Ebola: Liberia's President writes moving letter to the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 19 October 2014

Ebola: Liberia's President writes moving letter to the world

Liberia's President, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has written a heartfelt letter to the world over the Ebola crisis that hit her country. In the letter which was read over the radio and transmitted worldwide, she likened the Ebola epidermic to the civil war her country faced 11 years ago which killed a lot of Liberians, crumbled their economy and vital institutions.

The president called on the international community to stop all theoretical explanations on the Ebola crisis and act fast to stop the spread of the deadly virus. Find her letter after the cut...

Dear World
In just over six months, Ebola has managed to bring my country to a standstill. We have lost over 2,000 Liberians. Some are children struck down in the prime of their youth. Some were fathers, mothers, brothers or best friends. Many were brave health workers that risked their lives to save others, or simply offer victims comfort in their final moments.
There is no coincidence Ebola has taken hold in three fragile states – Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea - all battling to overcome the effects of interconnected wars. In Liberia, our civil war ended only eleven years ago. It destroyed our public infrastructure, crushed our economy and led to an exodus of educated professionals. A country that had some 3,000 qualified doctors at the start of the war was dependent by its end on barely three dozen. In the last few years, Liberia was bouncing back. We realized there was a long way to go, but the future was looking bright.
Now Ebola threatens to erase that hard work. Our economy was set to be larger and stronger this year, offering more jobs to Liberians and raising living standards. Ebola is not just a health crisis – across West Africa, a generation of young people risk being lost to an economic catastrophe as harvests are missed, markets are shut and borders are closed.
The virus has been able to spread so rapidly because of the insufficient strength of the emergency, medical and military services that remain under-resourced and without the preparedness to confront such a challenge. This would have been the case whether the confrontation was with Ebola, another infectious disease, or a natural disaster.
But one thing is clear. This is a fight in which the whole world has a stake. This disease respects no borders. The damage it is causing in West Africa, whether in public health, the economy or within communities – is already reverberating throughout the region and across the world.
The international reaction to this crisis was initially inconsistent and lacking in clear direction or urgency. Now finally, the world has woken up. The community of nations has realized they cannot simply pull up the drawbridge and wish this situation away.
This fight requires a commitment from every nation that has the capacity to help – whether that is with emergency funds, medical supplies or clinical expertise.
I have every faith in our resilience as Liberians, and our capacity as global citizens, to face down this disease, beat it and rebuild. History has shown that when a people are at their darkest hour, humanity has an enviable ability to act with bravery, compassion and selflessness for the benefit of those most in need.
From governments to international organisations, financial institutions to NGOs, politicians to ordinary people on the street in any corner of the world, we all have a stake in the battle against Ebola. It is the duty of all of us, as global citizens, to send a message that we will not leave millions of West Africans to fend for themselves against an enemy that they do not know, and against whom they have little defence.
The time for talking or theorizing is over. Only concerted action will save my country, and our neighbours, from experiencing another national tragedy. The words of Henrik Ibsen have never been truer: “A thousand words leave not the same deep impression as does a single deed.
Yours sincerely,
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

122 comments:

Eya! I really feel for this woman, that country Liberia needs help ASAP.

lami said...

So moving. I hope d international community do something drastic to put a halt to this deadly disease.

APPLELIPX said...

I can imagine what it feels lyk to live in fear and uncertainty of wat tomoro holds

this people are really dyin.. Oh God.. Help them.

Visit my blog: www.g3wap.blogspot.com

Odiaka I. said...

Well said!. too much talking going on around the world while the virus continues to erase the lives of the young and the old. Time for constructive actions!

obietrezy said...

Just strolling out........

Hmmm..Only God can save us nw

Aragon 3 said...

Touching indeed......I hope the international community reacts.

God will intervene.

Hmm...

*My R1.50c comment*

Niyi Daramola said...

