Famous Evangelist Rick Warren's Son Commits Suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 6 April 2013

Famous Evangelist Rick Warren's Son Commits Suicide

The youngest son of Saddleback Valley Community Church pastor Rick Warren has committed suicide after a long battle with mental illness. Rick Warren, the head pastor of the 8th largest church in the U.S made the announcement today Saturday April 6th at his church in Lake Forest, CA.

Rick Warren told members of his congregation that his son took his own life Friday night after battling with mental illness for years which resulted in deep depression and suicidal thoughts. Matthew Warren (pictured right) was 27.

Rick is the author of numerous Christian books, including "The Purpose Driven Life," which has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. 

121 comments:

...hope he knows he is going to hell?

Slimy said...

May God rest his Soul bt suicide? Hmmm

Adanna said...

eyahhhh..... So wat nxt

Aw so sorry!

bitchplis said...

Purpose driven life not purpose of driven life.

Awwwww.. :(

Oke Igbo said...

Sad... To every man his soul to account
One mans faith in God can not save the other

Jehovahhhhhhhhh

Life is indeed a challenge. I can imagine what Rick passed through. Offering millions solutions to their problems and you can't help your son. God knows best. May he RIP.

Wow what a pity rip first to comment

Hmmmmn.... Sad to know... But not surprised, a father being a clergy man doesn't necessarily make the kids clean, even upstairs.

This is sad, God knows best

awww! what a painful loss.

Wyenom. S said...

So sad. Accept my condolence Sir.

The kingdom of God is not in words words words, but the demonstration of Gods power. Tell them to come to Synagague Church of All Nations and see the demonstration by Prophet T B Joshua. Enough of this hypocricy by these deceivers

Soo sad.I loved that temperament book.

First to comment

June said...

This is sad, R.I.P

NecFix said...

Oh dear. How sad. Ironic that Rick Warren's son couldn't live the 'Purpose Driven Life'. My thoughts are with their family.

Sad may he finally find peace just that I don't think he's heaven bound with the act of Suicide. May God grant the family the fortitude to bear this loss!

Kemi said...

Does that statement make you feel like a decent human being? A father just lost his son via a tragic means and the first thing that comes to your heart is judgement. May God have mercy on you! Lack of compassion is what is wrong with this generation.

May The Almighty God grant the family strenght at this time cos this is quite sad. VERY VERY SAD infact

Get Better Shape Click Here said...

omg

rip

That's just sad! So sad!

My Art Work said...

Whao, that's a bad news. Even with mental illness, he shouldn't lose hope. Teachings from God. Rest in peace and may the pastor be strong to bear the loss. Not easy, but takes strong enlighten mind.

I love that book...yall get it if u havnt read it...rip 2 d lost soul

Nigerians r nasty! Look at what you all r writing, you dont know them, you dont know what theyv been through! Yet you all come here and talk bout how hes a pastor and his son cldnt live a purpose driven life! You guys r wicked! Get off the internet and retreat to ur sorry ass lives! Hurt people say hurtful things!

SUNSHINE said...

I agree with PC.
Clergy men children are the most ill-mannered beings on earth.
Not all of then though.
But MAJORITY!!
May his soul rest in peace

kunle said...

Your comment wreaks of ignorance. I honestly wish you knew more!

There's more than the eyes can see n †Đ˝Ń” mind can imagine...We just pray that He finds rest with God and peace for the family.

kunle said...

It's a very sad occurence. Terrible way to go to. Can't but ask some questions, but God knows more than we all. Sad!

You are so naive.

The Purpose Driven Life...RIP, Matt.

Kemi nice one.bloglord allow God to judge abeg

@Roli said...

Ooooooh dis is really sad,my condolences to dis Family,God knws best,May His soul RIP,non of us here will weep over our loved ones In Jesus Name.....Amen

awww, the devil is always after children of men of God...just like if one is a believer before and decides to go the other way, the devil just marks you out....everyone needs to be strong and prayers even if your daddy is Benny Hinn. #sad

Oge Nsimah said...

