'Wearing natural hair is unbearable for many black women ' - Adichie | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 April 2013

'Wearing natural hair is unbearable for many black women ' - Adichie

While talking about her new novel Americanah, with Kate Kellaway of The Observer, award winning author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie said black women should embrace their natural hair. When asked to give an honest description of her hair and what it says about her, Chimamanda replied:
That is the best question! My hair is in tiny cornrows; I have a big ponytail on the top of my head. I quite like it. It is natural. I am a bit of a fundamentalist when it comes to black women's hair. Hair is hair – yet also about larger questions: self-acceptance, insecurity and what the world tells you is beautiful. For many black women, the idea of wearing their hair naturally is unbearable.
I don't care what anyone says...weaves for life! Hehe

234 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 234 of 234

olodo people, natural hir my foot. Is it natural hair that she used to do the ghana weaving that she is wearing? pot calling kettle black, nonsense

Err but she's wearing different extensions in two pictures though. What's her point? Why doesn't she 'rock' her own hair as she claims? *rme* Or is she saying it's only ok to wear extensions if it looks like afro hair? Me I'm confused o. Cos home-girl is rocking fake hair as well.

You will lose your bet dear.

baby said...

Hmmm madam I don't hav anything against you oh, but u have hair extensions in your 3 pics up there, practise what you preach, and when you people say african hair, they still come in difft textures, I hav friends from difft african countries with hair textures like that of the white peepz, very soft, stylable, but talking about nigerian hair aaah, I won't lie our hair texture is fire, if you try to keep it natural, it would surely break ur combs nd give u mad migraine, that's why relaxer comes into play, all d men talking, u peepz should hold it oh, ur not in that position to judge cause ur not feeling the pain, am not asking ladies to go for extreme hair extensions, I just blv we should keep it moderate, personally am on low cut, nd my bf is crazy bout it.
As for the woman, whom her husband places chilli on her pussy, jeez d guy is trying to frustrate u, assuming he faces the opened part of the pepper to face his mouth, its better, but he rather slices it and places in u, then blows air in it, my advice don't allow him does he wanna kill u, ask him to bring his eyes or even his genitals and do same to him, rubbish, if dats his excuse for flirting, then he isn't worth ur love, free him.

It seem as if you all are not seeing what i am seeing. Chimamanda HERSELF IS NOT WEARRING HER NATURAL HAIR> OR IT THAT NOT ANM ATTACHMENT I AM SEEING IN HER HAIR!!!! Duuuh!

Seconded, how judgemental and hypocritical. Chimamanda u have coloured extensions on ur hair and u call it natural? there's a difference btw natural look and natural.. madam Africa. Smh.

Please people shut up jare.....who made y'all 'hair police'.....??? I personally do not wear weaves just because I don't like, but I do not think I have more 'self confidence' than my friends and family that like it... Please enough with the judgement to each his own... Madame Chinamanda or whatever you are called, I suggest you stick to your storytelling...the fact that you have beautiful natural hair does not mean everyone is so blessed. and what the heck is the concern of them retards giving lecture on how to take care of 'black' hair.. Go about your sorry lives or write a book on hair care and let's see how many copies you sell.... awon ode jatijati

naomi campbell wanabes. Natural hair is best.

To those referring to her hair and saying it's not entirely natural either and therefore she's a hypocrite, I think you've completely missed the point. Her comments come from the base of the Western world defining what beauty is, straight, flowing hair.

By wearing her hair in a natural black or African form, she is rejecting this universal notion of beautiful hair. The fact that she has added something in there to make it fuller or vary the colour in no way detracts from her argument.

It's the same way you'd look at white women that wear hair extensions. Their hair is already straight, they just want to make it appear longer. The white women are not going out en masse to buy afro wigs or to braid their hair like Africans.

natural hair rocks!!!!!! Jor Oh!!!

Mama said...

Soul you are totally ignorant and dense......so she put in a word cos of her book.....lol...u be real ode, the reporter asked about her hair and she answered... She doesn't need to publisize her self cos she is already making a name.....at least she has more brains being put to good use than you have.....it's her opinion if u don't like ittoo bad but don't go assuming what is not cos u full of hate

Mama said...

Soul you are totally ignorant and dense......so she put in a word cos of her book.....lol...u be real ode, the reporter asked about her hair and she answered... She doesn't need to publisize her self cos she is already making a name.....at least she has more brains being put to good use than you have.....it's her opinion if u don't like ittoo bad but don't go assuming what is not cos u full of hate

ChiCHiLuv said...

Sure, Linda no wahala continue with your Weaves for Life campaign but I hope you are ready for BALD for Life too or Hair So Thin I Can See Your Scalp For Life as well. No ya wa do you biko lwkmd

I share Chimamanda’s preference for natural hair, unlike many of my contemporaries. Yet, I have never disclosed this to either my wife or my only daughter. I’m, indeed, very much in favour of “freedom of choice”. Hey, if you like weaves, it’s your choice! Go for it.

Please she is married. Take note and stop lusting after another mans wife.

is this girl married....me like her so much :)

well i don't think its low self esteem, ITS A CHOICE. Early this year after i got in from my Christmas trip to Europe and attending several events organized by black women to celebrate African hair one was an event tagged MERRY "TWISTMAS".....I decided to transition and go back to my natural roots. need i add i had just acquired before i traveled beautiful South American hair. Am loving the transition back to my natural roots it makes you look younger than your age, Linda put aside you long weaves and try it out plus its cheaper i haven't been under a dryer since December 2012 i do my home made hair therapies myself. NATURAL HAIR ROCKS

Uzzy said...

Beautiful

Well madam writer out of the 3 pics that r shown above u r wearing fake hair to braid ur hair and even the one with ur real hair the plait that is holding the puff is fake . Soo ........

Lola Idije said...

she has got attachments added to her hair, so its still not natural. lol

Adichie, your beauty is 'unbearable'!
Kisses!

This is a statement of fact.
Why are you angry?

She did not say 'black women' She said 'many black women'. See the difference?

I'm sorry oh but my hair is relaxed and has been for as long as I can remember and that is what I consider natural. It's long it's beautiful and I love it! Most importantly, it's relatively easy to take care of compared to my "natural" hair! A quick comb through and a ponytail and I'm good to go. Unless it all falls off somehow, I'm unlikely to be on that band wagon of chopping of my hair and regrowing it just to "embrace" natural hair. I refuse to give myself a headache everyday trying to comb it (it's quite thick and used to break combs) just to prove something to who knows who/what that it's not low self esteem that causes me to keep my hair straight or that I prefer Oyinbo hair. Heck I've never had extensions! So, yes, Adichie is right that it's unbearable but if many do it out of low self esteem, many also do it out of manageability. I am a strong black woman and my hair does NOT define me.

hjkilkikkhy theman man and hne ther and dtheir manmii. whoreva!!!!!

stacy

TruelyTopaz said...

WISH I COULD CARRY MY NATURAL AHIR BUT IT IS TOO THIN AND THE CUTS FREQUENTLY.....so weave it is..hmph insecure my a$$ ..abeg..every woman has her choice..all these men saying they like natural hair no wahala...stop chasing chicks in weave then..geezzz

To all those commenting that she has attachments in her hair, yes she has attachments. People with natural hair occasionally wear attachments to stop their hair from breaking. What she's saying that is that she has her hair natural without chemicals. Relaxers are carcinogenic meaning they contain cancer-causing ingredients, and they are also linked to firbroids, early on set of puberty in young girls, etc. The honest truth that I've found to be true is that one cannot fight nature and not be scarred.

SHE HAS A VALID POINT. BEAUTY IN THE WORLD IS DEFINED ALONG COLOUR LINE, IN OUR SOCIETY, THE FAIRER YOU ARE THE MORE BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE CONSIDER YOU. THAT ALSO APPLY TO HAIR. BEFORE COLONIZATION OUR WOMEN WORE THEIR HAIR IN PLAITS, TODAY THEY PREFER HORSE HAIRS AND HAIRS FROM OTHER HUMAN BEINGS, SHE IS TRYING TO SAY THAT BLACK WOMEN SHOULD EXAMINE THEMSELVES AND SEE IF THERE ARE OTHER REASONS WHY THEY CAN NOT WEAR THEIR NATURAL HAIR. IS IT JUST BECAUSE OF THE EXCUSES THEY GIVE OR DO THEY THINK THEY NEED STRAIGHT LONG HAIR TO FEEL BEAUTIFUL JUST LIKE THE EUROPEANS. ONLY DEEP MINDS WILL UNDERSTAND, SWALLOW MINDS WILL SAY, ''I DON'T CARE'. SHE'S ENCOURAGING BLACK WOMEN TO QUESTION THE IDEA OF BEAUTY AND START A CONVERSATION ABOUT IT.

my hair is relaxed and has been for as long as I can remember and that is what I consider natural. It's long it's beautiful and I love it! - This is what someone wrote here and this is exactly the type of mentality she aims to adress. So if your hair is short or plaited then it won't be beautiful? Her point is that we should not copy styles that are European or foreign just to feel beautiful. That is why she has a plait . The plait is African and our women had their hairs that way for hundreds of years and felt very beautiful. It is not about the attachment, it is about the styles that we've come to consider 'beautiful'. Straight and long. Africans do not have straight and long hairs.

Marrisa said...

I really like your blog. Keep up the good work.

-=Sein Maestro=- said...

/having nat. hair mean you have real hair. it doesn't matter if ur wearing it out or under a wig. u have nat. hair

REAL HAIR SPELL
Thank you dr Opingo for the hair spell you did for me, my hair is so long and thicker , i never believe this will really work and i remember i promise to bring people to your temple and share your testimony online if it really work. here i am happy and rejoicing for the hair spell Dr Opingo did for me, you can also contact him at: alterofcandletemple02@gmail.com thank you Dr Oping you are really a great man and i will stop sharing your testimony.

Black women can be so annoyingly ignorant. I'm 17 and I know more than most of insecure women. If you know what your doing, your hair can be beautiful. Only black people have this hair, and you dumbasses waste it. That's why men take advantage of you because of your bodies. And yes I'm black.

Omolola said...

Wearing natural hair is very common here in Nigeria.

SARAHS said...

SHE IS REALLY BEAUTIFUL.NATURAL AND THE BEST.BEAUTY WITH BRAINS IS AN ANONYMOUS MATCH TO FOUND.HATS OFF.....

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 234 of 234   Newer› Newest»