"I’ve spent an hour daily reading dictionaries in the last 20 years" - Patrick Obahiagbon | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 September 2013

"I’ve spent an hour daily reading dictionaries in the last 20 years" - Patrick Obahiagbon

You guys need to read this hilarious interview grammarian and current Chief of Staff to the Edo State Governor, Patrick Obahiagbon granted to Punch. Excerpts below...
Why do you always speak ‘big grammar’?
I am not really consensus ad idem with those who opine that my idiolect is advertently obfuscative. No no no, it’s just that I am in my elements when the colloquy has to do with the pax nigeriana of our dreams and one necessarily needs to fulminate against the alcibiadian modus vivendi of our prebendal political class. 
How did you start speaking in this manner? 
It all happened when my father brought me a teaser which stated that good orators had ruled the world and you must have to be a feisty orator if you must rule the world. As an impressionable young man, I alacritously threw myself into the whirligig of improving my usage of words by amassing new words on a daily basis.

How do you talk to your wife, children and even your friends?
I relate with my family and friends very warmly and in an atmosphere of camaraderie, stripped of my confutational habiliment and gladiatorial homilies. I am a very peaceful, calm, level-headed and celestially attuned soul personality.

Is this the way you proposed to your wife, speaking high tech grammar?
 Of course, the business of the day when I interfaced with my wife on matters of the heart had to be in plain Caeser’s language and you can decipher why that had to be so. The matter in view did not permit itself of sphinxian conundrum.
It’s a long time ago, so I can’t remember the exact words I used. We had a relationship for ten years before we got married. We’re looking at close to 20 years ago. 

Did you write exams in school in these big words? 
I used such words very-very freely in my exams both at the secondary school and in my university and little wonder I had the misfortune of my English results being seized intermittently in my O’ Levels. WAEC released my results for the other subjects and withheld my English result. This happened for about three years. Twice, I passed the University Matriculation Examination but I could not proceed to the University because of my English results that were not released. At the end of the day, it was released after the third attempt.

How many dictionaries do you read a day and how often do you read dictionaries?
 I have read and still do read a vaudeville of dictionaries from Websters to Funk and Wagnalls, from Cambridge to Oxford dictionaries, from Black’s Law Dictionary to Encarta and from Encyclopedia Britannica to Foreignisms, etcetera. I developed my corpus of vocabulary by reading omnivorously. I have also spent nothing less than an hour daily on my dictionary for over twenty years. So, whereas the dictionary for most people is a mere occasional reference point, it is for, me a vade-mecum. It may also interest you to know that there is much to learn from our daily newspapers.

Was English your best subject?
 My best subject in secondary school was government and religion and am sure that I was drawn to religion because, I now know as a student of Rosicrucian mysticism, that I was a student of divine light in my last incarnation. As for government, I just fell in love with the subject due to my early attraction in life to issues of political-economy.

So what did you score in English language?
English language was of course my hobbyhorse and passion but like I earlier asseverated, my results were constantly guillotined to my utter chagrin that I had to lapse into a jeremiad of lachrymoseim for a period of aeon. I would need to check the result again to be sure of my score.

Do you pray the same way you speak?
God understands all languages, my brother and I pray to God using any word that pops up. May I posit that the key points in prayers are your sincerity, purity of heart, walking within the compass and to what extent are you ready and worthy of receiving the benediction of the cosmic and the cosmic masters because as we say in mysticism- “when the students are ready, the masters would appear.”
Take my words my brother that more than seventy per cent of humanity don’t know how to pray but that is a matter for another day.

Do you know that many people don’t take you too seriously when you talk because they think you are not communicating
Why will I be perturbed from ensconcing myself in the palatable arms of Morpheus because people have deprived themselves of the cultivation of the regime of the mental magnitude? I read all the farrago of baloneys and vacuous bunkum from pepper soup objurgators. The spirit of animadversion remains their fundamental human right. It also remains an indubitable fact that I get millions and millions of requests daily from people all over the world requesting for my verbal mentorship which positive cosmopolitan reactions have assisted my equipoise and righteous sense of pachydermatous garb. I cannot put my nose to the grindstone daily and expect to be understood by those luxuriating in a modus vivendi, verging on pepper souping, goat heading, suyaing, big stouting and isiewulising. Has a philosophical wag not once pontificated that things of the spirit are spiritually discerned and that it takes the deep to call the deep? We will speak more on this matter of critiques and chichi dodo another day.

