Quote of the day; Pope Francis on gay people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 July 2013

Quote of the day; Pope Francis on gay people

According to the Associated Press, below is what Pope Francis said when quizzed about gay priests during his transatlantic flight home following a week-long trip to Brazil...
"Pope Francis reached out to gays on Monday, saying he wouldn’t judge priests for their sexual orientation.... "If someone is gay and he searches for the Lord and has good will, who am I to judge?" Francis asked.
Below is a longer version (and slightly different translation) of the Pope's quote via NCR:
"When I meet a gay person, I have to distinguish between their being gay and being part of a lobby. If they accept the Lord and have good will, who am I to judge them? They shouldn’t be marginalized. The tendency [to homosexuality] is not the problem...they’re our brothers.”

247 comments:

1 – 200 of 247   Newer›   Newest»

Meaning the Pope is in support too or .....????!!! #confusedlook

B€£ said...

I support u Mr pope

AFRICZONE.COM said...

OKEY WE HEAR

*sigh* it is well oo... That's all I can say...

@Bobo_Edo

Why I love the pope, "who am I to judge..." And who are u to judge???

cutee mee said...

Dis is rubbish,am sure he is 1,covering their excuses,lord have mercy.

Infact am rily disappointed..... Aw could d "POPE" of all pple say dat???
TENYHOLA

Objectivity is a valued commodity among civilised people, but as a religious head, I feel he should take the side of the Bible and not objectivity, its clearly stated in the Bible that God is against being gay! There is no staying on the fence on something like this at all!

Hmmmm.....who am i to judge a pope? *lip sealed* LET GOD JUDGE.

Jesus Christ came 2 change sinners. If they truly accept the Lord, they will change their sexual orientation. Illiterate people will say d Pope is endorsing GAYISM.

Oluwabobby said...

Pope you try.*sign*#

Before you lot start crying fire nd brimestone, what he meant was that he doesn't judge those who are gay and want to seek God, jeasus wldnt have judged either, I'm nt religious but let's just give the gays a break please!

Am sorry Sir,they aint ma brothers.
God ddnt create Adam n steve Buh Adam n Eve.
I hate fagss........ *DropsMic*

GEMMAG said...

What is right and what is wrong? Define d concept 'good'.it is what d pontiff is driving at? Hmmm.short of words

awwwww! God bless the vicar of Christ.
I love you so much the Pope of our time.
He knows how to reach everyone.

ET UNAM SANCTAM CATHOLICA,ET APOSTOLICAM ECCLESIAM.

Next up.. the Nigerian Catholic mission excommunicates itself from the Roman Catholic Church..

But rili the thing isn't whether it is good or bad to be gay, that is clear in the bible.. Sinners are welcome in the church, but the church has to stop creating blurred lines on sins that are clear in the bible.. There are more contentious issues in the bible; divorce, polygamy, sabbath etc..

And what is good will in the things of the kingdom, Saul had goodwill in saving the king of the Amalekites against God's instruction (not knowing that that King's great grandchild would threaten the existence of the Jews when under captivity of the Babylonians, if not for God raising Esther and Mordecai). What did that goodwill lead to, rejection.

The church must be clear of its position, yet opening the door for repentance. And how can someone be a servant of God, if he cannot repent of his prime vices. Remember God used Mary Madaglene and Rahab (both harlots), but after they had repented from immorality.

So please churches should stop bending doctrine to popular culture, as homosexualism continues to gain acceptability in popular culture; a fulfillment of many of the end-time prophecies.

Oluwabobby said...

Pope you try.*sign*#
For proper understanding,i need to consult my dictionary bcos this grammars them are too much that i don't understand d content of this update..*coughs#* and i don't want to say one thing nw and my ogas @ LIB wl say another thing.......dat'z all.

"who am I to judge them" awwww! quite heart-attending and thought demanding.
Your statement Holy Father has shaped my perception as it pertains this issue in no small measure.
Long Live the Church of Christ.
God bless his Francis.

Well said. However, please ask them to leave the little boys alone!

Sign of end time romans 1;26,27

Gosh! what is our Pope saying? that one can be a practicing christian and also gay? Please we need him to be clearer and more precise on this gay thing. i taught a priest is meant to be celibate, i tire for these Oyibos

ewoo the world is coming to an end indeed. does the pope knows the bible. ow can they be our brothers. what good will is he talking about. God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah as result of that. yes we have no right to judge any1 but I don't get where the pope is driving at

GAY...

God v mercy!wat is dis world turnin into if a whole pope Francis can say dis wat else is left!!!end tym signs

Hmmm..SMH, like dis is serious,

Does this pope always have to say something?! Arghhhh!!!

Uwa mmebi! God help uz!

LLind's blog has won ma hrt...lik i'm getin addicted...Next!!

victoria said...

Errrrr......... Iono..... Do I agree? A call to repentance wudda been better.... Buh as he ad... Who am I to judge

Mich said...

Pope Francis just turned out to be the most liberal pope ever.
If God in all His might waits for a sinful man to die and come before Him before he passes judgmenet,who then is man,a mere spec of dust,to judge another man?
Let these gays breathe;God alone's judge over all.
Fact remains,the more you demonise a certain people because of their beliefs,practices and behavioural patterns,the more they increase in size,structure,etc.I mean look at terrorism post 9/11.
Inasmuch as I find the act a little tacky,I still condone gays and lesbos.
Politically,Nigeria is backwards and shouldn't ladden herself with such issues for now as there are more pressing matters on ground.
As for the Pope,he just won my respect a thousand times over and I'm not even a Christian.

AmeboTweet said...

I cant believe this is coming from a Priest! Does it mean He cant condemn the act? I wonder o!