Waoh! I can see your TB is now Jesus right? Do u read d bible @ all ? Is TB Joshua almighty God? Why are u braging with him? and how are you sure you are not deceived by TB Joshua? You worship ur pastor and not God. and is it about d name of d church and pastor? as if its by ur power his doing it . Let me just leave u cuz its ingnorant. unrepented church goer like u . But think about this . He show mercy to whom he wantz to show mercy , and its not by ur power or mighty, but by the spirit of God,nither is he that runnth the race buh its of God that shows mercy so its not by ur pastors name or church .

@Bloglord: are u God?

may God show us mercies, is not by TB Joshua or not but when God shows us mercy....... our prayer shd God shd show us mercy.

Blackberry said...

Suicide is a bad thing....thinking of it alone is a mental illness itself....

who re u to judge?it is better to think twice before u comment,just don't say wat comes to ur head.I pray God forgives you.

Too many judgmental people, the insensitivity in your comments are inhuman.We wonder what's wrong with the world today? Making a mockery of peoples grief to convince yourself you have a better life? Are u God? So if God admits him to heaven, ud go and chase him out! Heaven will indeed be full of surprises. May God grant him rest, and peace to his family. Amen

So sad! taking one's life means going to hell. I pray God will console his immediatate family and friends

Shitty arguement...RIP is shorter than the trash that u peepu are saying

And let the church say amen.

This bloglord is so stupid

Lol. That book is so inspiring

I am shocked at the amount of insensitive comments here and the way some are so judgemental,WHERE YOU THERE? DO YOU KNOW EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED? DO YOU EVEN KNOW IF HE WAS NOT IN HIS RIGHT MIND WHEN HE KILLED HIMSELF AND DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HE WAS DOING? ARE YOU GOD?.....Some are now saying 1st to comment on top post about person death?na wa o!...Talk all you want but God is in control and not man(thank God for that cos all these 'he shall go to hell people can kill)

Ada Ejike Onyeama said...

May God accept his soul & give d family fortitude 2 bear dis. @bitchplis who r u trying 2 correct? Cos Linda is correct.

eyaa. really love this man... may God comfort his family

DADDYSWIFE said...

Pls bloglord can u explain urself?RIP,i pray dt d good God shal console his family in Jesus name,amen

I saw Bishop TD jakes' tweet yesterday concerning this. So sad. That old serpent is still after d children of GOD. We must not give him any chance in our lives. Prayers, word study, fastings, worship, praise, plus holiness are the weapons we're gonna use to crush his head. RIP Matthew. Even if your papa no b pastor, as long as you're on this earth, you're in a war zone. The sooner we realise this, the better 4 us all.

We should always keep our brethren in our prayers. Poor Matthew! I can't imagine what his parents will b going through. Its so sad. RIP matthew.

phelixzeinchristed said...

Really pathetic. My heart goes out to the family. The devil really has an onslaught going against God's people. We can only rely on God for strength not to faint in times of adversity.

Suicide is not an option, but in this case, the person in discussion most likely didn't know what he was doing. Its an oppression of the mind and he certainly wasn't in a clear state of mind to make proper rational and logical decisions. I choose not to judge. I may properly assume he was saved at one time or the other but the healing didn't manifest.

God is merciful. Full of grace and sovereign. He doesn't judge like we judge. The major reason why we would go to hell is when we deny Jesus and refuse to accept Him as our lord and saviour.

I trust God to comfort the family in this tragic season of their lives. The best we can do is to pray for them.

Temperament book? You don't even know him. Kai, people should just keep quiet sometimes. Temperament indeed! LaHaye wrote that by the way...

Mental illness is real. It has nothing to do with being a believer. One of the hardest illness to treat.

