The best place in the world to be a mother is...? Read to find out! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 May 2013

The best place in the world to be a mother is...? Read to find out!

Finland is the best place in the world to be a mother, according to Save the Children's 14th Mothers' Index. The US, (where most Nigerians run to) is ranked 30th, while our beloved Nigeria is ranked 169...it's in the bottom 10. *sigh*

The index ranked countries according to 5 indicators of a mother's well-being: 1. Maternal health (the risk of maternal mortality); 2. Children's well-being (the mortality rate of children under five); 3. Educational status (number of years of formal schooling a woman receives); 4. Economic status (gross national income per capita); and 5. Political status (the participation of women in national government). See the top 10 and bottom 10 after the cut...

Top 10
1. Finland
2. Sweden
3. Norway
4. Iceland
5. Netherlands
6. Denmark
7. Spain
8. Belgium
9. Germany
10. Australia

Bottom 10
167. Cote d'Ivoire
168. Chad
169. Nigeria
170. Gambia
171. Central African Republic
172. Niger
173. Mali
174. Sierra Leone
175. Somalia
176. Democratic Republic of the Congo

122 comments:

Africa pack bottom ten!*heartbreaking*

Africa! Africa!! Africa!!! mother Africa hear your children crying

The scandinavian countries of Europe are topping and its no wonder, they got high GDP, per capita income et al, so its only concomitant to development.

Lol at my dear country, we dey carry first from behind!

Sasha Fierce said...

Yes,they are right!
Scandinavia is the best place for MOTHERS and children to thrive.Those countries have the greatest respect and regard for women and children..And the mortality rate there is very very low.
Beautiful countries and excellent/safest place to live.

Trust our naija/Bini Girls, they are there messing up our iamge as always, and our Ibo Boys are doing what they are known for..Drugs.Nigerians always mess up where ever they go.

Peesayz said...

Na wa oh!!!! And we have minister of health in dis our country???

Beyonce Is Pregnant Again???

Eyah, all the countrys in the bottom ten are african, and as for nigeria *sigh, kinda embarassing nd sad cos I'm partly frm ther.

blackgold said...

Na wa o! The most painful part of it all is that Chad of all countries is even ahead of us... US sef dey learn,lol.

Scandinavian countries at the top.
African countries at the bottom.

eedris bin laden said...

Nigeria started from d bottom and now they A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ still at d bottom

Chai!!*crying for my country*#Sigh of relieve# @ least not born here though.

Ms. J said...

I don't know much about others but Australia is pretty cool. Baby crazy and even pay for daycare + tons of freebies and cash @ birth. But naija kkkwhhy?

something is wrong with this list, where is Kenya? where is Zimbabwe those countries are worse off than Nigeria

Finland rAnks best in education too. They gat some pristine "culture" there

Linda Nigerians are in love with the US for an unknown reason. Unless you are rich US ranks much lower than many countries in Europe where you get many social help with your rentals and free school meals if you earn minimum wage dont know why Nigerians want to go to USA you make more money UK, Ireland, Holland etc. Australia & Canada are also good maybe they think they turn into Afro Americans LOL

Look @ u linda,i knw when u wanna have ur kids too,u will run to U.S

They want their children to get American citizenship....duh!!! Get a clue Your unknown brain 

Oby Azike said...

you can be a mother anywhere

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

I concur

Awww too bad! I had my first baby in january here in nigeria n it was just God dat spared my life! Am glad am alive to take gud care of my daughter

KOFOSHY said...

Sad

Demi said...

Please what number is UK

Ms. Bee said...

Nigerians love the U.S because children born in the U.S get immediate citizenship. That's not the case with European countries.

Europe leading the pack is not surprising. I've heard mothers get 1 yr maternity leave paid. Also heard of the govt sending nannies to help the mothers out during the week.

What of ghana

lol..sl is always at d bottom..lol..me r tire sef

God help this country.

Nimma said...

Norway held the number one position almost 2-3yrs. Hmmm.

anonymous said...

nigerians are already addicted to th US of A nd it will be tough for them to start changing now....Linda pls,i take God name beg u,post my comment

Thank God Ghana is not in the bottom 10. Pheww.Nigeria with all it's resources you are in the bottom 10.

