Afe Babalola University students deplore increase in their school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 August 2013

Afe Babalola University students deplore increase in their school fees

I've been getting quite a number of emails from students of Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti state bemoaning the recent increase in their school fees. According to the students, the school outrageously increased their fees for the 2013/2014 academic session by over 40%. The students got a notice yesterday Monday August 12th informing them of the increase which they say is 'unfair'. For instance Engineering and Law students paid N695,000 last semester but the new fee for this semester is N1,095,000, N695,000 for social and management college and sciences, N1, 200 000 for medicine students, some fees went from N755,000 to N 1,245,000 and so on.

Some students are saying no reduction, no resumption. Below is a broadcast that was sent out
Please let us not go back to school until they reduce the school fees!! Pass this on people..let us protect our parents. If you are not from ABUAD, please pass it on. 49% increase on the school fees is not a joking matter!!
Meanwhile, some students have reached out to the media asking us to appeal to the owner of the school, renowned lawyer, Afe Babalola to please reduce the fees for them. Dear Mr Babalola, please listen to the cry of your students. #messagepassed! :-)

272 comments:

1 – 200 of 272   Newer›   Newest»

The fees are astronomical I would say, but you can't just castigate the school, its a business and that's what they decide to charge to run it, so only those who can afford would be welcomed, but then with such sharp increase I can be sure lots of folks wouldn't have planned for such steep rise in fees, so I pray their cries are heard.

I clearly remembered how funds was raised 4 dis skul,i cant 4get Obat's $5m,and other rich men's donation,with d owner boasting d skul is for d less privilege,i tink d vision nd mission has been lost

Exactly..most parents never expected d fees 2 increase like diz! Fyn,itz "business" lyk u sed, buh pls...tz also exploitation! Itz 2 much man!

Very well said Prince

Make dem beg am ooo! B4 he stiff my pops neck

I concur

I love my scul Graaaaaat ife. Fees less than 20k per session and still d Oba Awon University (OAU) and the first in Nigeria....doubt?? Check the webometric rating. Tell them to port to OAU shap sharp dats if they will be accepted. PHYKEL

Is that a school? where a student cannot speak good English. well my kids wont study in that f****** country called Nigeria. everything over there is rubbish,every damn thing is not going right. disgusting country*spits*

aprokoboy said...

49% increment is outrageous, let the management listen to their pleas and do something about it, i would also like to use this medium to beg the government and asuu to let us go back to the classroom

Coker said...

And who's castigating the schl? Calm ur titties and let her jus pass d msg!

Hehe..God go help una ooh

I don't think the charges are too much for the services they are providing...If education is expensive, then try ignorance. And this is the reason why ASUU is on strike, cost the cost of maintaining the University considered too high by the Nigerian government. Maybe at this point we should respect the government for making University education almost free.

PC with ur comment i dont need to say anymore bcuz u hav said it all here

Na wa o!dat money don reach me finish my university education 4 federal university even finish postgraduate self....chai!

*don dappsy* said...

The fees are outrageous! This seems like exploitation to me.and everyone knows that money doesn't f*ckin grow on trees..the school thinks that we don't have any choice buh to pay since we don't wanna sit @ home buh I bet we are gonna prove em wrong.

Yoma said...

Linda thank you so so much, wat pains me most is dat dey say its a NON-PROFIT organisation, dis man must b stopped 4rm exploitin pple oo

Mich said...

How do you increase tuition by 40%?
I really don't get the educational system in Nig.
I went Uni somewhere in the UK before moving to NY and I don't remember ever having this sort of sky rocketed fee imposed on us.
My siblings who went uni at American Uni of Nig,Yola complained about same thing too,how sad!

Linda Ikeji I LOVE YOU! Afe has to see this

callistus Agbasielo said...

Well, it surprises me how this universities increase their school fees, or have they forgotten , its a school we are talking about here. 1.something million , i dey craze, i no save the money use am train all my pickin for public school?, well just saying that its too much.

port to smu, ghana sharpadly

Coker said...

Calm down with ur ambiguous grammar abeg, like he's lasting you the money, jus let Linda pass the msg!

Truthurts said...

Wait first, Princess Charming na which school u go sef? Just curious... Meanerwhiler, which one is ABAUD again, neva heard of it, sounds like a pimped poultry. No offence.

Greatest uniben rocking my school big time while paying 14500.really a privilegde to school in a federal university.

dam mi said...

I believe it probably must have been a typographical error from the person.......too much

Dis generation. Skool bizness

seriously have been thinking about the school fees ..cant even tell my parents right now..just hope the old rich man will see this ..very selfish..#angry

Cut ur coat according to ur size. Forget all dis big uni. Dere are other gud federal uni out dere wre u get de best of university life and quality education.

Dis generation. Skool bizness

Pls,I thot it was a non profit makin organisation... Dats wat dey said.. Tinz aint easy... Last two years it was 595,000 for social and managment science nd now its 800,000+...its a private institution but ahhahhhn, dey should calm dwn..

soso said...

Lepa or lepard wuh ever. U call ur sef u dey madt u hear.thunder fire u.I gree say naija dey 4k up buh which ryt do u hav 2 insult ma country.which country r u 4rm sef...useless tin.high clas idiot u hv d temerity 2 insult ma country dnt u knw d owner of dis blog is a nigerian,mumu go nd hug transformer and die

True talk Prince

soso said...