What do you mean who is he to judge? Every christian should know that if u take ur own life, then u r doomed(hell-ed). Anyways we just ought to be on our guards....if devil could attack this family the way he did(d Rick n prostitutes controvery, now his son), then he can attack anyone with a loophole. But God's Grace is sufficient for us.

--Teeteelahyo--

Im still trying to overcome my own sucidal thoughts too. Lord jesus, im happy to see today which is my birthday becos this time last year, my partner packed his things and left me and my two children, when the landlord asked us to leave. I had know job, no family to run to in a foreign land. I was searching Google on how to end my life, after the landlord changed the lock of the house. I had no choice than to take my kids to the nearest police station that im homeless with no paper to work. Because nobody is ready to accomodate a woman wit two kids. Too cut my story short, the police referred us to social service, that same day around 10pm....we got an emergency accomodation. Two weeks later, my partner called for forgiveness that he ran away becos there was no way he could rent a flat then. Thank you Jesus for im happy today, although i still feel depressed once in a while.

Like!May soul be accepted in heaven,we re nt God n we aren't in his head!he cud decide 2allow dis1 enter!let's liv d decision2him!n jus focus on d 1dat concerns us here whic is consoling d family!RIP n may God grant ur family d fortitude 2bear d loss.afta nuturing 4 27yrs,it can't b easy 4dem!

Do u know u are hell bound too??? Or in ur stupid mind, only pple who commit suicide end up dere. We've all got our imperfections and they sure can lead in to dat fiery furnance. Let's all pray for Mercy cause in all honesty... That's all we deserve!!! Next time...... Think before u talk.... Ode!!!

czar said...

Pastors pikins sef.. The boy is an end time pikin, sucide? Obala emma!

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

Bet why??????

I don't understand the people that comment on this blog. Why are u so judgemental? The guy battled with mental illness for years which means he wasn't in his right senses when he committed sucide,so who are u to judge him? Are u God? Even in court a mentally ill person can not be convicted of a crime. So u don't know if God is going to admit him to heaven. Orl

T.B Joshua ko T.V Joshua ni!!!! Abeggi parkwell jor wit ĹŞŃŹ̲̅ t.v joshua!!! Ď…̲̣̥
tink we don't know? Blinded fool! R.Č‹̝̊̅̄
.P bro.......ndo is nt easy buh bear d loss

zsa zsa said...

@Bloglord, that was rather insensitive of you. As a christian or muslim is that the first thing that should come to your mind when you here such news?

It was clearly stated that the young man suffered from mental illness...he didn't just decide to take his life for fun.

I know some nigerians turn up their noses at various forms of mental illness but please let us be more sensitive. I work with mentally ill individuals and some of them are in hell on earth. They know they have a problem and have tried EVERYTHING with no lasting solution. In most cases they are placed on medications for the rest of their lives and it gets to a point where they just can't take it anymore.

As the super religious, God-fearing, holy ghost fire brand christians that some of us are, can we just spare a good thought for such people and not pass judgment on them.?

May his soul rest in the bossom of the lord.it most be hard for the family seeing him goin tru a lot of pain,been mentally ill is bad. May God give the his family the strenght to carry on. @Anons 12:52 u've said it all, a lot of judgemental ppl u guys r wats wrong wit d world 2day.

Don't mind the stupid old woman bloglord, you are just too judgemental for my liking...always spilling trash from that gut of yours. How insensitive can you be? Ode ni e

Especially that stupid bloglord, they just come here to judge people, but their lives are much worse, some them are even witches in reality."He who is without sin, cast the first stone"

Don't mind the stupid old woman bloglord, you are just too judgemental for my liking...always spilling trash from that gut of yours. How insensitive can you be? Ode ni e

@blogLord, hope u know u are also going 2 hell, calling yourself LORD.... *rolling eyes* who r u 2 judge. Kmt.....

amaka said...