Blackberry said...

Anywia can be a good place to be a mother so far u have d millions.....

Tho I still prefer USA cos dere are opportunities dere, even tho they are ranked 30th, uu can nt ve dat same opportunity in finland even tho they are 1st. God Bless America

Sochi said...

I am west african and of british citizenship, livin in usa for 13 yrs and i will be damned if i ever have a baby here.

I have had a fibroid surgery in the past and will be a prime candidate in a usa hospital for them to go scissor h appy and opt for ceasarian instead of natural.

If you all dont know the secret in USA healthcare system let me tell you cos i work h ere. The doctors in colloboration with the HMO opt to do you ceasarian cos it cost $10000 and more money for the HMO hence more commmission for the doctor than to opt for a $3000 natural birth.

I will NEVER EVER EVER have my baby in america. Good luck to those who choose to. I cant tell u all the secrets but just be careful

So withthis new found statistics I hope you will all leave Mercy Johnson alone for having her baby in USA, at least if for nothing else its better than Nigeria. Those who give birth in Nigeria do that at their own risk and mostly cos they cant afford to do it anywhere else so i wish they will just shut up critiquing her.,

Proudly feminist said...

people go to the us so their children can have a passport, simple.

niger sheii... bottom 10.... cant help but laff... corruption is leading us no where... may God help us especially d poor..

With our fission 2020, expect Nigeria in first 20 ranking.

cAT said...

na african country wey kary last,smh

Let's try to patronise our country. Nd the medical sector should also improve abeg o

Where is sudan on this list

ANYA IKENGA said...

The best place to be a mother is in your husbands kitchen and bedroom. Chikina!

Oooooouch!! Scandinavian things. Nigerians run to American cos of Racial discrimination,owin to d fact that there are more Blacks dan Whites over there. As for muah...I'd love Netherlands or Belgium *smiles*
I need ur e-mail address Linda

*Bebe Linda*

Before nko? Y do u tink rich ppl always fly out to av dia kids? No confidence in nigeria's healthcare system. If i av d means, abroad hia i com for my third child.#whoNoLikeBetaTin

Wow! US is not even top 10. Go Europe. Its saddennin dat d bottom 10 r african nations. God help us. Just sayin... D Curious 1

the United Kingdom ant US is not even listed in the top ten. smh

Na wa o

o girl, linda i go just migrate dey go finland and norway be that. lol

@least Nigeria is not last 10... Heyyyy

People go to the US because leaping from 169th to 30th is a major step forward.

GJ is working.

At anon 5:13 u r an idiat u ppl r not even on d map of d world ( ˘˘̯) as for nigeria dis is bullshit dey haf worse countries dan us dis beef is jes too much most corrupt naija, HIV, prostitution we must always top d list. They jes can't help buh beef us

Ewu somalia ghana dt is not even on d map of d world ( ˘˘̯)

At anon 5:13 u r an idiat u ppl r not even on d map of d world ( ˘˘̯) as for nigeria dis is bullshit dey haf worse countries dan us dis beef is jes too much most corrupt naija, HIV, prostitution we must always top d list. They jes can't help buh beef us

BODMAS said...

One thing I love about Norway in particular,....NOBODY is poor in that country...and you can never ever see a millionaire flaunting his wealth from that country.They used their oil money to build a lasting infrastructure.Damn, that country is HEAVEN.
Even the river is cleaner than the water you drink in Nigeria and Africa as a whole.
The best country in the whole world by far ....No Compromise.They've found their Bliss.

Forget it, WHITES are ahead by farrrrrr.

If you live in Scandinavia, believe me, you can be sure of reaching 100 yrs without seeing a doctor for once and still be active.

That's why when I look at Nigerians fronting because of a trip to London or Dubai,I laugh.Forget your shakara....you are no where near these people, not even in 100 yrs.

Am blessed I live in Oslo.

