Majority of foreign prisoners in Ghana are Nigerians & its a national disgrace- Nigeria ambassador to Ghana | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 January 2015

Majority of foreign prisoners in Ghana are Nigerians & its a national disgrace- Nigeria ambassador to Ghana

Nigeria's High Commissioner to Ghana, Ambassador Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan has raised an alarm over the increasing number of Nigerians serving jail terms in Ghana, describing the increasing number of Nigerians in foreign prison all over the world as a National disgrace.
"Firstly, I agree with you that majority of them are Nigerians, but should majority of them be Nigerians? We shouldn’t even be saying such things with pride because it is a national disgrace. Every country we go, they are filled with Nigerians, why? It is unfortunate. But I believe if you are ready to take the risk, then you must be ready to dance to the music.Now to the question of helping with infrastructure and other things; Nigeria High Commission doesn’t have the kind of money to build prisons. We are just here to do our core duties such as issuing passports, visa, supporting Nigerians in distress and to keep promoting the diplomatic relationship between the two brotherly nations" Ambassador Onafowokan told Tribune
Ambassador Onafowokan says his personal efforts has helped in saving a Nigerian who was once put on death roll and that no Nigerian has died in any of the Ghanian prisons since he assumed office
"As regard the issue of the report, I want to believe it was written by one of the prisoners and smuggled to someone to publish for them, because the report is not the reality on ground. First of all, I will like to assure you that no Nigerian has died in the prison. Secondly, I want to assure you that I visited them; spoke to them and I always sympathise with them. But the truth is, when you do illegal things in a foreign land, you should know you will be jailed in that foreign land, so why commit such a crime? Moreover, if they succeeded in making money from such illicit transaction, they use the money to harass everyone on the streets; illicit money source of which you will never know. I have visited them and I make sure people visit them regularly. I usually send my officials to take toiletries and other provisions to them. If you check on them, they are almost more than the Ghanaians in Nsawam prison in terms of population. They wouldn’t stop doing drugs and getting involved in armed robbery cases. I remember a Nigerian was sentenced to death, I personally spoke to the Chief Justice and I wrote a letter to plead for his life, and he has not been executed, and I don’t think he’ll be executed. About the long sentences they are giving them, which I was told by the Chief Justice of Ghana Mrs Theodore Woods, they assured me that they will look into it, but they told me those sentences are to discourage other Nigerians from thinking Ghana is a safe haven for criminals. It is logical to make a U-turn if you know that you are likely to get a prison sentence of 50-130 years if caught committing crime as a Nigerian or a foreigner. But that has not deter them, as Nigerians fill up the Ghana prisons on a daily basis, and after being caught, they want us (Nigeria High Commission) to come and get them out. Also, any Nigerian prisoner released comeS to the Nigeria High Commission (NHC), we usually give them GHC100 ($40) which will take them to Lagos. Since I resumed as the High Commissioner, I have been doing that religiously. Sometimes when they come, I will ask them to be brought in front of me, and I ask them what led them into it, and afterwards, I counsel them. The question remains that when you know there is a reward for your crime if caught, why do it? On the question of prisoners exchange, I have spoken with the parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs and I mentioned the issue; I was made to understand that Nigerian prisons are too full, and that the prisoner exchange document has not been concluded yet. If you check countries around the world, you will find Nigerian prisoners there, and it baffles me. I think we need a national orientation because this is becoming a huge embarrassment to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and this is as a result of the fact that they want to get rich quick. It’s not a crime to be rich, but it must be earned. The High Commission is doing its best to ensure that Nigerian prisoners have a humanity touch. The High Commission doesn’t have power to get them released; all we can do is to keep pleading"he said. Ambassador Onafowokan stated that it was wrong for the Ghanian authorities to hand long jail term to foreigners as an instrument of deterrent but that as an Ambassador, he has no power to change the judicial system of a country. He argues that to serve long jail term is better than beheading which is the law in some other countries for drug traffickers. "I agree that policy is not right. Like I told you, I sat down with Chief Justice Theodore Woods, and he promised to work on it. I don’t think I can force authorities in Ghana to change its justice system. So also, Ghana High Commission in Nigeria cannot force Nigerian government to change our justice system. In some countries, the law prescribed that you will be beheaded if you commit certain crime, and there’s little or nothing diplomacy can do to make them change their mind. I think to go to prison for a long time is better than being beheaded. But the best solution is to walk away from criminality" he said.

90 comments:

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Too long a letter..cant read this early mrnin

Steady said...

Na wa oo, what a shame, just in the name of them wan run comot for 9ja

Na wa o, Nigerians seem to be everywhere, including prisons

It's a pity. Complete national disgrace.

Uche Emma said...

Really a huge disgrace

May God Help My father land!!!

I Belief God can & he will in Jesus name.....

»»Says De-Champion««

Well no crime should go unpunished, when u are committing the crime u should get ready to dance to the rhythm when u are caught.