He had mental illness and probably didn't know what he was doing so going to hell is not the issue. Its easy for us to judge people, may his soul rest in peace.

TB Josua will make a grade A nollywood actors and his followers are those with Nollywood mentality.Pls u all should get a life

Why do u not think he's heaven bound??? Cause he committed suicide?? C'mon the guy was sick... He wouldn't have done that out of his own volition.... Mental illnesses in religious circles are often refered to as posssesion of ur body by a demon... And so that's why its casted out. Whatever happened that God allowed his son to remain that way, I do not but I do know God is faithful and merciful, He's not the dictator,we humans have turned him out to be and I do know d poor guy is heaven bound!!!

He committed sucide under mental illness ok. So all of u saying he won't make it to heaven, are U God?! Incase u don't know-God is a merciful God.

musiclover said...

Seriously?! Like wow!

I guess you're the gatekeeper to hell to say this with all confidence. You guys act like you know all, physical and spiritual...even metaphysical sef. Someone battled mental illness all his life, having suicidal thoughts, might have even done it in ignorance and Bloglord (the creator of shit and sugar) has pronounced judgement in a second.

Insensitive much, just can't deal...

Mimo!

So Sad, May he RIP

My heart goes out to Rick's fam. What a great lose. I don't know why the devil likes to attack pastor's children or those that are very close to God.

You see life. If its in nigeria now that this kind of thing happened due to mental illness, we will label it 'occultic tinz'. Its now a white person therefore its absolutely normal, not that i doubt it. May God have mercy on us all and console the bereaved family.

U r so shallow, and are you God to decide that. Think before you write stupid comments.

JustPorsh said...

As a result of Mental Illness.

Pls Linda post my commet being Trying for a while now pls or is der any way pls tell me

Jay said...

Exactly what came to my mind.like a marriage counselor dats divorced.LIFE!!may he rest in peace

Hummmnn so sad...may his soul rest in perfect peace

Who r you to judge??? Things r not always as they seem, the way of God isn't the way of man. To you he's going to hell to God he's seated in heaven.
Ms P

Why is it only in your church that we can find God?

@Anony 11.3PM, This life is full of challenges and we'll all have our share, if you like attend Synagogue,Aladura and Celestial together. Your reaction to them largely depends on how well you stand with God. This is quite sad and i feel for Rick and his family. May his son's soul RIP.

Y'all sayin negative tins...so stupid! Gosh! Rip young fellow! Linda ikeji u gatta stop publishing sm silly statments by sm ppl! So stupid. (´̯ ̮`̯ )

Abi o! Smh

Pls dnt kill urself sister! U r well in Jesus name! Start readn odm! D writer almost killed himself 2!

Abi o! Smh

@bloglord,mugulord,rmba thou shall nt judge.

@Bloglord. You sound like an illiterate on this post.

@Anonymous 12:21; Mr/Mr Not NaĂŻve, I just was about to read your comment, laugh and pass as usual but on a second thought I think your poor self deserves some attention, my naivety is a luxury for your boorish state.

All u holier than thou, shut ur stinky traps!

@Bloglord, please describe hell for us, since you know that is where he is going to.

CHEKWUBE said...

Does he visit Linda's blog?

This woman who call herself Bloglord is so FOOLISH!

Which yeye hell fire â„“̊s the boy going to? No be the same God cause the mental illness...abegi

Lindathe2nd

Bloglord abi wetin you call yourself, did you bother to read the story very well before making your comment? Could be you didnt, in your haste to be the first to comment, you posted this trash!
Read and digest before you make comment.

My dear,yorubas will say ko si oun titun labe orun!trust me pple go tru worse,though wat u re feeling mayb alien 2u n u jus don't wanna imagine it bt 1ce ders life ur situation can b overturned overnyt!pls pull urself 2geda esp 4ur kids!death by ur hands won't do ny1 any good!pls join a church,dey av provision 4pple like u!not only accomodation bt dey can help with ur kids schl fees n work!sumthin 2sustain u,dat ur man might nt b dependable!God b with u

All of you saying he is going to hell, shey you are God and its ur call abi?
Cant you see the boy was sick? Na wa o. Wait till ur turn, and worry about where you are going instead.

