Security Advisory: Increasing kidnap-for-ransom incidents in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 April 2013

Security Advisory: Increasing kidnap-for-ransom incidents in Lagos

This security advisory was sent out to expatriates who work in oil companies in Lagos. But foreigners aren't the only ones being abducted in Lagos...so decided to share with everyone. See it below...
Recently in Lagos State, specifically between February 10 2013 and today, at least 10 confirmed kidnap-for-ransom incidents involving 12 victims have been recorded between Ikoyi, Victoria Island and the Lekki-Epe axis of the state. One incident occurred near Abraham Adesanya Estate on the Lekki-Epe expressway on February 10; four incidents on February 23, March 1, 21, and 25, occurred at Awoyaya area on the same route; two incidents in Lekki on March 23 -  one on the alternative route, and the other a foiled kidnap attempt along Admiralty Way; one incident on Awolowo road in Ikoyi on March 24; and two incidents involving a Briton and three Lebanese in Victoria Island on March 23 and 27 respectively. These incidents appear to be random and opportunistic but mostly happened late at night. However, high-profile incidents are usually preceded by prolonged monitoring of intended targets.
While most victims are typically released after a few days of captivity and the payment of some ransom to the criminals, the psychological trauma and the possible financial burden placed on victims, their families, friends and even colleagues, lasts much longer.

Personnel are by this advisory reminded that they are primarily responsible for their personal security. Bearing this in mind:

·        Vary your routine as much as practicable - the more predictable your movements and schedules are to and from places of leisure, entertainment,  worship, shopping, and schooling, the easier it is for a kidnapper to plan and execute your abduction.

·        Regularly review your personal security, the security around your home, and your own or your spouse’s private business premises.

·        Limit late night outings.

·        Be especially careful and alert when you have to stop for any reason at night, including  traffic lights; do not stop on isolateand/or poorly lit highways.

·        Limit ATM use and large financial transactions to banks located at more secure areas like MPN premises.

·        If you suspect a vehicle tailing you on the road, drive to the nearest Police station or public place where help is near.

·        Counsel children never to leave home without telling you, and to maintain communication with a parent or guardian.

·        As always, during festive periods and at other times, be aware of the risk posed by large gatherings, as they might constitute attractive targets for violent criminals and terrorists.

·        Finally, review the security tips shared at the office with members of your household, practice security stand downs with your family, and be sure to discuss this and other security advisories with them.

For more information, visit http://nigeriasecurity/ and click on 'Kidnap and Ransom Package'. If unsure about a potential security situation or you require more information, do not hesitate to call your Security contact for advice or guidance.

63 comments:

God help us in this country!!

Worthy piece of info... Thanks Linda. This menace of kidnapping is just nightmarish!!

lolz tanz Lindiway.
we're just as important as they are.
The spate of kidnapping recently is quite alarming.

Moi Moi said...

Can we privatized the Nigeria Police force?
That could help them function more effectively
What do you think?

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

It is well

www.emmanuelbabatunde.com

scary. very scary!

PC dear,pls i want to bcum your PA, i am pretty nd hot too,i want to keep learning these your cool words, learnt one today which is (Nightmarish=extremely alarming)

the weblink given is incomplete... or are u pullin a daz all joke on us?

Privatize keeh, we just need prayers

FameLord said...

Tanks 4 dis info........ Mayne I don't feel safe in dis cursed nation almost full of cursed ppl

This is as aresult of all the jobless south east and south south people in Lagos.

mademoiselle said...

Thanx Linda,ure amazing. God help us I live in Awoyaya a girl was be headed there recently,this world is indeed wicked. Moimoi ur idea sounds kool bt then y make it sound like a joke wit Ur name,dnt u want pple to take u seriously.

I live in Lekki and I have a strong feeling that my neighbours are into this kidnapping business... My instinct tells me. If they are not kidnappers, then they are armed robbers. I'm really scared.

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

If u've a driver,always be in custody of his phone while he's driving and answer his calls or switch it off during this period.Also randomly borrow domestic staff's phones under d pretext that u want to make a call,go through their text msgs u'll be surprised what u might find.Dastardly plans're usually communicated via texts/calls to an insider.

Chei! We don hear am! First boko haram and now kidnapping...

May God helps us in dis coutry and punish d kidnappers. I cover my family and coutry with d blood of JESUS. AMEN

1 RULE OF A FLAT STOMACH CLICK HERE said...

God help us

God help us. My friend got kidnapped along Abraham Adesanya. its been 11 days now. No word from his abductors. No word from anyone.. Just hoping he comes home hale and hearty.

This is like reading a brefing in a movie like 24 sha. Na wa o. Nijah

Abeg who is our own security adviser? Chai!

Pls what is Fashola doing about this! All these oyibo pple go run and Lagos will become a ghost town.

Govt should provide job for jobless young graduates or they will create job for themselves at our own expense

na wah, we r not safe again :(

If u feel ur neighbours are kidnapper or armed robber, dis is wot u should do. Buy a new sim, get a police line and tip them off abt the address of the suspected kidnappers,then destroy the sim so dat the polic. Won't trace you and report you to the kidnappers, cos they are all the same. But atleast u will knw that you tried. God be with you.

Anon 4:51, please report the neighbors to the police, you might be saving a life or even your own life. Call the police Dpo or someone and report with an anonymous number. God bless you.

Why are u categorizing here, do you know where they are from. It seems u dont have anything to say

Discover the secrets to losing weight and having a Flat belly said...

Great tips there. Kidnapping is becoming rampant and the government have decided not to declare a state of emergency in our economy.

Good of u to be vigilant, but u need to take it further n report ur suspicions to the police and they can take it from there. Kidnappers n robbers better before u realize they r Boko boys waiting to do d deed

How do u use a new sim card without registering it? Which still traces it 2 u. Unelse u use fake registration details. But ur photo go still dey dere oo n dem fit mark ya face. Berra b wise.

So where's your brain in d qualifications needed? Does being hot and pretty get the job done now?? Odikwa egwu

--Teeteelahyo--

music lover said...

For your protection, pls don't report to the police. That's tantamount to digging your own grave. They have loads of police friends and they will have all the info on who reported.

An anonymous call would be better. If you feel strongly about this, u can move to another area.

Drive to the nearest police station???!!! Puahahahahahahaaa!!!!! You think this is America??! Puh-lease! They are all in cahoots! Now this ransomes that are been paid, are they deposited in banks or paid cash to hand to the kidnappers? Sorry. Don't mean to sound naive...genuine question pls?

The police force is always reactive. Now the checkpoints are back. Rather than learn from all the previous cases and developing a strategy...develop intelligence, standard practices, etc....no.,you out hungry looking popos on every damn corner causing traffic! Mmmssccchheewww!!!!!

Nigeria is full people with extremely low IQ who like Big Big things and don't have the intelligencial ability to achieve legal success so the only thing they can do is steal, lie , dupe, kill and kidnap all just to get money .. U see people living in Face me I face U with no clear income owning or wanting to own a hundred thousand naira phone yet they take their baths in slimy bathroom and shit in pit toilets .. See girl buying hair of 200k and yet they can't even stand a cockroach when it comes to intelligence ... The onus of our problem in this country is low IQ .. Even on this blog when Linda makes a post on technology people don't comment but once she makes a post on "Penis" , toto, breast and sex see the way people will start commenting because people with low IQ only understand primordial basics like food , sex , wickedness and blood .. I pity the country sha because it contains the dullest people known to history and the painful thing is that the people think they are smart.

Hahaha! You are definitely a learner..but its ok ucan be my PA...do u have a big round bum that I can relieve myself into once in a while?

Where's the pic of your dick?

Ode, means you're cursed too

Hia! This is very serious, these useless leaders don't want anybody to come back home again. Kidnapping in lekki again??

CC said...

#FreeGoodAdvice from you. Home invasions are almost always engineered by someone close by, even your doe eyed domestic staff.

Hmmm...Thank God say i don relocate..

May God help us wat is dis country turning.May God saves us from d hands of evil pple

CC said...

I can see water don pass garri for Lagos, this one that they're finally issuing warning. Truth be told kidnapping has been on the rise since 2011. Remember Ify Eneli's kidnapping that year, its been increasing since then. Same tactics too. At night they bump you from behind, you like mumu will gey out of the car to examine the dage. They bundle you into their vehicle and their colleague drives off your car. As far back as July 2012, I've heard of at least 2 kidnapppings per month in VI. Especially on Kofo Abayomi and Akin Adesola. Be vigilant people, shine your eyes.

bisoye said...

Have mercy on us oh!lord let peace reign in nigeria,we now live in fear of evil pple around,today boko haram tmrw kidnappers it is so sick.jona ur time no good at all I beg pack ur bags and leave us alone in peace and not in pieces.

FOR SECURITY AGAINST KIDNAPPING OTHERWISE KNOWN AS 'GBOMO-GBOMO',COME TO ME,'BABA ABESUMUKO'.U'LL B CHANTING DIS INCANTATION:D MORE U LOOK,D LESS U SEE,AJOGORO JAGARA JOGORO......COME 4 D CONCLUDING PART.A TRIAL WILL CONFUSE U,SORRY,CONVINCE U

Linda, na my country you bring this story from or another place? Ahh tears dey commot from my eye as I dey type this thing. How did we get to this stage?

See wetin this politicians done turn my Dear land to. Naija youths una still dey sleep? Make una wake up abeg O. This is not a joking matter again O. This is sad very sad. Lekki and Victoria Island wey all of us dey go play na in done turn to den of kidnappers.

Those people in the South east & South south usually blame the insecurity in Nigeria on Boko Haran( northerners) They do not know that they are also part of the problem starting with Balyesa govt renting hideouts to terrorists in Lagos to the recent wave of kidnapping in Lagos We know that the Ibos pioneered kidnapping in Nigeria and the south south people got it from them. At first, I thjought that the Ibos were using kidnapping to empty their population from the south east into Lagos so that those people can gain from the economic boom in the south west but now they are trying to destroy the south west. Fashola need to pack all of them into buses and take them back to where they come from.

emarketstrategy said...

This is a time the poor just feels at ease and shouts halelujah... Kidnappers know their targets!

BTW, That security website below the post seem like what Mr Shem issued.

The kidnappings didnt start in Lagos this year.i know and have heard about 5 different cases of kidnappings around Festac area of Lagos late last year including one chap that was moved as he stepped out of his estate to jog on a good saturday morning and a banker that was picked as she finished shopping for groceries after work but unfortunately no media carried these news.kidnappers are operating full time around Lagos now and not just on the Island as Linda is saying here and if you are a victim and your people contact the police the police will advise them to co-operate with the kidnappers for your safety.we are in real trouble.

Something like this was sent to the expatriates in my office as well, they were asked 2 avoid malls, cinemas and they've been told never to drive theirselves, their driver has to take them out every time and so many more... Basically, they are not enjoying Lagos again.

State Of Emergency For Kidnapping?
Keep Dreaming Moron!!!

I 'thinked' not

FameLord said...

Bish didn't you see "Almost" I am excepted silly BISHHH

I hope dey kidnap u so u can confirm how well ur incantation works lmao!

you idoit that is talking about south east and south south do you think south west can surviv without those tow region! The wealth of nigeria. Is coming from those two region! We talking about serious issue here and you r talking about region i see you r just a useless person,

post my comment o

@anon 7.25am, since the expatriates are not enjoying lagos again, they should go back to their countries naa!! Na so all of them run from ph when kidnapping was on the increase there and packed themselves in lagos. Today, ph is safe cos no more better things for them there. They have made it difficult for young graduates to get work as the mumu nigerians displace their own countrymen in tems of jobs and give it to these half baked individuals just bcos they are whites. Na only God go protect us all from the hands of hooligans.

Anon 12:20 pm before thre was oil South West was already thriving. Go and check your history book. I can see that u are ignorant about southwest economy.

What is d government doin about it? Yet to see any of these stupid kidnappers being made an example. Seriously nid to do sumtin about our police, their incompetence is pathetic.
But seriously, y is nigeria so backward.......person start sumtin, odas must follow sha, so so sad.

We need a revolution in this country, too bad our youths are only interested in fast money that doesn't last. I envisage the present state of Syria in this country before sanity can be brought to light.

I tire for this Linda.. Just go dub MPN safety presentation. Wonder who gave you those slides....

Adedayo said...

For those of you asking, the weblink is not meant for the public. It's definitely a company's "intranet" site which is private to them and can't be accessed from outside their network.

#ThankMeLater

Those of u who say oil money built Lagos, pls tell oil money to build south east and south south. At least u have oil in these places. As if there is no oil in Lagos, Ogun and Ondo.

And U̶̲̥̅̊ have a high IQ? I beg your pardon, what's the meaning of the word 'intelligencial'?

locksmiths said...

Well I hope the government is solving this problem and rescue the victims safely.