Why do you pull your trousers up beyond the waist?
Hahahaha….That trousers style is called Yohji Yamamoto. It was my own audacious statement to remonstrate against the pervasive tendency of Nigerians especially our youths that took to the practice of putting on trousers exposing their lower anatomical contours and I will do it over and over again.

Read the full interview on Punch

251 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251

love the point he made about praying

the grammar may be very correct and well worded and even flamboyant but when it fails to communicate to even the interviewer or the reader, it has violated common laws of communication. Something needs be done. Most of the words are not obscure but do not mean anything to the average man. I love avoiding high sounding people. Sometimes our high sounding nature may stem from an inferior complex.

U said it all

N7 said...

Oh My God! Lyk OMG....I am loving Mr Patrick's HIGH WAIST OF LIFE.....I think i am still a learner in English language oooo. Nweke,chai!

supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Lool myself too shit

Mz_Busayor said...

Lmaoooooo....am very sure Prince Charming does not understand evrytin dis man said...WTF is pepper souping,goat heading,isiewuing...Abeg dis Man shld calm down nd go test his brain...

Dis guy's brain shld be used to make anoda dictionary...he is not making sense though...after all his babbling he still didn't achieve a basic a thing...communication

Medulla oblongata is d part of the brain that is used for smelling.... it has nothing to do with senses

Where is my pc ooo....hummm...abeg who get panadol,,,,?

He's obviously a grammarian that loves to show off. I can imagine a WAEC Examiner trying to mark over 500 scripts and he/she spends 2 hours on Patrick's script....I think Communication Process is complete when the person being spoken to understands what one is talking about. He sure has a way with words

did not even bother to read the article. true he's great with the articulation and use of choice words that are rarely use but people tend to lose interest when they don't understand him. besides isn't the purpose of language communication and understanding?

What does this man do for a living? It is only in a country like Nigeria that such a man can be given a job! Perhaps he uses this abuse of English language to scare visitors to his oga. No wonder he FAILED his English language. How can he not know that he FAILED it woefully? Ewu!
This man is a true disciple of TAUTOLOGY & MALAPROPISM.
Linda, I highly recommend this man for a comedy. The blatant misuse of the English language in this interview is enough to conjure a drunken man into action. Tufiakwa!!
Onuku! Ewu awusa!!! See him mouth as he dey mutter in a heavy bastardised accent!!!Taaa shut up!!

BrownSugar said...

I LOVE AND RESPECT THIS MAN.

BrownSugar said...

I LOVE AND RESPECT THIS MAN.

What does this man do for a living? It is only in a country like Nigeria that such a man can be given a job! Perhaps he uses this abuse of English language to scare visitors to his oga. No wonder he FAILED his English language. How can he not know that he FAILED it woefully? Ewu!
This man is a true disciple of TAUTOLOGY & MALAPROPISM.
Linda, I highly recommend this man for a comedy. The blatant misuse of the English language in this interview is enough to conjure a drunken man into action. Tufiakwa!!
Onuku! Ewu awusa!!! See him mouth as he dey mutter in a heavy bastardised accent!!!Taaa shut up!!

lol. I pity the person that had to type out thi interview

Dunelsty said...

This is political crinkum crankum,it is oblivious and lugubrious that most of you are wormitisizing on the dirt making your cerebellum to loose the epicytical shape of ovalongitudiness..My fellow homo sapien here is a dignitarian entity that needs no idiocy or idiotism in the vugu vulgar epistum....Am a fellow admirer to his yomiterium chinki panda,I better stop here for now and leave the chichin chicharoite to subside thank you..."dunelsty"

I am glad am not related to him, just imagine if your dad was talking like that in public. what a shame, and it's not a joke.

Lol. U r a cliwn

Diva Originale said...

Chinasa you kill me with laughter lol...Some people are jst crezt like him.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

If you aren't getting an eviscerating good laugh from listening to this man, then go and check yourself, cos here you have a basket-mouth, I-go-die superior in Ogodomigodo. I av been laughing so heartily just reading the interview. Gosh we need more from him. My head is much lighter. A natural comedian! In any case, I see a man who's merely crying for attention by indulging in grandiloquence and malapropisms...

"....pepper souping, goat heading, suyaing, big stouting and isiewulising..."