Africa is the worst place to be anything. Even our asawo are the worst.Naaa waaooo

I don't disagree with the top ten but the bottom 10? What about Afghanistan, India, Syria? Whilst I don't disagree with the countries on that list I am pretty sure Nigeria is at least on equal footing with Afghanistan and India, yes India -- which btw has more poor people than Africa but they don't tell you.

Nigeria, we hail thee

Yaay ghana was ranked 12th. Im so proud of my country

I am surprised Australia is not no 1. I've lived there for 6 years and had my 3 boys there. The welfare package is amazing.

The countries ahead must be spectacular.

Linda, you know Nigerians' mentality with US passport. A lot of them don't know there are dozens of countries better than US in all regards.

You think its by media propaganda? Zimbabwe is still better than Nigeria and a lot of other African counties

Someone ignorant asked where Zimbabwe and Kenya are. Zimbabwe has had political probems the past 10 years but was way ahead of even South Africa with their health system which was free until 2003. Zimbabwe still has one of the most highly educated population in Africa Southern of Sahara. Their advantage is they have a small population so when government is in order they can cater for them. Zimbabwe also held the record of the lowest maternal deaths in Africa Southern of Sahara for more than 20 years after independence. They still dont travel to India like Nigerians for health and infact Indian doctors have to write exams to work in Zimbabwe. I am a Nigerian who living in UK I did my WHO internship programme in Zimbabwe. Many Nigerians think we are better than we are our country is not that great you need to travel some African countries are really beautiful and have small population because they dont have big families.

Google to get the complete list. Very soon, you people will ask Linda for food.

What is so spectacular about this comment now that you are worrying Linda about posting?

Google to get the complete list. Very soon, you people will ask Linda for food.

You think its by media propaganda? Zimbabwe is still better than Nigeria and a lot of other African counties

I am surprised Australia is not no 1. I've lived there for 6 years and had my 3 boys there. The welfare package is amazing.

The countries ahead must be spectacular.

Linda, you know Nigerians' mentality with US passport. A lot of them don't know there are dozens of countries better than US in all regards.

I live in Germany n had twins, but never knew wat labour pain is. yea they use to pay 3yrs maternity money to the mothers for caring for their own child, though it's now one yr paid leave. whether you were working or not, citizen or not as long as you ve your stay. free midwife care after you are discharged from hospital for a reasonable amount of time. if you cannot afford baby stuff, you will be directed to were you can get free stuff (used). like bed, stroller, clothes etc. free medical n schooling for kids wat else can one ask for? not forgetting that they pay the kid monthly until they r 18yr, or 25, if you r still in school...

Go go go Sweden. Am glad my kids were born in this country.

And how have you been adding value? Bini girls and ibo boys bla bla bla. Remove the log from your own eye first! I am sure as you dey so, you no get papers. Ode!

Chad was actually ranked above Nigeria. Yea right. What's the difference between Ghana and Nigeria and how did Ghana get ranked 12th? Do they have free healthcare for pregnant women? Someone please tell me.

So Who made dis analysis????? Abeg

Nigeria is always at d bottom of everything Good, may God have mercy

God Bless d Queen,I had 3 ceasarean section in Uk within 4yrs for free n 1yr maternity leave 9mths pay n 3mths without pay .I know how much it will cost me if I'm in naija.

@Anon 5:18 u are study

Kenya? Worse off than Nigeria? Did I miss something????

Anon 7:23pm you really wish!!! Ghana was number 146.....abegi go siddon jor! mtcheeew

Have you ever been to Kenya or Zimbabwe fool? Your corrupt government has failed to invest in its people and infrastructure that even Kenya and Zimbabwe with less GDP still are ahead of you in many areas.

They have also got the highest taxes!

I live in Germany where maternal health is taken seriously and the universal health insurance system gives one the advantage of accessing proper health care. Upon attaining the 12th week of pregnancy a mother-to-be is handed a special Mothers' Pass containing all the vital infos on both mom and foetus. Monthly ultrasounds monitor the development of your baby and special birthing and postnatal courses are provided and a mid-wife of your choice assigned to advise and take care of you before and after birth.
You also are able to view and book a hospital within your area of residence, where you will put to bed, months before the due date.
Mothers who are working are able to take upto 1 year paid leave granted by the employer, with an additional year catered for by the government if need be. A child born to a German citizen or any other person with a permanent or work permit is entitled to at least €184 child support from the government.
Kindergartens, schools and public universities offer free care/tution, with a minimal amount charged for certain added services .

