Did this really happen at Bowen University? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 14 April 2013

Did this really happen at Bowen University?

Someone tweeted this photo at me and said this is how undergraduates who go late to church at Bowen University are treated. Is this so?

294 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 294 of 294

nonsence.....rubbish.....

I̶̲̥̅̊ts A̶̲̥̅ normal ish i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ M̶̲̥̅γ sch den, at least ffom †ђε̲̣̣̣̥ pic l̶̲̥̅̊ can see †ђε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ w̶̲̥ε̲̣̣̣̥rε̲̣̣̣̥ kneelin close τ̲̅ǿ A̶̲̥̅ shade bt i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ mine even those †ђa̶̲̥t̲̣̥ came early stay under †ђε̲̣̣̣̥ sun talk less ø̲̣̣f Ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ †ђa̶̲̥t̲̣̥ i̶̲̥̅̊s late..*.SMH* G-Unit style

Oga shut that your tap you call mouth. Must you talk? ITK.... #No disrespect intended*

Sey u bowen students still have mouth to talk wit.they wuld always say dat dey are free, not knowing dat cu student are like birds flying in d air wit great freedom.After all cu are nt asked 2 kneel down wen dey are late 4 service. but sha it is funny hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA SOMEONE PLS HELP ME I CANT STOP HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. MAY GAD HELP U POEPLE.

This is crazy.

Lmao, we'll am a bowenite and I wouldn't have knelt down anyways, that's d V.C. There oo am sure his children do worse see his head.... Foolish man

can people just stop saying what they don't know.... 4 people who said that they tell students to knee in CU, that's totally a lie na....beko o.....am a student and nothing of such happens patapata na suspension or letter of warning that's all.....leave CU alone, we are proud of our standards.
and for the person that said that people attend private school because they cant read...u r really dumb...sorry about that but that's the truth o...#ILOVECOVENANTUNIVERSITY

Gbam!

This happened in U.I too so its no biggy!!!! Even sm lecturers slap students in oda federal schools!

looooooooooooool

Aeya.....awwwww. Omashe o.....ehun ha! Sowie o. There was ehn unilagi ati uniben and rest of them Ɣ☺u decided 2 go 2 Bowen ha! Take it like dat ojere. D Lord is ur muscle. Pele.

kudos to oduduwa university? Chineke which one is Oduduwa University, Godforbid my kids even smell their feets in any nig uni. God please provide for me.

Aeya.....awwwww. Omashe o.....ehun ha! Sowie o. There was ehn unilagi ati uniben and rest of them Ɣ☺u decided 2 go 2 Bowen ha! Take it like dat ojere. D Lord is ur muscle. Pele.

lol some peoples comments make me laugh my heart out. OK first of all if u know the nigerian educational system very well, then u ought to know that its not just by writing jamb and getting 250 and above that qualifies u for admission, most university still have post ume exams secondly i spent 6 yrs in a federal university instead of 4 yrs because my dear ASSU always fought for one thing or another so parents that can afford to send their children to private universities will gladly do so its just we Nigerians have a way making a big deal out of nothing if u know what i mean in this case.now for those kids been punished there are two things involved either they abide by the rules for their duration of study in the school or change school if they cant take it.a friend of mine changed from Madonna university because of the whole punishment thing.the administrative of the school should know this there is something called free will and one of the functions of a university is for students to exercise that

All of you that agreed that the reason why they are in Bowen University is because they didn't score higher are big retards, bunch of ignorant fools. Y'all sound like those wretched idiots who can't afford private schools.

Its not new na, I attended bowen, i was once told to kneel down for holding a girl's hands

Lmao...I attended a priv8 skool n dis was not and can not be done! #teamLCU

Ruby said...

Egoyibo stop disgracing us!!!Old woman!

Yeap dats my skool it happened dis morning dat my principal ooops sorry vc. It does happen every sunday but I guess my v.c was bored 2day.