The pope spoke perfectly well,based on Matt 7:1-2. What do you expect him to say?

seunLondon said...

its only a rumour, Bukky Ajayi is not dead,,,,gbam #SeunLondon

The iniquity in mordern times is alot worse than the days of sodom and gomorah

Mrstsquare said...

I thought when u become apriest you are supposed to abstain from Ay form of sexual activity until u die except u denounce priesthood.so what is all this talk about being a 'gay priest'..are priests supposed to be having sex?or even thinking of it?why don't we hear of lesbian nuns?..na real wa o

Austin [AY-n-OH] said...

hmmmn.and signs of the end time even strengthens

The iniquity in mordern times is alot worse than the days of sodom and gomorah

Yemmie Oscar said...

He couldn't have said it any better

GOG bless ur hjeart pope...live and let live....judge not

True man of God, be like Jesus: hate the sin, lover the sinner. As xtains, we are commanded to LOVE all, irrespective of color, race, social and economical background, sexual orientation...Jesus came for the lost sheep of the house of isreal. As. True xtain, you have not right hating anyone. Now that does not mean i condone homosexual, i stand against as such as i stand against lying, stealing etc, im not required to have another opinion abt homosexuality safe for what the bible says abt it...but i dnt hate pple that are homosexual, just as the bible says, i am required to love all. .God help us all to see through the eyes of Jesus

There are gay Christians that love God and God manifests in heir lives...they dint choose to be gay

So disappointed

And you are one if them

Kudos to u the holy father. Wat coud he have said? Some may have expected the holy father to call gays " satan" , but he still said they were our brothers. Gays doesn't harm us, neither d they chose to be gays......it's high time we accept them as our brothers and sisters.

Ola.

Pope sef no talk str8 abi he dey in support of homosexuality?

Purely creative, But c'riously he has no right to judge them, they may not be guilty in the sight of the lord... it all depends...

C'riosly i pity for our priests!!! For Gods sake they are human like us.. I pway God to continue to shower them with strength to overcome cheap temptationss>>

June said...

***Clears throat twice**...#datsall!

Gay shit....nonsense

Shattap

A lot of us In dis side of the world need to broaden our mind about a lot of issues...if they are lovers of God, God will surely show up 4dem. A huge number of ppl engage in worse things than being gay, so y d raised eye-brow at d sound of the word gay when some1 is concerned. Jesus loved and dined with sinners...our world is so judgemental today that I wnt b surprised to see more of the acclaimed straight peeps in hell after we r done here.

being a priest does not mean that u do not have sexual orientation but it only means that u swear the oath of celibacy regardless of your sexual orientation. so someone can be gay/celibate at the same time eg Louis Walsh(X-fact judge) or Heterosexual/celibate.
the pope could not have said it any better; they are human just like us. so its the act that is evil "dont throw the baby and the bath water"

Idiot

As for me n my house we shall serve the Lord_anyone who want to be gay can go ahead_its not for me to judge him in right or wrong_

Sdf..k up! Will u judge? Dnt u see is a tempting question? The Pharisee...! *Kudos to Papa Francis for that courageous respond......*

Haahahahaa!!! Na laugh i dey Oº°˚˚˚° lollz ndi homo ur right я being protected Oº°˚˚˚° But no homo come ma side cause na war. Homo and other sins я bad and God hate sin. That's y he said in his word that a prayer of a sinner is like a filthy rag in his presence. Plz pple homo no good and their can't be sinners that я Christians. 1 can't server 2 matters @ a time. †ђξ catholic church is a mockery to Christianity. Lord have mercy........

U я very stupid...........

I was about to say d same thing o! Wat concerns priest with sex? *veryconfusedface "krees"

Na wa ooooooooo END time don reach !

Sdf..k or better still climb high tension wire with wet body, if u r so disappointed... Maga

all you commenters are hypocrites, if it was a muslim cleric that said this, you guys will go "islam is a rubbish religion" and so on BUT because the pope said it, now GAY is a good thing. i dont usually comment BUT i just had to say this.

Cnt he stnd 4 d truth?no body ask hm weda 2 luv dem or nt he ws asked weda it is aceptabl or nt...d cahtolic church tho

olay said...

Catholics will definitely support cos its dia pope. If na TB joshua or oyedepo dem for condemn

Patrick said...

Linda, please rephrase the title. I have read the text of this interview elsewhere, and there is no mention of "Gay Priests". This is not about Gay priests as priest are supposed to be Celibate. It's more about gay rights.

tombara Benibile said...

Hmmmm *lipsealed*

Everyone knows that the pope does not condone gay priests
Stop searching for words from him
Its an open secret sef.
What the man is saying is.........'a gay person......'
Yes! If a gay person searches for God,he should be let
God created gays.same as he created the blind from birth amongst us.
These things are for the glory of God to be fulfilled.
You can't just expect homos who have no feelings 4 women to just start feeling that way jus cos it's wrong or right.
Have some compassion!
But as the pope said,lobbyists are bad
They want to claim that they are right just cos dey are deformed
You can only elicit for some support from normal people as a man who is blind and not force ppl to pretend that blindness is normal.gayness is a hormonal deformity.
That being said, priests who are gay cant be allowed
The God they are serving has frowned on the practice by saying 'cursed be a man who lays with another man'.
Unless they wish not to practice it while being in the priesthood.but how can a man be said to be gay if he doesn't practice.they can't be trusted around altar boys or missionary school kids! Before they convert hem to the evil practice.

youngprof said...

Linda why do u castigate about d catholic church, d pope in dat statement never mentioned priest 2 be gay, na Linda add am oh!!!!! Linda @least if u no fear man, fear God mind what u say about d men of God.

There is nothing that makes my belly rumble than hearing that "they didnt chose to be gay" absolute nonsense. End times really. "Hate the sin, love the sinner" but if they dont change their ways na sure hell fire cos the Holy Books didn't mince words on it. What God frowns at he frowns at. No story!!!