Janelicious said...

We will Nigeria be recognized for better things,imagine coming third in top ten countdown. We all need to sit up n make Nigeria a better place.

confessor said...

Asin ehn! I juz tire
Chad of all
See as we carry 2nd frm
Behind
Choiiii

So how does that affect you. Focus on your own country. The US and UK do not give a hoot abt u guys. Wonder why u spend ur time talking about them

Would still rather have my kids in the US and not in any of the scandinavian countries. I live in Europe and actively in the process of moving to the US

Aunty abeg park well, I live here, had my baby @ jackson memorial, miami and d experience was very pleasant! Natural birth...duh! U can't be forced to hv a c-section its a mata of choice.

Nigeria my country_na wa o_God I thank u for giving me the opportunity to give birth in a european country__so much respect for mother and child......

jason stl said...

U are a idiot for say the word ibo, by the way where are u from u oily slave

jason stl said...

The USA is not on top because of the black population, Nigeria is at the bottom because of abokis that have 14 year old girls having kids,.they should show Nigeria by region

Na spirit dey patronise the ibo boys and bini girls? Nor be your perfect Scandinavian dey smoke drug go nyash bini girls?

Benefit scrounger!!!!

Linda, we will have our baby here in the UK.

Umana The Oracle said...

@Anonymous 7:23 PM. Stop deceiving yourself. Switzerland is No 12 on the list.
The top 25 countries to be a mother:

1. Finland
2. Sweden
3. Norway
4. Iceland
5. The Netherlands
6. Denmark
7. Spain
8. Belgium
9. Germany
10. Australia
11. Austria
12. Switzerland
13. Portugal
14. Slovenia
15. Singapore
16. France
17. Italy
18. New Zealand
19. Greece
20. Ireland
21. Estonia
22. Canada
23. United Kingdom
24. Czech Republic
25. Israel

clicksomemore said...

Mhh! bottom 10,most are West African Countries

GEJ shld beta setup a comittee to look in2 dis..its soo embarassin!

1st to comment said...

O! Lord my Nigeria! i weep in wazobia. As i no get relative for any of the Scandinavian countries i will manage the USA cos the are still a great nation.

:(
we would soon top the list :D
-www.faithkel.com

Spain and Netherlands is no where close to the the child or mother support in Germany so those who rated these country did not look very well before rateing I live in Germany and I know about it very well

I beg help me teh ha o! I had my baby here via csection, but completely by choice aftr waitin for pitocin to work for four days. I had preclamsia n had to be induced. Dont c how dey can force u anyway.

I hope from oslo you make heaven...ode ni e are we complaining?

Awww to be honest with you I don't know how preggy women survive in Nigeria!

Yes, my friends who moved into d uk frm Europe says medical system is better. Well, I was born in d uk nd I had my four kids in the Us! Common peeps! America/ Americans rule the world!

Well , not sure what ure talkin about o, I live in the Uk nd wen I was pregnant the midwife came to see me at my house! 1st visit afterwards d follow up was gud till I had my baby. My baby came a bit early nd bn a 1st time mum I had a midwife who came to my house for a wk! I was on maternity leave for 10 month s with pay ! What else can one ask for ?

Same here.

I bet ure rite , friends who moved frm germany to the uk says its d best. I live in the uk nd wat more can ask for! I had 10months matleave with pay , had gud med care B4 nd after birth, nd upon retunrn to wrk I cld nt cope with a full time job. I wrk 18hrs a wk nd I still get a suppliment frm d govt aside from d child benefit. My child is in d nursery 80% paid for by d govt nd dts just one child! Nigeria will get there fingers crossed! But def not now. What makes it worse is dt most of the docs in the uk are Nigerians nd Indians!