Chinekeeee! I cannot stop laughing. This is quite hilarious. I had to use dictionary.com to read this article. I wonder how poor Oshioms copes with this one. He probably needs three interpreters in-between to decode this man's communications to layman's English.

Imagine being in the same room with Patrick Obahiagbon and Chris Okotie. It will be like being in a Greek language classroom. Patrick is definitely in the wrong profession. He would have made millions as a comedian or even more as an English teacher to Englishmen.

I wonder how the interviewer was able to write the interview script.

Wow! Pat O! Na you biko!

I move a motion aka "DOCTRINE OF NECCESITY" that Hon.Patrick Obahiagbon,IGODOMIGODO for life and Dino Melaye be ferried back to the National Assembly.Dem sure add spice to proceedings for debate.

Femiluv said...

What an insult to Yohji Yamamoto.

Whytte said...

Prince Charming's grammar is understandable but Dr. Pat..not communicating. Grammar not found in lexicon.

This man is a freaking clown !!!

You r from same farm

Your lecturer sey ¤

You r from same farm

If its someone from another country that has such ambigious talent for aeon now, Nigerians would have celebrated him. I am proud of a naija man speaking such a viciousticruiciating grammera obstrue gaga gum gaga. Now tell me how many pple can speak like him in the entire univecosmic awrie.

I LIKE TO TIE MY TWO TWO LEGS TOGETHER AND PRETEND THAT I'M A MERMAID.

THE GREAT ONE

I LIKE TO TIE MY TWO TWO LEGS TOGETHER AND PRETEND THAT I'M A MERMAID.

THE GREAT ONE

igodomigodo special.living in his lonely panet.not even a clue of wat he sais was grabbed.kudos though.

I wish I can here him talk on CNN. The Anchors there won't even understand him.

This man doesnt undertstand the definition of communication.It is not a one way thing but two. There should be an understanding by the receiver from the sender and possibly there should be a reply to what was understood either in words or action as a sign of understanding.
Dis man need Pure-Water .
LINDA PLS Provide him with one.

A.D. Ash said...

"The chief virtue that language can have is clearness, and nothing detracts from it so much as the use of unfamiliar words."
Hippocrates

"The most valuable of all talents is that of never using two words when one will do."
Thomas Jefferson

"Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity."
Charles Mingus

CINDERELLA said...

yeah...hez a fine 'wordsmith'. If only he cud show us that by using one of those words in every 5sentences...

Twingle Tangle said...

WANKER!!! Probably suffering for some after effect of colonial mentality. Ceaser's English my foot. Ceaser didn't speak in English he spoke Latin. A real pity that we fall for the trap of attention that he set for us. He just wants attention and unfortunately we give him.

Haba...........habatically. dis grammar is 3much na. d oyinbos were too much for ma understanding

Linda I have met this dude at my office he is a gentile man too, we actually chatted without him saying al the big English. lol

Dee said...

LINDA I WONT EVEN READ MORE CUZ I DONT UNDERSTAND DIS SMALL ONE I HAVE READ LOL, DIS MAN NO WELL SHA HMMMMM.

@Prince charming i knew u took after dis man, he must have been one of ur mentor? can u kindly interpret all dis jargon to homosapiens lyk me.

Wat a comedian!!!

this man is obviously in a right metabolism of wordsmith, i tell thou his absolutely affirmative in his perspective of political brouhaha in fact is not just a grammarian but also an oratorio and historian bulldozer.kudos

Emmeno said...

I pray dis dude dun enter police trouble O! This grammar go miss!!

Jennykiss said...

Now, i hope this column was in the "non-serious" part of the PUNCH news paper cos...
How is this important to the people? what benefit is this misuse of words to readers esp students? and do WE not know by now the entertainment use of Patrick Obahiagbon to the Political setting of Nigeria? what was the purpose of this interview?
What really annoyed and disappointed me were the use of words by the interviewer, who asked the dumbest of questions, and exposed once again the poor state of journalism in Nigeria....How sad!

This is a serious matter, Oh my head wan brake

he is not communicating

You are too funny

Pelajaran terbesar dalam hidup ini adalah mengetahui bahwa orang bodoh pun kadang kala dapat melakukan yang benar.
Obat kencing nanah di apotik
Obat kencing nanah yang dijual di apotik
Obat apotik kencing nanah

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251   Newer› Newest»