Linda refusing to put intelligent comments on this matter up... Should have saved it to resend many times.. KMT!!!

Nice talk dear

Hate the sin, love the sinner, it's in the bible. Homophobic people like you are the highest Fags.

Wtf! Like for real? Did he say that? Well if he did its clear to see that gayism has come to stay in the catholic church!

The holy pope is right but make any gay guy no near me or else na him obituary ooo

Surely, end time isn't too far!!!

He who av not sinned,pls throw stones first! Do not judge or U will be judged ruthlessly "proud catholica"

Na sense u no get who's brother and sis?

I am disgruntled already..... What is happening?

What do u expect to hear from someone who could be gay too. Almost all d so called priests are. Hyprocrites. God knows those that are serving him faithfully. The sign of d last days. Homosexuality is bad, the bible conderms those who refuse to repent.

pixiedust said...

U are a moron....esiewu...u have a shallow way of thinking.and come to think of it, ur face looks like som1 who wanted to do one chance in abuja two months ago.

Rough Diamond said...

They r born d way they r! Who r u to judge? Jesus christ came to die for sinners. God forgives all, He searches d heart n knows those who worship Him indeed! Stop judging! The pope said it all

The point is what right do we have to judge others. It is just an evidence that end time is near. Oh God of Peter grants me and family members the grace to be with you in heaven. (Amen)

Rough Diamond said...

Shut up! Hypocrite like u! Who holy pass?! Idiot

I am not in a position to judge anyone. All I know is the Holy Quran against it... Brief story. Hazrat Loot is the son of Aaron, Hazrat Ibrahim’s brother. He was sent as a prophet to the people of Sodom who started the practice of homosexuality for the first time. They were destroyed totally, because they did not obey Hazrat Loot and went on that disgusting deed. And We rained down on them a shower (of brimstone) ...Allah the one and only God have said to us in the same Holy Quran that the power is still in his capacity at all times to do the same for people of nowadays. Repent before It's late bro!!!!!!!!

Gay priest, straight priest paedophile priest the list goes on, because SEX which ought not to occur is happening! Who is he to judge.

Ode!dats ur name.

Will all of you shut up. When the pharisees asked jesus why he was eating in the house of a sinner, what was his reply??? He said he came for sinners. Does a healthy man visit a doctor??? Remember that your attitude towards people can be a vehicle for change. If you do not love one another, then its a big problem. Love your neighbour as yourself includes all and sundry. I will never ever in my entire life condone lesbians or homosexuality but if my interactions with them through love, understanding and persistent prayers will change them, then let me be an instrument for the Lord. Secondly, if you take time to read in-between lines, you will see a similarity to the question type Jesus was being asked. All was to test what He will say and in order to use it as a weapon against him saying he said this and this and is that not what is happening. God is in control. Thirdly, stop attacking the church, let not your mouth or heart speak or know evil. Beware of what you say. Only God has the right to judge. Take a clue from the two men who went to the temple to pray. Who came out victorious????

Madam linda, i enjoy most of ur post but dis one u did nt do justice to it, u picked only a fraction of a story, which could give a very wrong meaning, y didn't u present us wit all a details. I had to go search for d news ma sef, and got a better view, i'll paste dis part mayb u didt see it "Pope Francis, in some of the most conciliatory words from any pontiff on gays, said they should not be judged or marginalized and should be integrated into society, but he reaffirmed Church teaching that homosexual acts are a sin" he also said dat gay oreination is nt a sin but d act is, hw caom u missed dat out. Plz publich dis so pple dnt get wrong info. Plz stop picking fractions of stories, it can spoil tins

"I have to distinguish between their being gay and being part of a lobby"

i know they are some homosexuals that seriously want to repent from their evil ways. these are the ones the holy father was referring to and not the ones that have decided to recruit more "members" in order to justify their evil act.

oak said...
oak said...

And what is "xtians". We are CHRISTians. Why cross out the christ. I think we shld all get it right from here. Thank you.

Jeez! God never created gay rather God created man but man chose to be gay. Christians shld stop romancing sin, i am so disappointed in our religious leaders. JESUS IS COMING SOON! This is end time indeed.

if anyone believes there's nothing wrong with being gay, he/she is entitled to his/her opinion but where I'm astonished is the fact that he doesn't see anything wrong in a man (priest) who have chosen to be celibate practicing homosexuality. is that celibacy?

Many things happen in ROME!

Na big goat , leave am all this father na anti Christ matter dem dey , they have allowed civiliasation to cover the Christian religion . Tell them it's wrong, simple yes they are our brothers and sisters but make it clear to them . I guess no pastor or anyone shud tell any body to repent because who are they to judge , that's the new leg to encourage sins abi?

Bigtymer Godson,u are a big fool.. Idiot,monkey,goat.. Devil punish your already sorry life..