Onli oyibo pple u'll c man marryg man nd woman marrying woman..ma country nigeria has decency @least.doz ur kids check dem well o mayb dey've had sex coz its common there n parents will shake dem yet is my country dhat tins dnt go ryt.bera sharrap dere

Dana said...

A country where they don't speak good English?? I wonder what language we Nigerian LIB'ers comment with.. Ape maybe?? Misguided fellow.. And your name should be a foreign name cos am beginning to wonder why you can write yoruba in the first place..

Sorry guys, I guess it's everywhere they increased our's @ Bowen too and I it's the same @ Bacock.

Any one can set up a university in Nigeria,......smhh I'm coming over there to set up one ssmh...pls trend I won't increase fees.

My prince charming i luv ur comments,i luv u

Aunty Linda.All abuad students r saying thank u 4 dis.Upon dese fees no water,no lyt 2.wat a skul!!!

Why do you blame increase in school fees in private universities? The people in govt have deliberately kill federal universities due to their selfish interest.You can only know when a child enters a federal university you do not know when he/she will graduate due to ASSU and govt palava.The simple truth is that education today in Nigeria is for the highest bidders.No hope for the less privilege.The unfortunate thing is that most of the proprietors of these universities were products of either free education or govt scholarship. It is case of getting to the top then remove the ladder.We can only appeal to them to be more considerate in their price increase.

That's a bit harsh don't you think?

I see sum abuad marketing staffs on dis blog alredi.u guyz shud kip quiet,u guyz knw d truth.Dnt u guyz complain of ur salary.Confused pips.Smh!!!

I can tell you this and this for sure: Afe won't reduce the school fees! I finished from the school this year and all I'm grateful for is that I'm done. For y'all saying he provides for all and shit.. Crap! U really need to visit and live in the school to understand! Those outrageous fees don't even cover feeding of some sort! We have to beg the people working in the cafeteria when they're serving us food as if we didn't pay for it for them to add more. They used to serve us food like we're dogs.. 50 naira for one scoop of rice??? And then, the accommodation too.. I'm sure u think there's AC in all the rooms right? Think again!!! We use ceiling fans.. And then on top of that, they make us pay "compulsory fees" else we won't sit for exams! When I got in, he made my parents believe in the project saying it was for charity and all that, but since when did paying 1.2m become charity??? That man is just a thief, just like every other corrupt politician. And then he gives scholarships worth 100,000, for what??? All I'm gonna say is, ABUAD students, if u're going to 200L, pls collect ur transcript and move on cos before u finish, u'll be paying close to 2m per session but for those in 300L and above, God'll help and provide for ur parents! I'm not gonna put my name here, I still need my certificate abeg!!!

Killer_Keed!

Who will marry u??? U haven't gotten yourself out of the slums you are busy spiting around your dirty surroundings and saying your kids wont study here..help yourself out, then find a man..my dear so many stages you have got to achieve,so shut up.

Why pay 690,000k for a nigerian university Hian abeg Mk una go school abroad where u ll get a good run for your money. Mk una leave all these private universities Mk only their family members attend

Bobby Tunandez said...

Who says the increament is not too much. Let's first ask them, is there any agreement on the interval of school fees increament? Like in my own skul, it's already a laid down rule dat skul fees will be increased in 4 years interval. Even with that, 40percent increament is too much. And at the same time, i don't think AFe Babalola is the only private skul in Nigeria, we still have skuls like Bowen, Al-Hikamh, fountain Uni, Adeleke Uni, Oduduwa, Cresent Uni, convenant Uni, redeemers, Jabu, and such like , which pays lesser. Some even pay as low as 286k, 351k,400+K. If Afe insist they wont reduce d fees, student who can't afford it should get transcript and move to another skul. Staying at home wont help coz they'll want to use "Time" to get you to concur with the fees. Many parents will go for Money Rituals to meet up with this new skul fees and that is going to be a social Uncomfortability again. Afe should try to reduce d fees, the increament is too Outrageous. Repping FUO

Ova 1 million 4 law*God punish deir papa*great uniz lik uniben our sch fees nor reach 20k evn oau n ui*u pple u beta port 2 federal uniz o*nd 4get all dese oloshiz dat wana exploit us

--Why do you blame increase in school fees in private universities? The people in govt have deliberately kill federal universities due to their selfish interest.You can only know when a child enters a federal university you do not know when he/she will graduate due to ASSU and govt palava.The simple truth is that education today in Nigeria is for the highest bidders.No hope for the less privilege.The unfortunate thing is that most of the proprietors of these universities were products of either free education or govt scholarship. It is a case of getting to the top then remove the ladder.We can only appeal to them to be more considerate in their price increase.

linda, pls can you censor the profile images of some of your comments? Prince charming has a particularly pornographic image- it is unnecessary. your blog is respectable and you should censor it for lewd/offensive language and imagery. it is the way forward if you want to be taken seriously as a world class blogger. thanks and best wishes.

