Buhari approves N400billion for workers’ salaries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 July 2015

Buhari approves N400billion for workers’ salaries

President Buhari has approved a comprehensive relief package valued at over N400bn to put an end to the lingering crisis of unpaid workers’ salaries in the country. Vanguard gathered that a three-pronged relief package that will end the workers plight include:

The sharing of about $2.1b (N413.7bn) in fresh allocation between the states and the federal government. The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account, and its release okayed by the president;

A Central Bank-packaged special intervention fund that will offer financing to the states, ranging from between N250bn to N300bn. This would be a soft loan available to states to access for the purposes of paying backlog of salaries;

And a debt relief program proposed by the Debt Management Office, DMO, which will help states restructure their commercial loans currently put at over N660bn, and extend the life span of such loans while reducing their debt-servicing expenditures.

Vanguard

117 comments:

OmoJesu said...

Sai Baba! That's a relief...

I thought he said he met empty treasury??

Nice one Mr President

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Oh that's good then.

ANYA IKENGA said...

The only thing he did in 37days. To curry public sympathy over his non performance.

That's a good move....

That's a good move

Nice one at last may be Baba is not going slow,we Nigerian should help the government to achieve the purpose of democracy and I hope our greedy politicians won't stand in the way of appropriate disbursement of the alocation , I can't wait....phewww!!! At last!

Hmm...i smell fraud, dis money won't get to it's final destination

Casey DM said...

ok nah...Our president started on a Onigbese basis. Well, am not bothered, just alleviate the plights of workers across Nigeria. Cheers. Don Casey

Twale my beta President. God's blessings upon you. Linda take note!

Nice and let it get to all of them oh

BLUNT said...

Wow! He must be very generous because it must have come from his pocket. Remember GEJ "left an empty account". CHANGI!!! Sai Baba Go Slow.

Well done! @least dis one na sumtin!

Etsako Pearl said...

God bless PMB
God Bless me
God Bless Nigeria..

Baba go slow thank you o.

Abraham Ndu said...

Wowwww...i hope it gets to ndi nwe di need!

Nice move

Ok, seen
But he has not said anything about these recent killings

Ope o!

Gold said...

Commendable! But governors should not be encouraged to present outrageous budgets or spend far beyond their allotment. This is to prevent corruption.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

I see,but let's see how it goods

I thought Nigeria was broke?

Sai Baba...no talk just action

NMaa said...

I thought he said no money was left by d past administration? Ele ebe dis billion si na-aputa?
Mr west Germany kwutukwanu eziokwu. Ego no!!!!

Good one PMB.

GNI said...

BUT YOU TOLD US BEFORE NOW THAT YOU MET AN EMPTY TREASURY ACCOUNT. BABA GO SLOW FEAR GOD OOOOOOOOO.

Precious said...

This is goodnews!! God bless Mr. President

Interesting. Workers should be paid their dues.

Sai baba.love dis man like my Own father

Finally...

Hallelujah o. Dave

Bosslady said...

Good news!!!

A very gud one. Thanks Mr.President

But I thought the TREASURY is empty! Didn't he say he met an empty treasury? Where did this money come from! Fools!

Good move Baba

And the treasury is empty ... Ok o

States need to increase their IGR!!!! Gosh! Laziness!!!

400 billion from an empty treasury? #Baba Go slow

OK. But Alh Buhari said that he met an EMPTY treasury.

SunnyBriggs. said...

Good news for the unpaid masses.

I tot PMB met empty treasury. How did he get 400billion ... Or Did he sell one of his big cows in Daura ... Yeye dey smell.

What of the issue of accountability? What happened to earlier monies collected for this purpose? It means governors can do as there please with workers salaries knowing fully well the federal govt will give a soft loan.THIS IS CORRUPTION

Mikkyjanec said...

APC states take note

Sigh of relief. Now I know buhari is working. Mr aregbe pls for the love of God, don't waste dis one ooo...

Good news!

s a d e said...

Okay o,we are waiting.

Adetunji Saka said...

Allahu Akbar! God bless dis man. Sai PMB!

