'I am the king of R&B in Nigeria' - Darey Art Alade declares | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 April 2014

'I am the king of R&B in Nigeria' - Darey Art Alade declares

Award winning artiste Darey Art Alade said in a recent interview with Encomium mag that he is the king of RnB music in Nigeria and not Banky W. When asked if he feels any competition between himself and Banky W knowing that they are both called Nigeria's king of RnB, Darey replied;
"There is only one king of RnB. I have never heard anybody being called king of RnB except me. I have never heard anybody call him (Banky W) king of RnB except if you think he is one. But the truth is, there is only one king, and you know who the king is. If you doubt it, my new material will settle the scores. Although it has taken sometime, I am very happy the work is coming out soon" he told the magazine
Darey also spoke on the increased rate of artiste/management face off and revealed plans of acquiring a radio station. Continue to read the rest...

On artiste/management face off, Darey said;
"The truth of the matter is everybody has a role to play and they have a portion of the blame. The label invests something, I don't want to say much. For every investment you want to make a return. This is where the artiste doesn't understand. In the beginning, they gave you a house, a car, and you think you are talented, and come to think of it, you don't even have anything in the market. Whatever they gave you was based on potential, the initial agreement that if I give you this, you will give me that in return. Some artistes don't have agreement, everything is sealed at a bar. As you drink, you signed without realizing what you are signing. Some of them are illiterates, some pretend to know what the business is all about, but they don't. Some of them get carried away by the glitz and glamour of it, signed without knowing what the agreement stipulates. When they default, they start blaming the label, saying all sorts of things. But most of us don't find out what was the agreement before going to the press and write. On the other side, the label may have been obligated to do certain things but they did not do it and the artiste will complain. These are the issues" he said
On how to resolve these issues, Darey said;
"I think both sides should have respect for agreement. There shouldn't be issues if both sides respect agreement they made. For instance, when I left Questionmark, nobody heard that I fought anybody till tomorrow. Yes we had disagreement, it wasn't a rosy ending but till date they are still my friends, we work together. So maturity is needed to handle such situation".
Darey also spoke on his plans to own a radio station
"I will love to own a radio station. I have already started making inquiries and plans on that feasibility. I am a radio person, I have worked on radio, and it was really fun. Since then I felt it is good if I can achieve this by running a radio station. After all, it will provide jobs for people, encourage creativity and improve entertainment. I don't know the format of the station yet but let me get the license first" he said.

132 comments:

Well the dude is good #bright bravo#

dats ur opinion darey. u cant choose urself. allow pple make their choice. btw, u both re great.

I think he is too. Banky isn't far back.

And it has stopped the sun from shining??

big mouth. U better adopt humility or else you will fall.

dats ur opinion darey. u cant choose urself. allow pple make their choice. btw, u both re great.

Oliver Tweets said...

I wholeheartedly agree with that. Banky isn't.

nice one darey. like his sound too

How and where to make real and good online income is here for you. Get paid daily. click

You see that dude with the big head beside dare.........yea, that one. I choose him over dare. Twice!!

Soul said...

Dude is so arrogant, rude and full of himself. On top that one, na im wife still dey control am. Pfffff

igberaga ni o ma n shiwaju iparun ke(someone please translate that)..well i will choose banky over and over again...his only song that really made sense was 'not the girl'. Whereas banky has so many sensible r&b tracks out there...

Dont know if he is the king of Rnb, but he is a wonderful singer, love him, love his voice, love his genre of music

They are both good, but thr can only be a king.... i'll go with Banky W.

9ce one

Seriously, Darey is a very good artist. I respect him so much with his songs, I also love his videos. But to the King matter, I don't bealif u are the ONE. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

O! Dare plz take several seats jawe

www.makeupcubicle.blogspot.com

SYLVIA MARTINS said...

I like the guy

Yes!!!! E is!!! Not d girl jst mkes me cry err'tym i listen to it!!

So much guts n proud. Hmmm

Akwanwa said...

U̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ really gƠ̴̴̴̴͡Ơ̴̴̴̴͡d̶̲̥̅̊, that I know but U̶̲̥̅̊ being the king of RandB honestly I can't guarantee that (my personal opinion O)

That's outright pride!
He doesn't have to say he is, let people/his fans do the talking....I'm no fan of either of them though, but i have ears for good music with some inspiring msg; I may have listened to either of their songs without even knowing.

Ndi igbo si na ngala bulu uzo, odida esoro ya.

*My R1.50c comment *

Nwa Aba said...

Darey, I disagree with you

Ifo Chakpii...now I understand why some obviously poor and hungry artistes own houses and cars overnight and after a while they would become poor again.I beg Dare wakeup cos Banky is doing better than you these days. I suggest RnBKING for your future radio station. #IndispensableSTAR#

and YES Darey is the only King of RnB any other is a counterfiet. Banky is a confused RnB musician. lol

Leecia said...

Pls wen u do c me here I would love 2 work wit u,u re really a gud artist.

Gbabe said...

I don't think so Mr Alade. Lol

Story. .. we have hrd

He is sick for calling himself king of r n b in Nigeria,in short he is mad,who dash him king of r n b,wen we have the likes of timi dakolo and praiz

haters-slayer said...

yes you are,buh for your pockect,unfurtunatly nigerians dont fancy a nigerian r/b artists so keep it to your self

Heheheh i smell beefing o, i kinda like banky w u better, broda dare so sorry u aint the king to me u hia!!

Banky sings better.

Epic story.tayo

Darey does not even have a hit song

For your mind abi?

u are not the king of R n B.....in ur dreams

I don't even know d guy sef I swear with my fadas grave? U are not suppose to say am d best,let pple do dat 4 u?talk2dhand?pattluvz

King of R&B nko in his dream

@Dare! Proud thing.

In ur wildest dream

nngwanu! ezigbote "king of R&B" #selfacclaimed..................VANNY

May be darey is dreaming or something but am sure he knws the that the big headed man close to him, yes him is the king we all knw......

Peetoye said...

Dare is such a dreamer *mschewWww! Banky W anyday anytime

Darey, till yu sing song wey pass yes or no. Then yu are still slping.... Bcos banky STRONG THING and ur THE GAL I USE TO KNW are both equal abeg.....

MusicHead112 said...

Dare must be a stupid person for saying that he is the king of R&B. Banky is on a much higher level than he is, we have much more better R&B crooners than him(Dare) too, check out the songs and check when last he made a good song not to talk of a hit then u'll understand what I'm talking about. Guess he need the publicity desperately that's why he opened his big mouth, oh well, I understand.

Dare, i sabi u and ur elder bro from unilag dayz, na only instrument una sabi play. una no sabi sing..u might be a better instrumentalist but banky w sings better than you...far far better. even timi dokolo is better than you as well, me sef better pass you. Big Head Banky W is the king of naija R&B....darey and chidi mokeme are the kings of naija sugar mommy...cougars

Daray pls o, with which song re u d king, d one u featured flavour or pls explain o. King my ass...dat big head too good pass you.

Ur view rite?

kaylie said...

The Two guys re Gud
But I love Darey so I ll give it to him.

Did he actually give himself dat title

Darey you're a proud bigoted fool.. King of rnb my black ass.. I'm not a big fan of banky w but with this your stupid pompous statement,I'll choose him over u a million times.. Idiot!

See Darey, u had some really in d past but, u can keep living in that past. U need to prove to us that u r still a good artist instead of calling urself d king. Some of ur new songs have been bad. U r not consistent and that why Banky W is the king and obviously not u. Less I say Silver Saddih is the king of R&B but consistency is the key

He is doing d proverbial "lizard thing".Self hype is allowed jare.
#tayo

Dare welcome mr king....beta go sitdown

Yes u are. U are good and u know it and whether haters like it or not, dey know it 2. U hav bragging rights jare.

I take it dare was being sarcastic or joking. But seriously who buys his records. If i wan hear R&B I go to American old school records. But no one else but us naija does afro pop/ naija hip hop so flavour, inyana, p square, 2baba etc well done.