This man is really making me regret going to abuad. This is totally not acceptable . For more info. Go to princeabiola.blogspot.com

Princee Dee said...

which one is ABUAD again?Naija n universities sha.The sch fees is high compared to fees paid in Uni abroad .Baba Afe,take it easy with ur students o.....ur Uni shld assist brilliant average Nigerian students na???Have mercy on the student abeg.

Ori e ti gbeso, oniranmu eleebo o ni ku sile.No it's not a school, it's a "schoolses".who is begging you to bring your kids to naija. Be forming what you're not shogbo, we go soon get you.

Afe is trying to spoil the good image of his school.princeabiola.blogspot.com

This man is really making me regret going to abuad. This is totally not acceptable . For more info. Go to princeabiola.blogspot.com

@Lepa shandy. . Before you insult, check out your flaws first. . Or even better, don't insult. .Wow!!. . You swear a lot. . How mannerless can you be?. . Is that what they teach you wherever you are. . Then Afebablola is definetely better than there. . *tsk!tsk!*. . How sad. . And you can proudly paste that on the internet to show the world how shallow you are. . You are so proud. . Proverbs 14:3 In the mouth of the foolish is a rod of pride. . Give your life to Christ. .

All this pple with their public uni gist...we don't k...we student understand wats going on better than u do all me need is reduction or no resumption...we are nt comparing schools here pls..

No need 4 all this noise abt uniben...dats nt the issue here..

Linda pls just help us pass the msg..we need ur help not some of this useless comments

No need 4 all this noise abt uniben...dats nt the issue here..

If afe dont reduce the f***king sch fees and i loose many of ma frds. I swear, ama curse him

Please let's hear word , you are so razz

Joey ADN said...

U idiot.....u asked you... oba awon odes.. mscheeew

Joey ADN said...

You idiot. ....hu asked you naw. ....ode of all odes

Joey ADN said...

Is it now you dat cab speak English. .....stark illiterate

Kilode! It is too outrageous despite the fact that it is private school.at least they should consider parent sometime.#gbam#

Tank u ooo linda,d old man is a cooperate thief, its nt like der is gonna b constant water or am gonna b d only one in d rum wit ma own bathroom n toilet,some pple r payn der fees with cooperative money, n he is gonna open his mouth to say it is nt profit oriented, some parents cnt even sleep, u dnt av to kill sm1 to b a murderer, jst d ammount can give sm1 heartattack, nt all our parents r into politics or oil business, most r salary earners,Afe pls stop using suit to steal from us, we r begging u, its nt like we r gettn harvard certificate. U wanna increase d schl fees? Fine bt nt dis much (pls post ma comment sis linda)

ore said...

Anon 12.38 dats y u r on strike na...ur private peeps will graduate n den occupy d jobs b4 its gets to u

If any one can afford 1.2m for uni education, why not school abroad then. Its amazing how school fee has risen. In my uni days (10yrs) ago i paid a total of 70k for all my four years in school. God help naija. Dont think i will ever bring my kids back to that country.

Linda!!!! Thanks for helping us :*

Wen y'all hear of afe babalola university,Most of u hv overrated ideas of the skul.trust me,d skul is jst lyk everioda gud private skul.....nothin extra rili.i understand d issue bout d cost of runnin a uni buh d prob is dat u dnt jst increase fees from 1.2 million in one yr to 1.8 million d nxt yr.dats outrageous.if d skul cud b run d previous yr at dat amt,den wat calls for a 500 thousand naira increase.accomodation increased from 100,000 to 300,000.r d students lodgin in White House or a 7 star hotel?these tins shud b lukd into.

From wat I checked,d fees for medical students is 1.8 million nd nt even 1.2 million

QUEENTY said...

Well said jare Prince Charming. If u can't afford it den 4get it. Who said private uni's don't go on strike? Lol #jst asking#

Am a first time commenter. I have been reading for a while but I just had to comment on this post.
Even Covenant University is not this expensive and it is one of the best private schools in the country. I know for a fact that engineering students pay less than 800k. So what is Afe B.saying? A school that he was shouting abt that it ws for less privileged???? Rubbish.
Lastly, keep up d good work ma'am,I admire u.
Tee~why.

Some law students paid 755,000 last session for the useless services available, and now this next session they are paying close to 1.3M for the same useless services.I think the school is taking advantage of the fact that federal schools are on strike and Abuad doesn't go on strike

Linda fenkz so much for helping the students to broadcast this. I'm a student from that school and I can proudly say there is no justifed reason for this crap. The accomodation space is 150000 thousand for a four beded room its not like we av toilet in this room o we don't even have water early in the mawnin we always have to queue in the bathrooms early in the mawnin. We buy rubbish food at expensive rate . Everything is jst soooooo expensive in dis skul to the extent of having a shop where tins are sold and the woman calls herself Iya Expensive. This is jst a means of exploiting us . I am about quoting what the Registrar of the school said when I called her yesterday. Our dear Mrs Oluborode had the gut and ordersity to say"yes my dear the increase in school fees is true. You know there was jst a SLIGHT increase in the fees due to the expenses the school would have to cover". This is just not FAIR

I ponder what makes the fees of these private schools this outrageous....Great UniUyo. 11500

Were trying to pass a msg nd nt use this as a medium to compare fees besides most of y'all commentin r frm federal skuls wats wv d "cn't speak good english"?nigerians jst knw hw to divert frm d point pls jst let linda pass dis msg on!!!

singleton said...

