Kumuyi’s son suspended over his bride's wedding dress: what do you think? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 July 2013

Kumuyi’s son suspended over his bride's wedding dress: what do you think?

By now most of you must have heard about what's going on at the Deeper Christian Life Ministry but just in case you haven't heard/read any of it, let me summarize it.

The second son of the General-Superintendent of Deeper Life Pastor William Kumuyi got married on June 15th in Jamaica to a lady named Love Odih. A day later, photos from the wedding flooded the internet - and that was when trouble started.

The bride was accused of breaking the church's conservative dressing rules by wearing make-up, a fitted wedding dress, with see-through sleeves. (bride and groom pictured above. The photo on the right is the appropriate way to dress in the church).

Now, John and Love Kumuyi have been suspended by the leadership of the church for this despite the fact that the couple tendered an apology letter to the church. Continue...

The couple said:

“We unreservedly and wholeheartedly state that we did not intend that our acts or omissions will, in any way, undermine the great works that God has done through the Deeper Christian Life Ministry worldwide and  more especially, through our Father in the Lord, the General Superintendent.We also use this medium to profusely and sincerely apologise to the General Superintendent for the embarrassment and heartaches our actions have caused him, more so that he had earlier declined to be at the events.”
But the church wasn't having any of that (Here's where you ask 'what would Jesus do?) they still went ahead and suspended the couple from carrying out any activity in the church - an instruction that came from the GS himself, Pastor William Kumuyi. The church said:
“The church, Deeper Life, remains committed to the biblical practice and standard of almost 40 years Christian dressing and still remains and does not compromise on biblical Christian dressing. Hence, deviation warrants the displeasure and frown of God and the leadership of the church. John and Love are now under discipline"
My problem with this is - You preach forgiveness but can't practice it! What do you guys think?

632 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 632 of 632
Esty said...

Hypocrites and men pleasers. God will judge!

Esty said...

The officiating pastor should be suspended too. He ought not to have wedded them. The marriage committee should be suspended cos they were at that wedding too.

the truth is THEY never broke the church law as they did not marry in a Deeperlife church period!The boy apologise to show understanding and love to his Father.

Guys, opinions are like noses and every one has one. most of the comments here are very funny and judgmental. They are no hypocrites, they did nothing wrong. I grew up in deeper life church and growing up i didnt agree with some of the laid down rules. I'll say this again, PASTOR KUMUYI never told any of the members of the church not to watch TV. TV was a distraction for everyone. He said " If you can watch TV and still be able to attend your bible study, revival service and sunday service, then by all means you are free to do so, but if you know you cant because you have to watch a particular programme before going to church, then it would begin to affect your spiritual life, hence it;s better you dont watch or keep it in your house" but people misinterpreted this and started saying all sorts. Pastor Kumuyi is not the kind of man to come out and start exchanging words or comments with all these silly reporters and all.
on the issue of dressing, every woman in church saw how pastor's wife dressed and they followed her style. It was never a law to wear skirt and blouse or turban for weddings or go to church or anything. IT WAS NOT A LAID DOWN RULE!!! I do believe if any member of the church had brought a wedding gown something similar to what love wore, i do not thing they would reject it because it is all covered up. The essence of dressing is to cover up your nakedness. so people should stop blaming kumuyi and his son or the wife. all these things are been brought up by bitter members that decided on their own to wear skirt and blouse and on their wedding day because they felt that was how it was meant to be. Love and John shouldnt have apologized. they didnt marry the church members and there was nothing wrong with her dress. it is paining other people thats why they are doing this which was supported by a micro-scopic envious fault-finding members in the church. who are they to judge them. Before you get married in deeperlife, you take what you are supposed to wear to the marriage committee and they assess and approve, so all that sewing of a dress in the night is bull-crap. Instead of them facing their own lives and worrying about their souls, they are busy pointing fingers.

Lmfao

Nollywoodbiz said...

'You preach forgiveness but don't practice it' Forgiveness does not shield you from the consequences of your action.

Nollywoodbiz said...

'You preach forgiveness but don't practice it' Forgiveness does not shield you from the consequences of your action.

Seriously notin is wrng wit dus dress, na wah oo dis deeper lyf pple sef.....

I suggest they change the style of the dress the women wear. Must it have that middle cut?...and that their swede head gear?? Anyways, since its their law, the couple can serve the punishment but I am sure those church members know that making heaven is not by following the law but by the Grace of God.

Abiona said...

We shldn't be 2 hasty in giving judgmnt & b careful about our judgmnt n ds matter, God is d true judge. However, it is better 2b chastised here on earth than be condemned by heaven.

Abiona said...

We shldn't be 2 hasty in giving judgmnt & b careful about our judgmnt n ds matter, God is d true judge. However, it is better 2b chastised here on earth than be condemned by heaven.

