Dementia hallucinations triggered actor Robin Williams suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 November 2014

Dementia hallucinations triggered actor Robin Williams suicide

According to a new report, legendary actor Robin Williams' suicide was triggered by a horrible disease called Lewy Body Dementia.

From TMZ
TMZ has obtained documents showing Williams was struggling with the disease, which is marked by abnormal protein deposits in the brain that disrupt normal function. 
Lewy Body Dementia is a common condition associated with Parkinson's ... and people afflicted by both often get severe side effects from Parkinson's meds. Hallucinations are common, where patients see phantom objects, people or animals. The patients often try to converse with the illusions.
Robin's wife had told authorities shortly after his death he had been complaining about the meds and the way they made him feel.
Sources connected with the Williams family tell TMZ ... Lewy Body Dementia was the "key factor" they believe drove him to kill himself. We're told Robin's doctors agree that the disease was the critical factor leading to his suicide.

21 comments:

May his soul continue to rest in peace.

Amicable said...

I doubt the fact he was demented

seunLondon said...

Dementia is a terrible illness...no cure, Only worsens. ...#SeunLondon

He was such a great actor,sad thing he committed suicide.

Doctors always link/ lead something to someone death.
With/ without autopsy, death is inevitable

Too bad

Ouch too bad.. Gross. I remember my lec. Told us dat any disease that has Parkinson's affiliation is terrible and deadly.

Jenyking commenting via #etisalat

Hmmm sickness dey oo

Hallucinations are common, where patients see phantom objects, people or animals.
Another crazy fashion of the day;see what this chic wore out to the public!

So sad. Na different kind disease dey o. Make God dey save person o

Okay oh!

Rip...

Too bad! God save us from all this dangerous disease. May his soul rest in peace #onelovefromSnow#

Lewy body dementia kwa?.hmm..I remain #Immanuel

Adieu Mrs Doubtfire, one of my favourite funny films of all time.
Please take note bird witch catchers. Mental health is no respecter of fame, wealth or status. Those lynching and mocking dementia sufferers beware. Next time it could be you or your mother.

Gabby said...

Na wa oh..oyibos must always give a medical name to everything. Dey always want to explain every event that happens but the truth is there is more to the truth.. Dey should allow the man rest abeg.

continue to RIP

Linda, did you say "shortly after his death, he has been complaining..."
I am sure you meant "shortly before his death..."

Uche Emma said...

Yeah right. Please don't try to spin this. So many other people have managed Parkinson's for decades without killing them selves. Suicidal ideation is a side effect of the drugs yes, but people like Michael J Fox who have fought this for decades are people he would have reached out to to find out what they have been doing to combat those effects. He was sick - yes but he died by killing himself.

okay make him rest in peace linda i go beg u to post my comment abi no post u go dey desperate to settle down and hav kids lyk serena willams no joke smellos