The skool always make noice dat it is not after money bt quality education.. wonde ow dat is obvious wwith sudden increase in fees..dis man love money like mad

singleton said...

The last time I checked, the founder of d skool always make noice dat the school is not based on profit making.. the sky rocket of school fees by over 40% is unimaginable...

soladunn said...

lol @ price charming

check amazing cuts for your oval face all here on my style blog www.solaunn.blogspot.com

kelv Oº°˚˚ said...

Wetin self.... Una own 2much.. Hw .U̶̲̥̅̊ GƠ̴̴͡ put fee of school for 1.sumtin... Come on its 2 much... I won't blame them if not for ASUU they wouldn't have had this oppurtunity †̥ϑ do this... I wonder whether †ђξ man marry igbo woman with mallam brain... Well any wish way e̶̲̥̅̊ GƠ̴̴͡ beta... " I have a dream that a time is coming when skul fee will be 20million" mtchewww wash!!!!

Port to federal uni sharparly

Eyaaa theriz dis stupid girl dat claims she attnd afebabalola,,,on my street,,, d girl can form lik madt I wish dey culd decrease d skul fee for others nd increase dat stupid girls own alone to10,000,000 naira so her pride will calm down (the hassanz) I pry u don't fall in2 pit b4 u knw ur mum as ruined ur life

Na wah o,the increase is much. Isn't better their parents send their children to the UK @ once to study? Mtcheeeeeeeew

The school fees increment is astronomical,yet in all his interviews,Barrister Afe Babalola always claim that ABUAD was not established for profit motive,but as his own contributions to revamping the educational sector in Nigeria. Who is deceiving who? Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

Dear abuadites au are we sure afe wud c dis nd wat if he doesn't....wats paining me nau..is dat he just ruined ma plan of moving to 2bedded

Blackberry said...

If u can't afford it, go to a public uni n stop whining!

Wat a skul so expensive dnt dey think dat our parents are workers do they tink our parent pluck money 4rm trees we all have siblings and the r also in university pls reduce d skul fees pls.

Education 4 Da Rich. If Ur Folks Ain't Rich Enough Make U No Show Ur Face Is Now Da Slogan Of All Dis Glorified Secondary Schools. I'll Still Go 4 My Government Institution Of Higher Learnin' AnyDay AnyTime Cuz Da Difference Is So Visibly Clear When U Get A So Called Graduate From All Dis Glorified Secondary Schools & A Well Endowed Graduate From A Federal Institution Of Higher Learnin' In Da Same Field Of Operation. I Just Pray Our Government Will Get Our Educational System Right & Believe Me Dat Will Be Da End Of Da Road 4 All Glorified Secondary Schools Cuz Dia So Called JJC Graduates Ain't Better Than We. One Luv Y'all...

They are rouges in all these private schools... (I'm not a student of abuad tho) but they do this same thing in my own school too. They keep exploiting our parents and the painful thing is as a final year student ur parents would av no other choice than to pay... All I can say is may God help us.

BLOOD OF GOD!!!!! Wait, so if you eventually graduate does the school immediately offer you a job or make sure your life is excellent? Because at these price, any man could be set up good. Haba! The price is too high, even for a private school, it is even higher than schools in Ghana and the actually teach there. Unless all their lecturers are professors and their lesson plans US standard I don't think it is fair to ask for that much!!

ABUAD is meant for those who can afford d bills. There is So much to be done and money would be used. Monthly Diesel consuption is N50M,salaries are paid to over 1000 staff members etc. Pls students, washing your dirty linen outside is only damaging the image of the schl whose certificates u would carry some day. I know ther is PTF(parents\Teachers Forum), go through that and stop posting funny comments and images of the founder. I understand ur plight but go through the right approach. GREAT ABUAD STUDENT!

The school is just not being realistic, they should try and be considerate, what of parents with 2 to 4 kids there, what the hell are they meant to do.... As old as Afe is, he still thinks that money grows on trees.

ARAMIDE said...

Really?
Not Nigeria but Republic of Benin,Ghana or wherefa!
Koh kan aye...u don't need to bring it on ere,its no one's business...
Btw...you are 'in' Nigeria,don't use the word 'that' use the word 'this'..

I admit my country Nigeria is FUCKED but it doesn't need ur condemning and spitting!
Nigeria is your country!!
It only needs prayers...enough of all that!....u'r sighted already hunnie

4 u sayin itz nt 2 much, will u pay my nxt fees. please o. Afe has to see this one. no reduction no resumption.

wayne said...

Wut a waste these students have done with their time...its a private school so "no resumption no reduction" doesn't count cuz lectures will go on. They could have just organised a meeting with the founder instead of going 2 all out! A peaceful dialogue wuld hv done more...

Greatest UNIBEN....we rock jor...Unibest..

ABUAD prides itself as a the best private university in Nigeria and also having the best college of Law among all universities in Nigeria and then as a philanthropic institution, these are statements it's uses in boosting it's profile, sharp increases such as these is not philanthropic in nature, he should reconsider and not milk the peeps (parents and kids) who made ABUAD "the fastest growing university" and all what ABUAD claims it is today.

