The situation on Awolowo Road Ikoyi this afternoon (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 31 October 2014

The situation on Awolowo Road Ikoyi this afternoon (photos)

A LIB reader just sent me these photos. They say Awolowo Road, Ikoyi has been on stand still for the past two hours because they are expecting vice-president Namadi Sambo, so there hasn't been much movement in the area. See more photos after the cut...

98 comments:

Ehen, gini wee mezia?

Na wa o

elovi said...

Okay na stand still Becus vice president is coming

Handlemewithcare2014 said...

Hmmmm this terrible

Phew! This is one of the many reasons I feel GEJ should comeback 2015,even he should rule us forever.

Reminds everyone of em military days. The man is still somewhere in abu a chilling...popping champers

Situation doesn't seem bad na

So bcos of Sambo now, no going home 4 office workers n mrkt pple abi? Yen na da. Oluwa, joor se emi, oko mi ati omo mi ni ori apesin ooo, sugbon maje kafi ni aiye lara

Okay seen

See what Tiwa Savage did to a popular Comedian

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

this is bullshit

BLAZER said...

WHAT RUBBISH...WHO SABI AM SEF???...THATS HOW A LIFE WILL BE ON THE LINE ND THEYL B DOING THIS

This is serious

DIARY OF A TEENAGER said...

Two hours ke, cos d vp is passing; so pple should miss appointments, and go late for meetings? Nigeria never ceases to amaze me.

Jesus christ see news.

Bet why????

Na today?

Same thing de did to us @ abuja airport rd, dat de r waiting 4 goodluck to land @ d airport den pass b4 pple can start moving. Jona wey neva land oh! Na em fools de ground de wait. Na Jesus wan frm heaven come? Kitikpa lachakwaa unu ike there!

Rubbish!!!

If they are tired of the hold up they should trek to their destinations 'tongueout' #onelovefromSnow#

Jessica law said...

So the traffic is all because of vice president coming oshi oda

Linda, not just this afternoon o, those muppets blocked the road as early as 8:30 am this this morning.

Daralohi said...

Wonders shall never end,when GEJ came to Benin there was huge traffic and i couldn't stop at my destination,i had to trek,it was not funny.

AND ? ? ?

Hey, this is serious.. V.P na God

Oskirin said...

no wonder we no see 2 much of security details 4 central mosque in abuja 2day.lagosian,make una xperience wetin we dey xperience whn all ds vagabond in power (VIP) visits our neighborhood.dnt kanna.

taiwo aiyepe said...

this is so true, i've been stuck here for hours...

Abuse of power, so because VP is coming, pple should not go about their lawful businesses....naija for show, rubbish

www.glowyshoes.com said...

They have to bear it...dats d way our country is

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

taiwo aiyepe said...

this is so true, i've been stuck here for the past hours

Faceoflib

DEguebe said...

Rubbish....

25Lagos is an ugly city sha..look at a high street..mtchwwwwww

Funny #bright bravo# 269beb21

Uche Emma said...

Wahala

funny thing the dude was just heading to the airport at around to three. lolzzzzzzzzzzz Nigeria we hail thee!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mtchwee all for one person...#nagod

Hunmmmmm
#TEAMLIB

TWO HOURS KEE,ITS BEEN OVER 4 HOURS . I CAN SEE EVERYTHING ... THEY SHOULD HAVE MADE TODAY A PUBLIC HOLIDAY TBH

DOT said...

so now because one man is coming to lagos,commercial activities in this area has to be brought to its knee and a whole lot of man hours wasted!i wonder how we practice our democracy in this part of the world

It's very ridiculous that when the president or his wife or the vice president comes, the roads have to be closed and people kept in traffic for hours. Its ridiculous, considering we voted for this people. Its a misuse of power and this should be addressed by our legislators or judiciary

So people shud nt move..they are crazy. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

naija...mumu country. vice president ma nyash

matleby said...

The traffic was horrendous

I don't believe this.

BB Pin: 24C632E3

Na wao

Na wa oh.. no wonder there have been traffic! i was wondering,make dem no affect my going home 2day oh..

Oshi!

Seriously?????? We see this everyday in Abuja. Get used to it. * flips page

This is just ridiculous cos VP is coming our daily activities should stop or paralyse when will this stop jagajag people mshheeeww the gas station didn't open sef

yii said...

Thanking God im out of this city...
the way they stop the masses because of who the bloody hell is coming into town is getting out of hand. .. can't there be any oda means? Nigeria the backward Nation

So people can't move around. Very annoying

#king said...

Why won't they wait? Shebi its d invincible sambo..Useless Vp..........................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

That's government for you.

This is madness,is that the dividen of democracy?

Is it always busier than this, cos it looks pretty normal to me.

superhattitude said...

i still dont get why people are made to suffer just because someone who we are paying (his/her salary) with our hard erned salary (tax money)should be treated like a god whenever they come to lagos

this situation is totally absurd and stupid

insanity;dont the relevant authorities have the VP's detail as to when and where that they are restricting ordinary citizens from going about their activities?

i dont know why they always do this . the lock down started this monikng as early as 7am and i was stuck on osborne road for over 2 hours after paying that annoying lekki/ikoyi toll fee, its really not fair on people i almost got sacked today but thank God for his intervention. really annoying! this has to stop.
rtty.