"Slow and steady wins d race"

Ok noted, Sai Baba well done there

Okay nau ,, jt d normal Apc tin

BUT YOU SAID THEIR WAS NO MONEY AT THE FEDERATION ACCOUNT HOW COME YOU NOW HAVE ENOUGH TO GIVE FOR THE STATES TO PAY WORKERS SALARIES IF THEY WILL REALLY PAY IR .

BECAUSE THIS IS A WIND FALL FOR THESE GREEDY GOVERNORS

This in my opinion is wasted resources as the governments of states did not do anything to deserve this bail out. The issue is cosmetic approach to visceral problems will never give the proper solution because it only attends to the symptoms..How do we deal with cash calls..sell asset and share the money...how do we develop infrastructure..sell assets and share the money..how do fund pension liabilities..sell assets and share the money...till there is no asset left to sell and then we will do the needful..restructure the federation so that each entity generates its own income...

I thought there was no money in the treasury???

So much for an empty treasury.

thats a lump sum of cash

DISCOVER HOW TO GET RID OF AN UNWANTED FAT CLICK HERE

lami said...

Thank God, after seven long months.

400billion choi ..na wa ..apc won't make noise again ohhhh ..assuming say na GEJ do this one now I for no hear word ..i mean can't the state pay thier own workers salaries?? U have to take a Loan to pay salaries hmmm.i can see d change

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

mmmmmmmm said...

Bail out for corrupt APC Governor .

mmmmmmmm said...

Bail out for corrupt APC governors

It's July 7th and what about the PH refinery that they promised us will be in operation by the end of June ??? Someone has to be held accountable ! Smh

mmmmmmmm said...

Bail out for corrupt APC governors

Sai Baba!

Very good... Sai Buhari đź‘Ť

It's a loan ode!
So he should allow workers to suffer for their governor's mismanagement of funds abi.

All those talking about federation account no money, una nor know when LNG money come? Nor be as e come governors say make dem bail them out????? Una nor know say 2 billion dollars dey excess crude account? Which kain unnecessary argument be dis? Nor be dat one dem dey talk abeg.

The president has failed in his first assignment to fight corruption, the states wasted their resources for campaign, he being one of the beneficiaries of this calous waste has surrendered to the pressures mounted by the governors, who are mostly apc. It is very sad that this corrupt men has been giving a soft landing by the same man who sworn to confront corruption.

Is that what makes him ode? Smh at your manners. Pity.

meggy said...

At last o

Tax was paid recently by nlng.so govt was able 2 disburse d money 2 states. So whats d issue of empty treasury?

Nigerians will never be satisfied, before this man helped out all you guys were shouting for workers to be paid, how do you expect the Govs to raise such money if FG had insisted on not bailing them out, now he does and you are still complaining is wastage of resources....

Dis is govt of d people@wrk, and action govt in place not dat clueless former govt.

Thumbs up, and more power to d elbows of PMB govt, and God abundantly bless him.

Bec like u are still alive

What do you can want him to say.dat he killd them

Stupid PDP apologist that can't read. The money is from recent LNG proceeds paid into the federation account. If it had been during your pdp led administration, the money would ve disappeared under GEJ's hat. Punch of unrepentant thieves.

This stupid Igbos and their line of reasoning. I swear, 9ja should just break up pls. All these stupid Nna bastards should be thrown outa other regions. Let them live and rot in their Aba and Onitsha slums. Only then can this country progress.

sweet malo said...

And so fuckin wat? Saddist..

"The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account," with emphasis on RECENT LNG PROCEEDS..you guys should learn to read a beg and develop small sense.. you argue like illiterates. .. where in that statement did you see "treasury"? Kmt

The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account, and its release okayed by the president;

Pls read before commenting next time....it makes u look stupid when u rush n make stupid comments

Frank81 said...

As per news "The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account, and its release okayed by the president". Hoping for the best from PMB's Governnment.

"The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account," with emphasis on RECENT LNG PROCEEDS..you guys should learn to read a beg and develop small sense.. you argue like illiterates. .. where in that statement did you see "treasury"? Kmt

I thought baba go slow said he met empty treasury?

some people don't even take their time to observe things. just because u never wanted this man to be president so u av to go against anything he does. Diariz God ohh

Fraud ...Lolz..."Empty Treasury" ??