Where would you place University of Ibadan (the Premier University)? OAU's great, UI's also great but the first.

...Sir Olu

mine is a federal uni too(uniport)...and i pay #32,500...while medical student pay abt #40,500..(mb fee included)...

u dnt knw it cos u don't read...

Afe babalola is very old nw n shud rememba dt he's goin 2 meet wit his ancestors soon! Does he want to tke all des monies with him?? Help the poor with free education OLD MAN n I knw God will reward u 4 dt!

49% increament of fees is sooo outrageous..WTF!!! If i could afford that,I'd rather send my child abroad than pay such a crazy amount to some stupid private university in Nigeria who is even yet to gain good publicity and of which,certainly,the standards can not be compared to most universities abroad#Rubbish

PRETTY GIRL

My school is d lastest one in country, come here wit no wahala. HNAUB-houdegbe north american university Benin Rep

Thank u linda! I still don't know how to tell my father. I have to travel for surgery this summer and my schl fees has increased? How do I tell him? Afe is just being wicked. This is so unfair. I'm not the only child, we are 5 biko

courage said...

First,not every1 in dis sch is a Rich man's kid,some of us like myself,my parents pay tru deir nose,deprive demselves of so many things,bcos dey don't wish for me to sit @ home....d strike nd sitting @ home waiting fr admission..now deres dis much increase in fees how do I break d news to dem??its better I travel out wif dat money get a better nd sound education dan pay dat moni to a nigerian university..dis is far from exploitation,but WICkedness..What is he doing wif d money???Hiding under the pretence of patriotic acts nd exploiting citizens..its not fair

U guys chose private so enjoy it like DAT....dnt cry 😜

I can't laugh sha!! After rushing to a private school claiming dat public universities aint good enuf, you guys are nao complaining.I mean some of you are not fully qualified to be in a university..some Nigerian students out there can't even afford #100000 for school fees and u paid #695000 last year. Since nobody forced you guys to go to ABUAD in d first place,I think u shld face ur problem alone and let us face our ASUU palava..abeg, if u can afford #695000, then u shld pay #1m plus..
Remember u are in a private school so if u don't resume, u are playing with ur admission.

I'm nt too surprised the school fee went up. when the man was seriously giving out all sorts of scholarship now the students v to pay for it. Me dat m tinking of going dere hmmmm, abeg make I just reconsider oh! I pray the man reduces it oh

james said...

One word 4 u Linda. B careful how you address this man.u shud prolly read woh u wrote again*

Dere z notng dis will change.....let ha kip postin ova n ova again....n 4 students sayin no reduction no resumption...such sm pple r payin it already...wah u nid 2 do z 4 u 2 pray 4 you parents and get back to schl and give them enouf reasons to pay that amount ova and ova again 4 your schl fee

Yes it rilly a priviledge....and spendin 7-8years in schl ryt

Sorry, U cant join ASUU strike.

Sm primary schl pay ova a million as schl fee in dis country...so wat bad in a uni doin same buh nt wit standin d studnts shd just get back 2 n get a betta result instead of playin arnd

Dis won't change anytng I bet u....it z optional nt compulsory....if u can't pay change ur schl

The last school fees I paid in uniben was 7700 that was in 2008.my dear enjoyOOo

we are on strike too, make dem come join us 4 street, paying such amount for a shity syllabus in this country..#sorry4u
better save ur moni and go to Ghana, better educational system and even cheaper..

Erm madam linda, he isn't addressed as 'Mr Babalola' he is Chief Afe Babalola (SAN)ur welcome. N if d parents no dey can't aFford d fees, den withdraw dem na, haba.

Sori do u run his schl 4 him....if e lyks let him increase it by 80% it non of ur biz....n next tym u shd try n visit d schl n see wah e z doin dere b4 u strt 2 post rubbish on ur blog.....jobless u

Mr or mrs truthhurts, you absconding egocentric nicumpool, do you have any ounce of medulla activity present in that deserted cranium of yours? Or are you just retarded? Well It might probably be no fault of yours aS it is understandable through the mannar in which you spoke that you lack the intelligence capacity to undertake a university progrAmme and as Such I pardon your frivolous and lackadesical display of ignorance and illitracy. Fyi: abuad Is one of the fastest groWing private unis in nigeria.

Its 2 much jor, wat services r dy rendering? Hw can only accommodation b 150k for 4 in a room and 300k for 2 in a room? No b se AC even dy am. Am a student of abuad and am sayin its 2 much and on our website its written 'a non-profitable organisatio'. Mtchew

pretty said...

Na wa

Really this is wickedness and lack of consideration on the part of the school's management! I remember how the school was funded from the scratch by rich people, politicians and businessmen alike. Afe Babalola clearly boasted at every opportunity given that it was a non-profit organisation and its even labelled that on its website! We who go to public schools that are for profit dont spend half of that in our duration of study there. Those students should go abroad! Ive been to the school and if u pay such fees for that, then really the value of education in Nigeria has reached an ALL TIME LOW!! The Afe Babalola man is exploiting innocent Nigerians whom he sweettalked into believing the school was a good choice! I pity those who have already spent two years and above in the institution. Something should be done about this!! The rich cannot continue to exploit the general public! #Noreduction #noresumption

pretty said...