Touching

11 Sexiest Hot Spots to Kiss a Woman and Arouse Her

NDB

Eya

so sad

Five Acts of Desperation Women
Perform to Keep Mr. Right ( A must read )

I hear her cry. But she did not spell out her call to action. Exactly what can concerned citizens of the world do to help? Do we donate, send supplies, what?

tina said...

Tears drop reading this letter. Ma take heart n keep pray God will put a stop to dis Ebola disease. tina.agori@yahoo.com

Who gives a fuck,..the American government put u there ahead of George weah & u couldn't contain ordinary Ebola...oniranu

May God help them...chai they are really suffering over there

Pastor caught with another member’s wife in the hotel

Unilag Big Girl Caught With Her Sugar Daddy In An Hotel

Girl Transformed into Snake when Boys Force to do things with Her in the Bush

Mother Exposed her Own Daughter for allegedly Cheating with her Father

Aragon 3 said...

I hope the international community reacts.

Aragon 3 said...

I hope the international community reacts.

I feel sorry for Liberians, guess hands are being put on deck to stop d scourge, but biko we are pleading wit her and her people to stop d spread to oda countries. Tomorrow, Nigeria will b declared ebola free. We wud luv to remain dt way.

Oh i feel bad for them. And to think the country is about 167years old its quite a shame. Look what war have turn Liberia into. I wish the people who started tje war were alive to see its turn-out. Just about a few dozen doctors in a 167years old country. I hope a real dispenseable cure for this virus is developed for this virus. My heart aches for them.

For thy mercy sake Oh lord pls come to the rescue of your children,i just wish dis is over I feel for these countries,a tragedy indeed

TeeBabson1509 said...

May God save us.... Indid d signs of the end has started manifestin.... buh definitly,God will Heal us all.

The Ebola war is not only an African war, it is a looming global war. Whether the international community likes it or not, they must act because once any region is affected, no region is save

EX-oyo gov's daughter Kemi Olunloyo reveals photos/chats of men begging her for sex online (PICS)

ukbliss said...

I feel for dis country,

Pool of warm tears ran down my cheeks as I read this moving message.Liberia is a fragile nation and needs help.But the govt should also do all it can to prevent Patrick Sawyers from changing the minds of other nations from helping.

Madam,your country needs to be ''nuked''..that's the only way we can stop the spread.

#king said...

Chai I pity them..they are really suffering...............................#KingOfKings

They should act nt apology oooo cus deir pple still get plan to spread dis tin around ooo.if dey can do it to naija nd us dem fit do more oo,I nor trust dem at all.

Chuka. said...

Let action begin! Enough of talk! Talk! Talk. God save Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.

I feel very bad for the people of Liberia

Ordinarily the dummy & puppet AU (African Union) should mobilize funds,medics,equipment and every resources available to help these brothers but they won't and that's how we always shoot ourselves as Africans in our feet by leaving our doors open to foreigners who claim to come to "help" and then destroy,divide and kill our people.

Every African country should wake up and let's help these brother countries in whatever ways we can. A problem for one African country should be a problem for all African countries....it's high time we realized that and started living by that code or motto.

No one can convince me otherwise that ebola is not a biological weapon. Let's answer some questions.

1. DO YOU KNOW THAT THE US GOVERNMENT HAS A PATENT ON EBOLA?
2. WHAT IS A PATENT, YOU MAY ASK?

....according to wikipedia, "A patent (/ˈpætənt/ or /ˈpeɪtənt/) is a set of exclusive rights granted by a sovereign state to an inventor or assignee for a limited period of time in exchange for detailed public disclosure of an invention. An invention is a solution to a specific technological problem and is a product or a process. Patents are a form of intellectual property.

3. DO YOU KNOW THAT THE US GOVERNMENT HAS OFFICIALLY MADE PLANS TO DEPLOY ABOUT 4000 US SOLDIERS TO WEST AFRICA TO "fight" EBOLA? LOL

4. IS EBOLA A HUMAN TERRORIST THAT GUNS NOW KILL?

PEOPLE, GO ONLINE AND TYPE IN NSSM 200.

