Rivers Crisis: House Of Reps take over functions of Rivers Assembly | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 July 2013

Rivers Crisis: House Of Reps take over functions of Rivers Assembly

The House of Representatives, Wednesday, passed a motion to take over the legislative functions of the Rivers State House of Assembly following the crisis that took place on Tuesday, July 8.

In approving the motion, the House said it was empowered by section 11(4) of the 1999 Constitution to take such actions and consequently asked the Inspector General of Police to redeploy the Commissioner of Police from the state to avoid the current misunderstanding between him and the governor, Hon. Rotimi Amaechi.

The resolution was taken following the adoption of a motion of urgent national importance moved by the Chairman of Rules and Business Committee, Hon. Albert Sam-Tsokwa, titled “Threat to democracy and inability of the House of Assembly of Rivers State to sit and transact legislative business.”

Moving the motion, the lawmaker noted that on July 9, it was widely reported that hoodlums and thugs aided by five out of 32 members of the State House of Assembly invaded the Assembly and  beat up other members of the Assembly with one of the five members seizing a gun from a policeman and threatening other members of the  Assembly, as the  Speaker's car was smashed.

He recalled that the  Assembly had on previous occasions tried to hold its normal sittings and transact parliamentary business but was unable to do so as a result of the presence of hoodlums in the precincts of the  Assembly and the inability of the Nigeria Police to provide the legitimate authorities of the  Assembly with security.

Sam-Tsokwa expressed concern that the Rivers State Police Command which had pledged to provide security for the sitting of the Assembly watched the violence unleashed on members of the Assembly without any form of intervention.

He said “in a situation where the Commissioner of Police, Rivers State is alleged to have taken sides, and five  out of a 32 members  Assembly  procured thugs and hoodlums to disrupt the sitting of the Assembly  and prevented the  House of Assembly from performing its constitutional functions.”

He further expressed worry that five out of the 32 members of the House of Assembly purportedly attempted unsuccessfully to remove the Speaker and Leadership of House of Assembly of Rivers State.

Supporting the motion, Hon. Sani Idris Kutigi, who seconded the motion said there was no short cut to justice and rule of law, arguing that a situation whereby minority claims to unseat the majority in the nation’s politics recently was unacceptable.

Making allusion to the Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF), where Governor Jonah Jang of Plateau State with 16 votes claimed to have won the chairmanship election   against Governor Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers State that had 19 votes.

Also aligning with the motion, Hon. Eziuche Ubani indicted the police for compromising the security of the state and advised his colleagues to support the motion. He suggested that the IGP be summoned to appear before the House to explain the role of police in the Rivers State crisis.

In his argument, Hon. Yakubu Dogara said as elected representatives of the people, the lawmakers had the responsibility of taking action to save Rivers State from descending to anarchy. He said the whole crisis was aimed at creating avenue to declare a state of emergency in the state.

Minority leader, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, in his contribution said what took place on Tuesday was an equivalent of a civilian coup and those who carried out the action should be tried for treasonable felony.

According to him, the constitution has provision for executive and legislative state of emergency.

Others who spoke in favour of the motion were Hon. Aminu Suleiman, Simon Arabor, Emmanuel Jime, Ogbuefi Ozomgbachi, Ali Madaki, Razak Bello-Osagie and Robinson Uwak. The rest were Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Nnena Ukeje, Garba Datti Ahmed and Ali Ahmed.

The views of those who opposed the motion - Hon. Ken Chike and Kingsley Chindo - were however not strong enough to outweigh the proponents of the motion. When it was eventually put to question by the Deputy Speaker, Emeka Ihedioha, who presided over the session, it was a resounding aye.

Source: The Will Nigeria

57 comments:

soladunn said...

but really, this is such a big disgrace. The pictures and videos *shocked*

amazing stuff on my style blog here www.soladunn.blogspot.com

EMPERIOR OF DUBAI said...

hehehehehehheh,,,,i watched the full movie on youtube,, oh gosh that man on suit collect something for body well. very funny..they are all mumus

too long first to comment:

too long

Oz-reports said...

ha no be small thing oo. Linda gud evening oo

Madness in motion. All bcus of power and OUR money.
I rest my brain

Can this story be summarised becos am yet to undstd.

Mtchww! Dey shd kp unleashing dia potentials!

THE PICTURE IS SO FUNNY.........Lmfao......... the guy doing all d beating is now pretending to be laying helplessly on d bed lolol maybe it's hand pain that carried him to the hospital. nonsense.

The way the pple presented the story like say na only those five guys scatter every every, dint they see when lyod was beating one of the five man gang???? They all are to b blamed both the pple on ameachi's side and those that are not. But the way these house of reps put this statement they are OBVIOUSLY taking sides with Amechi :|.

Immaculate said...

Shameless people with corrupted minds = EVIL DOERS

e bonto said...

Its a good one from d Reps 2 avoid political mayhem in Rivers State.

what a disgrace,see daddies and grandpa,what message r u sending to ur children?

Anna said...

God knows we cannot continue like this in this country. God bless Nigeria.

Niger Delta Uni's Student said...

GEJ lacks experience and greed will ruin him. Give Nigerians light and add few amenities that's there are asking of. 2015 will be yours...simple.

It is a big show of shame were Niger Deltans can support themself. Pure lack of 'Education'.

All the promised fresh air, now hot air not even warm.

Enugu's budget is N88billion for d year while Bayelsa with 6 abi 7 LGA spend N287billion on budget still no light or road in wilberforce island.

When will our youths wake up. Thumbs to Amachi for going outside the box.

Common drainage them no fit do, small rain Ikwerri Road will b floaded. A small boy got drowned on monday, when they were about crossing the road with his Mum, he didn't see the gutter, he just walked inside the gutter, and that was it, the water took him, though this is totally off the subject matter but damn that boy died a painful death

signs of end tim,pls hold on to God every one.