POINT OF CORRECTION,CU STUDENTS WERE NT EXPELLED GO GET CORRECT INFO B4 COMMENTING NONSENSE.

I guess it is called a private university and by extension has private rules different from other high institutions. The choice is you either stay and abide by d rules or u leave. Our idea of freedom has messed us up. We are not Americans. What about when students were punishing others in the secondary schools as senior prefects? The society was even better then. I love this a lot. Stay n comply or quit

Lauretta E said...

Cutedollars egoyibo sharrap diabetes! Why are u shouting?

@lindabiggestfan ur brother was an ewu! That was why he was flogged!!!

Marilyn Oge(Sumtin) said...

I'm a madonna graduate n ours iz worse than their own...@ least nobody iz floggin dem... And u might even face panel n pay fine or get suspended....

i was once there and i will tell u this..my 1st day of resumption..i was also asked to knee becos i went late to chapel..this ain't discipline..its called maltreatment

As an eye witness d vc was just pulling their legs so to all you people carrying rumours more grease to ur elbows

My kid brother graduated from Bowen 5 years ago and this happened to him too. That is the VC, Prof. Olagbemiro in agbada.
Isn't this barbaric?!

@Chinonye and is dat d kind of person u want in ur society one who is an undergraduate and had not set out a path for him or her self my dear we learn and grow everyday and an undergraduate is expected to ve set a path try nd remove d fact dat it is bcos of church most of dem will get to MI shows b4 him.think outside d box dear

If u where told Obama is to be in Nigeria but bcos Jonathan didn't reply his message or email on time the visit was canceled am sure d whole of Nigeria wil cut his head of so u pple thnk going to church late is not a big deal.den I pity dis nation and its leaders of 2moro smh

Those dat think there is no punishment in fed skul in uniben dere is a lecturer whose attendance to klas for a student to write exam in his course must b upto75%.u don't mk it no exam dat is automatic carryover if u're in ur finals u spill is dat no punishment

Meest Me said...

Although am nt a Bowen stu, i rep pri uni! Don,t we all have parents who punished us when we did wrong? Ask urself dis questn...if u had an employee who came late 2 work wat will u do? I call this discipline and every parent chooses how to do that to his/her child.In the long run they always return grateful. My mentor will always say that d pain of discipline is better than d pain of regret. So for u who say that students in Private uni did nt pass jamb, all i can do is PITY u...come and see sharp minds ready 2 change d world once they grad...Better pray dat ur kids would go 2 such great unis nd stop criticising...These pple unfortunately 4 u will be ur employers 2mao, ...sorry, bt dat is jst d way we think! I rep pri uni!

Datz nt hw it is....eva since bowen has been.....students av bn punished dis way mayb 5times.....it happens only wen d VC is rili vexed....goin 4 chapel service is mandatory in bowen cuz its a mission skul.....finished frm Bowen last year

yhemizzy said...

First of all,ya'al blabbing shuld at least get a real source bfor venturing into wat u knw nofin about..wE all signed undertaken bfor entering ds university,n so definately,we shuld abide by d rulEs n regulatns..I was in chapel today n u wuldnt jst want to knw d tym ds babez came,although d reason dey r gals r cus d vc stood at d entrance where girls hostel is..one of d most important reason y vc did ds is cus most students r realy stabbing chapel n its so obvious cus d chapel luks so scanty..if u guys wantu evn knw more,security officers still came to my hostel to pick pple dt didn't go to chapel..pls,mind wat u say cus if u were here,u wuldnt say such dumb words..anywaiz,despite all ds,#I REP BOWEN#anytime...great alma matter..n for dose dt r asking y vc is still here,he's leavn wif ds present set(ultimate set)..fnx linda..pls post my comment o..yhemizzy,proudly a bowenite..

haaahhhhhhaaaaaa omg what is this

No bi new thing ooo. washing of toilet dey as well. 'Papa Emmy'

Prince Escalus said...