NSSM 200 is a US government document that used to be classified but eventually got declassified (probably due to a leak or snitch or whatever). Read that document and see how the US has always planned to depopulate certain regions in the world particularly Africa. Nigeria was specifically mentioned in that document.
Africa must wake up!
God Bless Nigeria.
God Bless mama Africa.

Josh Atuanya said...

Well spoken...
They really need help

win said...

I can imagine what this Ebola outbreak has done to this woman's psyc. Its really depressing. God, please help the entire world from this terror.

Ellen shul acknwledge the divine personage that presides her. She shul kowtow to that MAN in south south naija evnthough He's omnipresent

very pitiful .....at dis moment I think even Nigeria should offer her help...since we understand how to handle dis....I pity her a lot n what dat country is passing tro...God help

WOMAN OF COURAGE I JOIN YOU IN THE FIGHT AGAINST EBOLA #THEWORLDSTANDUPAGAINSTEBOLA

shebi she visit supreme Father(in calabar) during election. Afta that we no c am again though she promiz 2 cum bk wit a thankful heart

It is unfortunate that the US government implanted this disease in some of the most vulnerable areas in the world as part of a greater agenda. In the end, ultimately the truth will come out.

Chai MY PRESIDENT GOD WE COME TO UNA AID PLS WE WIL JUST BE PRAYING FOR UNA THERE BCUS THIS PLAGUE CALL EBOLA IS NOT ONLY LIBERIA DISASTER BUT THE WORLD BCUS NO ONE IS SAVE IN IT

I always thought a woman president will make a better leader but the president of Liberia has just proven me wrong. Must d world do everything for u? Doesn't Liberia have people in diaspora which can come together and donate money for dis? And lastly why did she have to wait until now to start writing to the world? She needed to be more aggressive in her pursuit for help. She needed to have taken more desperate measures. She's not a serious person

Angel Judith said...

O God help save Liberia n others like You did in Nigeria. Amen!!

Anne said...

Hmmm! She is definitely right.

bird said...

Masterpiece!!! Lord in your mercy, hear her prayers

ifylove said...

dis ebola is really going too far by killing too many people, d whole world should put their heads together to contain dis virus.

Sigh* I so feel this woman's pain. God pls take away Ebola.. forgive us of our sins and eradicate ebola. Rip to the lost soul esp d health workers.

*for

Daralohi said...

So terrible,thank G od we were able to contain EVD.

Truetalk said...

This ebola wouldn't have gotten out of control if UN had come in initially to help contain this. Its now that the most powerful nation (not so powerful again) has tasted a share of this virus that everyone is up and running to get either a cure or vaccine to stall the spread. At least they have tasted how it is. Cos as it is, ebola is enough to cripple the economy of any nation to a terrifying halt.

Very touching

Awww, written and crafted like a mother! You can feel her pain, her distress, her tears in every stroke of her keyboard! Hope the idiot Trump is seeing this and realizing that they are dealing with humans with emotions! Mechanical racist.

Bhunmie! said...

Hmmmmn,deep...MayGod keep us all alive tho

Chai!

God help Africa

linsadris said...

It is only God that can stop this disease that has ravage Africa

my heart bleeds

niffyt said...

This truely breaks my heart. How can we help??

SouthEastern said...

This is so deep than we thought. God pls come to the aid of the world.

May the Lord show the world the way to curb dis disease

Yemi said...

Lord Jesus , I pray for mercy for your land.As you helped Nigeria to overcome this deadly disease,pls.help Liberia oh Lord!

This touching. .

Awwww.....God please intervene on their behal nd heal there land

The world really needs to intervene...

please check out our blog
www.vintagecloset9ja.blogspot.com

onye nsogbu said...

So touching. Only God can deliver Liberia at this moment.

This just made me cry.....together we all must say no to ebola

Touching.... may the souls of all d faithful departed true d mercy of God rest in peace amen.

God save West Africa God bless us too.

