Who wants the skinny mirror? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 July 2013

Who wants the skinny mirror?

This mirror, that makes people look slimmer than they actually are, is supposed to be an alternative to cosmetic surgery...who wants one?

According to UK Daily Mail, entrepreneur Belinda Jasmine invented the mirror that makes people look almost a stone slimmer than they actually are, an invention that could be a girl's new best friend. 

The Skinny Mirror uses curved glass to trick users into appearing up to 10lbs lighter, delivering a welcome boost of self confidence.

The concave curve in the glass has been specially designed to flatter, promising to give users a spring in their step after they see their fine-tuned reflection.

Graphic designer Belinda claims her invention, which is priced at around £116, is a safe alternative to cosmetic surgery and cosmetics - and says her motto is 'you only look as good as you feel'.

The company describe themselves as 'a new company on a mission to increase people's confidence and self-image with an every day traditional furniture piece that gives you a "not-so-traditional" perspective.'
After carrying out studies, the company found that our self-image is directly tied to our energy levels, feelings of competence and ‘perceived’ attractiveness.

'Nothing is more gorgeous than the self-assurance that comes from feeling good in your own skin.

'The Skinny Mirror compliments you every time you look in it, boosting confidence and improving self-image before you walk out the door,' they say.
'It’s the same feeling you get when someone tells you, “You look nice today”.
'Some customers claim with daily use of The Skinny Mirror, they have become less obsessed with losing weight and more focused on eating healthy and exercising, resulting in healthier and happier weight loss.'

As an avid surfer and health enthusiast, Belinda's was fed up with not feeling like she looked good in any of her outfits and believed she had a 'fat mirror'.
Although she knew it was the mirror that made her look bigger, she still found herself believing that she was bigger then she actually was.
She puts this down to body dysmorphia - a common condition where a person does not see what they actually look like when they look in the mirror.
She explains: 'I used The Skinny Mirror prototype for weeks before I committed to do start The Skinny Mirror company.

'Over time, I felt how it affected my self-image. I stood up taller, felt sexier, and wanted to dress cuter. It was important for me to make this available to individuals so that they too might have an improved body-image

'The mirror has had plenty of attention online since it surfaced on the Kickstarter earlier this year, with some applauding it for giving women a confidence boost every day, but others saying it deceives women.'

As Belinda states in her company philosophy on the website: 'If we can give you a little extra confidence before you take the world on in the morning, we’ve done our job.'
Critics of The Skinny Mirror - which is hand crafted in the United States - have said that it is a deception of what you truly look like.

One blogger known as The Shrinking Geek, wrote: 'Is it lying or motivating? I think it is both and the harm or usefulness come in its use.
'Stores that use these mirrors should be ashamed but for the average person, if you have a real truthful mirror and the Skinny Mirror, enjoy.
'Personally, if I had the money, I might get one because I think this is a safe little lie we can tell ourselves.
'So much of our day is filled with us hating ourselves in private that a secret mirror might be a the treat we need to keep going.

Source: Daily Mail

122 comments:

makes no sense tho cuz the mirror will raise ur hopes, u endup feeling fly till u get insulted outside. biko lemme just respect myself as i am

Rubbish. U will be lying 2 ur self dat u r slim while u a fat

False motivation! Its better a girl sees her real shape and works on it than subliminally deceiving herself.

Haleeemarh said...

Mirror that will not allow you work on urself,yu kip looking and ur size changes by the day...frm 8 to 14 b4 yu shout E gbami mi o,mi o ma fa iwu eleyii ke

Rubbish. U will be lying 2 ur self dat u r slim while u a fat

Mbanu! I'll look like a broom with this one.I need the unflattering mirror. :)

Self Deception that will still lead to public dejection! Why worry myself sef? I ςA̲̅η't even buy it in my dreams!

I would love to buy a mirror which will make me a size 10 instead of 8 that I am. Linda, do you know how happy I feel anytime my skirt or jeans look shapy and well fitted. I am an africa woman so I love to look round and robust.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Haba!nothin one no go hear,to me dis doesn't make any sense,wht r they tellin me abt being confidence whn I actually knw dt am deceivin myself,if leavin my home in d mornin wit dis so called confidence,I dnt think I wil go half mile bfor relizin dt am nt wht I tink d mirror showed it wil b bizzare for me,dis actually doesn't make sense,NB I think we v alots of dis mirror in nija,I.e fake produced mirror.