Remember d say," the more u look the less u see..." GS may be seeing something else dt is hidden 2 us cz it takes someone in d spirit 2 see things from spiritual angle vice versa

Pentecostal christians are some of the most judgemental hypocrites in the world! Damn! Let the young couple be happy.They havent done anything wrong.Dresscode my brown arse! The 'appropriately dressed' people in the bottom right look like a bunch of circus .

circus rejects!

hahahahahahahahahahaha. Bonario! i give up on you.

There is no imprisonment or hypocrasy in this matter our Father in the Lord is the man of the Word who believes what He preaches, he believes the people are no more reading the Bible but reading the Believers' life, I don't doubt John's salvation neither do I doubt that of his wife. A parent's success could only be measure by man through his child's success. GS stands by what He preaches, so why will his son do otherwise, John's wedding is an example to other youth coming on board. He has done the right thing by tendering an apology, I love him and his wife for this, he still need to do more to pray so that the action he and his wife has taken will not lead guilible singles to..... IT IS WELL.

Commentators, pause a while. We shall understand by and by. Study to be quiet. Learn to do your own biz.Every Idol word will be accounted for. Pray, this is the church age. Remember, the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. Why being worried with an issue that is not yours. Jesus said to His mother, pray for your self and your children.
Take time to pray than critics. Leave this matter, This church is capable of handling their problem. All comments here does not have anything to do with the church position on this. Neither will your input make any difference. Please and please, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.
Before making comment on this issue that occupied your time, did you pray? Are you saved? Is your name in the book of Life. Being a member or not is not the matter here. The matter is that if you shut your eyes in death, will you be able to stand bold before your maker. You are bold enough to call people or their pastors all kinds of names? Hey friends, take time to be holy, watch your words.
This is my kind advice to as many who devoted their time to comment on this matter. Stay clear before your words brings you into condemnation.
Love you all, but Christ love is supreme.

Every organization (religious, political, corporations, clubs, societies, governments) set out rules/doctrines to govern its members. It has nothing to do with "upgrading" to the 21st century or conforming to popular belief and norms nor being behind the times; they are the organization's rules for its membercs - pure and simple. If you desire and elect to be a member of any organization, you implicitly and explicitly agree to abide by their rules and disciplinary standards, otherwise, you are welcome to exit of your own volition and freewill. Last I checked, it's not a secret cult; you may come and go as you please. It'd be wise for any one who wishes to succeed as a leader (family/business...whatever) to heed this old saying: For want of a nail the horseshoe was lost. For want of a horseshoe the horse was lost.
For want of a horse the rider was lost.
For want of a rider the message was lost. For want of a message the battle was lost. For want of a battle the kingdom was lost. And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

Disclosure: I'm not a Deeper Life Mmember.

I think Pastor Kumuyi's son is not to be blamed as he has no power to dictate what the wife should wear or not wear. The blame should go to the Person, who approved the wedding to go on even when they knew the lady's code of dressing was against their law.

Tnk u very much for dis u said,the doctrines of dat church is a no no!!doesnt make sense in anyway..God didnt say u shld look like a peasant bcos ur worshipping him..ughhhhh...such doctrines shldnt be existing in dis planet

Goodness! Very funny

May God help all of us. John is a temtation to the Church. The father did much work on him when he was young, he had always had a different mind. I am not suprised at what happened. It is expected by some of us who knows him, he delared long time ago that we should not expect him to be like his father and I think satan sometimes use the family of the servants of God to fight their ministry. John Wesley, Benny Hinn Hagin, Babalola, Eli, Samuel even Moses were not spared. May God help us parents. What I just think is that the reaction seem too late. I know Pastor Kumuyi. He is a man who could have stopped the wedding proceeding and order the wedding dress changed, even if the couple insist he could have cancelled the wedding outright. I dont know the situation at the wedding venue, I just think the devil wants to challenge our faith. To me I wont worry about John, he may later become Gods best instrument like Paul later. I just think we should pray more for the church and the leadership. And it shows us that the Pastor is human, living by Gods grace. He had preached before and warned his children publickly that they should not do things that will frustrate him from the ministry. I will keep on praying for them. The discipline is OK, it will keep them sober and give them time to seek Gods face in repentance.I wont accept any apology letter from John, He has been warned severally from childhood. He saw the wife before they enter the church he could have refused to continue and insist or dress change, He was tempting the church, If he did not accept the church principle why get married in the church, he had the option of getting married elsewhere Im sure pastor wont say no. But I think the leadership at the branch the wedding took place and all the people who are supposed to stop the act before it is done should beg God for forgiveness.( If an Anglican Priest at Archbishop Vinning could stop wedding ceremony because the bride was wrongly dresses why couldnt we.) Little compromises like this can be used by the devil to spoil the good work the pastor had spent his whole life to do. I believe in the standard of the Church (I got married in the church and passed through all the courtship rules)They are good rules that prevents sinfulness, we need not change anything. All our rules keep us focussed on Christ. They help us in our holy journey to Heaven and we dont care who loves our dressing or hate it. We are not living for peoples opinion. We are living to please the Lord. To the new couple they should go and pray for forgiveness (like David) and renouce their sin. Being a pastor's child will not qualify anybody for heaven.
The Pastor should be more careful and should pray the more. We shall continue to pray for him.

