Mayowa Kuyoro wins 7up Harvard Business School Scholarship | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 August 2013

Mayowa Kuyoro wins 7up Harvard Business School Scholarship

Winner 2011 7Up HBS Scholarship award/first graduate of the program, Misan Rewane,  Executive Director Human Resources, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc., Mr. Femi Mokikan and Head of Marketing, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc.,Mr. Norden Thurston  at the unveiling ceremony of the 3rd winner of 7Up Harvard Business School Scholarship Award in Lagos recently.
The theme of a greener future for the Nigerian youth through education echoed again in Lagos as Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc announced the recipient of this year’s 7Up Harvard Business School MBA Scholarship.

Instituted in 2010 as part of the  50th anniversary celebration of the company to provide young Nigerians with the opportunity to acquire skills that will equip them to become global leaders, Miss Mayowa Kuyoro, a young Mechanical Engineer, was unveiled at a media briefing in Lagos as the recipient of the 7Up HBS Scholarship for this year. She joined two previous 7Up HBS Scholars: Miss Misan Rewane and Mr. Olujimi Williams. 

Speaking at the event, the Executive Director, Human Resources, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc, Mr. Femi Mokikan, said that the country would benefit from young, energetic Nigerians who are capable of transformational leadership by virtue of their education and exposure. 
He listed some of the criteria for the scholarship selection to include: a valid admission letter from Harvard Business School, residency in Nigeria, relevant post-graduation self-application proposal to contribute to National development and the critical needs criterion – financial need to fund the scholarship.

He said the recipients of the scholarship are not bonded to work for Seven-Up Bottling Company on graduation as the sole aim of the company is to build a pool of future leaders who can cause positive disruptions for Nigeria’s economic growth. Misan Rewane, the first recipient of the 7up Harvard Business School scholarship, graduated this year. In line with the objective of the scheme, she is already providing leadership by establishing the West Africa Vocational Education (WAVE) to train approximately 25,000 young Nigerians and other West Africans annually to equip them with the necessary skills for jobs in the hotel and hospitality industry.

Highlighting other initiatives of Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc, Head of Marketing, Mr. Norden Thurston said the organisation is always looking for ways to engage and empower its consumers.
Mr. Thurston said the 21 year old Pepsi Football Academy, which has produced the likes of John Mikel Obi, Osaze Odemwingie, Elderson Echejile (to name just a few) stands out among these initiatives along with the sponsorship of Nigerian Idol (a music talent Show that enables Nigerians to Voice their Dream) and Felabration (a music festival to celebrate the life and music of Fela Kuti, the Afrobeat icon). He went on to say that the company supports many community, school and University initiatives across the country.

Miss Kuyoro, from Ijebu-Ode, Ogun State, who will soon be jetting out to Harvard Business School in the United States to start her programme, thanked Seven-Up for helping her realise her dream of acquiring a world class education. She said her focus after graduation will be to use her skills gained at Harvard to help small Nigerian businesses grow through training and to further make an impact through the NGO she started, which aims to eradicate illiteracy, poverty and disease among young Nigerians.
L-R Winner of 2012 7Up HBS Scholarship, Olujimi Williams,  Executive Director Human Resources, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc., Mr. Femi Mokikan and  2013 winnr of the Scholarship, Mayowa Kuyoro  at the unveiling ceremony of the 3rd winner of 7Up Harvard Business School Scholarship Award in Lagos recently.
L-R Winner of 2012 7Up HBS Scholarship, Olujimi Williams, Winner of 2013 7Up HBS Scholarship, Mayowa Kuyoro, Head of Marketing, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc.,Mr. Norden Thurston and Winner of 2011 7Up HBS Scholarship award/first graduate of the program, Misan Rewane  at the unveiling ceremony of the 3rd winner of 7Up Harvard Business School Scholarship Award in Lagos recently.
L – R: Winner of 2012 7Up HBS Scholarship, Olujimi Williams, Winner of 2011 7Up HBS Scholarship award/first graduate of the program, Misan Rewane, Executive Director Human Resources, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc., Mr. Femi Mokikan and Winner of 2013 7Up HBS Scholarship, Mayowa Kuyoro at the unveiling ceremony of the 3rd winner of 7Up Harvard Business School Scholarship Award in Lagos recently.

29 comments:

yt said...

Queens College old girl '03 set repping. Great QC.....Pass on the torch!

Mich said...

Lucky fella.
Good to know there are still big commpanies that are ready to invest in education.
On a second thought,founder of Spanx didn't go to any business school yet she's a billionaire today.
Its often more about innovative ideas than it is about college degress,diplomas and what have you.

Jimi Kings College Old Boy! Big Up... Congrats, Intellectual development and deployment is what will move Nigeria forward in the longrun

I guess we all should be glad when corporate bodies, that earn their revenue off Nigerian purchases, feel that the way to carry out their CSR/promo is to expend over a $100k in sponsoring a single individual. While boosting the economy of the US and Harvard's account. Whereas most tertiary institutions in the nation is lying comatose from dearth of infrastructure. $100k spent on procuring good lab equipment will favour a large amount of youths, while spreading the CSR benefit to several schools, if done for different institutions every year. Just saying, but then what do I know.

Congrant to mayowa,am happy for you & also thank God for ur life,to witness these.

Lord, this girl's just gotten my dream. God pls help me to actualise mine, amen.

I know her. She was in QC set 03, z arm. Congrats girl. All the best abroad.

What's up with picking children from rich/popular families for the scholarship?...Why not children of the less privileged?...i really do not get it.

Dats ma name sake... Congrats!!!!!!

Kay said...

Mayowa is such a bright star! Big congratulations and God's bountiful blessings.

Third to comment

Let dem organise something like dis for communication/media students na..its eida music or dance..congratulations to her sha.greater fit in ur career..ann#

Chris said...

Only 14 comments? How disappointing. A big congrats to Mayowa. Keep shining

Warwick alumni repping.....kudos Mayowa

Just an observation #na only a particular tribe dey win am?

Congrats Mayowa.....QC girls 03 set are proud of you....esp Zee girls! Always knew you where destined for great things! keep the torch still brightly gleaming babe!

Pple dat alwys comment wil not comment on dis ooo if na genevive mata or rubbish una go comment

congrats!! am looking at the names of the previous winners?

I dont think its based on merit

Dear lord..wer r u in my lyf wen ppl win dis big fin..abi u dint put me in d big picture ni..issokay #flips hair nd slams door

Yoruba peeps alwys representin!

seun said...

God bless her more

Congratulations Miss Mayowa. Wishing you best of luck.

Proud QCOG #pass on the torch

This isn't one tribe. Misan is an Itsekiri name, Itskeri is a tribe in Delta state. Congrats to Mayowa

Congrats Mayowa! Warwick Alumni repping!

MsMonroe said...

One thing i couldnt help but notice is that all three scholars have international education. Is it safe to say that they could already afford the school fees?...why cant 7up award this scholarship to someone who knows what poverty and is passionate about eradicating it.