I love my child that is why i advise,correct and disciplines him when he errs ! I do it out of Love for who God loves HE chastises.
Hebrew 12:6''For the LORD disciplines those he loves, and he punishes each one he accepts as his child."
To let a gay child alone without correction is hatred of the highest ranking ! Of course whop are we to judge ?
Please see below the case of Radwanska a tennis player who featured nude for ESPN body shoot 2013 and what the catholic church has to say about her as a Roman Catholic parishioner in one of the parishes:
"It's a shame that someone who has declared their love for Jesus is now promoting the mentality of men looking at a woman as a thing rather than a child of God worthy of respect and love," senior Catholic priest Father Marek Dziewiecki told Polish media.
Unsurprisingly, the Catholic Church was none too thrilled about this. Radwanska, 24, had been working with Krucjata Mlodych, a Polish Catholic "Youth Crusade," as an ambassador for the group. After her photo shoot for ESPN, however, that relationship has now dissolved.
Now my question is,why didn't the church leave her there as their youth Crusade group ambassador since it is very evident that she has 'declared for Jesus' and the church ? If i'm to go by the words of the pope,Radwanska was marginalized in this sense ! Pls custodians of the word of God,don't water the word for more membership or more Benjamins ! Say the truth always and leave God to Church. There is nothing like gay Christian as in accepting the practice and accepting Christ. But we can have a 'gay christian'as in one with the tendencies or urge who struggles with it and want's to come out of it just like some of us struggling Christians who still fall into the sin of adultery,fornication,masturbation,greed,covetousness,drunkenness and the likes.
My catholic friends,i know that the papacy is infallible, the pope can never be wrong but let us study the word to see how Christ loved sinners. A closing example was the adulterous woman who Jesus did not judge and condemned rather HE had compassion on but left her with a closing word;''GO HOME AND SIN NO MORE'' Jesus corrected her by letting her know that she should not continue in sin. Pls pope francis,i am GAY tell me it's against the word of God but God loves me but doesn't want me to continue in such practice.
God bless us all

Thanks , you have said it all, no mind dis useless ppl , they have destroyed Christianity totally becos them wan open eye follow sinners and yet condemned the Islamic man for sticking to his fate and religious beliefs ... I am not Islamic but that's the truth

Rough Diamond said...

Na u gan gan be d hypocrite! Anu mpama!

No mind am , he de fear or maybe he is just one of the anti Christ self

If it was anyone else that made this comment there would be a problem but cos its the pope its ok ryt?hope he takes you nd the church to heaven,if u go back to the bible y was sodom nd gomorah destroyed for?or don't they teach that in the catholic church?this is a total insult to christianity

Dont mind people that are looking for what they will say someone did to them. Afterall what did they expect him to say, that they will perish and go to hell??? My dears let me tell ya all, the question was one of a trap and whether or not you know it. I am not GOD so I might not have the full capacity of discernment but what I knw for sure is that we have been told by the holy book not to judge so as not to be judged.

Rough Diamond said...

See dis gigolo talking! Taaa! Shut dat gutter of urs

@Anon 3:25, God Bless u. I dunno y peeps can't jst say d truth witout bin biased

Linda; why cut the Pope's quote? He wasn't supporting gay. At the end of his quotation, he made it clear that the Church is not in support of gay and that it is a sin. Please get the original news on BBC

Jbankz said...

Fanx Pope nd plz cum tel naija pple wan nva face dia big wahala finish na 2 find wea gayz nd lesb 2gv 14yrz.assholez

This is an endtime.all what devil is using obama nd like to do in propagating same sex marriage is an attempt to make God bring an end to ds world so that devil can ve his full dominion over the earth till he shall be judged by God.all d signs of end time have happened,what is left is appearance of christ.pple u ve to becareful off all these present prophets,they r out to deceive many.look at God as ur standard,don't mind what prophet wl tell u,just follow what is n bible.Bible didn't support bn GAY.it is a Sin before God.so whatever prophet might to support Gay is a devilish deceipt.God didn't creat anybody bn Gay ,it is abnormal.God is nt happi @ u bn a gay or lesbian except u born again

It's good to stand for the truth no matter what....the pope is playing politics...I am a christian...not judging buh even d bible condemns it.....so alil knowledge of the word of God...with the insight of the holy spirit will really help our catholic brothers and sisters!

B n B said...

Dis is all stupid talk..... C cannot serve two masters at the same time. How can someone be gay and search the Lord, sorry to say, but this is RUBBISH!!!!! You cannot be a thief and serve God, and stop all dese rubbish talk of "dey didn't ask to be gay" dats a stupid talk. Everybody has a choice!!! Its only a natural disability like blindness or deafness or so dat one can say he didn't have control over, nobody was born a gay!!!! Pple were born eunch but nobody was born gay, and for d fact dat we are to love d sinners and hate d sin does not mean we have to lie to dem!!!! Being gay is a SIN... God says all things are possible thru him, so its possible to leave the gay lifestyle only if u re willing and ready, gay pple will go to hell if dey don't repent..the pope shuold stop being a coward and tell them the damn truth!!!! God loves them, but at the same time, he is a consuming fire and will judge all d sinners... THAT IS THE WORD OF GOD

Fortunately there is no Politics or diplomacy in heaven; your HELL is sure when you go against the dictates of God either they stand for the truth now or never!

ANON 3:03 For the record THERE ARE NO GAY CHRISTAINS. Christian means christ-like. 1 Cor 6:9-11 "neither the sexually immoral nor homosexuals" will not inherit d kingdom of God, what about Lev 18:22 "You shall not lie with a male as a woman, it is a detestable sin" or Romans 1:26,27 that talks about women and men exchanging natural relations for unnatural ones...should i go on? The bible expressly condemns homosexuality so all those sugar coating the truth are on their own. A person of spiritual authority should say it as it is, a sin against God but with genuine repentance God will have mercy. My 2 cents...

B n B said...

ALL GAYS WILL GO TO HELL IF THEY DON'T REPENT!!! Dat is not me judging them, that is me telling them the gospel truth, d same truth the pope is scared of saying!!!! God never created anyone gay, so all dese stupid gays should stop consoling themselves

Point of correction, God did not create gay people! gosh why are we so blind! homosexuality is unnatural Read Romans 1:26,27, Lev 18:22, 1 cor 6:9 all vehemently condemning homosexuality. Pls show me one part of scripture where it is acknowledged as natural, i'm waiting!! Homosexuality is a lie of the devil. There are demonic influences behind such addictions.

B n B said...