Sai Baba!

He said he got the money from sales of liquefied natural gas that the country made 'recently'.

The political naivety of GMB is worrisome. Someone needs to advice him. These governors will not stop looting. Stop sharing more to them.

who is this illiterate anonymous who keeps posting on how PMB said he met an empty treasury or you did not read the story ....It says I quote " The money is sourced from recent LNG proceeds to the federation account," The federation account is the treasury and the money just came from sales Nigeria made from sales with the Liquefied natural gas ( LNG) So ordered for the transfer of the funds from LNG account to Federation account( Treasury) and is allowing states to source as loans to clear the backlog of unpaid salaries from the past administration....You should be commending him cos usually this N400billion under GEJ would've been shared amongst him and Niger Delta war lords....and pls go back to school so u can understand a 'common article"........

Which stupid LNG proceeds. are you fools educated or u jus gave ur professor blowjob at uni. WHAT VOLUME OF LNG FROM MAY 29TH TILL TODAY CAN AMOUNT TO N400 B IN GOVT COFFERS????????????????????????? USE YOU BRAIN !

@anonymous, you're the biggest fool ever existed among humans. Calling Igbo people names. What tribe developed this country.

ReadRead fibefore commcommentiIt wiwilmakemake sousouless likelike anan idiotidiot. essyou l ng. st bef

peter pan said...

Idiot read before u type and stop making stupid statements. Foolish igbo boy/girl. I'm sure u chose not to read d LNG side or ur just plain dumb.

Can you read english? *sigh* *smh*

And talking about the treasury. He said he met an *almost* empty treasury. Olodos

Pathetic comment

So taking a loan to pay salaries is a good way to go huh..madam igwe..anu
It Nigeria breaks up or not won't stop my progress..cos I gain nothing from d country...It is only bad to pay salaries taking a loan..I mean this shows they are not productive.

law abiding citizen said...

laudable ameliorative move by the central govt under PMB's watch. but am afraid it sets a bad precedence as its a move that will encourage nothing but indolence on the part of the state governments who cant look inwards think outside the box, expand their horizon and see how they can generate money internally even if its to cater for basic things such as payments of workers salary.

and for my beautiful fellow LIBers who are throwing jerks about baba's claim and how he is able to raise #400bn when he said he met an empty treasury i shake my head for u and for the depth of ur ignorance. maybe what u should first learn about is what the term 'empty treasury' means for an oil rich country With a maximum crude oil production capacity of 2.5 million barrels per day like ours

hhmmm

So because the states their resources, is that why workers should suffer. I don't blame if your dad or mom are among them you won't be talking nonsense. So many have died because of their salaries. I don't think there is anything urgent as this. God bless Buhari, God bless Nigeria.

Well Nigeria is a useless country ...The FG should and is never responsible for salaries at state level...The formoer governors of the sttaes owing the debt and salaries hsould be held accountable...This hsows the states and their governors are unproductive..the only thing they know how to do is buying cars for movie actresses...This will never happen in a functional society...shame on fool of Africa Nigeria

yes,nice move baba pmb no talk but action.........GOD BLESS OUR NATION UNDER U ....SAI BABA...............JULIET I LIKE U OOOOOO LINDA TAKE NOTE....

FOR THOSE ILLITERATE FOOLS SAYING YOU THOUGHT HE SAID HE MET AN EMPTY TREASURY. BUHARI HAS STAYED FOR ONE MONTH AND NIGERIA HAS MADE SOME MONEY WITHIN THE ONE MONTH THAT HE HAS STAYED. SO IT IS THE MONEY THEY MADE WITHIN ONE MONTH THAT THEY ARE SPENDING. OLODOS & ODES HOPE IT IS CLEAR NOW!

@gentle,are u ok at all,the LNG didn't just realise dat money now,it has been there,how can LNG realise such within a month,blind nigerians

Kachi said...

It's from tax proceeds and dividends paid by NLNG .

God bless you Mr President