circulated, issued or displayed, any communication, notice, advertisement or sign of any kind to the effect that any of the accommodations, advantages, facilities, services or privileges of a place of public accommodation will be refused, withheld from or denied to, or that any discrimination will be made against, any person on account of sexual orientation.”

The order was signed by Brad Avakian, the commissioner of the BOLI and a vocal supporter of the LGBTQIA community.

“Within Oregon’s public accommodations law is the basic principle of human decency that every person, regardless of their sexual orientation, has the freedom to fully participate in society,” the ruling states. “The ability to enter public places, to shop and dine, to move about unfettered by bigotry.”

Avakian has publicly stated his intentions to target Christian business owners who do not comply with his way of thinking. Here’s what he told The Oregonian about Sweet Cakes By Melissa in 2013

“The goal is never to shut down a business. The goal is to rehabilitate.”

The Kleins did not seem all that concerned about Avakian’s order to remain silent.
“I don’t really care,” Mr. Klein said. “This man has no power over me. He seems to think he can tell me to be quiet. That doesn’t sit well with me – and I refuse to comply.”
The Kleins tell say they have been ordered not to speak to any news organizations or speak publicly, an order they violated when they contacted FNC reporter.
“They picked the wrong guy,” Mr. Klein said. “When my constitutional freedoms have been violated by the state, I’m going to speak out. That’s the way it is.”
Mrs. Klein said she was shocked that the state of Oregon thinks they have the power to silence her voice.
“For us to not be able to speak about it, that’s our freedom of speech,” she said. “All Americans should be free to live and work by their faith and speak their mind.”

Since 2013 the Kleins and their five children have become targets of LGBTQIA activists and their supporters. They eventually had to shut down their retail store after they were hit with boycotts and protests.
Their children were subjected to death threats and the family had to install security at their rural home.
Mr. Klein had to take a job picking up garbage after LGBTQIA activists and their cronies threatened other wedding vendors who did business with Sweet Cakes By Melissa.

In spite of the LGBTQIA bullying, the Kleins remain steadfast in their faith and will refuse to bow down to the government.
“God is awesome,” Mrs. Klein said. “He is taking care of us. I’m not sad about it at all. It is what it is. God opens doors and shuts doors.”
The family has launched a donation page to help defray the expenses of their fight with the state of Oregon.

It is open season on Catholics and Evangelical Christians,  and I suspect we will hear more stories from Christian business owners just like the Kleins , targeted by LGBTQIA activists and their minions.

Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy tried to reassure Americans that religious liberty would be protected now that the Court redefined marriage.
“The First Amendment ensures that religious organizations and persons are given proper protection as they seek to teach the principles that are so fulfilling and so central to their lives and faiths, and to their own deep aspirations to continue the family structure they have long revered,” he wrote.

Source: FNC

81 comments:

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

Somebody Help me tell DJ xclusive I wona be his protege and master his craft like him! 07062438123

NaijaDiasporaNews said...

Wow! End time for sure!
Persecution of Christians. It is well..
I love their courage. The Lord is our strength

Somewhat funny.
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Taiwo Rolake said...

Linda, shey u too dey eat sahur ni, or u no dey sleep @ all ???

Nonsense!
If they're doing the right thing, why will they tell the couples not to talk about it to the public?

Lol...Abegiii

beewhy said...

The state must be stupid! Where is the right to do what ever they want to do?! I just feel the judge that preside over the case is a gay! Call me homophobic or whatsoever, i dont care... but I hate homosexual act...

Allybrownny said...

Speak out,nice one..Inagine payin dat amount for refusing to bake cake for lesbian ?Lol

In this New World Order, religious extremism will not be tolerated. If you want to fight for even, make your way fast to heaven, but as long as Earth is the home of humans, human rights will supercede what your story book says.

Your god is a terrorist, abuser, murderer, lair and spoilt jealous brat and should be confined to distant memory.

A few years from now, we will be celebrating the liberation of all men and women from his shackles of deceit and tyranny.

It would do you all good, to be on the right side of history and find that love, irregardless of it being a man and a woman, woman and woman, man and another man is still love.

If you hate love, go ahead and "do one" we rational people can no longer allow for the incompetent fantasist amongst you, sadist children of a devil pretending to be a god, define what or dictate our rights to self actualization.

Live and let live, otherwise, go and fuck yourselves.

In this New World Order, religious extremism will not be tolerated. If you want to fight for even, make your way fast to heaven, but as long as Earth is the home of humans, human rights will supercede what your story book says.

Your god is a terrorist, abuser, murderer, lair and spoilt jealous brat and should be confined to distant memory.