Der is a difference between judging nd telling d truth! D truth is dat homosexuality is a sin, and God would destroy all that sin, and all dose that refused to warn them of their sins, so gays should repent and the pope should tell them the whole truth!!! Period..dats isn't judging

Fake Queen and Boss of SDK blog reloaded again aka give them 🔥 🔥 said...

No matter how u place it, a sinner is not a christain n a christain is not a sinner. Woe to gays n les cos on d last day u shall answer God whether he is d one dt made u gay or not. Hell awaits u, d pope should v been straight forward in his answer cos God is no respecter of man be u who

Do not throw stones yes, but should we now not spread the gospel of truth and liberate others from the path of destruction? Shall we continue to sin so that grace may abound?

LINDA....... Is that what he said?
Ur caption is so wrong.

Well said... Linda read before u write.

Jide said...

God's judgment is on homosexuals and all who have pleasure in them that do them( read Romans 1:26-32). This is not a matter of judgment but an open rebuke for sin.

Oliver Onyibe said...

Well said dear, yes he's not a judge, however priest are celibate and are not supposed to partake in any form of sexual activity, are gay priest of different breed?
What's his point? Probably put like this, you can have sex as a priest if you are gay.

THEOGEJ.. said...

Pls ooo,,were is dat boy bonario??he always defend catholic..anyway I hve never trusted dose pple...illuminati pple..on christ d solid rock I stand..

Oliver Onyibe said...

BREAKING NEWS!!! I`m not more a catholic. Antichrist! sign of end time
((monic))

this world is coming 2 an end

That he adviced us not to judge or discriminate does not mean dat he is surporting them.he is right don't judge anybody is between them and God.but if u are a gay shame on you.(END TIME) this d sign, u better repent nd accept God as ur lord nd personal saviour.

Oliver Onyibe said...

See fight for parliament...buahahahaha who go throw d first punch?

@marq said...

i feel the pope shudve taken a stronger stand. But at the end of the day we shud ask, what would Jesus do? would he condemn a sinner? he didnt condemn a prostitute. does that mean jesus is endorsing prostitution? Who knows, In the END..we will all know the truth.

Rough Diamond said...

Is gayism d only sin on earth? "For all have sinned n fall short of the glory of God" kettle calling pot black. Mtchew

Xtian said...

I have always found the act of homosexuality disgusting. That is why I am heterosexual. What two grow up consenting adults do to each other in the privacy of their homes is their own buisness. I find adultery, fornication disgusting. Again same principal of consenting adults. A sin is a sin. How is two men or women fucking each other anyone's buisness. Who is it hurting. A person that commits adultery hurts a marriage. A gay person or straight person who sleeps around risks spreading diseases. If you are a Christian and are concerned for their souls then do the right thing and pray for them. I hate hypocrites and I believe there is a special place in hell for them . Gods judgement is on ALL SINS. Stop being delusional it's the blood of Christ that saves not your own self righteousness .

Rough Diamond said...

Christ came to pay d ultimat price for sinners. We r leaving by his grace

Exactly,linda didn't publish the whole stuff,so it appears the pope is sitting on the edge on this issue...if she had published the whole story,u guys will see where he said"HOMOSEXUAL ACTS is A SIN!!!!"

Hahahaha!!!
I am laughing at all of you beating yourselves up over the pope's comments. ALL SIN IS SIN, all f you shouting that gays are going to hell, for your information so are you that fornicates, aldulterers, thieves, murderers and the likes.
You say a gay person in NOT your brother but you are excited about your uncle that just "hammered" by some shady means....or you survive on "runs", ALL SIN IS SIN. Stop the bullshit. The pope says to love them, it should not be your problem who someone decides to fuck.
If you can not pray for sinners or convert them through acts of love like Christ would then mind your business and continue to live in your self righteous bubble.
~~ZZ

hrm paul ojeih said...

I was waiting for various fags in dis blog to join and talk rubbish about how ture the popes words are the fact stilll remains dat homosexuality is not a christian doctrine sodom n gomorah was destroyed bcos of it its in d bible dat at d end time men shall burn up with unstrange desires and lust towards their felo men homosexuality is a sin an insult to God d eternall father for he made dem male and female dis is d plain truth the pope should speak up and tel d world d truth if an individual is a homosexual and seeks forgiveness its ok not wen ur homosexual and ur preaching human rights least I forget should priest b sexualy active to d extent of of being gay

Na wa for people oh!. So we are now looking for sins that warrant punishment
1. Lying
2. Stealing
3. Gluttony
4. Waste
5. Fornication
6. Adultery
7. Watching phonography
8. Using some else's account to post hate messages on Linda's blog
9. Paying for someone to do your exams
10. Abortion
11. Unclean thought
You know yourselves. Fortunately sin no get grade, sin na sin. Any sin you partake in glorifies the devil. Lets concentrate in removing the log from our eyes before we help our neighbour remove the speck from his.

Well said..cuddnt have said it better

This is clear that there is a conspiracy smewhere, we all knw dat d illuminates r infiltrators and are capable of infiltratin jst abt anywhere in the world, doesn't it seem strange that a pope steps down for the first time in over 600 yrs and his immediate successor first ignites pope Johnpaul 2 a saint and we all knw who pope John paul really was, and nw he tries defendn gay priests wen d bible clearly stands against it.
Am nt judgn any one here bt we shld read the hand writtn on the wall.
No hatn its jst my opinion

~its all bau me~

my dear Brothers what is bad is bad what is good is good, so when them ask him about Robbery and a killer, like Boko Haram, he will say that who is he to judge, telling somebody that wht he or she is doing is not good is not judging him, u are direct him to know the good one, that is the work of a priest, so am very disappointed in his comment honestly

Linda ...y in the freaking hell didn't you post the all comments ??..infact the way you do your things at times is just very annoying..posting it all would av just done justice..d part you picked is rather useless without the other parts cos u've automaTically cut the vision of your readers to see the exact thing he is saying..cos now they have missed the take home lesson which is the fact that he thinks it is a sin but who is he to judge ???..which is the actual fact but now that you have put only the judge part, you see how your people have taking it ??post my comments cos someone might see and then decide to read it by their self and then allowing them to have a clear vision of the whole issue addressed by the POPE. Bless !!