People are dying and being abducted by Boko Haram and you're there claiming kingship. What an idiot. You and all your so called celebs should go take several back seats abeg

Sid said...

Darey is good but I prefer Banky W...he's more versatile with his style

Banky W is the king of R&B....not an opinion it is the FACT.

Leaky said...

Who dash you??? Hw can yu lay claim on smethn that you hvnt wrked hard for? Anam anukwa!

Miss Congeniality said...

BankyW is the undisputed king of RnB,Dare's songs are always boring and lacks d sensuality I find in Banky's song,Banky is a good composer,performer and twice a better singer than Dare ever was....My Opinion

I prefare Dare

Shit talk darey...only 4 ur mumu mind na em u be king for R n B.....its very obvious banky got it..so go chill

My King of RnB is Darey

For wia?Banky all the way.apart from d voice,hes very humble,intelligent and level headed.cant say that for Darey.who made him king?!!!

Banky is KING!!!!!!!!!

I consider Banky King of R&B in naija oo...Darey is trying bt dat TITLE isn't he's at all

oh please darey get over urself, i admire ur work but u're no match for banky, he's just too good and so far i've seen no wrong in his music....
stick to what you know best datz playing the piano and let banky create a good music with it

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Naaa u are not, wandecoal is The King of RNB in Africa.. Ololufe is one of the best rnb song ever.... U r just a good writer..

Mtchewwww... Dare who dash u king of R&B??? Abeg take 5 seats behind. Ur songs re not flexible enough for us nigerians. Great voice u have I give it to U. But dat big head Banky is d real Deal. I prefer him 50times to U. Listen to d lyrics of YES or NO especially imagine such song even included pindgin english.. Choi Abeg sit down. Banky Is d king... He can't fit shout... PweetymissLilly says so.

Akinyemi Shereefar said...

I love Dare's voice over Banky's anyday anywhere buh I think dey are both kings in their unque way. Dare got it more anyway

In his dreams, he's sooo proud.....mschewwwww...

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

The last time I checked. BANKY was making waves more than you Sir !!

In his dreams,he's sooo proud.....mschewwwww
@Linda Ikeji it seems you select those who you post their comments because you hardly post mine *angry face*

I choose d bleachy bleachy guy

chivicktoria said...

I prefer banky a 100 times to darey

There is no doubt about. Darey is the King

I AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BANKY MAY SOUND BETTER, BUT DAREY KNOWS MUSIC!!!

See pride abeg...use to respect you but with dis running of mouth...it's a nah from me

Before you start any Brouhaha...Dare and Banky are cousins.

Yup, tell them King Darey Art Alade.

Darey is amazing, but I don't like it when people blow their trumpet.

Abeg dem dey use d title collect money 4 ATM??

I agree with you.

And these two are supposed to be cousins. It is well

Loool the shade. Even as cousins ? You for cover up for your fam now. Anyway na true en talk sha.

I choose the big head too

This darey is just ranting he is not the king of R and B. It is banky W. Is it cos of his conerts he wanna claim the title?? Mschewww or cos of few old songs he released?? I'm really anticipating his next move. Let's see if he would surprise us.. Cos as for me Banky W is the king of R and B.

Mee too

zoomzoomzoom said...

Mr Darey, I prefer King Banky Double-U. Yes oh yes!

Are you looking for a suger mummy or daddy please call dis line 08132333771 please be mature...

limat said...

abi oo, help me ask am.. Lwkmd

banky W rules...sori dare

In his dreams. King of RnB ko, ode.

Bimmy said...

I prefer Banky to you o Mr Boss

Lol.. So na drinking bar dem sign presh of kc presh! Hahahhahaa, prefer darey, though banky is his cousin

He's actually got a licking mouth.

*Leaking*

Dey r talking abt d recent killings dese two idiots r here competing abt who is king of r&b n who is not. How I'm I supposed to care RUBBISH

Banky ni joor!

U want to be called a king on an album you're yet to release? Oh cme on... Ur ego makes it worse for me. Banky's my man any day... Besides u're not d guy I used to tink I knew...

Lol pls sit down sir. It's not who makes waves more. Considering Nigerians and how they love mediocrity, the good ones don't do so well.