Well , not sure what ure talkin about o, I live in the Uk nd wen I was pregnant the midwife came to see me at my house! 1st visit afterwards d follow up was gud till I had my baby. My baby came a bit early nd bn a 1st time mum I had a midwife who came to my house for a wk! I was on maternity leave for 10 month s with pay ! What else can one ask for ?

I dont know if u the ibo boys and bini girls bla bla bla live in or visited scandinavia. I have lived in Sweden for the past 7yrs now. The nigerian men here(Ibo, yoruba and others) are well known for driving buses or taxi and they are really well to do. Let me educate u "prostitution is illegal in Sweden. Even the swedish girls who wants to prostitute go Norway (Oslo gate) and that is the only place I have seen the bini girls. Stop bringing nigerians in scandinavia down they are hard working tax payers. Let us learn to promote the good things about our people and not just to point out the wrong things about them. If your brothers and sisters are selling drugs and prostituting in scandinavia tell them to stop. Stop passing such comments about hard working nigerians in scandinavia.

Shut ur stupid mouth up b4 u r shot to death, Gj koor michael Jackson ni

We are proud to be born in Nigeria mushin,bariga,oshodi,apapa etc.that is why we are stronger and calculated,joor ma won oju uche!!!

U r certainly dumb!

Ab said...

So, all dz UK n USA wey ppl dey run go no even follow 4 top 10. Oya na, 9ja women mk una tk note O... Den as 4 d bottom 10, smh! It's a pity! My dear country 9ja, c una fate! No hope @ all 4 una self!

U r very stupid for mentioning bini gals...I wonder whr u r from..idiot!!!

Spain No 7? PURE LIE!! Spain should be No 14. Slovenia should be down down. Austria should be After Germany. Haba!! which kind list be this? In fact, Italy Shouldn't even make TOP 30 sef...who dash monkey banana?

@ Anonymous May 13, 2013 at 8:54 PM Thank you very much as we share same view. Italy shouldn't be on the list please bcos that country is DEAD! If you give birth, you're on your own...Austria is same with Germany.

BODMAS said...

@ Anonymous May 14, 2013 at 4:20 AM

Yessoooo, Am already in my first heaven here in Oslo.Make I enjoy am first before the second heaven.
I thought I knew what being alive was, until I came here in Oslo.
Damn, I never knew that one can actually go to heaven without dying.What a beautiful and blessed country.A country where everything works..the air you breath is as clean as clean itself.Every ground is well paved and grasses well manicured. Birds,squirrels,kids playing at the park and pigeons et all, all flocking around you.No noise, no pollution...the house you live in is already furnished for you, well bred milk delivered to you first thing of every morning, and beautiful tall blonde and blue eyed chics loving you like maaad.
With my clean Nissan Punto, i cruise the city, embrace and assimilate the beautiful landscape.And in the evening, I ride on my bicycle or jog at the park.
Choi, and you say this is not heaven?Haahaa...na my last bus stop be dis.Abeg, don't hate....I don dey chop.
When I was in Nigeria, to get fine babe na problem...see me and my Norwagian babe...Who be Genevieve or Omotola?See level.No Brazilian hair,no Blackberry,no recharge card..My babe be like angel Gabriela..too foyn...Choi.If this no be heaven,tell me, wetin be heaven?
you want to go to sch, all na free of charge..anything you want to be, all na free...just ask.
Scandinavia, you are heaven or earth.

OWERRI said...

My brother, na true you dey talk. Norway na heaven indeed.
Even as I dey type here,re I dey go I dey chop fresh Okporoko...Small river dey at the back of my house...na there I dey go catch fish anytime wey I wan chop fish.
Even sef,chicken wey dey for my freezer, I never chop am finish.
Me I dey chop guooo.
In fact, make we no dey talk too much...you no say naija no dey take ear hear good things...make dem no come here dabaru the country.

chizoba said...

@ANONYMOUS, May 14, 2013 at 7:57 AM.