All I know is that the Pope is not God, he is human with blood flowing through his veins, that's all

Meanin he has dcided not to judge. Datz God's job

Linda I don't want to lose my respect for u and ur blog....am not a Catholic but stop castigating thr Pope. I watched the interview and pope never said gay priests but gay people....please change the caption to avoid the wrath of God.

MBA C.

Why must Nigerians advertise their illitracy, the Pope did not endorse homosexuality, he only did not "condemn" them. For goodness sakes

if i may ask wat is d meaning of dis gay,i wnts 2 knw.

Some days ago wen some of our muslim senators said we shld give out our chid @ age below 18 we all shouted bt now pope they try support Gay we de hail him...I'm also a christian bt will not b surprise to see the so called xtians in hell fire cuz most of us are hypocrite.. Come to think of it, d so called animals like pig,goat, sheep no they do homosexuality come talk of us wey b social animals....I 1da how people wey de practice homosexuality Self go get children..lolz

Dear Mr pope! They are NOT our brothers! Even the bible says it "do not be unequally yoked believers with unbelievers, also " blessed are doz who do not sit in the counsel of the ungodly" no one is asking u to judge, but don't sit around on the fence like u can't boldly say gayism is wrong, or are u afraid of being criticized for standing up for wat u truly believe in??? Mr pope, light and darkness has nothing in common, and am sure u knw dat, the church welcomes sinners but the essence is for dem to embrace christ and turn away frm.immorality, not for dem to come into church and still continue in sin! God help us all

No one was born gay!!!!! U guys shud stop deceiving urselves, it's jus saying someone was born a theif or was born a rapist and *dey are jus d way dey are*... are u for real?

D pope is a politician

#Gbam!u are highly on point.

Crystalfoodhub24 said...

I pity u

Did the Pope say this in simple straight english or did he speak in his language and this was then interpreted to English language?
Also who was the interpreter and what is his/her sexual orientation?
The pope should come out clearly and tell us exactly what he means in clear everyday english.

Bini boy dey here o smith

ejikebiggerdick said...

If only u re being paid severally for cracking those nut shell of urs called head to write bigger grammar, all will be well.
Anyway, first tym concurring with u
U sucks tho

Abeg carry your bona head go one side.

ejikebiggerdick said...

FOooOoooooooOoooooOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you have ever done an abortion u are worst than a gay . Becos gay has not hurt anyone, maybe has offended God like most other people , but someone who kills unborn child has used their lust to create life and then killed innocent unborn child. Calling all self righteous Christians please pick up placards and stand outside hospitals or clinics and stop abortions from happening. Use your judgement to save a life and maybe a soul.

'Cheap temptationss'? Tell us the expensive temptations, please!

WORD!

Are you God?

Pls all u criticizing d pope should take several seats, I don't think he's in support, but trying to make reffrence to d Bible,'thou shall not Judge'it is Well.

Yemolala....

What are you babbling? There is only ONE holy father and His name is JESUS CHRIST! Stop calling the Pope your holy father, it is blasphemy againt God. And the Pope knows the truth about God's condemnation of homosexuality yet he's playing to the tunes of the world. I hope he knows that he will be judged by God just like yiu and I.

...Yinmu..
Keep supporting lies..
Your pope economical with the truth.Well,what do you expect?
Be it celibacy,homosexuality or whatever form of sexual disorientation....they all still need psychiatric evaluation.

So α monster is finally at the head of the Roman Catholic church.. Hmmm.. *changing denomination asap*

Npagi there inugo! No b only gv dem break, we legalize am wit ur broda marrying his male frnd u hear. Anuofia!!

6 This they said to test him, that they might have some charge to bring against him. Jesus bent down and wrote with his finger on the ground.
7 And as they continued to ask him, he stood up and said to them, “Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.” 8 And once more he bent down and wrote on the ground.
9 But when they heard it, they went away one by one, beginning with the older ones, and Jesus was left alone with the woman standing before him.
10 Jesus stood up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”
11 She said, “No one, Lord.” And Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you; go, and from now on sin no more.”] -JOHN 8:6-11

The Holy book ie Bible was before ur
holy father if u can not believe in what the Bible said on this issue, exam ur self.

Errr we have anglican priests ma! And as u know they are allowed to marry

Anon 3.02... God bless you. We as Christians spend so much time judging other people instead of loving people. Yes homosexuality is wrong, so is cheating, stealing. God hates all sin equally. If anyone can stand up and say they have no sin, let them be the first to Judge homosexuals. While you are busy judging, you are also creating a special place in hell for yourself. I chose to love instead of judging. Christianity is a way of life. Remember how Jesus embraced sinners not condemn them. We have to be christ-like in order to change this world.

admin said...

linda post ma commext plz

admin said...

nonsense,the pontif cant condemn what he does..he forgets that Gods standard stangeth sure.finaly the prophecy bout papacy is on motion.

Holy books did not mince words on other Sin too. So if you don't change your judging ways nah hell fire for you too.