Na wa

Thank u all 4 ur comments,to all haters we understand ur plights nd 2 pple giving us supports,thumb up 4 gud reasoning!I urge evry abuad students 2 stand firm 2 face dis injustice

†нε school is lk hell. They increase school fees anyhow n still d students dnt ave any say @ all lectures n non accademic staff beat up students as if its a secondary skool. God help nigeria o. Non profit organisation dey say nonsense. Afe babalola YBNL.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

What is astronomical about the fees? If you cannot afford it, ship out.....It is a free market of demand and supply; of offer and acceptance..there are other private universities that would charge you far lesser fees; after all your parents believe that if they've not thrown hefty money on your education, then they've not given you the best ...Afe Babablola did not bind you with chains, saying you must pay or nothing...he's operating a private enterprise and not a charity please!!!! I ATTENDED UNILAG FOR BOTH MY FIRST AND LAW DEGREES...AND I AM FINE...HANDSOME AND FAIRLY WELL PAID...I COULDN'T HAVE IMAGINED ATTENDING ANY OTHER NIGERIAN UNIVERSITY!!!!!!!!

And then he goes about telling everyone the school is a non-profit making institution. Non-profit n you raise the fees by 40%?? That man be milking parents mehn!! Fvckd Country....Only God can save us.

...the cost of maintaining University is too high but the cost of maintaining ten jets for the President is not high abi? Here comes the BIGGEST MUMU in Nigeria!

Miss lepa shandy I can bet u're in one of those road side colleges abroad, where the name has never been heard of and you stand there saying the students can't speak good english.. The "F" word you are using on the social media is the good english u can speak right? Anyways I don't blame you, that's what you think english is all about.. I'm nt a student of ABUAD but next time you don't takl that way and you don't even know what the future holds yet so don't say your children won't school in one country or the other..

Pls we did not ask u guys 2 advertise ur scul fees..at least I'm not stuck at home bcus of strike..we only asked u guys 2 help us pass d msg so dat our founder can consider us.. Thanks Linda

Aziin the management of the school Os crazy! And the 1.2M doesn't include feeding oh. They student buy their food from cafe. a good meal there is noting less than 750/plate. And the stupid 2bedded room they charge 300k doesn't hv AC or private bathrooms, the plumbing is bad(leaking walls),water only runs in d morning,and believe me after tuition fees, they still pay a lot of ridiculous fees like afe shirt, afe scarf.(stupid ppl).when my sister entered the school 3yrs ago,what she paid was below #500k. Now shez in 400l, the man is asking us to bring 1.2M. The man is crazyyyy

Fabulux said...

Whatz he tinkin

With our emormous resources education ought to have been free and compulsory,it's quite unfortunate that what we have today is not what we deserve. Even going through school with high fee does not guarantee jobs. Why are we in this mess? Is it a crime to be a Nigerian? Parents/guardians are under constant pressure to meet up with exorbitant school fees. Lord please help us, this is too much.

We aint saying education is expensive but this is mere exploitation, no parent who has the strenght to train their children in private uni will want then to stay at home during ASUU strike, but that notwithstanding. Why ll fee increase by 49%, this isn't fair at all. Let's all put ourselves in the shoes of this parents, no parent who works hard to get his money will be able to pay this without thinking twice.. SAN Afe Babalola will say the school is non profit makin what if it will be?? Pls not all parents are stealin nigeria's money ooo .. No Reduction No Resumption..

Our parents are not rutualists boda afe

jane said...

Thanks PC, well said. Rly D skul fees is alarming!! For what now?? Ova 1m 4 jes a session?? In a public school, students can protest buh in a private uni you don't av a choice. The students shld meet their parents so they can discuss it during PTA meeting. Bringing it up here will not solve anything. Its a private uni the owner can charge wat he/she likes.

iont know exactly what to say. if the skoool was truly built for charity purposes, d owner should know that no less priviledge can affors 5percent of that murderous amount. ahn ahn...kilode gan!!!!

Port 2 unilorin! No asuu,no increase in school fees

Yh like u said its business buh this is xploitation @ its peak. As a law student i paid 575,000 in 100l nw 4 my 400l i av to pay 1,250,000.. Mind u according 2 afe this is a charitable institution. Yh most of d populace r politians kids buh some of us aint.. So u cant just do this over night.. Our results aint even out n this is all thwy can come op with

Na una dey patronize dem,so dey have d guts 2 be misbehaving. Federal school is d best cos it isn't abt d school u attended but ur destiny.

Ori e ti gbeso,oniranmu...who exactly is begging you to bring your kids to naija..you guys amaze me gan-an. Keep forming what you're not shogbo, We'll soon get you.

A school hiding under the saying of it bn a philantropist is letting others pay 1.2million per session, how unreasonable can the founder and the management of the school be?

Teamee said...

the way things are going now makes one wonder if education is the sure way- not like it was ever easy. i recall quite clearly with my ears when the owner said the institution was a non-profit org and all the funds raised by top personnel to promote it as also mentioned by Eneje but it seems all that focus is lost now in the founder's eyes. with a careful calculation, 2years fee in that school should equal 4years in a foreign/abroad school-talking of usa and india with all their cheep education programmes.really saddening.......