Same show of shame all the time... Agbayas!

joli said...

I wish all d problems we hv in ds country wil hv a speady respons from Nass! Its clear ds thns ar well actD script! Plz we hv beta problms for u guys to tackle! Ameachi nd co kw wt thy ar doing.

Shut up your mouth there... There is more to this crisis and Ameachi must go

That man, Chidi Llyod or whatever he calls himself, is a criminal and a very wicked one for that matter. A person who could raise something as big and hard as the mace and bring it down on another human several times over, is nothing but a beast. The man he was hitting so hard never attacked him in any way and yet, he wanted to kill him. He has no business whatsoever being a law maker, he should be in a motor park as a tout that he is.

To add insult to injury, he had the effrontery to go to a clinic pretending to be a victim.

I don't know either of the parties involved in the fracas, but after watching the so called lawmaker pummeling his colleagues with the mace, I make bold to say that he is the real instigator and must be made to face justice.

Jenny Amy Akums said...

*yawns*

Niger Delta Uni's Student said...

Something typo errors, pardon me pls

Good for them, I like it when politicians bully each other

Minority unseating majority. This could only be possible in Nigeria. Gej leave witch-hunting and create jobs for us youths

A-Kay said...

Hehehe... reminds me of a song by a certain Omotola - "Naija lower; kilo sele..."

Shameless children. Whoever that Samurai Jack (with his maze) is should be arrested and jailed till he grows up...

bitchplis said...

Am not in support of wat he did but he was beaten by those ppl b4 his own ppl(pro-amaechi law-makers/supporters)came...dat was when he had d courage to fight n attack dat man wit d mace...

patalex said...

Hw does river state house of assmely members fighting affect, GEJ. Mtchweeee

The man wearing red cap should be expelled and should be prosecuted for attempted murder! He is just a beast and I wonder the kind of children he will have,as a snake will give birth to a snake.

Olopa even joined in the beating

I don claim ghana o

DEMO CRAZY!

B4 we judge we should all get down to d bottom,cuz at dis rate dat our politicians re going(dis is WAR)...Linda can u please find out wat d show of shame was about dat dey couldn't put 2 motion n talk/ vote about b4 embarrassing dere selves, family, community/ constituency and state...

SHAME ON THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT.

Patalex, sure you're in Nigeria. Idiot, the whole tin for ph na presidency handy work. So u beta go read dailies

U r just a blind fool. Wer in d video did u c he was beaten? Odeh! Didn't u c d guy was talking nd he ran nd carried d mace to fight? If u dnt hv wat to say,abeg zip dat rotten mouth!

Gbam! Evil man.

That is all. No consequence to what they did. Who is going to be arrested?

Linda how sure are You that the house of representative members wot come to meetings with weapons against opposition parties??
This is not supposed to be a house of assembly, e dey like meeting wey agboro attend.
Careless bunch of(God knows).

I doubt you can read properly....thank God you can write small at least

what a shame!

GEJ is a big fool. In the 1st place how did his brother-in-law (man in blue) become a member of the House of Assembly? He now thinks we are stupid, he's using that stupid idiot to cause trouble on Rivers state. How I wish he was the one the Red cap guy beat with the mace. He had the guts to declare himself speaker with just 4 pple behind him.
It was all orchestrated from Abuja. He had police backing. I support the House of of Reps? gEJ wants to seize the opportunity and declare a state of emergency in Rivers, an easy way of displacing his enemy, Amaechi.

Allow bitchplis, do you know if she's one of Lloyd's babes for uniport? She's defending her aristo lmao!!

Why are people from Rivers so violent. What kind of sspecies are they? Aluu, Tonto Dike,.....etc....na wa o

@ anons 9:30 u Ã…®Ã« on point, u just speak d truth

Oh yea!!! I Luv it too#Dancing Azonto#

I don die wit Laf =D =)) =D =))

TENaCIOUs said...

The problem in rivers State clearly shows how inaptitude and shallow minded our president is..it also shows how GEJ is bn sorounded by bunch of sychophans and hungry men that can see evil when there's one...he truelly lack the aura and the pedigry to rule a dynamic country like ours...what a Free-for-all? They were thinking that what hapend in the NGF could be replicated buh the failed and faild wofly...

As for the comissioner of Police Mbu Joseph Mbu, he needs to go study the history of his past Ogas..the likes of Tafawa Balogun et al...how they were used and humiliated out of Office...

This shit is a disgrace. No wonder dr brain is less dan dat of a ant. No solution to asuu na fight remain 4 dem. Foolish set of people. Kill urself one by one n dat will solve d problem.

Anon July 11, 2013 at 10:35 AM very right. It's in their blood.

XTINE XXX said...

rivers state people worst pass beast..d man wit d red cap beating someone wit a stick....u deserves 2 die by hanging..ewu

ano 4 me!!! Shameless & useless race of a people with corrupted minds set..........Rubbish.

Hahahahah! One of d'dumbest move against Amechi by Jonathan....but seriously dat Jakie Chan wielding d'mace as a weapon is a thug....check his background..Mscheew...

Lmao at the samurai jack comment, goodluck is just a piece of furniture, only in nigeria wld 5 pppl out sit 32 and create their own leader....those 5 had presidential backing hence their stupid boldness...good thing some ppl ended up in the hospital...they will hv a story to tell! Bunch of hungry psychotic hoodrat thieves!

Demonstration of crazy...

We No More Have Visionary Leaders Its Now Vicious Leaders

Where is democracy taking us to in this country 4 God sake? I think am seek & tired of all dis drama 4rm our so call leaders.

A true case of Political insanity!

Segunfolawiyo said...

It a bad situation at River state