Why must you be driving taxis and buses in Sweden? Is that the best you could do? That is NOT WORKING HARD,that is living at borderline.
To study in Scandinavia especially Finland, Norway and Sweden, is free. Why can't you study to become a doctor, IT engineer, and other respectable courses? tIt takes less than 5 years.
Must you Nigerians be so much in a hurry to make money?You have your papers, for God's sake, seek knowledge.It doesn't matter how long it takes.
I got my Masters in Nigeria before relocating to Norway....At 34, am in Medical school.... I chose to start afresh because I live in a country that offers me the opportunity to be who or whatever that I want to be. I don't care how long it takes me,.....it's my goal and am living a decent life here.
Why must you become a bus driver when you can actually become an auto engineer?
Until Nigerians begin to focus on what really matters in life, instead of money and materialism, we will always fail, no matter where we are.
I know a lot of Nigerians here with papers, instead of going to school to give their lives a meaning, they are busy selling drugs and prostitution..messing up the black race and in a hurry to drive SUVs in Lagos, mess around girls and act as if they are all that. It's very painful because Nigerians are very smart people and great achievers. Why can't they take this golden opportunity that these countries offer, and change the course of their lives?
GO TO SCHOOL, GET A QUALITY EDUCATION AND DINE WITH KINGS.

Likita... said...

We need prayers in this naija.a country where Maternal mortality ratio has neva for once declined....we need to check d various factors responsible-socioeconomic,reproductive,health factors.and as usual,d onus lies on our so called "leaders",but as usual,dey are too busy wt corruption. #judgementdayawaits#gbam!

@chizoba
That i said nigerians here are known for driving buses and taxis does not mean am one of them. I am a registered nurse (leg. sjukkörterska på svenska)and am having an extra 1yr course to qualify as a midwife (barnmorska)just have 2months left. I did not have to brag about that. People with "GOOD EDUCATION" do not need any publication for it. Here in Sweden we dont brag about our education. I am well educated. Believe it or not everbody can not have a degree at least the bus and taxi drivers are better than drug sellers. Beleive it or not i respect them and they are working hard some of them are even graduates from naija. Education here is not free. We study on student loan called CSN and we start paying back as soon as we can but we must start paying back 2yrs afrer the course is over. I HAVE GONE TO SCHOOL AND I HAVE GOT GOOD EDUCATION BUT SORRY I DONT WANT TO DINE WITH YOUR SO CALLED KINGS BECAUSE AM DINING ALREADY WITH THE KING OF KINGS ok.

@chizoba
That i said nigerians here are known for driving buses and taxis does not mean am one of them. I am a registered nurse (leg. sjukkörterska på svenska)and am having an extra 1yr course to qualify as a midwife (barnmorska)just have 2months left. I did not have to brag about that. People with "GOOD EDUCATION" do not need any publication for it. Here in Sweden we dont brag about our education. I am well educated. Believe it or not everbody can not have a degree at least the bus and taxi drivers are better than drug sellers. Beleive it or not i respect them and they are working hard some of them are even graduates from naija. Education here is not free. We study on student loan called CSN and we start paying back as soon as we can but we must start paying back 2yrs after the course is over. I HAVE GONE TO SCHOOL AND I HAVE GOT GOOD EDUCATION BUT SORRY I DONT WANT TO DINE WITH YOUR SO CALLED KINGS BECAUSE AM DINING ALREADY WITH THE KING OF KINGS ok.

Linda like Bodmas said in his comment, Norway is d most beautiful country in the world.. we have money but we dont front like all dis useless Nigerian boys fronting.. i dont think if u come to Norway. We r blessed in Norway Oslo... seeing all dis Nigerians fronting tins bcuz dem manage buy 1 fashion design wear.. oya come Oslo whether u fit even afford one pair of designers.. tins are expensive more any country in d world..

We dey top 3 for bottom we no try???

why are dis oyinbo people always trying to make africa look lyk a bad place, i didn,t see afganistan in the top bottom, all this is propaganda

Who told u there are no opportunities in finland? Av u been there before? Professionals wil do great in finland...Meggy!

Oh yea! U r speaking the truth! Scandinavians arefar ahead in terms of amenities.. Sweden has the cleanest and safest drinking water in the world.. Trust me, av been to all d scandis and d U.S so I knw wat am taking abt...Meggy!

i don't believe in this fake index.they need to do a rethink about their research..if Canada is not on the top ten,i will not recognize the report.