Lying mirrow

Idiotic & stupid mirror! Dey shuld invent magic mirror so I can be askin who is nw finner & hotter dan me! Yimu! B greatful & com4table wiv d way u are! Diz whites are jst retards! Trickin ursef 2b wat ur not! Den one dey wen dey get emotional dat its jst a mirror trick, dem go carry gun enter road start to shoot inocent pple up & dwn! Na lyk diz deir madness dey tk start o! Psychos!
Next abeg.....

-------Tarilicious-------

D mirrow full market since I ws born in my house we call it fake mirrow cos u can buy d one dat will make u look bigger,sometimes u buy d one dat will make u look slimmer.na dem sabi,me I wnt normal mirrow abeg

Editor said...

mehn see sexy back check a relates pose by clicking here i mean here

Dose ladies dere r just dia normal size frm d mirror I ddnt c dem lookin any skinny its mirror itself dats skiny .......dnt get dis gist joooo

Ariesbabe said...

***coughs***....just passn sha

Onye buru ebu,ebugo.
No need sha.

Self denial at it's peak!

Complete codswallop.

Mirror in the wall in bruno mars voice.
KING BOSS

I laugh in Ibo. Who is fooling who?

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Hmm...it doesn't make any sense...pls post my comment Linda

Lol! I remember the mirrors in my house back home, the one in my room always made me fat meanwhile the one in the common room made me look like a model, till today, I don't trust mirrors, I don't know if I'm slim or fat sef :(

I think this mirror will work magic on people suffering from low self esteem due to weight issues you may be lying to yourself but if it keeps you just a little bit sane I see no harm !!! Lighten up people !!!

I shall be ordering 5 , one for myself and all my siblings so when I go visiting I shall always be the sexy vixen !!

Ariesbabe said...

**yawns then coughs*** , make I go ease myslf 1st abeg, leta I go knw wetin una de talk

Mtcheew,she dresses up feelin real fly,den gets out to disgrace herself,mtchhhew

oatt said...

I love nigerians and their comments..... No time...

Ameriestyle said...

No,I'm slim enough visit www.ameriestyle.com and see the latest lace up shoe trend

I rely on my mirror 2 tell me d truth.... bt nw dat we ve lying mirrors huh?!

This mirror will so deceive some people ehnnn.....

I don't even need it at all...na the one way go deceive me say i fat I de find.

Lindastic, that one no dey?
Hehe

joy said...

This is a very very bad idea as this will just encourage people to eat less leading to anorexia....SmH

Rough Diamond said...

Self deceit d worst d worst u can do to urself. Not interested

Ariesbabe said...

ok, am bk. So wat's dis gist al about? Hehehehe...Skinny mirror tinz. Bt wait o Linda, as am already a slim gal, if I should get dis dia ''skinny mirror'', wat's my reflection gonna luk lyk abeg. I nid to knw oooo, make I no go buy wetin go make me luk lyk skeleton

You can find these mirrors in the Nordstom and Neiman Marcus fitting rooms

Twins Couture said...

love the look,you can get your kaftans @www.twinscouture.com

maximum's blog said...

Wotz d point? Smh........giving urself false hope

Which yeye tin be dis again shege bature

Mirror is supposed to be my best friend,cos when I cry it doesn't smilE. So if A̶̲̥̅̊♏‎​ fat,my mirror is also supposed to give me thesame result not this new invention that's decieving. Its a piece of shit if you ask me.

skinny mirror indeed!

skinny mirror my foot!

i love the way igbo people say biko

HATERS-SLAYER said...

mirror!mirror!! On d wall,who is deceiving who,

Aligora said...

Self deception at its peak.

Diva Originale said...

That is just stupid honstly..how in da hell is that possible..

Its nt made 4 Nigerians cos how many pple do cosmetics surgery here

Prince charming you sound like they stated the mirror is specifically designed for girls/women..Don't we have fat guyz too?#just saying..meanwhile this whole slim mirror idea is comic to me,pure self deciet and could make you even grow fatter.And ℓ☺ℓ i can't even feel good about something i already know is designed to decieve me and make me feel good ℓ☺ℓ

PRETTY GIRL

Haha mirror follow a new blog somtookoene.blogspot.com. And start commenting.

All these comments got me rolling on the Floor.
Afi Skinner abi Slimmer mirror na,Abeggi....

Tosin said...