A few years from now, we will be celebrating the liberation of all men and women from his shackles of deceit and tyranny.

It would do you all good, to be on the right side of history and find that love, irregardless of it being a man and a woman, woman and woman, man and another man is still love.

If you hate love, go ahead and "do one" we rational people can no longer allow for the incompetent fantasist amongst you, sadist children of a devil pretending to be a god, define what or dictate our rights to self actualization.

Live and let live, otherwise, go and f**k yourselves.

Can u imagine??? I just love dis familiy's love 4 God.. He will definitely see them through.

seyi crown said...

If they refuse to bake cake for them why did the lesbian couple not go somewhere else bake the care, na only them dey bake?

Mr Doubles said...

This is persecution on the highest level...

**Twochapters Media**

See me see wahala oo. It will only happen there. Come here try am .fine ko fine ni

Can you imagine? End time is here my brethren

Karlsson said...

That's very bad, the devil seems to be winning everywhere now.
Ubanagum

na wa o wetin i no go hear

kemikane said...

I guess this is how it will turn out to be. So we will have to deal with clash of religion and sexuality which is very disastrous. End times

Can u imagine dese agents of darkness, na by force to supprt gay pple. Useless country with a brainless president. If na me I no go pay that fine, make dem come close my shop, rubbish

meggy said...

Rubbish world

Na by force?

What rubbish?! They have a right to do as they please! It is their business and as thus can decide on how best to run it, as long as it does not endanger human life.

Can u imagine ????na wa .everything is going up side down

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

Trials and temptation. Na by force to bake cake for person? The man who ordered them to pay a fine and not talk about it in public, is a thief. The LGBTQIA should do business with their members and not force people to please them and not please GOD!

Kosiso said...

Wetin man no go see, nah by force to be cake again mtcheww

My Lord. It has started.

No be only. Is it by force??? Linda take note!

Am so so angry here. What nonsense. Does America now force people to go go against their religious believes?? So they have finally forced them to close shop because they refused to make cake for gay couple which is against the Christian believes ?? Stupid country filled with perverts.

God will fight for u dear just tell God that's all. God is bigger than all LGBTQIA even the supreme court of justice of USA.

Is this some sort of antichrist tactic or what? Suing them for refusing to bake cake for gays, is it by force to bake cakes for gays? Can't the gays look for other gay cake bakers. America is just getting more stupid by the minute. I rather stay in naija, wretched it as it myt be, dan stay there and be tolerant of all this. Highest Some1 will live in this world is 90, dats extremely negligible compared to an eternity in hell because of some stupid perversion.

Dis is how it suppose to be, pls remain steadfast in ur faith for christ Jesus, lesbians, gays n evil doers shud retrace their steps, n desist from dis act, Jesus loves us all but not our sins

They should even thank God they weren't sentence to death, all this re fucken signs of the end time.. God will see us through

This is the beginning of the End Christians now face persecution man and man can now marry Jesus is Lord

Abeg naa by force???...did dey invest in dier business??? y r all dis lik dis???

Gay is evil spirit that's why they will go to any lenght to make sure that all tjose that don't support them surfers. God punish devil.

These queers are really bullying us.
Another reason to hate em more.

America will fall,they are the babylon so illustrated in the bible,they will claim to be fighting for GOD, but they ridicule anything concern with GOD.

Intemidation in disorder way. ~see meoooo~

Bisola said...

Wat rubbish! The devil is a liar and the gates of hell shall not prevail! Na by force, why can't the lesbian couple to another cake maker, it is obvious they are looking for trouble and picking on these guys! The Lord will raise up a standard against the evil ones & protect these innocent people and their loved one! Amen!

I pray dis case should b thrown out of d window for it doesn't worth listening to. God help, and save them.

What I can't comprehend is the fact that the gays want acceptability by all means (bully, prosecution) without consideration for others! They single-handedly picked on the couple due to their faith because they are not the only bakers in Oregon. Just like the gays claim (their bodies, their choice) so is the couple cake shop and their choice of customers! They bully the Christians because the religion has 100% tolerance but can they try this shit with the Moslems? I have read and watched God blasphemed against, the bible and Jesus ridiculed! I never knew a day will come when I will have to say this but at this point, the Islamic terrorist groups can do whatever they deem fit to America, may God protect His own when it happens.