I'm really feeling bad for those lads that are in private uni in Nigeria because honestly they don't experience the university life.

Meek And Gentle said...

Seriously doubtful.

I doubt this story, this looks like the are praying inside and the people outside are kneeling down for the prayer.

Olah said...

Who told those shallow thinkers dt its peeps dt couldn't pass jamb dt ends up in private universities,ama ex-bowenite,after all we all signed an agreement to abide by d rules on admission so y goin late to chapel wen d service even starts by 9 wch is nt too early.

@Anonymous Troll 1:57; Gosh! You are so NAÏVE!!! One of the meanings of "Naïve" is "Ignorant" Ain't these undergraduates ignorant enough to be treated like kids or slaves?

Ask Ajebota. We call Ashawo omo pastor in my hood lol. Whats in church?? Them go just dey dull us. What have they done since 1960? Now they want to impose that stupid and coward attitude on those beautiful gurls. Since our parents cant ask questions, dont worry cos we will aiit? That religion stuff will only tell you to leave Nigeria in the hands of God while the wicked politicians and clerics ruin our tommorrow. Church my foot. What have prayers done since 1960? Mtchew

Attending a private institution in nig has gotten to do with been rich or failing jamb while those in federal/states unis aint poor or super brilliant. Ts what is upstairs (your brain) that matters in the labour market and believe me have seen n worked with pathetic ppl that you wonder aw they went through sch cz they r so dimwitted (both private, federal n state uni graduates) . Federal/state uni graduates aint beefing you private institution graduates they are merely telling you that teriary institution is a place you begin to experience life as an adult, im sure evn in your private high sch upon leaving, you are told "go into the world exeperience it n be good ambassadors (it starts from the university) binding rules n discipline don't always make one morally upright, self discipline does. Thats y a yoruba adage says " tan ba bi eniyan ta/ko, eni na atun ara e bi/ko"

XL avenue said...

Can't we copy rightly in Nigeria? How many Universities abroad do this kind of nonsense? Some times I don't blame cultist and BH sef... Rubbish

Olisaemeka__ said...

That's a bloody lie,I graduated from madonna uni,nobody flogs anybody,get your facts right before spewing rubbish online.

This is sooo silly...anyway, only in Naija do we see the unthinkable happen and some clowns say its ok.

At university level this is totally unacceptable. It affects the confidenxce of our youths and should not be condoned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am d Best Frend said...

Ohkay nigguh izit dat u r naturally stupid or ur 1st name is Odolabi. U r very stupid 4 dt statement, wich private University takes students hu ddnt pass Jamb??? N attending Private University cud b a mata of choice or due to d fact u ddnt gain admission in2 oda sculs n dcided nuh 2 w8 @ home for 2 Long. Ode!! Ppl hu ave d money dcid 2 send dia Kids 2 Private sculs so if dtz ur problem deal wit it jx stop Hating on Private Uni. Students. Ow sure am i dt ure ivn intelligent? Passing Jamb does not guarantee wat ur CGPA shud look lyk frm 100 Level to 400 Level. Nikkuh ur brain is filled wit Black Sand!!!!

chai! i pity d gals o! aftr de don baf up.....bsds all u bad belle focus on d school in question and nt madonna university anit u gys tayad of tlkn abt d sch.....mtcheew!

aftr bowen students will av the guts 2 say dr sch is beta dan madonna....atlst fr edeh is wise evn if he does tins lyk this he is wise enof 2 offically bann camera fones so it cnt get out....gud for dem atlst we cn hear word nw.....linda thumbs up....*winks*

Am a graduate of Madonna university,and its even worse in dere

shit happens...............even with this i still represent Bowen University......

Fuck Bowen University

Linda, don't you know all these private universities are post secondary schools.

h lowmoon said...

is this an higher institution or a primary school, wen person no dey prison...eh yah..i pity all of una wey go private schools ooo

I tot this only happens in Madonna Uni and CU. Now I know it happens in 'all' private unis

Proudly Opsie! said...