Wait ooo make I ask,is ds mirror goin to dey follow me waka everywhere wen I buy am ni?cos if I look mirror for house and I com comot see mysef for car mirror or all ds mirror for malls or shops for side roads wetin I go see oo se na slim wt curves na ni? SMH in yahoozee style.whewwwwwwwwwww

Miss Whale said...

This is deceit @ its peak!

So wen i stand before this delusionic mirror n tells me ''O̶̲̥̅̊ђ u'r slim'' and i walk away stil feeling the FACT or the REALITY of being WHALEY or TANKY, so wats nw the point?

Pple ℓi̶̲̥̅ke Toolz n the rests of odas ℓi̶̲̥̅ke me τ̅☺ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ shld be told or knw the TRUTH!

We're FAT! And its Ǧ☺☺ϑ to knw n work out on Ȋ̝̊†̥, the better for us!

I dnt want any deceit and cant deceive myself τ̅☺ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡! (Cele ntan e, oun tan abela) I'd better work on my FAT n WHALEY size dan get this Mirage-delusion coated mirror! *RollingEyes*

how does it help you, when in reality you are still fat

Eji said...

Bags for all occasions,bags of all sizes, genuine leather. Standout from the crowd..ping 26885426 for details or email ask4eji@yahoo.com

Why do women starve themselves to look slim for men?everyman has his taste of sizes.i know cos ladies watch hollywood movies that uses slim women for romatic movies.i love them plump and curve gurlz not big tommy tho.ask don jaz too.

Lollz guys i have reading ur comments very funny una no go kill person. My own be say †ђξ thing come cost y £116 (N29,000.00) for a mirror that gives me false hope? Me am fat and i like †ђξ way i look more like am proud of †ђξ way i look. Anytime i drive by a police check point †ђξ policemen will be like "sir.....sir...... Welcome sir.... Eeehhhmmmm anything for †ђξ boys sir" even †ђξ 1s that я old enough to be my father. If i was skinny †ђξ matter go change naa it will go down like this " hai!!!!!! Boy!!!!! Na whose car u carry? Oya way ur driving license go open ur boot sharp sharp". Lollz

mirror mirror on d wall who's d slimmest of all

Rubbish mirror deceiving fat pple..it doesn't make sense................THE DON

Hmmmm, smh. Me wey slim before- If i shud use ds kind of mirror; it means I wnt c mysef @ all in d mirror. *laffing*

There are some mirrors that make you look stretched and too slim. I don't need that.

Abed Saragih said...

Mirror become an important part of our body to see the whole.

Skinny mirror..hmm..just 2 make me look skinny not that it will change ma look...so now what's d point?? Linda post ma comment

A new blog is out somtookoene.blogspot.com go and check and support him

This mirror will disgrace u when u will think that u are skinny becos the mirror told u so.( U donot know that u will look like a cow)lol

Pls help and support a new blog Somtookoene.blogspot.com......its fun

Objective Observer said...

I already foresee an increase in the obesity level were this mirror is being made! Fat America. Being the realist that I am, this mirror will not work on me, il always add were subtracted in my head. However, this mirror is not an utter waste for it might have one advantage. It can be used to cure patients with one of the eating disorders, were the patient sees himself as super fat no matter what.

Lorl... Hw abt skinny lenses 4evry1?
Hit d gym joor!

Lie lie..illusions!!

Janelicious said...

Stupid and crazy invention

Yemmie Oscar said...

False hope! Smh

Flattering onceself? Hell No!

@ Bloglord wetin you want carry fat do? tufiakwa as for being anorxic nobody forced you to, if you decide to starve yourself to death your own gbege sick and tired of all this fat frustrated bitches always calling slim ladies anorexic if you fat go to the gym this men keep deceiving them how they love fleshy women yet go at their back to fuck slim sexy babes chect out all the men with fat wives they always cheat on them mtchewww

@ Bloglord wetin you want carry fat do? tufiakwa as for being anorxic nobody forced you to, if you decide to starve yourself to death your own gbege sick and tired of all this fat frustrated bitches always calling slim ladies anorexic if you fat go to the gym this men keep deceiving them how they love fleshy women yet go at their back to fuck slim sexy babes check out all the men with fat wives they always cheat on them it even get worse after child birth the women become three times bigger mtchewww

They are telling about being"CONFIDENT" and not"CONFIDENCE" dear

Mirror"on" the wall....

They are telling about being"CONFIDENT" and not"CONFIDENCE" dear

Nah! Not for me.