Its the same in many countries of the world, more reason we need a govt that is people oriented, that will fight corruption and provide jobs for our youths.

We need serious image laundering.

Just a click, and be 1,500 dollars richer.

http://youthtaskpaid.com/?ref=5749

Its no longer news. Most of them are actually people that come here pretending to be student. You need to see what even our girls do here. Its like when some parent get tired of their kids they throw them here to be misbeving. Anything bad that happenes all you hear from the mouth of the Ghanaians will be "oh!! He or she must be a Nigerian" and when you investigate,its really the truth.

Why do my country men and women in diaspora keep on disgracing their names, family and their country! I was in Ghana (Keta Akatsi Region) for an international programme i was invited as one of the speakers. All through my stay in the the country (2 weeks in all) after the conference visiting places as Cape Coast, Accra, Kumasi Regions, i never witnessed any accident but one with a Nigerian Plate number. i was so ashamed1 The fact that the country is bad that makes us to seek greener-pastures across the world doesn't mean we should insult our integrity and those of our families. Lets change from ourselves before changing the system because, it beginnings with YOU!!!

Nigerians everywhere...

www.glowyshoes.com said...

The question is assuming our country was ok pple wont b jumpn to oda countries dat cant match up to us

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

2morow nw sm1 will say it's GEJ dat caused it. #dtsnoneofmybiz

xquisite said...

Wetin Nigerians dey find go Ghana self Enh. Na UK or USA?

lady A said...

Na Wahooo. Nigerians should avoid crime na and our govt should do some about the standard of living in our country

I BELIVE IS NOT ONLY IN GHANA BUT ALSO OTHER PART OF THE WORLD..HMM.GOV SHOULD DO SOMETHING B4 THING GET OUT OF HANDS.
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

that's bad

And all these news is coming out now few days before d election...if they like they should dig out news from the rabbit hole... GEJ must win come dis February

well spoken,if u commit a crime in another man's country,then be ready to serve the sentence there.

comfort said...

Nawah ooo 4 naija ooo

@Lawyer Mfon aka "The Good Wife",

Thanks 4d lovely correction ~ "chicks" instead of "cheeks" on d first lady of Lagos post.

Dat was so lovely&sweet of u mostly wit d way u went abt it. I never knew we had mature&sensible soul lik u on dis blog. Dis show u r properly brought up&well trained@home for charity begin@home.

@Anonymous&co. pls copy frm her...she is a shining star&worth emulating.

May God grant ur needs@every points of ur life~Amen!

Cheers.

#Royal Priesthood#

isn't it obvious that we make a Name for our beloveth Naija globally?
I have no empathy for crime, if you found and proven guilty, do your time in prison.

Na wah oo

#abbytohxoft

It's just quite a pity that our citizens daint our image like this

He should b advice to tender his resignation...

Wht difference has he b able to effect or wht changes has he done to mak d difference??? Nothing!

Wht d hell is he coming out and talking nonsense of shame.

God help us for our leaders giv us serious thoughts for concern.

#Royal Priesthood#

LINDA IKETA said...

im not surprised! hian... And some goats still see no need for a change! backward n primitive set of ppl

I'm not surprised.Nigerians can be found anywhere include Niger,chad and Somalian prisons.We allow sentiments becloud our reasoning especially when it comes to electing sensible and purposeful leaders into public offices.And hence we continue to suffer in penury.We are big as a nation but small at heart.When we are ready for change ,we know exactly what to do.

And despite all this, d country of Ghana is still littered with Nigerians still doing all sorts of illegal stuffs jst for d sake of money.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

it didnt start today, NEXT!!

7F098C19 said...

Eg your son. Engr Emy

me,masef and eyes!!! said...

finally anybody wey commit, him go enter...#stayawayfromcrime.
*69*...ah mk her cum first den ah folo de lead...

prettiyz said...

Nigerians and crime,may God almighty help us in this country

Chai what a disgrace
high rate of unemployment lead to such disgrace. If FG can deal with unemployment rate, there will be a drastic change in crime rate/ criminality.
say no to crime...

Well, wot do u get from a corrupt government... Citizens has to go abroad for greener pastures...

globaldeji said...

Y'all nigerians behaving like animals.

Days why we need a change

Ad long as our leaders continue stealing public funds instead of using the money to develop the country, thereby making life hard for all, Nigerian citizens would continue to go outside and involve themselves in crime and continue to disgrace this country.

Gentletee said...

Nigerians! Even for Ghana, well over to you ninister of foreign affairs. Let ir not be some are illegally detained o!

What do u xpect? When ur Country is not working

Really national disgrace! but biko your talk too long try summarize next time! *Phew* *cleanssweat*

Biggest Economy in Africa! Giant of Africa! 10th Highest product of crude oil in the world!... yet the citizens are not feeling the impact of the above. WHAT A COUNTRY!!!