DaaaAmn excuse!..#

I'm sure de pope hasn't got a clue as to Y sodom/gomorah was destroy'd. Maybe he wouldn't be dis liberal in promoting homosexuals. Well sir pope, it was simply cos dey were homosexuals nd even wanted to have sexual relations with God's messengers(Angels). So, I hope u can go bak to de old testament in any case u wana know more. Igbaliala. So by sayin it de way u did, u can count on our votes wen u apply 4 second term in office. U shd'v jst kept quiet dan wat u jst did. Hope Father Edeh of madonna reads this. He has cast'd de anglicans 4 too long. Now his pope has joined in de promotion of homosexuals. Hope he hangs himself now. HYPO-4KIN-CRITES!

Am. heterosexual . A Christian . Am cool with gay people. I have Notting but love for them, because Christ lives in my heart and am a happy person no place for hate within me. I thank God for leading me to Christ. If you have Christ in you there is a peace within you dat surpass all human understanding you can look att your fellow human being and see the good within them and the possibility for even more good. christ came and preached a gospel of love and forgiveness.

Let's all serve God, let's forget abt what d pope said,many more will be said. Let's face what matters most, "the word of God" all we'd need to be strong in this evil word is in d bible, the pope is human too,no human can always be right,Jesus loves u all, wen we sin we nail him to d cross a second time,let's seek d 1st d kingdom of God,God bless us all, Linda plz post dis, God bless u.

Am not replying you,pls bear wit me using ur reply button 4 my post...
The pope jus declared "they are our brothers" in simple terms accept them!
He is deemed to be a man of GOD & shud stay wit GOD,because GOD made it clear in the leviticus 20:13...
Most of us can't comment badly @ him simply because he is a pope,but this absolutely wrong,he is equal of a man before GOD than any of us,Jesus asked us to honour those in authority above us & follow them,that's we are lead the right way not astray,his comment can justify some pple who already standing on the fence of being strait or being a faggot!
Must I remind us,if a muslim cleric made that statement,am sure comments like islam is evil & shud be out-lawed will flow.
With all due respect I do not try to invite sentiments here,rather pointing out sentiment...
No religion beta than any other...GOD does not need our religion rather our relationship with him...
A question cud be are worshipping GOD is his messengers? Or those who claim be his priests?

Gbemi said...

YES HE SAID THAT! BUT JUS CUZ U'RE NOT AGAINST SOMETHING DOESNT MEAN U'RE IN SUPPORT OF IT. YOU YOUNG NIGERIANS REALLY NEEED TO OVERCOME YOUR BABARIC MENTALITY FOR 4KS SAKES ITS 2013...THE WORLD IS GOT MORE PRESSING ISSUES THAN 'FAGS' FAMS ROAMED THIS EARTH JUS LIKE OUR FOUR FATHERS DID. WHO ARE YOU TO JUDGE REALLY? YOU SHOULD REALL ASK YOURSELF.SECONDLY, DO WE LIVE IN THE OLD TESTAMENT OR THE NEW ONE? BECAUSE CLEARY THE OLD TESTAMENT PROMOTED WARS, BURNT OFFERING AND OTHER HARDCORE SHIT AS WELL.E.T.C... JESUS ON THE OTHER HAND PREACHED ABOUT LOVE,COMPASSION AND TOLERANCE. A SIN IS A SIN...WHAT DO U DO WHEN A POLICEMAN IS VIOLENTLY HARRASING A BUS CONDUCTOR FOR PEANUTS? DO U INTERFER OR WALK AWAY? "ENO CONCERN ME" I BELEIVE MOST OF YALL WILL SAY. SAME WAY IT SHOULDNT BE UR PROBLEM IF TWO CONSENTING WOMEN OR MEN CHOOSE MAKE LOVE...THESE ARE HUMANS TOO AND TRUST ME THIER ENTIRE LIFE DOESNT REVOLVE AROUND BEING GAY. CONVERSELY, MOST OF YALL JUST THINK ABOUT "GAY SEX GAY SEX GAY SEX" THEY'VE GOT LIVES TOO- MOST OF THE CRAZY CHAOS WE'VE GOT GOING ON IN THIS WORLD IS MASTERMINDED BY STRAIGHT PEOPLE WHEREAS MEJORITY OF GAYS ARE JUS WELL..GAY. THEY ARE FIGHTING TO LOVE WHILE YALL ARE FIGHTING TO HATE!, NOW SOME OF YOU WANNA DISS UR SPIRITUAL LEADER BECAUSE HE DOESNT SHARE UR HATEFUL VIEWS! WHAT WOULD U HAVE SAID ON MEDIA IN A WORLD WHERE OVER 20PERCENT OF ITS INHABITANTS ARE GAYS AND SOME, CATHOLICS?(YES-CATHOLICS!). YALL BETTER WATCH IT GUYS, DONT LET YOUR HATE GET THE BEST OF YOU. WE HAVE ALL SINNED AND FALLEN SHORT OF GOD'S GLORY. AND SOME OF YALL YEILING 'SODOM AND GOMORRAH, SWEETHEARTS, NOT EVERYONE THAT LIVED IN THAT CITY PRACTICED HOMOSEXUALITY, AND HOMOSEXUAL ACTIVITY WASNT THE ONLY REASON GOD DESTROYED IT...SAME GOD ONCE DESTROYED A 'STRAIGHT' WORLD WITH WATER! SO STFU! *WAKA PASS*

The Reformer!

Emmanuel Ohadomere said...

If the Pope actually said that then I think he may just be pandering towards pleasing some people instead of what would be pleasing to GOD. GOD has judged homosexuality to be evil (read Genesis Chapter 19) GOD never condoned homosexuality - he even defined this SIN as "Very Great" and if homosexuals want to follow GOD they should first rid themselves of this 'Very Great' Sin against GOD!! GOD destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah because of this 'Very Great' Sin of Homosexuality. In the case of Homosexuality GOD has given judgement so I urge the Pope to follow it! Help rid Homosexuals of Homosexuality - don't condone it!

just as there's no staying on the fence about being a liar, a cheat, murderer, etc. This is a clear cut case of judge not so ye not be judged. Whats the difference between wearing a tattoo, fornicating and being gay? no difference at all cz they r all sins b4 the eyes of God, as there is absolutely nothing like big nor small sin. He who hath no sin shd cast the first stone.