BrendaN

You must be an anti - Christ

Exactly! Dis LGBT ppl are ttrouble

Well said

These LGBT people like trouble!!! They like serious wahala. I believe they intentionally target Christian bakers, knowing their faith and when they are refuse, they sue the bakers and the bakery.... This is exactly what happened in Scotland last month... Some stupid gay rights activist went to a very well known Christian bakery and asked for a wedding cake with two male Sesame Street characters. When he was refused, he sued them. The judge ruled in his Favour and insisted the bakers pay him a fine and also bake the cake. They agreed to the fine but insisted on not making the cake, it's against their faith. What exactly is happening to religious freedom? What exactly is happening to freedom of speech? The LGBT community don't want people to treat them horribly, now they have people on their side, they are becoming the nasty bigots they feared or complained about once upon a time.

So the people who cry about oppression and restriction of their freedoms now see fit to oppress and restrict the freedom of others. Shame

Your comment is ridiculous. Do you even understand what extremism means? The only extremists in this situation are the LGBT community.

Teacher said...

Demonic agenda to persecute Christians for their beliefs

Teacher said...

Demonic agenda to persecute Christians for their beliefs

Teacher said...

Amenn

You simply are a big fool.

Anti Christ you are but Jesus will have the victory over you.

GameSetBet said...

funny how a restaurant owner can decide not to offer services to a black family but nothing v=can be done about it simply because a white dude feels threatened by them in the restaurant.

this is crazy!!!! cause i dont want to bake for them.. its my choice... exactly freedom of speech.. before the court declared its allowed to marry same sex (outrageous by the way)... the activists never caused trouble and they didnt force them to make them like the HOMOS... SO WHY DISCRIMINATE.. YOU HAVE GOTTEN YOUR ALLOWANCE TO MARRY.. WHY FORCE SOMEONE TO ACCEPT IT!!EVERYONE HAS A CHOICE MOST ACTUALLY TWO CHOICES 1) LORD'S PATH 2)devil's path..

TONIA GREEN said...

God save the world. What's happening!

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Confused much...

Pls check my blog out.

Thanks

GOD IS IN CONTROL

Wat nonsense.

If it is indeed a free world as Americans say, then they should have the right to say no to baking for the lesbian couple. Why are they being fined really, I honestly think its their choice.

Repent or you will perish!!!

b bold enuf to show urself idiot.

666 already in play...

What idiots... We all perish eventually, but no way will invalids be ever again allowed to encourage others to live in pain under the yoke of religious prejudice.

Countless of human beings, numbering in billions, since the age of monotheism have suffered in silence, in the name of getting to heaven.

You all are victims, suffering from Stockholm syndrome, where you eventually become those who persecute you and hold them in high regard.

They tell you to suffer in silence, not to complain, to be thankful and they deceive you into believing that there will be a reward even unto forcing your hands to commit murders, by proxy, killing others and killing yourselves. They make you wretched and full of hatred.

They break you down, even as they molest your minds with horrors. Strip you of any vestige of dignity and they normalize pain and suffering.

The gays became the victims of hate to placate the hearts and souls and minds of those who in their dissatisfaction of the frustrations they suffer, needed to redirect their angst and anger.

If the gays were not demonized, the real demons... your "so called" holy men and women, the rapist and whores and child molesters... Those who fornicate behind shrouded altars, frolicking with fetishism and abhorrent rituals would be revealed and exposed and dealt with accordingly. They cower in fear. They are cowards and you are for not rising up against them like the gays have done. For not exposing them.

Why is it that those who encourage the hatred and animosity towards homosexuals and normalization of homosexuality do so without even knowing what they oppose, truly why? If your god is all powerful, why have the so called powerful become jokes, scurrying like swine through jargon and religiously impotent rhetoric? It is because they fear the truth and they know that their lies have been exposed.

How could anyone ask another person to live a lie, if they themselves were not masters and mistresses of lies. Then after misleading people, they claim ignorance and join in the voice self-righteous mobs.

We who have stepped into the light, have chosen to live our individual truths, to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. To live without pretence to need your permission to do so, since our lives are not in your hands.

This is why the gays will always inspire admiration regardless of the few little voices of dissent clamoring to be heard, that are now setting themselves up unashamedly to face that same ostracization you so freely wish on your fellow humans.

You want to fight using religious ideologies... , the gay community and it's supporters will finish you here in this realm with physical manpower and maneuvers you won't comprehend. We will exhaust you beyond what you believed was possible. You didn't see us coming. We will use intellect and force.

The Gomorrites are at your door, whilst you were lynching Sodom, we were fortifying and empowering ourselves.

Go ahead... Mention your clusterfuck of story book in public to terrorize anymore innocents and try and his behind paper, and watch a Shitstorm ensue at your front doors.

From Muslim fundamentalists to Christian fanatics, the dominion of your deranged god is finished.