You are apparently a bloody illiterate.... You claim not to allow you children study here, but ur english is far worse than that of a person who isn't learned.. I pity the condition of you unborn kids

K

Enioly said...

It Ȋ̝̊̅§ seruxly unfair 4a Man 2jst increase d sch fees anyhow...aw results α̲̅яr nt out bt he can increase sch fees....nt all d parents α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ Gov(s), senetor or commissionals, ritualist...we even av some students dat work on der own 2pay 4 der schl fees and after all..we wud still be paying another fee 4 forms and co..seruxly dis Ȋ̝̊̅§ very bad...God knws aw he wants us 2pay 4 d fee bcos it isn't easy 2even raise 695,000 talkless of 10,000......

BABA Α̲̅ARE AFEBABALOLA..... Plssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss Reduce our SchooL fees.....J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ PLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

I regret entering dis school....does he fink every body's father is a politician??

That old nigga be like, if asuu can strike indefinitely, I can increase my fee indefinitely too...fucking thief...*Non profit organisation my ass*

Whats ur definition of a good English. ...

*sigh* your condition is rather more serious than that of a mad person..... I'm sure the inconsistency of ASUU strike has ruined your ability to think straight... Why would u think the charges r not too expensive? I don't blame you... I blame you.. The 34k you pay in your school looks huge.... Dullard!

Well, this is pretty outrageous. I mean school fees now paid in millions! I don't think I paid up 2 70k all through my schooling in OAU Ife from 04-09. Well it's a private uni so no SUG protests and the likes... Smh

Enioly said...

Y now

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

Woah! You are a born retard.... Its too sure... I'm not from abuad tho, but then its just sad that students from this 21st century would open their unclean guts to say such... Becos you are at home for months due to asuu, do you want to spoil others life like that too?

Nd he said he is a philanthropist....

Hahahhhahahahaha annon 12:38 uniben na skul? U kal dat demon possessed environment skul? Full of devils in form of students abegi go slip even if d "ting"is free I can't neva be part of it besides I finish frm a private skul .u seeeeee

If you went to a federal university dats ur prblm seriously stop making those of us dat went to private universities feel bad afterall we are nt experiencing the damn strike like u pple. Btw abuad's administration shld do sumtin abt the outrageous fees!!!

Finally covenant university is still the cheapest of all this universities. Lepa shandy or whatever your name is, Nigeria was not created by you so u are in no place to judge and spit on it. Its people like you that are the bad eggs. May others not spit on your destiny o

ABUAD does not pay tax cos it is regarded by the govt to be a non-profit organisation,so I wonder y students pay to the d tune of 1million.This still makes me wonda,Are Afe Babalola is a know pHilantrophist and a role model to generations bt this latest turn by d university management bugs me and it causes for concern y dis shud be happening unda his noses. It is an open secret dat he is one of d pioneer for a national referendum of all stakeholders in d country to curb d pervalent ills in dis country of which exploitation lyk dis s one.

Auddyrian said...

ABUAD does not pay tax cos it is regarded by the govt to be a non-profit organisation,so I wonder y students pay to the d tune of 1million.This still makes me wonda,Are Afe Babalola is a know pHilantrophist and a role model to generations bt this latest turn by d university management bugs me and it causes for concern y dis shud be happening unda his noses. It is an open secret dat he is one of d pioneer for a national referendum of all stakeholders in d country to curb d pervalent ills in dis country of which exploitation lyk dis s one.

I'm in the college of Sciences in Afe Babalola University. I paid a little above 500K last session. But this new session, my fee was sky-rocketed to 900K. Almost DOUBLE by last session fees!!! Please tell me, how fair is that?

mummydumdum said...

Ochimooo passin with my keke na pepe. If education is costly try ignorance ooo.

Increasing †нε school fees,yet no improvement on †нε hostel and housing facilities,still same old creepy ceiling fan,leak on †нε roof,inadequate supply of water and Electricity. Personally I think,Afe Babalola will have a lot to tell God on his Judgement day.

This is just too much, I did had my bsc from a state university and msc from a federal university. All d school fees I paid during my undergraduate days added to d one I paid for postgraduate is not even up to what they pay in this school in a session before d increase. Na waoh!!!! Hope Afe has jobs for all d school graduates cos it will be heartbreaking to pay all these fees and still be jobless in this country after graduation.

adukeologe said...

Before y'all start complaining about how this only happens in Nigeria, remember tuition fees in the UK skyrocketed by 100 percent and over this year, leading to a 40% drop in university admissions. But at least we were prepared for it at least 2 yrs before it finally happened. The protest and cries of students never helped either. So for people who are quick to compare...

Abuad students,we are not goin 2 pay oooooo. Dos he wana kill students,am sure dos stupid cafetaria pple will increase deres 2

entrepreneurs factory said...

If they think it is too xpensive, they shld cme over to govt univ. And pay cheap fees bt spend 7yrs for a 4yrs course bcos of ye ye asuu strikes

Liddieberry said...