Linda no be small thing o I was dere for four hours still in the old up now

Nawa....very funny

distin said...

I can't just help but laugh.........because they are expecting vice president Namadi sambo......

This is just demonic and wicked! Till people start throwing stones and burning their cars will they start to have sympathy for the average man. Idiots!

like for real. GOD DEY

Wicked and heartless people. You can't do anything for the people but still make life miserable for them. May God punish you all.

togsonkaks said...

so?

That's gross

Tank God say man no b God,who knows wat dis world wud hav bin lyk

And Linda called the Oyinbo Man Ode for calling Lagos the worst City in the world. There you go!

it was terrible

Rubbish..ishh

It was such an annoying traffic...argghhh!. I pity others who are still stuck there.

Fuck Sambo and is associated

Stupid shit

Josh Atuanya said...

HOLD up...

That is fresh air and transformation. Go and vote for them again next February. Now compare that with Fashola who doesnt even use siren and waits in traffic. Nigerians seem to love suffering sha.

We using Lagos - Abeokuta express way benefitted from it cox can't believe at this tym of d day I will travel Ikeja along - iyana dopemu within 10minutes God will help u on d island sha

OMG! I had to go through a different route cos of the stand still which wasn't convenient @ all come and see police and soldiers everywhere dey practically barricaded the road with their vans na wah!

Can you imagine all that for that dull-looking Sambo deputizing a clueless drunken fisherman!

Michael's blog said...

This is crazy

Nonsense,make I do wetin

Gbenga said...

If I find you, I'll behead you for that statement!

@anonymous 7:03...pls tell dem. Country with citizens that forget easily. Accountability is non existent...smh

Best comment everrrrr!!! Was stuck in dat traffic as well, sooo annoying cos d man didn't even come after all d road blockage. Shiiooorrr!

It is not only cars this pple stopped o, even pedestrians were haulted , someone from my office going to FIRS awolowo said he came down from the cab he boarded and started trekking to FIRS, but to his surprise, the useless police stopped all the passers by from moving any further to where sambo wil take.

Na jesus dey cum?

WTF!!!!! What is wrong with the black man????!!!!

If men where God!!! I swear they would have have taken oxygen away from us. I can't wait for d second coming of Christ, these people need to be placed to where they all belong..hell!!!

Hey kid, what exactly are you trying to say here? By the way, are you done with your homework?

LoGic

Bonario, your sarcasm is epic

Imagine tht..only in Nigeria .. Even Obama goes to hv drinks,lolz..goes around...there has never been anytin out of ordinary happening anytime Canadaa prime minister is coming to town...forward never backward ever is Nigeria

Mean, evil, wicked, selfish idiots! Practically the entire island was on lock down cos a docile idiot came to town. How do u prevent ppl from getting on a road as busy as Awolowo whr thr are a whole lot of businesses for over 4hrs?! The morons won't understand the full effect of the madness they displayed today on businesses all cause 1 imbecile who adds no value whatsoever was around. For 3hrs I was on Falomo bridge, they completely barricaded the bridge so thr was absolutely no movement all to what end?! Aren't all the overzealous siren blaring blockheads they go around with providing enough security? Why prevent ppl from going their own way trying to make ends meet?!

Where is that rotten Apple to hail this government again? Even sheep think clearer than some humans.

It is only in Nigeria that citizens are treated like second class citizens.. what a nation.

@BONARIO NNAGS do you use your head at all you want him to rule again because everything is halted when his officials visit a state. You may need a ruler but i think everone needs a leader.. not some one who say stealing is not corruption.... When the persident comes to Ikoyi everything is halted even there is a limit you can walk.

When things like this happen, Nigerians should protest massively, take photos and videos via mobile phones and upload them to the internet.

All bloggers and Nigerian websites should post and report the news and also upload photos and videos to all social networks.

International news agencies all over the world will also pick it up and report the news.

When everyone joins forces and come out everyday in very high numbers, even outnumbering the police, the police themselves will feel helpless and either back off or run away. The citizens of Nigeria outnumber the police and security forces.

If this is done on a daily basis and becomes the norm in Nigeria, perhaps things will begin to change gradually.

These politicians need to be ridiculed on a daily basis for the whole world to see.

This is how the arab uprising started. This is how Mubarak, Gaddafi etc. were ousted and brought down by their people.

This is what has brought a lot of massive changes in other countries in recent times.

Nigerians should rise up and use the internet and power of social media in their masses to try and make changes in the country.

Nothing else seems to be working so we should try this approach.

Until we take action and bring to light the ills happening in Nigeria, we will continue to suffer unnecessarily in this country.

Apple, I say where are you?????

That is fresh air and transformation. Go and vote for them again next February. Now compare that with Fashola who doesnt even use siren and waits in traffic. Nigerians seem to love suffering sha.