I feel for Liberians. It is indeed very devastating for them. I pray that will act fast.

Srzly....dey need our prayers......

Eya,FG shuld hlp her na

Nice write-up
We should all join hands together to fight against Ebola, no country is save per say...

Good one

Well…The first thing if you ask me is that your people should stop knowingly infecting other countries by sneaking away, i call that wickedness. May God Almighty help us all. Amen! If not for God, our government and the citizens of Nigeria by now Nigeria would have been in hot oil, no thanks to that evil medical terrorist called Patrick Sawyer.

It is well in Jesus Name

God help us all

U are senseless! May u die of ebola!

I pray for God mercy upon them, is not easy to live in fear. Come to think of it this call for help should have come earlier then this. If u ask me cos things like this u act fast.

This is really sad...

oh lord,cryin while goin tru dis,is rlly touchin is nly God dat can save us frm dis deadly virus

dr_dozie said...

I hope this touches the heart of all those with the capacity to help. God help us all.

Idiotic pig you are feeling for her but you have no feelings for your president. Goat

Eya i pity dis country....@gloell

ope said...

You are very stupid for that statement. Animal

Am wondering where you are from. Before you call for help you must first act n declare you have tried first. You just talk for talking sake. In 10 paragraph write how you can curtail ebola with your seriousness. I'm sure you cant

forendy91 said...

Watch Tv that fits only at pastivi.com
streaming smoothly and lightly. can be accessed via your gadget too.
visit > > www.pastivi.com

Brume Blinks said...

Eyah very soon Ebola wud be in the past IJN.Amen
entertainmentupdateng.blogspot.com

Oh lord hear the cry of ur people. Soo touching nd as for Donald trump matter I no go talk

Why are african leaders so incompetent? So as the president of a country you did not think it wise to lure or encourage people to go into the medical field by providing them financial and enabling conditions after the war? What have you done with educational infrastructure? What did you even do when Ebola started creeping into your country initially? This should have been your responsibility right from the beginning. Must the U.S. OR UN run our countries for us? Why are you the president of you cannot handle a challenge? The president is a tough job meant for people with the mental capacity not only to sit in the presidential palace and travel on private jets

Isnt dat too harsh for some one you have never met or even had a conversation with, we Nigerians need to start respecting other people's opinion

I feel for her. Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown indeed. While i corroborate her stance on international support to combat this global enemy, I also believe they need to pray as a country for God's forgiveness. I know this sounds incoherent and boring to most of you but those who understand do. I mean they just have so much issues, both natural and human disasters that it's sounding like biblical plagues to me.

God be with Liberia and every embattled country right now.

Nigerians are very harsh ooo. Why all the insult? Mtcheeeeew.

IT IS WELL IJMN. AMEN!

Eeyaaa

jerry said...

Guyz guyz make una take ham easy abeg.... Yeah its good she apologized ooo cos if they were able to contain d disease it wouldn't spread across countries.

God will see us through

This anonymous must be very retarted. Wat has d statement got to do with our own president.u r one of d cyber bullies of this time. U must b a miserable person

You are the idiotic pig

GOD have mercy.

Yu are obviously very very Foolish!!! C what you are spewing from your mouth, what have you done for your family not village o, that yu would open ur mouth and talk her down...

aww

hope the letter can beat every single death heart..

Tnk u errbdy b criticising GEJ lyk he's the worst. Dnt lyk him too but d way ppl rain abuses on him it's lyk there's no respect for our leader again..

You have watched too many oyinbo movies

DADDYSWIFE said...

Dis is so sad,Lord Jesus pls hav mercy on liberians n the whole world

Dear Idiotic pig anonymous 5:02, can your President write this kind of heart felt message to the world? Instead, he goes about goofing left, right and centre. Do you have the slightest idea of the amount of resources in monetary terms GEJ has at his disposal compared to Liberia? All they do is enrich their pockets at the expense of poor Nigerians dying every day. So why should we feel sorry for Jonathan? He wanted to be President by all means possible. no one forced it on him. So let him find the same will to change the Nigerian situation for good cos somewhere in the near future posterity will judge him.