I'm a Bowen Alumni....2006 Alpha set. and I am proud of Bowen.

Truth be told, if you do not want to be punished for flouting certain rules like this, then why bother to attend a private university? When you are in Rome, You've got to behave like a Roman! it won't take any pound of flesh from you.

I also knelt down infront of the school gate in my 400level....alongside other pretty chics....just for not coming out for morning devotion in the hostel....right infront of the Admin block where even outsiders could see us...but we all laughed it off...we din't take it personal as such. And today wen we remember, we all just laff at the day.
Part of the discipline and experiences in Bowen has also made me outstanding wherever i go today.

anyday anytime, My Bowen Rocks!

Not only Bowen, all these glorified private primary schools do it.

Most of these private universities are like that. u have not seen anything. There is this private university in the East that is worst then this. Students are made to go Jogging with security guys holding sticks and chasing the students like Fulani heads men and their flocks. A Catholic University o! There many more outrageous things that happen in that school.

wtf!!!

uv not seen anything... in Bowen, security wil slap student bcos dey r chasing boys to their hostels n u refused to go. it happend bfore and i was a witness. i remember that i was so angry n i had to send a message to the VC! glorified secondary school

Vikany Bassey said...

Wow!!!!!,see my guy dey form voltron for CU,am proud of you son,miss y'all bigtym, I kinda miss CU too.

This such an animalistic behavior,why do parents send their kids there.Africans are so so back ward.

ADE PIPER said...

yes yes yes yes yes. i am a graduate of bowen university and i am stil scared of being punished if i go back to get my bsc certificate. (and its been over 4 years) ... ADE PIPER

Meanwhile the same said V.C. dey sniff any kind toto wey enter ehn hand for nite time.
Nigerians are the worlds biggest fakers.
Oyinbo wey carry bible come Africa know say fairy tales are what Africans like to hear and believe in.
SO SAD.

if you don't want to me ask to knee under the sun or be flogged ''don't attend such school'' and you who took the photo is a DOUCHE BAG! Its your school why fool yourself. I didn't attend any private university so if i did i wouldn't complain about

The funny thing on here is that majority of those commenting, talking about their parents' wealth and all that are just plain dumb! If your parents are really wealthy, you would attend ivy league schools and you won't have to tell us they are wealthy, we would just know it.

Another observation is that most of you that have written comments on here could not even construct simple sentences, Kilode!!! How the heck did you get into these schools and how do you pass exams? It is such a shame.

O ma se ooo.

All i can say to this Greatest Ife!!

pretty girl, no heavy makeup, no photoshop. muah

Stupid

Onyinye said...

DEAR LIB READERS...DAT'S MISSIONARY SCHOOL 4 U. ALTHOUGH 2 BE HONEST, I DON'T DIG THEIR DRILL BUH...FINALLY "WAT U GET IS WAT U SEE."

nawa ooo....so dis fyn dey errywhere..even 4 landmark sef.....eparipa....

really, in a uni? I cant beleive this.

TRUTH BE TOLD, MOST OF THE PRIVATE UNIVS OPERATE LIKE SECONDARY SCHOOLS. MOST OF THE STUDENTS THERE ARE SO YOUNG 14, 15, 16, 17 THAT THE AUTHORITIES FIND IT HARD PRESSED NOT TO TREAT THEM LIKE KIDS...COME TO TINK THAT UNIV IS FOR ADULTS AND U SAY WAT IS GOING ON HERE

God forbid! Thankful for the opportunity i got.

Let me just ask this question. If you go late to chapel and ur given two options cos you have violated the school's rule. Either you get a suspension or kneel down. Which option will you choose.