Follow me on Instagram @pr0mise_

I think its better to exercise and go for a walk than to buy this deceiving mirror.

Deceitful mirror.

Rubbish.

Rubbish.

Rubbish.

Nahzo jawe..its better u like urself 4 wu u re

Chicadimples said...

Hm mm!Mba, I don't need dis at all!
Skinny mirror kwa? choi!

Follow somtookoene.blogspot.com and comment

I pray oooo,nor b only skinny mirror,dis gal is jst making money unnecessarily,dis kind of mirror is everywhere in naija,I remember d mirror in sch makes me look fat while d one at home makes me look slim...its a normal fin so dis lady shuld stop feeling fly cos it has already being invented in d streets of aba nd onitsha (nelly)

surely more interesting things are happening in Nigeria y shld we care abt dis mirror?

Leslie said...

You are slim in my head.
Ps.I'm no serial Killer,just smitten by the pictures you once had up and of course,the way you coin your words.

Chineke mmmmmm ooooo!ah dis mirrior is already in existence in Nigeria we have in our house my mum complains abt it making her t luk slimmer. Ndocha! Nawa ooo had I known I wuld have tout of this. We all saw d mirrior as a mistake infact a bad one bt it still lies in my house till today.

Self deception does not last. This mirror can work only if it is installed without the owner or user knowing its properties. Otherwise, there is no way it can work. It is like expecting a rat to fall for your trap after sending him an email about the location of the trap. Sorry.

Lol linlin abeg †ђξ wan wen go make person look fat Θε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ bcos M̶̲̅ε̲̣ wen don slim already na vanishing tins if I look dat slim mirror buh on a serious note I don't  †ђξ sense in it #still laffin#

Rubbish e no even make sense it means dat M̶̲̅ε̲̣ wen don Slim already go vanish if I use †ђξ mirror anyway I believe deep down evEry girL want † know †ђξ truth abt her body size S̶̲̥̅º°˚°˚ I don't need such deceptive mirror

Okay so just read Nicki Minaj wants a restraining order against Dj Karled. lol

DADDYSWIFE said...

Mumu at d top,where is ur 'u' in d rubbish u wrote,wht do u understand abt CONFIDENT N CONFIDENCE,biko elaborate,n pls read inbetween lines,kpokopi anonymous 10:32

Abegi cheers to the thick madams!!!!!!

"Confidence" is a noun while "confident" is an adjective. Learn to use them while making a sentence. The use of confidence in the sentence was wrong. Confident is the correct word. Take note!

Omo mehn! 116! We have dis mirror in naija with brown wooden frame. The narrow mirror makes u appear slimmer. The mirror is deceptive cos you will just keep eating and getting fatter n the mirror will show a slim you, lol. 'Mirror mirror on the wall'.

Bad concept.

Elsmama said...

i want a slimmer me!! the mirror is a waste of time biko

OMG!WOMAN said...

You'll just end up annoying urself.

Sumptuous said...

Ridiculous idea in my opinion. 10 pounds cannot help my matter sef. Maybe if dey make a mirror dat will shave off like 50 pounds then I might consider. Lol

115 pounds ke? They have these Mirrors at target, Walmart even ollar tree for less that 5 bucks...get outta here

Miss Whale, I think it's for the slim-ish ones not us biggies.

the whites ar alws lookin for ways to make more money and stupid fish brain idiots like them would speedily withdraw their monies and buy them... This is D most stupid invention eva

Great thoughts! Let's be Africans first before we learn to be oyibo. I like my woman trendy and full.

na wow nftin way we nogo c for dis wlrd.make we take am easy wit lfy ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

@Linda, are these mirrors sold in nigeria?

You know oyimbo people are obsessed with been skinny, it was not made for u........

Will only work when people around me are fitted with the mirrow as eyes

Who asked u to?

*mirror*

Did they bring it to ur doorstep?

Biko I get useless friends. Na that time dem go com bring their own "normal mirror" chook for my face say "Oya look yoursef here! Shebi you and your yeye mirror dey deceive unasef!"

Or wait sef if I con enter my car nko I nor go see my true sef for mirror? Abi if I pass beside another car?

self deception.... but can i have one. hehehe

Why lie to yourself when everybody else know's the truth - worst nonesense ever

i like this innovation. cheers

The comments on this picture have given me life..too funny abeg.

Iris said...

This is fantastic!