if the nigeria leadership is like that deeper life then Nigeria would have been better off. Linda this is not unforgiveness. the bible says the servant that knows his master wil and break it shall receive double stripes. Why can't they leave the church before wedding. if you belong to any org. you must abide by all the binding rules failure to do so makes you a sinner. and no sinner should go unpunished

I am really shocked by the info of this website and i am glad i experienced a seem over the weblog. thank you so a lot for sharing this sort of wonderful data.
Denver meeting space

Saint emmajohn said...

I grew up a deeper life years back. it was fun because it sharpen me to take stand on integrity but as the years goes by i can't deny I like good things like tv (football), good cloths and shoes, house, car etc. many of that generation of youth have moved on. The questions I want to house the old breed particularly the men, don't you like these things? How many of your children after they ate own their own still attend the church? Just let it go and move on. Saint Emmajohn, Lagos

WELL THIS IS A POINTER TO THE FACT THAT NO ONE IS PERFECT. CHURCH LEADERS HAVE A DUTY TO CONTINUE TO OVERSEE THE ACTIVITIES OF THEIR CHILDREN. 18YEARS DOES NOT IN ANY WAY GIVE LICENSE TO A LEADER TO IGNORE HIS CHILD BECAUSE HE/SHE IS AN ADULT. WHERE IS THAT STATED IN THE BIBLE? ARE WE SAYING THAT DURING BRIDE PRICE PAYMENT THE SON DID IT ALL ALONE WITHOUT INVOLVING HIS PARENTS? THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED THE WEDDING UNTIL THEY HAD APPEARED IN THE APPROVED WEDDING GOWN. SOMETHING IS HAPPENING... WHY MUST IT APPEAR NOW THAT DEEPER LIFE HAS TOLERATED "APPEARANCE OF EVIL". WHAT ABOUT THE HOLINESS THAT IS BEING PREACHED? SUSPENSION IS ALRIGHT BUT IT CAME IN TOO LATE.IMAGINE THE LIMOUSINE THEY USED IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY WHEN THERE ARE POOR DEEPER LIFE MEMBERS IN NIGERIA.
CHURCH LEADERS WHO ARE STUPENDOUSLY RICH SEND THEIR CHILDREN ABROAD AND NO LONGER SHOW CONCERN FOR THEIR SPIRITUAL LIFE. ELI'S CHILDREN IN THE BIBLE WERE NOT FOLLOWING THE WAYS OF THEIR FATHER, ELI AND CHILDREN SUFFERED FOR IT.SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT.

THE LORD GOD ALMIGHTY GIVETH SALVATION TO ALL MEN, PLEASE IF YOU KNOW WHAT IS GOOD FOR YOU, PRAY FOR FORGINESS. YOU DARE NOT SPEAK AGAINST THE LORDS ANOINTED. MANY SHALL BE SUPPRISED ON THE FINAL DAY INCLUDING YOU IF YOU DONT REPENT. YES THERE ARE MIX MULTITUDE BUT GODS STANDARD CANNOT BE CHANGED BY MAN. HE IS NO RESPECTER OF PERSONS(HE IS A CONSUMING FIRE. I PRAY GOD FORGIVE YOU AND GIVE YOU GRACE NOT TO FACE HIS WRATH.(EXCEPT A MAN BE BORN AGAIN, HE CANNOT SEE THE KINGDOM OF GOD)

Abegi no be kumuyi be dat jaree.so u no even sabi am sef? Visit dlbc and see him

It's nice wedding dress.. thanks a lot for sharing this blog...

Jordan Bridesmaid Dresses

Well the issue here its not if the wedding dress was decent or not but the fact that they went against their church rule but if the church too knew what they were doing they shouldn't have joined them.

The time has come for the church to amend this dressing code/rule just in the same was other rules were amended. In the past deeperlife members were banned from watching TV yet the founder preached on TV . Up till now members are not allowed to wear traditional Aso Ole yet the founder is a Nigerian who is supposed to promote the Afrcan good culture of developing their own way of dressing. This couple are properly dressed and should be blessed and not been embarrassed. But I think God is speaking through this wedding of his son to the founder that he should amend the dressing code of the church just as he has now allowed members to watch TV. Jesus Himself amended the old testament rules of not working on Sabbath day and of not eating unclean animals. The dressing of the bride is perfect and is hereby recommended to would-be brides who intend to expose their vital organs on their wedding day

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 632 of 632   Newer› Newest»