I think a lot of Nigerians on this blog are ignorant. If a madman jumps in front of a truck and dies do you say he is going to hell too? Mental illness and the associated thoughts are not controlled by the sufferer. The patient only tries to cope. Did you meet God and he told you the boy is in hell? Ignorant people. And for the fool talking about synagogue here you are really dumb. God allowed job's children to die in a day. Read your bible and stop worshiping men. Is T.B joshua greater than John the baptist who was beheaded. Good n bad happens to all beings. -NEWYORKER

The boy is so young and full of life,may God grant him enternal rest amen!pls always pray for God's ministers they face a lot of challenges in life

lami said...

Did you read the cause of death at all??the youngman had mental illness plus he was suicidal,how does that transcend into 'clergy's children being ill mannered?? Nawa for ur level of reasoning sha.

lami said...

Well,another sorry statement from u,being matured has to do with accepting and correcting your mistakes.ur comment was highly insensitive.just to remind you that we are not using our mouths 2 type so u goofed' when u typed 'shut ur stinky traps'

bitchplis said...

@Ada ejike,she probably changed it after seeing my comment.

Judge nt so dat u may nt b judged •••RIP matt

Chekwube does it matter??? Ppl sha *smh*

Bloglord. Shut up! Take a break from this blog, okay? You make me sick with your foolish comment!
Just get out from this place!

over sabi mumu. Look carefully b4 u post ur stupid correction comment. She wrote 'the purpose driven life'. U beta go an strt ur own blog.

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

@NEWYORKER, I think you lack the understanding that the coming of Jesus here on earth is to restore the son ship between God and man which he has achieved, also to set the captive free and for those that are in bondage to receive their freedom. He finally gave the same authority and power to the apostles to perform the work as he did in order that his name will be glorifying and appreciate before men all over the world by so doing, which extended among the genuine servants of God even in our own generation. You can as well read the book of Acts for more insight.

The bible has made us to understand that all power and authority in both heaven and on earth has been stored in that name Jesus Christ, therefore if you are his genuine servant and calling upon his name in truth and spirit, then you are estimated to get the same answer which the apostles of the old achieved, because Jesus is still the same as it was in the beginning, today and forever. He has never said goodbye but still lives with us in spirit and only among those who are committed to the glory of God so that by his name they can do all things.

Just as you know that, Mental illness and the associated thoughts are not controlled by the sufferer. Then whatever that controls them to behave abnormal against the will of God for them is known as demon and can be cast out by that name Jesus. Remember, Jesus delivered the mad ones, healed those that are sick and cast out demons in peoples lives, so that is what the churches are supposed to be today. But ignorantly we say no when we see such power working and instead of appreciating God we choose call names.

We are the cause of our problems and until we admit that then solution will come.

Editorial Team said...

Oh i pray that God will comfort the Evangelist!!!

Why do I feel this is another illuminati sacrifice? My his soul rest in peace

bee said...

Uv said it all!!!

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

They will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well. (Mark 16:18)

Jesus came to restore a relationship and fellowship between God and man. But His ministry of interception is little by the believers.
Christian has a relationship with Jesus, and when you have the relationship with him you become a man that is directs by the Holy Ghost.

he should have taken authority over his son's life in Jesus name.Hes a pastor,the devil will find ways to attack his family,hes duty is to stand his ground on the word of God.wat a pity,wat a waste.

It is really hard to lose someone who is dear to you. However, as long as you keep them in your heart then they are still alive, inside you. They will live inside you. However, taking your own life is a serious crime. No judgement.. Rest in Peace friend.

By:Books for Evangelism

Velda said...

This is cool!