Dear men...Lying to get sex may now become a crime...hehe! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 May 2015

Dear men...Lying to get sex may now become a crime...hehe!

If you have ever lied to someone just to get them to sleep with you, you better read this before you land in prison...lol. There's a new bill that's being looked into in New Jersey that would make having sex with someone by lying to them a crime. It's called Sexual Assault by deception.

For instance, if there was somewhere that a burned lover could turn to if she discovered that the man who told her he was childless not only had a 10-year-old, but also a pregnant side chick? That would be considered a crime if the bill passes.

Or if the person they're sleeping with showed them photos of a beautiful home he claimed to own but in reality was living in his parents' basement?
In other words, if a woman is duped into having sex they could have the man arrested.
Mischele Lewis, a 37-year-old suburban-mom-turned-activist is the inspiration behind this bill in New Jersey.
This bill was actually introduced late last year to make "sexual assault by fraud" a punishable offense.
The bill defines it as "an act of sexual penetration to which a person has given consent because the actor has misrepresented the purpose of the act or has represented he is someone he is not."
"I think it's important because trying to deceive anyone for the purpose of sexual gratification is just wrong," Lewis said. "Every person has the right to knowing consent. And before they consent to be intimate with anybody, they should absolutely know 100 percent who it is that they are being intimate with.
"Whether it's as simple as say they slip off their wedding ring and then they engage in a relationship with someone, but the man or woman has no idea that the person they are with is married," she added. "Lying to someone else for any reason is never OK, whether it be [for] a job, a relationship, criminal history, parental history, marital history . . .. When did we become a society that thinks it's completely acceptable to lie to other people on a daily basis and think that's morally OK?"
Should it pass, such a bill would open up a whole realm of possibilities for tricked lovers.
"On the one hand, we want law enforcement to have the law on their side in order to go after sexual predators who try to lure victims into sexual situations through deceit," pointed out Kathleen Bogle, assistant professor of sociology and criminal justice at La Salle University. "On the other hand, many people lie to get sex and we may not want to cast too broad of a net in pursuing these situations through criminal law.
"Most people would agree that lying to obtain sex is immoral, but only a fraction of those scenarios should be punishable by criminal law," she added.
She's right about not clogging up the legal system.
But there's such a thing as principle. As Yale law professor Jed Rubenfield wrote in a 2013 edition of the Yale Law Review, "Rape-by-deception is almost universally rejected in American criminal law. But if rape is sex without the victim's consent - as many courts, state statutes and scholars say it is - then sex-by-deception ought to be rape, because as courts have held for a hundred years in virtually every area of the law outside of rape, a consent procured through deception is no consent at all."
Meanwhile, Lewis, whose dating horror story was chronicled in the Daily News last year and later on NBC's "Dateline," is recuperating from the shock of discovering that the man she met on an online dating site back in 2013 was a con artist.
Not only had the man she knew as Liam Allen lied to her about his legal name, but instead of being some sort of secret agent of the British government, as he claimed, he had served time in the U.K. for bigamy. He also had failed to register as a sex offender and had been convicted of indecent assault of a minor.
But back when she was falling madly in love, Lewis, a labor and delivery nurse, knew nothing about Jordan's nefarious ways. When she was handing over $5,000 for a phony security clearance, she had no clue that she was just Jordan's latest victim.

In November, he pleaded guilty to third-degree theft by deception and was ordered to pay restitution. He's currently serving a three-year prison sentence in New Jersey.

80 comments:

Good

This na mental case o. * I siddon dey look*

Tell that to flavour.

Game up to all the shameless men that will say anything in order to sleep with a woman

NA DEM SABI....TOMJERRYSWIT

Funso Samuel said...

I kinda support the bill

@arkiss said...

Lmao it makes sense in that clime.If it were to be adopted here in Nigeria,the prison would be a republic of its own coz so many of us would be prisoners and ex-cons

What of women that lie to men because of money ore sex too?

www.glowyshoes.com said...

They should bring this to nigeria....

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Men shld read

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Hmmmm ok

Damilola said...

Now I see why she is an activist for the movement. She has been wayo'ed

I call it indirect rape.

Oh!

SWILL MARTIN said...

Hehehehe read it b4 buh @ least even God hates lies sooo I mean d law Isssz****in mi's voice

Chief Mario said...

Women hope you've heard too? Cos nowadays women lie the more to get a dude sleep with them

Very nice, and a good development dat if brought into law wil go a long way to curb dis act.

Karlsson said...

I like that, girls that also lie abt their single ll also be arrested not just girls. It's both way
Ubanagum

New jersey u said cus d last time I checked, we are in nigeria...ok bye!

Francis said...

Oun sere ni . Awon eleyi ti je ba yo

Men take not, hahahaha

ASHANKA said...

SHORO NIYEN?

Men take note**********

elixir said...

That sounds very interesting

Lol....it sounds funny but I like this kinda bill.

Yéyé on so many levels.
If U aint smart enuf to smell a rat, deal with it.

Nah I never lied about it, just my mood coinciding with that of a female is enough.

Dis I sa good development if implemented, and enforced.

Dis is a good development if implemented, and enforced.

Zhroma D said...

Lolllz. Women are sooooo gonna have fun with this...... #burnbabyburn

we need this in nigeria too

While they are at it, they should also outlaw wearing weaves, padded bras, tights and fake lashes! They can go a step further and stop sex changes and transitioning as they are all forms of deceptions!! Since they want to be stupid, let's go all the way!!!

How does that affect us here. Sometimes you post unnecessary shit. Naija is different from the U.S and even laws in New Jersey is different from other states. So fuck it.

prettiyz said...