@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Ademola Owolabi said...

Come, how is a national disgrace? People left Nigeria to commit crime abroad. It is their personal disgrace. In Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia and everywhere, Nigerians propensity for crime is awesome and condemnable.

Condemn the criminal and please leave Nigeria out of it.

nigerians are everywhere ooo..!uh I fink there is foul play there oo cuz there is no one to fyt for em bcus they nt in there father land

Pls say that to Govt that failed to provide for its citizens

Isi kotara ebu ka ebu na-agba.

Visit www.blessinghammed.com

Nigerian Identity...

BAD LEADERS!!!! NAIJA WHAT A SHAME! GHANA OF ALL PLACES OOH! LMAOOO

Good write-up...he who has ears let him hear,A word is enough for the wise

very unfortunate

na Yahoo boys na

Naija dey carry last now.

Ghana is our branch office.

Na Fup be dat na

Shame!

Its not a disgrace jor...they are there to represent The giant of Africa...
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Our Leaders are callous and selfish.

Shame on Nigerian government cos as far as I'm concerned it's d high rate of unemployment that brought about this...n sum1 is telling me GEJ should be voted into power again..neva...d only tn constant in lyf is change.n that's what we did...vote APC, vote change..

what more can i say????? I Know that one day it will get better""""JC

SMH hmmm

SMH hmmm

thats an act of greed on the part of those affected, most nigerian youths are lazy and greedy and thats why they land themselves into such places, dont blame the govt on this.

Na today

Is a shame to naija goverment,youths are every where with no job.top gov officials buying cars and houses for their girl friends..who do u blame,use those funds to make naija a better place.

If naija do dem well dem no go go ghana now..useless nigeria **DOPEY SAID SO**

towncrier said...

How I wish my country was safe enough, how I wish Nigerians had what they needed (basic amenities, good jobs), how I wish our leaders are not looting, how I wish our leaders judiciously use our resources, there would have been no reason for any Nigerian to seek greener pastures...... But then, you should be ready for the consequences of your actions.

I hope DRunkard Okukpe is reading this too ooo, as one of Uncle J's several achievement sinx bcoming President ...Na laff me i is ooooooo LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

Itaff do! Must u copy and paste this sh*t everywhere? FYI der is no giveaway this month so stop

That's one of the parameters to show the level of rotteness of a nation/government. Mmiri ahu siri n'isi nwere gbaruo. My heart aches when i see and imagine the disrepute Nigeria and Nigerians command offshores out of desperation to make ends meet, put upon them by insensitive government. Onye obula kpafuru ka anumanu - both the shephards and their sheep. I got a shocker of my life the day i went to report a distress situation involving a Nigerian, to the Nigeria consulate in South Africa. Imagine a high commissioner after hearing me explained a situation of a Nigerian dumped in a hospital by an airlined he bourded due to health issue - telling me there is nothing they can do. That i should contact his family to come over to take him home. That there are many Nigerians in the streets of foreign countries which their commissions over there do not have capacity to look after(not even in distress situations). The guy eventually died and was buried here. I then begin to wonder the purpose of setting up such commissions. To me, Nigeria as a nation and her government had never, at any point in time, been anything worthy of interest and repute. God help us.

Such a shame

chizzy said...

mklboih/

Dada Omolara said...

Government can't be blamed for everything

Nigerians and their get-rich-quickyii-wanna-buy-a-ferrari is always getting them in prison. Some its their gragra. Nigerians seriously need to have a rething and change their characters sometimes

Crime is Nigeria birth right

The earlier we change the gov't the better,our youths wasting away.

Shame indeed. Linda take note!

Embarrassing!!!

umoh Linda said...

D kind of shame nigerians in diaspora bring to us ehnn, schewww, it is well

One of d reasons being bad governance or leadership in Nigeria.

Well to be fair, an average Ghanaian hates Nigerians and seems to be in competition with Nigeria. The government likes to blame everything on the Nigerian nationals in the country even if it's clear that the crime was committed by a Kojo or Nana or Togolese and something along that line. I suggest the government to examine the case to ensure that these prisoners are in prison for actually committing a crime and not otherwise!

BICESTER VILLAGE said...

It's the fault of our government,charity they say begins at home.

Nigeria youths wasting away home and abroad since 1345...

But after reading all this stories,who is to be blamed??????

Princess G said...

God help us.

BIG FUCK TO YOUR ENTIRE FAMILY MEMBERS mr Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan,BIG FUCK TO YOUR entire yoruba tribe ,discrimination and racist and selfish is what would kill every yorubas FUCK YOU FUCK YOU FUCK YOU mr Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan

SOMEONE IN PRISON IS SAYING WHAT IS HE IS SEEING WHICH IS TRUE YOU ARE HERE CONVINCING PEOPLE FOR YOUR OWN SELFISH INTEREST

FUCK YOU ONCE MORE Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan