Nigerian leaders: Past and present; who's your best and worst? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 April 2013

Nigerian leaders: Past and present; who's your best and worst?

From top left: Yakubu Gowon, Ernest Shonekan, Murtala Mohammed, Umar Musa Yar'Adua, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Goodluck Jonathan, Olusegun Obasanjo, Ibrahim Babangida, Nnamdi Azikiwe, Sani Abacha and Muhammadu Buhari.

Rate them from 1 to 11. And if your favorite and worst isn't listed here, just name them...

258 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 258 of 258

well dnt knw abut most of dem buh d few I knw were nuttn gud...startn 4rm abacha dwn to badluck..my country Nigeria I weep 4 my dear country dnt knw wen ds country will respect her citizens nd fite 4 d common gud of her ppl...d country has made a lot of ppl tk d wrong choice nd sm ve lost dere life searchn 4 greener pasture..I tot gudluck ws gna restore a lot of lost tinz bk into ds country but alas nuttn hs cum out 4rm him...d country is so broke rite nw dt even d beggars on d streets r complaining...I pray God gives us leader who will love Nigeria lik his wife,nourish ds country lik his children nd protect ha dignity lik his moda-badoo-

wagzi said...

BUHARI THE BEST OF ALL FOR HIS ANTICORRUPTION & DISCIPLINE CAMPAIGN. BABANGIDA FOR OVERTHROWING MEN OF DISCIPLINE LIKE BUHARI & IDIAGBON AND SHATTERING THE ECONOMY OF THE COUNTRY. ANULLING THE FREEST & FAIREST. ELECTION ALSO. USHERING IN ABACHA TO SUCCEED HIM

I think my best is Buhari. One of Nigeria's greatest tragedies was the toppling of his regime. Despite the harshness, Nigerians learned order and discipline. Efficiency and dedication became evident in public life. Corruption was fought effectively. I don't want to talk about Jonathan - it's early days. I think the worst might be Abacha or OBJ.

Best is OBJ: I might not agree with his politics but his economic policy brought back the middle class. Fresh graduates started earning over 100k which was impossible before.
Worst is Abacha, Jona is close behind.

Linda, you were born during Shagari's time, he was in power from 1979-1983, you were still wetting your pampers then. Hahahahahahaha!!!

Paul are crazy...? Abacha ur best??? Hmmm!

Even Shehu Shagari is missing. Nnamdi Azikiwe was just a ceremonial President, the real was power with Tafa Balewa

Best Murtala and worst GEJ

Amaka said...

Anon 11.40 I have no doubt GOD worked him there but right now even GOD has repented for making GEJ the president of NIG. Becu he not only hv failed the Nigerian pple he has also fail GOD.

Obj /muritala best!..jonathan nd abacha worst.no diff

Sani Abacha

Anu! Olodo! Until wen will U̶̲̥̅̊ get real? Enemies ar fighting we know bt iz it nt abt time we started seeing gud results? A leader shud tak extreme measures whr necessary n nt continue 2 expect us 2 b timid n "understanding"! Chikena!

Linda re u a learner...where's Abdusalam Abubakar in dis post???He's my best followed by d maradona himself IBB.

Lmao! Jesus! You are wicked! Rotflmao @ non achiever. Choi!

Babangida, Abacha and Obasanjo are the WORST. It was a good thing Abacha died in the hands of two imported Indian prostitutes. If I have the chance I will hit Babangida and Obasanjo with a big stick.

The best man that never rule dis country.....CHIEF OBAFEMI AWOLOWO

lana said...

Hello grandpa...hw are u?

they have all failed that is why nigeria is where it is today. so there is no best among them

These comments are hilarious lol, "worst, worstest, worster"". Linda,pls keep this kind of debates coming, lol

Best is my father worst my step father

They have all failed that is why nigria is where it is today. so linda there is no best among them

best obasanjo, worst babangida

Linda why did you not include Major General Aguyi Ironsi and Shehu Shagari, na wa for your history.

Ma fav's ya'adua..worst ÈŠ̝̊̅§ jona..i so despise dat man..he ÈŠ̝̊̅§ sooooo useless...he had †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ gut to pardon alamesia..dat was †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ height of his stupidity...ya'adua was †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ only nigerian president dat reduced fuel price ãήϑ he cud have made life easier fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я nigerians if he had lived..RIP ya'adua..

Veeon said...

Best would have to be buhari.. worst Abacha.. but
Johnathan has made nigeria a laughing stock amongst all nations, this man has no presence, no charisma, no nothing. He spends our moneey yet he doesnt bring anything into the country.. only chinese companies that come and take our oil for free in clais that they are building fucking trains or hospital for us.. soon us nigerians would see how bad johnathan is.. atleast abacha stole our money and we all knew he was stealing and killling.. but johnathan is very manipulative.. pretending like he doesnt know what he is doing when he is slowly moving money out of the country, reaping all of us off our basic rights.. being insulted and allowing our dear country to be insulted abroad.

Linda post my comment.

AND MAY GOD HELP US NIGERIANS!!
GO PLEASEE

Ma fav's ya'adua..worst ÈŠ̝̊̅§ jona..i so despise dat man..he ÈŠ̝̊̅§ sooooo useless...he had †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ gut to pardon alamesia..dat was †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ height of his stupidity...ya'adua was †̥Ñ’e̶̲̥̅ only nigerian president dat reduced fuel price ãήϑ he cud have made life easier fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я nigerians if he had lived..RIP ya'adua....linda post ma comment o!..

veeon said...

HOW CAN SOMEONE SAY THE ECONOMY WAS GOOD DURING ABACHA'S REIGN.. WHEN HE STOLE 2BILLION DOLLARS FROM NIGERIA???
LIB readers dont fucking piss me off men... wth.. did you go to school at all?

Nonsense and rubbish

I forgot.. Ojukwu!! Is my number one man. He was our leader

I am a proud Biafran!

murtala mohammed was the best, during his reign i was 6yrs old, my dad use to come home from work and tell us kids that while in his office in lagos people use to watch murtala direct traffic in marina. murtala was fearless, he ruled nigeria tough hand. He hated corruption competely. He give all his assets to the federal government. He died a poor man. He was feared by the united states, he helped angola become a country. He dealt with nepa, he was going to do more, but i guess we black people don't like good things. He ruled for only 6months but he accomplished more than any nigerian leader ever did. He is truly a legend.
Worst: obasanjo!!!!!!!!!!!!!

murtala mohammed was the best, during his reign i was 6yrs old, my dad use to come home from work and tell us kids that while in his office in lagos people use to watch murtala direct traffic in marina. murtala was fearless, he ruled nigeria tough hand. He hated corruption competely. He give all his assets to the federal government. He died a poor man. He was feared by the united states, he helped angola become a country. He dealt with nepa, he was going to do more, but i guess we black people don't like good things. He ruled for only 6months but he accomplished more than any nigerian leader ever did. He is truly a legend.
Worst: obasanjo!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wale said...

Muritala Muhammed is the best president Nigeria has ever had. Though his tenure was very short. If Nigerians took the time to study what he accomplished and would have accomplished, they would be amazed how great Nigeria would have turned out. For example, he never used convoy; never lived in the State House; never backed down when he raised/confronted the issue (first time any leader in Africa) apartheid with the.U.S. And I dare say it - If not for what he started, Mandela might have died in prison.

Obasanjo is the worst. He could have easily ranked among the top when he got the second chance (1998) after Abacha's death, but he chose not to change the trajectory of corruption, embezzlement and bad leadership that have characterized each and every Nigeria presidency since after Muritala's death in 1975.

I know some would say I am a Yoruba guy not supporting a Yoruba leader. I am not naive that Nigerian politics is rooted in ethnic and tribal bull sh*t. But I am above all that crap. I just don't pull things out of my a** like many do for tribal sentiments. Sorry. I tell it as i see it.

WORST ALL OF THE THEM. GOOD NONE.

all of them na bastards.....

best Banginda.worst Goodluck

They were all bad leaders, never had d nation's interest at heart. And d worst so far is GEJ

Onome Aluko said...

Your type will always fail ENGLISH , OLODO .

Awolowo is my favourite. The others are useless. But, Jonathan is the worst. Never in the history of this country has there been a leader so clueless, confused, heartless & corrupt. And he's not even a 'dictator.'

Like to lose some weight and have a flat belly said...

Best-Muritala Mohammad
Worst-Sani Abacha.....Human right indices.

NIGERIA IS NOT GOOD YET SO DON'T OF THE BEST HERE ,,,THEY ARE WORST

NONE OF THEM ARE NIGERIANS
SORRY PEOPLE

NONE OF THEM ARE NIGERIANS
SORRY PEOPLE

Obasanjo my best. Time will tell the worst.

you need to see this cause a lot of people don't know about the history of nigeria. even in schools, all they do is talk about the names of the leaders but not enough details to make one reason deep. i respect you linda but sometimes you don't seem to remember that some people are going through worst things that you can ever even imagine. i say this because you made a post about a nigerian girl that wanted to commit suicide because she was going to be deported back to nigeria from the uk, and seemed to think it was a joke and said that nigeria is not that bad. you don't know that cause you can't wear everyone's shoe. only the person would ever know how well the shoe fits them. everyone needs to realize that https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=16vubBIx-T0

Gowon had no vision but he ruled in prosperous times, and protected the interests of the foreign powers who helped him destroy the eastern economy. Murtala Mohammed had the best vision. People wept when he was killed. So in terms of humility and popularity, he was the best. But going by his atrocities during the civil war, I believe in the end he would have become a worse dictator than Abacha. Buhari and Idiagbon made no mistake about why they came to power. They came to brutalise and humiliate Nigerians with their war against indiscipline. All the civilian presidents without exception have been corrupt individuals who destroyed whatever little confidence the populace had in the political system. The military presidents i.e. OBJ and IBB combined brutality with animal cunning as weapons to siphon whatever their predecessors left behind. Their major focus was on extending their tenures beyond the given limit. Today we are in an open era with a civilian president at the centre, the military presidents pulling the strings in the background; along with powerful governors and their various armies i.e. Boko Haram in the north; MEND in the south-south; MASSOB in the east;OPC in the West. So you have a choice between sell-outs, crooks, bullies, schyzophrenic genocidal maniacs, murderers, dictators, and the simply incompetent. Shouldn't be too difficult finding the best among these.

None

worse is Jonathan. worst is Jonathan... imagine spending $40million to monitor internat use by Nigerians??

jonathan is the worst President ever.....

Linda quick history Lesson ... Nnamdi Azikwe was cerimonial President & didn't control anything it was Tafawa Balewa that ran the country as Prime Minister... U also left out the single most important person in Nigerian history Gen. Aguyi Ironsi he was the Head of State that 1st assumed power from Politicians and all forms of removed regional independence all withing 6 months

This making Aguyi Ironsi worst because he opened the gate for pple like Abacha, IBB & co

anon April 25, 2013 at 11:43 AM did you go to school? did you not do social studies? gees!

AWOLOWO indeed.

Pat said...

Best pick, OBJ, love or hate the man. He's a decent man that doesn't play any games.

Worst, IBB and Abacha, may they burn in hell as far as I'm concerned.

My favorite of all time and future president is Gov Fashola, May God continue to give him wisdom and good heart.

The worst of all time, the biggest IDIOT/FOOL, with no form of common sense is Jonathan Goodluck. Shame on him

Murtala mohammed the rest go share the worst including yaradua

OBJ remains Nigeria's best so far while JOLANTERN GUDLOCK is the worst president ever in the history of Naija.

First, Nigeria requires a leader with experience, a leader that has been tested - we cannot accommodate inexperience or afford another experiment; a leader that can command the respect of the nation; a leader that would provide opportunities for the younger generation to strive. Nigeria requires a leader that will make things work, that can identify the best and work with the best to achieve the required result.

He is a leader that can bridge the gap between the masses and the leadership, a leader that feels the pains Nigeria is going through. When times have changed, the prerequisite required of a leader must fit these specifications and Gen. Buhari fits this more than anyone.

Gen. Buhari is an exemplary leader and a role model for Nigerians, and I strongly believe, by his antecedents, he would imbibe the culture of the separation of powers; he would not interfere with the National Assembly, thereby allowing the National Assembly achieve its best with Gen Buhari as president. With Gen. Buhari, every institution will work - he will not interfere with the judiciary, and with him governors will remain in their states and work, not as we now have where they are always in Abuja.

He is not looking for money; I strongly believe that the nation’s resources will be saved in the hands of Gen. Buhari. His interest is Nigeria; his desire is a progressive Nigeria that will take its proper place within the comity of nations. He is passionate about anything that will make Nigeria work and, above all, he is a law abiding citizen who respects the rule of law.

So, Gen Buhari suites the leader Nigeria is looking for. This is a man that won elections thrice, but was denied. The lesson learnt here is that the man has learnt patience, which other leaders do not have. Gen. Buhari is the only Nigerian alive whose goodwill has earned him more than 12 million votes influenced by nothing other than his goodwill, uninfluenced and unprotected votes; even after cutting all that they could cut, he was still left with more than 12 million votes.

This is a man who eats the same type of food with the man in the rural areas of this country, he lives in the same type of house like the masses live in; the houses of his neighbours around are much more bigger than his; he drives the same kind of car that the average Nigerian drives and yet he was a former head of state in Nigeria..................................Senator Sulaiman Mohammed Nazif

ma best is Yar'adua nd worse is Obasanjo!!

p said...

Best - Abacha cos his major agenda was to eliminate the thieves that are terrorizing us today.
while the worst ever is Jona...he is a badluck to this country and i want to use this medium to inform him that, no 1 have eva suffered nigerians this way and go free. God is watching the man without shoe

Alvin said...

This is cool!

obj and muritala Rocks! jonathan and the rest of 'em ,use their reggae take spoil naija blues.

obj and muritala rocks! the rest of 'em use their reggae take spoil our blues jare!

Best is Buhari b/c he knows how to steel and cry foul without anybody knowing, as well as abuse of power. Worst is Jonathan b/c he is so glued to the rule of law and freedom such that some hitherto silent persons have started to abuse the privilege to insult the person of President.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 258 of 258   Newer› Newest»