It's just like saying Wizkid, Iceprince, M.I, Lynxx, Davido and Co. Are better and more talented than Brymo because they are making more "waves". Nigeria of today, only bullshiters and the untalented lots make waves.

Lmaoooo eeyah and he doesn't need your respect oo. Shove your respect in your ass.

Y is Capital.Femi of kennies music. The guy is good too

Banky is the King of R&B in Nigeria ? Really ? And Nigeria wants to progress ? Banky king of R and B in the whole Nigeria...looooooool.

King Darey. Talk your talk, it's allowed. But again, what's understood doesn't have to be explained but I'm sure something led to the discussion.

ChincoBee said...

I luv my banky anytym anyday....

Jennykiss said...

Mr. Darey, a lil too cocky if i must say...

Well pride goes before a nasty fall you might never recover from!

Sad, just when i began to tag you "classy & music-focused", and then you had to go say this crap.

lol

Yea darey ur gud! Bt Banky all the way mehn!!!

N what has his wife gat 2 do with it. Shut up u idiot male----C21

Darey, a poor man's Lionel Richie

Don't dare Darey coz if u dare him Banky will nt av any amount in his bank acct bt bank on handsomeness...haaha.jst making rhymes wt their names.i'm Adejayan.

Is ur no network aunty alive,u go dey call person wey no dey hear quick....

Like ur father did,failure is a tradition in ur lineage

I don't know about them but Faze is my king of RnB

Darey you can't choose yourself though.

Pride goes before a fall.

I honestly disagree apart frm "you re not the girl I used to knw every of ur song I no knw.... Banky is the king of R n B anyday anytime.... "U re the only one for me by banky is killer mehnnnn. That song beat ur "not the girl' song." Talk more Yes or No"etc I choose banky 1 million times over u he is King of R N B anyday

Who cares bout ur status in dah music industry....a bomb blast took place just sometime ago en dis is wat comes ta ur mind....yh...u don't care so far u safe en u didn't cause it...obviously...buh @least show some sympathy en respect for dah deceased.....pig brain

I am a huge fan of Darey's music and if he says he is the king of r&b, i totally agree!

kimberly said...

A king don't need introduction mehn. Una hear banky argue with am? Smh pride indeed goes before a fall. Bare ko na dare park well stop living in ur fathers stead cos wiout d name he mistakenly made nobody wuda heard about d alade's talent don't need no introduction Bro. U better learn how to be humble before ur kids end up learning how to be bragats like u.

I'd really love 2 work as an OAP when d radio station is established.....my longtime dream will come true nd it will be me working for sum1 I adore

lol, you don miss road. Banky W is the king!!!!

SORRY 4 U DARE BUT YOU ARE NOT. I ACTUALLY DO NOT LIKE YOUR SONGS. YOUR SIDE PLS!

DEE said...

NA SO! Darey should shut the fuck up and watch out for PRAIZ ADEJO! that dude will slay both Darey and Banky Vocally anytime anyday.. Praiz is still coming out, and if you listen to his work, his music, his live performances, that's a true RnB king! So, Darey Alade, shut up you ain't no king....

you guys dont know what you are talking about, the real king of r&b is Terry G

Yea...he is!

i dont wish to listen to ur music, but i have heard and seen some of Banky's songs, and quite liked the sound. nothing more. dnt even know the lyrics ni. dnt wanna either.

but for u Darey....u shouldnt have come out to promote urself.

my pipo have an adage...a good market sells itself...

just close ur mouth and take the "backest" seat until ur called up.

u sha are handsome.

ZeeZee said...

LOL he is just advertising his "new material" where did this dude even come from? Like it or not Banky is King! Pay Homage and respect my dear so people may work with you coz that will be your only upgrade - many people including myself have never heard of you but we love Banky

Life is vanity... we all share a common destiny in death what matters most in life is how many lives we were able to touch and not how many titles we gather. People forgive darey cos he wudda done beta if he knew better. I sense an empty space in his heart but Let love fill dat space.. may God bless the souls of the departed. #abujaBombBlast