God knows best..

He won't he feel 4 her u idiot,even a heartless human being will hav sef pity cos of dat msg,it goes to say d world is not safe if liberia is not aided.

SENSELESS

Fineboy said...

You that was using hand sanitizer when 9ja was plagued with the virus....Better beg God for this your statement. You don't have to always comment.

Too bad of u, two of u are wrong and two wrongs can never make a right . Please stop sending someone ebola cuz ur enemy cannot wish u ebola

Am sure you're a TAN agent. You my friend is the idiot here!

The woman is damn corrupt! American stooge.

Bla's Blog said...

U are a mumu @Anon5:02 . Wat did alloy say that's bitting ur little brain?

Toni said...

Abeg leave anon 5.02 alone. he sounded like asari dokubo though...well said jare anon 8.37

Madam God will interven...and take this ebola away in jesus name Amen....

Aiiiiit.

NO 1, THAT WOMAN IS VERY CORRUPT.
NO 2, SHE IS NOT A GOOD LEADER SHE
IS TOO SELF CENTERED . I SAID SHE IS NOT A GOOD LEADER AND SELF CENTERED BC EDUCATION IS VERY VITAL. INFORMATION IS VERY IMPORTANT.MY BIBLE TELLS ME THAT MY PEOPLE PERISH BECOS THEY LACK KNOWLEGDE. MORE IMPORTANT THAN FINDING CURE.IF SHE HAD EDUCATE HER PEOPLE THEY WOULD NOT ACT AS IF THE HEALTH OFFICIALS HANDLING THE EBOLA CASES ARE THE PLAGUE. ALOT OF DISGUSTING THINGS ARE HAPPENING IN HER COUNTRY CONCERNING THE EBOLA CASES THAT YOU WOULD WONDER IF THEY EVEN HAVE A LEADER.RIGHT FROM THE ON SET OF THE OUTBREAK SHE HAS REFUSE TO TAKE IT SERIOUS SHE REMAINS INDIFFERENT TO IT PROBABLY SHE THOUGHT IT COULD NOT GET TO HER. AND NOW SHE IS COMING OUT WITH AN EPISTLE. SHAME ON HER. I IMAGINE HOW SHE HANDLES HER HOME AFFAIRS.

abujakenneth said...

My Father my Healer, please have mercy on Liberians

Help is on the way.

Anon 8:37PM and co, you aren't seen nothing yet. You can rant carelessly and stupidly as you like while GEJ continues to dismantle the evil structures put in place by your forebears. Who cares if you choose to cast your vote to the swine in the forthcoming elections? As far as this geographical entity subsists you bigots can opt to remain in your miserable conditions beyond 2019.

What did you bigots do when Obj reigned in terror, killing, assassinating, kidnapping sitting governors, raising fuel pump price severally at will, with reckless abandon, looting and converting the commonwealth to personal purse and heavily corrupting the legislative and judiciary arms of govt thereby taking corruption to an unprecedented level like never before in the country? Billions of dollars meant for developmental projects, that would have helped to improve the quality of lives in Nigeria were looted and squandered by your diabolic kinsmen.

Now that someone else who is not from your tribe is performing creditably well as president you guys are crying foul as if the problems of the country began with GEJ regime. Come to think of it: GEJ in 3yrs performed creditably well than your tribal do-or-die Obj did in his entire 8yrs at the saddle.

APC entered into the national political field with a clear satanic and very wicked and sadistic aspirations and intentions. Their clear cut objective weaved with propaganda, falsehood, lies, blackmail and deceit was simply to undermine Goodluck Ebele Jonathan by all means, and overawe him out of office, and return Nigeria to the evil grip of the born-to-rule and ensure total Islamization of the country.

You and your co bloody irrendentists have failed! And very woefully at that! Biased sets of people!