This law should be implemented in Nigeria

Love said...

To all dem Edo boys wey wayo don damage dia brain..... hehehehe

Hahahahaha Oyinbo pple no go kill me. Indeed sexual assualt by deception

What about us? What if a lady lied to me,deceived,toyed with my brain and lured me to bed...Is she going to jail too?

all the women wearing foam to lift their ass, and all those deceptive koste that will deceive us about the true situation report of their boobs...

All those women that wear make up that will hide the tribal marks on their face, and all the photoshops skills they use to edit and make their pictures look better than it really is..

Hope these will be included in the law..

if not it's just women's plot to rule the world.

K

419, yahoo-yahoo, obt( obtained by tricks), de- frauding, stealing, lying, deceptions etc are all condemned by The Word yet...

this wont work, not saying its not good, just wont work

Very funny, it'd alright

That's New jersey now. This is some of my friends best concept. Though I'm nt saying its a good thing to do but ladies should wise up. Hian...

everything about america is just designed to favour women. their women go begin use this one now to intimidate and swindle d men of their moni in d name of settlement

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

So what happens to ladies, who only want to sleep with u cos u rich, stupid law....

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

And what do u call urself? Indirect fag? Lollllllllllllllllllll

chivalon said...

jobless people.
I will soon drop my citizenship is they are not careful
Its a free world and they should let it remain that way

Mtchewwwwwww... like women are always the victim...what if she also lies her father is a senator And he's just a tailor.... Linda sef asif males are the only sex offenders

The most stupid crime ever.....dem force u do am....if i lie give u say i b adenuga pikin and me and u straff is it my fault or ur fault for being a foolish and a money sucking bitch?....fucked up law!!!

Lol bad girl

Check again, u might be in new jersey now, lol!

But seriously, all guys lie to get sex. Has any girl accepted a dude that just walked up and said: I wanna have sex with you? I guess no. It's fundamental. We lie for it.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Every man lie a little to sleep with a girl. The enormity of the lie depends on your personality. A woman will not sleep with an honest man, unless of course she is desperately in need of husband. Wise and keeping Mr Dildo by the side. Women know men are lying, but who cares they too want it. This bill is useless and stupid if passed.

Maykay should be the first to be arrested with his bowleg

Gloxxymama said...

Absolutely this bill should pass and please also in Naija cos it is really becoming a mental case.

Wetin come concern Vulture with stylist??? Linda take note!

When will it be passed in Nigeria???

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

I jst luv u 4 dis. It shows u r broad-minded.

Marshall Matters said...

On point

I hope the law is both ways.... i.e. applies to women that lie to men to get laid. Yes, some ladies lie to get laid too... surprised? better don't.

If you read it properly, it says man or woman that. ........

Very nice. We need dat in Naija as well

Dnt I jst love this comment?!! LMAO!!! I love this blog like kilode...

What of the women who lie with fake boobs and ass?

Very Good,.abeg wen are they introducing it in nija???

My Year Of Linda's 100k

I hope there will be a law also for women who wear makes ups, breast implants, butt pad etc and lie about their age to ensnare men into a relationship. Also, those who get pregnant for one man and then give it to the preferred other in order hook them in a relationship.

This is so stupid. Very stupid I can't even start talking about it. In fact they are all mad for even reasoning something like that. Gold diggers

Femillionaire said...

Linda, how is she going to prove that he lied to her? Is she going to carry a tape recorder throughout? Secondly, women with fake boobs and make up nko? is that not deception to make them appear more beautiful than they are?

Anyway, nothing new about this. A palestinian man was actually jailed in Israel for lying that he was jewish before having sex with her.

Though this one did not result in any incarceration, but in China, a man was allowed to divorce his wife after discovering that she was not pretty enough. She had been ugly initially but used plastic surgery to make herself fine. It was only after the birth of their child who turn out not to be fine that the husband found out

Goaldyn Boy said...

What of some ladies that have done abortion 30 times and had slept with more than 100 men and yet be pretending and lying to be new chasis to responsible guys?! Is that not worse?!!!

They gonna be kidding me. It doesn't really matter wat they think. guys pls keep off from rape forget anyother thing they say. ladies should know any guy that comes there way b4 anything else and stop rushing into it. so anybody that do not want it that way, any other thing u see is ur choice. Linda biko feed us with more news.

Wot if d babe said she is a virgin nd end up bin a hole

Good news for women

If this law should ever be passed in naija. Then all those girls that deceive with layers and layers of make up to look like Maryln Monroe while they actually look like a descendant of d monkey's family and guys that pad their egg plants when its actually d size of a cigarette will all be jailed.

Very good.

Linda, forget it, it's not gonna pass. If per chance it passes, it will be challenged and, eventually, declared unconstitutional for breach of freedom of speech. Americans don't joke with that first amendment right. Not just that, it will be a nightmare to enforce as it will over broad and subject to various interpretations. The evasive nature of the law will be a ground for nullification. The courts are already burdened with so many cases, both genuine and frivolous, and it won't be nice to open another door for an avalanche of frivolous cases which, definitely, will be the end result of such law.

Chyke
City: Unknown.

And if an urgly woman use makeup to deceive you or even fake breast and boot implants, they will also go to jail. Most Transgenders will be sent to jail. The law is even good for the men. Men protection bill. Lol

wale said...

That's why we more of gay than straight men cos ladies will start intimidating guys.. If u can't detect when a guy is lying to u.. Then....

That na American people wahala!

Mischele Lewis said...

Thank you all for the lovely support of my law. It's still in the early stages, but I want to he victims gain power against the people who harm them, to have a voice and not just hide in shame.