What idiots... We all perish eventually, but no way will invalids be ever again allowed to encourage others to live in pain under the yoke of religious prejudice.

Countless of human beings, numbering in billions, since the age of monotheism have suffered in silence, in the name of getting to heaven.

You all are victims, suffering from Stockholm syndrome, where you eventually become those who persecute you and hold them in high regard.

They tell you to suffer in silence, not to complain, to be thankful and they deceive you into believing that there will be a reward even unto forcing your hands to commit murders, by proxy, killing others and killing yourselves. They make you wretched and full of hatred.

They break you down, even as they molest your minds with horrors. Strip you of any vestige of dignity and they normalize pain and suffering.

The gays became the victims of hate to placate the hearts and souls and minds of those who in their dissatisfaction of the frustrations they suffer, needed to redirect their angst and anger.

If the gays were not demonized, the real demons... your "so called" holy men and women, the rapist and whores and child molesters... Those who fornicate behind shrouded altars, frolicking with fetishism and abhorrent rituals would be revealed and exposed and dealt with accordingly. They cower in fear. They are cowards and you are for not rising up against them like the gays have done. For not exposing them.

Why is it that those who encourage the hatred and animosity towards homosexuals and normalization of homosexuality do so without even knowing what they oppose, truly why? If your god is all powerful, why have the so called powerful become jokes, scurrying like swine through jargon and religiously impotent rhetoric? It is because they fear the truth and they know that their lies have been exposed.

How could anyone ask another person to live a lie, if they themselves were not masters and mistresses of lies. Then after misleading people, they claim ignorance and join in the voice self-righteous mobs.

We who have stepped into the light, have chosen to live our individual truths, to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. To live without pretence to need your permission to do so, since our lives are not in your hands.

This is why the gays will always inspire admiration regardless of the few little voices of dissent clamoring to be heard, that are now setting themselves up unashamedly to face that same ostracization you so freely wish on your fellow humans.

You want to fight using religious ideologies... , the gay community and it's supporters will finish you here in this realm with physical manpower and maneuvers you won't comprehend. We will exhaust you beyond what you believed was possible. You didn't see us coming. We will use intellect and force.

The Gomorrites are at your door, whilst you were lynching Sodom, we were fortifying and empowering ourselves.

Go ahead... Mention your clusterfuck of story book in public to terrorize anymore innocents and try and his behind paper, and watch a Shitstorm ensue at your front doors.

From Muslim fundamentalists to Christian fanatics, the dominion of your deranged god is finished.

Wowww! So the world has gotten to this point? What happened to respecting people's belief? They chose NOT to.

Its like telling muslims to eat pig

When religious freedoms infringe on the freedoms of those who don't share your views, then it can not stand as a logical way of expression. It will be stamped out.

#SorryNotSorry

I wud have just said such extreme foolishness... did you or the real devil create your mouth, body or even your sexual parts that you use against The Maker's Way... Extreme foolishness.

Because of your beliefs, Christians have persecuted people across all corners of the Earth for millenia... You are solely responsible for Islamic fundamentalism and the wholesale abuse of so many, including children. Bloody pedophiles! You haven't seen anything yet!

We're coming for you. Since you are so vocal, let's see how you will cope when you find that your partner has been leading a double life. That will be your lot. Stupid cow.

Did you create any bodies body or apendages? So what gives you the right to say how I or anyone else should use mine? My body my rules. Like I said earlier, go fuck yourself.

I lay out an argument and you provide a rebuttal by invoking an imagined maker, who's the fool? Back away from the computer, before you get checked and certified.

oh so U're saying xtians/muslims v no ryt now,so because gayism is now legal, everyone must accept it? it must be forced down the throat of everyone? that's infringing on their right to! there's freedom to practise ur religion and belief too

Practise your religion at home and at church. It's that simple. A business is not a place for religious propaganda, denying people any form of equality is tantamount to hate.

Irv said...

The recent Oregon bakery case proves that "sex rights" (NOT found in the First Amendment!) can trump even religious freedom rights (featured FIRST in the First Amendment!) Since gonads are now worshipped more than the God who made them (thanks to the godless US Supreme Coup's political tyranny), Oregon should change its name to "Oregonads"! And everyone should visit Google and indulge in "God to Same-Sexers: Hurry Up," "USA - from Puritans to Impure-itans" and "Universal GAYety is Coming."

babylove said...

Anonymous, anti-tetanus shots are available! Please treat your rabies! Everybody has rights and the rights of one does not supersede the other just because they are in the minority. I own my business and I decide who my demographic is. I cannot say that because it is a ‘public shop’ then they must make anything I want. Mob mentality goes both ways!