FYI thats the VC in native i also knelt down during my time

The belt functions to tighten your muscles
by contracting them, and then relaxing them, and then repeating the motion,
and it targets all the muscle tissues in your abdominal section.

Look at my page ... mysweetvillage.com

The signals connect with concentrated nerve regions, which in turn spread the signal to the entire abdominal area.

My webpage; prnewswire.com

people that go to private universities don't go there because they didn't pass JAMB. I scored 277 in JAMB and i am in a private university.

truth said...

I wont say much. This goes out to some of you that kept saying those that went to public universities their parents cant afford private university. Lmao. Your own papa wey rich why e no carry go oxford or harvard. No, malaysia dey closer and cheaper, awon weyrey. Paper money no dey make noise abeg.

lizzybee said...

well, my advice for all who posted one thing or the other is to always think well before saying anything. no one forced any student to be in dat position. they were only pleading with the vc and its becos of d cordial rel we av wt our vc. no one dares punish us. and d person dat said we landed in glorify sec sch cos we didnt pass jamb, i wud like to c ur ssce and utme results. i am sure u go die seeing mine. if u insist, i wud just tell you to meet me on top

lizzybee said...

shut ur trap my friend! y e dey pain you? dont b too jealous dear. wu said ur parents shud nt send u to a pivate institution? better retrace ur step and dont be an envious person becos, envy kills fast, hmmmmmmmmm!

lizzybee said...

lies, all lies! no bowen university student here can tell me dat he/ she was compelled to kneel down as a form of punishment. no be so ooooo! find out info before always jumping to conclusion. si ke naaaaaaaaaaaaaa

lizzybee said...

discipline reforms.i love bowen university and i represents it. i cant allow u to shit-wash my sch. or can u???

Victorina said...

This is cool!

comfirm!!!!!!!!!!!dahs how its goes down o

comfirm...dahs hw it goes down/!!!!!!!

#kojoBeniakun said...

Itz a bloody freaking lie. I'm an ex-bowenite & ws in sch wen it hpnd. Yes,itz a mission sch & d rule is dnt come late 2 chpl,else u risk facing d disciplinary committee. Those folks were late & their names were being penned down when d then vc pleaded wt d "officers " taking d names 2 let dem kneel 4 a few moments rather than receive a worse punishment. So he was wrng 4 being fatherly & nt wanting 2 put dem thru d agony of pleading excessively??? Mtcheew!!. Most of y'all r jst jam talking..... glorified secondary sch my foot...dey were all given d option of declining d admission Bt dey accepted d rules & d consequences of nt following dem

#kojoBeniakun said...

Clearly, u r delusional. So u think we just paid 2 get admitted??? Good God!,d way some ppl think. Those of us that attended private schs wrote jamb OK? Bt rather than spend 8-12 Yrs studying a 4yr course,we choose 2 accept their rules & abide by them......@least ASUU nvr hd 2 b my concern. Ask those still sitting @ hme,prayn evryday.

Anwunli Esenwah said...

Disgraceful! Once a person gets into the university, that person ceases to be a child. He/she is an adult and should be treated as such.

Hmmm.. Nigerianslik u jst talk blindly... pple call d uneducated lame men bt i tink its u guys dat re sain private unis re bad nd re 4 pple dat didnt pass jamb dat re d lame 1s... sum1 should do me d favour of checkin d best uni in nigeria nd if u cant check lemme surprise u by telin u its covenant uni.... nd bowen admission is lik fitin 4 admission in OAU.....only d educated dat re nt lame will know wat am sain nd face reality......hmmm Nigerianso_O:-(

Nezzie said...

all those in federal uni abi na public uni...u guyz have no right to insult those in private uni....cuz in dat fedral uni of a SHIT has its own disadvantage or do u tink ts evry one in dat federal uni dah pass jamb?....nd fr d punishment ts actually nyc in a way...HOPE TO B AN ESCAPEE WEN AH GET DERE!!!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 294 of 294   Newer› Newest»