I believe d last pope has to step down cause he did not agree with dis, well norfyn is new anyway, I feel like giving dis pope dude a derry slap. Abi em bible tell am say God create adam for jacob? Huh! Dis is so so so disgusting nd repulsive + 9ja legislative body dat ar full of pedophite, gush let dis world jst come to an end nd let all dis bullshit stop once nd for all. #sick fuck

noblenenye said...

Pope Francis tolerates a lot ooo! I had expected him to condemn homosexuality outrightly.

Marc Francis of Chelsea said...

The church should not blur the lines in the bible? Sure! Let's stone the unmarried virgins and sin by mixing fabrics. I love how everyone is quick to stone when the same Bible clearly states, in Jesus' words, let he without sin cast the first stone.

Religious psycophant-ism isn't what will get you into heaven.

Ophelia said...

The main issue is that naija people see homosexuality as nothing but sex; not intimacy or love. Now even the pope is telling "not to judge," but as always, the most corrupt nation in the world will be the one who opposes the Pope in a religion that was introduced to it by the Pope's missionaries.

Le sigh.

The Pope doesn't know why Sodom and Gomorrah was destroyed? Wow. I weep for the ignorance of my people.

Moi said...

Pope Francis spoke as Jesus would. SMH at a lot of the comments.

The 'God' many Nigerians serve is a wicked old man who exists merely to strike down their enemies and punish the evil doers (funnily also their enemies fall into this category). This 'Nigerian god' loves them despite all their faults but is curiously incapable of loving anyone else that sins.

@anonymous 3:25pm: ur life, ur views, ur opinions! Ure the hypocrite snc ure tryna bias thoughts instd of act away from ignorance and read d sentences written and evn try to sieve out his points. Why won't dey judge ur religion when u go arnd judging other's??? And who evn made u a judge if I may ask??? Y'all saying rubbish, u shd prolly mk an effort to und d pope's view on gay rights and nt jump 2conclusions b4 evn reading.

Baby lawyer God bless u for me call a spade a spade

Trust me, until u talk to a lot of gay people then you know majority are born gay. There was a guy i grew up with i used to call woman wrapper right from when we were kids in Nigeria. Because at 6yrs old,he walked like a girl, acted like a female too. Now we are all grown, and no one that knew him well cannot say he wasn't like that since he was born. We accept him for who he is and choose to Love instead. We continue to encourage him in Christ. Sad thing is that because of judgemental Christians, he is trapped in his own soul and body. Mind you, he grew up in a Christian home just like a lot of us. Please lets show compassion as Christians and treat them with love of Christ so that they maybe able to Overcome this. Yes, Homosexuality is wrong but us judging and condemning them is just as wrong. Do your job as a Christian to love and show hope to lost ones. Leave the Judging to God.

Straight from my mouth @ bonario!

Confiteour unum baptisma in remissionem peccatorum. @ bonario u are just one!

Christianity men with out religious and life style. Just waiting to celebrate the first gay pope in the world or first gay can president in nigeria. Imagine a pope advocating and promoting gay and lesbianism.

well if you hate them u too are going to hell. gbam. #drops turn eba. how about prostitutes do you hate them too?

Well well well! God didn't destroy sodom n gomorrah cos they were gay. he did cos they wanted to sleep with/rape the angels God sent.

For your information Lot was leaving with gays and he called them his brothers even when they wanted to rape the angels. so grab a copy of your bible now.

NAWAOOO!

Diamond said...

The POP is a humanbeing like us, what do you expect him to say?. Would POP go against God because he is POP? Who are we to challenge God?. So POP will be right when he conderms sinners & judge them?, is that what the word is expecting from him?,as in he is now God?. Bretherns, the word of the Lord says do not judge!. Is not POPs that destroyed sordom & gomohrra it was God. Is not POP that made man it was God, therefor condermination & judgement of man is in the hand of God not POP, he has no such powers. Some people commenting against POP should not put him into temtation because he is POP. I don't think he supports gay, but he doesn't want us to start discriminating but to love one another because no one is perfect. God says tha every humanbeing sins more than 7 times in a day.

Diamond said...

The POP is a humanbeing like us, what do you expect him to say?. Would POP go against God because he is POP? Who are we to challenge God?. So POP will be right when he conderms sinners & judge them?, is that what the word is expecting from him?,as in he is now God?. Bretherns, the word of the Lord says do not judge!. Is not POPs that destroyed sordom & gomohrra it was God. Is not POP that made man it was God, therefor condermination & judgement of man is in the hand of God not POP, he has no such powers. Some people commenting against POP should not put him into temtation because he is POP. I don't think he supports gay, but he doesn't want us to start discriminating but to love one another because no one is perfect. God says tha every humanbeing sins more than 7 times in a day.

Religion is for a discerning mind. Well said Pope Francis. Although the church does not support gay but it still reaches out to everyone even gay people seeking the face and mercy of God. Who are we mere mortals to condemn people? Let the person without a blemish cast the first stone. The church is willing and happy to welcome folks she lost to being gay back... But not as gays in the church.

Who is Pope Francis to judge those thieves in the Vatican Bank too? They were born thieves afterall.

Religion is actually for a discerning mind. Well said pope Francis. Although the church does not support being gay, it would not condemn and reject any gay person that decides to seek God's face and mercy. Who are we to condemn our fellow beings? He who is without any blemish, let him cast the first stone. The church is happy to receive folks lost to being gay, but not to remain in the church as gay as the church condemns the act.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 247   Newer› Newest»