Instead of wating your money on such school, why not add a little to the money to study abraod. The school is not a federal university, its not worth it and it is absolute RUBBISH. because after wasting such amount of money, u will still carry your certificate up and down looking for Job and trust me, most of those organizations also consider the school you graduated from when it comes to recruiting. NONSENSE

Afe Babalola University,Ado-Ekiti(ABUAD)..skul dat was built on charity basis is nw a chariTHIEF institution.ABUAD,oma she o

ABUAD of life! The money plenty nah choi, all for education....SMH.

I beg to differ. In 2003 when I was @ Uni in d UK my tuition was £1050 up until I graduated in 2006. By 2007/2008 fees had been increased (for new entrants) to £3000 plus (for home students). Even tho I dnt support d 40% increase in Afe B. Uni. It might just be necessary to maintain d level of services being rendered. XxxDesTo

Thank you very much Linda, The problem we the student are having against the school isn't only about the drastic increasement of the school fees, but it was only d height of it, In Abuad we spend a whole lot of money on feeding alone, we spend approximately equivalent of our school fees on feeding, and besides there has been no development in anything about Abuad and they keep on increasing the school fees every year, our hostels are as dirty and stuffy as hell.

shotade said...

Tanx so much linda,u are such a darling i hope my founder gets 2 see dis,abuad is the fastest growiwng private university in africa,dis is not the right way 2 make it the best,i hope every1 out there is gonna help us make the noise.

i gbadun u....port to wisconsin....ghana...

LMFAO THIS IS SHAMEFUL

Nxt tym u feel lyk opening ur mouth mke sure u get ur facts ryt..Dufus its ABUAD nt ABAUD.nd u own d poultry..no offence ignorant Pimp

Well people say they won't return buh then almost half of d skul resume nd den Afe won't bother since he has people dah are welling to pay, well as a former freshman I was expecting ma fees to reduce from 939thousand to maybe 600thousand buh den it increased to a million well for the former fresher d fee isn't so alarming buh tz actuali unfair bcos he has to conside

If they're guaranteed a job after finishing, it should be ok. mcheeeeew

Nxt tym u wanna open ur mouth mke sure u av ur facts ryt..dufus..its ABUAD nt ABAUD..nd u own dat poultry ryt?.No offence pimp

@ PRINCE CHARMING, CAN YOU PLEASE TAKE DOWN YOUR PROFILE PICTURE AND PUT A DECENT ONE? THANK YOU

See how some pple dey comment rubbish...I dey very sure say na own yeye uni una go some pple dey talk say dem never hear Abuad b4 wen una no dey listen 2 news...una father if pay d money? Foolish pple...na only name dem change 4 unilag wey somepple won die o...Abeg Afe make u reduce d money na salary der parent dey collect dem no b 419

Nxt tym u wanna open ur mouth @truthurts mke sure u av ur facts ryt Dufus..its ABUAD nd nt ABAUD..nd u own dah poultry.No offence

This fees are the biggest scam ever and even if my dad wants to try and pay I rather go to canada or even ghana around that amount and be happy than pay such and be in ABUAD when I no dey mad!!! Not paying shit!!!

Keep dat 2urslef

i think the fees are really outrageous. the lawyer should reduce now or nobody will resume meaning nobody will pay....harrison

We at d skul, belive me dey r nt givin us any xtra ordinary teachings o

You saying this fees are okay!!. You are the definition of ignorant You don't know why asuu is on strike! You don't know what it costs to maintain a school nd if the price is far more dan the service Guy!!! Dats bad business. Wif 1.2m some1s life cud change nd yu sayin the charges are not too much mehn you IGNORANT!!!

Stupiid Asswide ScHool.... UNIQUE UNIPORT!!!! 13500 for a semester

Sorry,university of Ibadan is FIRST IN NIGERIA!!!

Mr/Mrs/miss truth hurts, in ur next 10 lives I'm sure u won't b able to afford that skul....That school is owned by an icon, nd has been rated d best private skul in Nigeria....mscheeew

Its disgusting to you,but we are surviving.....and when our students go abroad to further their education,THEY "BEAT" the students there SQUARELY.....

Mr/mrs/miss truthhurts, I'm sure that in ur next 10 lives, u wldnt b able to afford that skul, dat school is owned by an icon and has been rated the best private school in Nigeria.....mscheeew....if u dunno anything, jes shurrup!

Dear truthurts,abuad is a pimped poultry yea??bt I can tell u dt none of ur family members can go to the school..they will not even afford it!!so pls shut up!!

Mr/Mrs/miss truth hurts, in ur next 10 lives I'm sure u won't b able to afford that skul....That school is owned by an icon, nd has been rated d best private skul in Nigeria....mscheeew

I hope u were priveleged to enjoy ASUU strike too :)

Loser!

alexis said...

#yawns# unto d next 1.

Wow ppl Really love their kids...where can someone get this kind of cash....

ibto said...

Cn u imagine... Sumone shud jst wake up one mawnin nd. Desides 2 increasE d skulz wit in percentage dat cumz up in is head.. Yet deres reli ntn 2 show 4 it..... This jst ironically proves dere sayin"Afe babalola is nt a profit makin institution" then its 4 wat.....mtcheeeew

Juby said...

Nawaoooo this is unfair,some parents may die out of heart attack.pls de shuld do smtin

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 272   Newer› Newest»