Babcock University releases school fees for next session. Students protest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 21 April 2013

Babcock University releases school fees for next session. Students protest

Well, they are not protesting in school or complaining to their school administration...they are protesting via the media. A few students from the school have sent me mails complaining about the exorbitant fees they are being made to pay to get an education. The university just released the school fees for the next session and some of the students feel its outrageous. See it below...
1) Accounting- N1.5million
2) Nursing- N1million
3) Law- N2million
4) Medicine- N3million
5) Others- N860,000
The students are scared to protest in their school because they could get suspended. Babcock is a Christian University and claims to be a non-profit organization, so students don't understand why they have to pay such huge amounts to school there. But here's my thing; complaining about the school fees of a private university is like complaining about the cost of a first class plane ticket. You have other options; business class, premium economy class, economy class. If this is too much for you, move to a federal school, state school or less expensive private schools. Not that I support these fees, I think it's ridiculous. You pay N3million a session to become a doctor and when you eventually get a job, you make less than N200 thousand a month...doesn't make much sense to me...but that's the way the school wants to operate. You either take it or leave it! What do you guys think?

But meanwhile, is there anything the federal government can do for these students? Like, make their University bring down the fees?

438 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 438 of 438

see ehn...parents want d best for their children and if dey feel private schools r d best den so be it..bt that doesn't give private schools d right to over work or frustrate our parents..if public schools were okay, den mayb dis problem won't come up and yeah, instead of spendin such amount of money foolishly here in naija..its beta to go abroad especially for medicine..its nt like d medicine here is so so okay nyway..dis country is jst tiring..

oluwapelumi said...

okay okay.. this is getting crazy.. majority of u r hopeless students of federal and state universities. you dnt av d slightest idea of whats going on here. my dad is giving me d best by putting me in Babcock. its not like he's super rich or something.. its just something he gotta do cz of d standard of education in nigeria. d new bill 4 next session is outrageous. Agreed... but if u talk 4rm now till eternity, nothing is gon change.. if ur kul with it stay if not get d fuck out. so all ya shud kip linda busy by leaving ur comments and if u've gat brain act like u really do.

All those insulting Babcock Uni are just fucking haters. Did you know fuel subsidy would be removed a year before it happened? Move to Algeria nau. Idiots oshi. God would provide jare

Productstan said...

They r not suppose to protest @ all. Since d pple goin to d sch tinks d av enuf money, dey shuld as well continue. Tot dey call demselves d bigger boiz.

Lol I just had to write this, for the ignorant human who says "you'll never taste bbq chicken with your 3million till you graduate"... I can see why you go to school ? To eat bbq? Bbq that you can't eat during the holidays?.... Its clearly written in the school's brochure that the school runs on a VEGETARIAN DIET, google it please and stop acting ignorant... Btw the medical school is the Benjamin S. Carson school of medicine he was in Nigeria last year to launch it and the students have and exchange programs with universities in the UK, india, and USA for clinicals, I've got friends there and their lecturers are from unilag, OAU and other unis so they get a wide range of experience..it looks worth it to me, only narrow minded ppl would put money 1st before benefits, money comes and goes jo... Dats all

TOBI said...

Seriously, i still respect my school (Bowen university).... Y'all shud start thinking of coming to bowen... Babcock *smh*

TOBI said...

Seriously Y'all shud start thinking of coming to bowen... Bowen rules... babcock *smh*.....

i still love my school, let fees be hiked to 1billion, Babcock stil remains the best after Bowen University.

still repping Bowen University.

You know Linda at first I was with you on this one but then I did the Math. 860000 for regular courses is just over 5000 dollars. You can find courses in some parts of Canada that charge that for domestic and international students. The deal-breaking question now is, is Babcock adequately equipped with the facilities to justify this? If they are then fine but if they're not then it's just robbery.

CerebrallyBusy said...

This is false information. M#y sister goes to babcock and she said this information is untrue.

Churches are a joke in Nigeria.... It is not as expensive to study in the UK

If those figures are actually true, Babcock University management should be out of their minds. I've been to the school on several occasions and its not just worth it. I never saw any building of true architectural inspiration, bespoke land scape or labs that were carrying out researches to proffer solutions to the numerous community problems of Ilusan where its the school is sited. All they do is admit student, do the chalk and blackboard route teaching for 4 or 5 years and hand then an A4 cardboard paper with their logo and Bsc on it. I don't mean to be rude, but with the so much nonsense going on in Unilag,were I am right now for my maters, Unilag is still light years ahead of Babcock.

lol! all this school comparison...pikin wey go read go read...weda na public school o or private school, even abroad. i've written job tests and hve gone for interviews *with my glorified secondary school certificate* where i was chosen over pple with foreingn certificates(just to say its not all about the school, its about the person also)the fact is, as 'pako' nigerians that we are, BU gives you the enabling environment to be the best you can be#naijastandard
i finished from BU and am proud(any day anytime).i also have a great job to show for it(God's grace).

but whilst in school, i must say, i never felt like i got my money's worth. seems it is still the same thing going on, for goodness sake, if i pay 3M, i should feel i paid 3M...cos it even got to points where the meals were barely palatable...some accomodations were not up to standard n you cud see staff going to Dubai with your monies KOROKORO...So in essence, if students dont feel the worth of their money, BU shud up their game or reduce the fees...haba, 3M is a lot na(not good to feel cheated with such an amount involved)

All in all, God de n he wud provide.

watin we know as school and still accept as school no be dis kind kukuruku!!! schools. This rather are anti-Christ movements despite the fact say na tithers and cheerful offering givers contribute & slave build am. Dem pickin no get chance & mouth for there Still end up like normal " community pry, secondary & University" Gov. should start clamping on dem with TAXes - Ojo.I.Olajide@facebook.com

U cajoled & harrassed ur poor hapless church membas in2 contributing 2wards buildin a university,hospital or any oda big budget projects.

Harrassed dem in2 contributin dere technical know-how 2 gettin d project up & runnin @ almost F.O.C,& den priced it out of reach of their children...Am not sorry 4 d students dere..na dia parents got what they deserve & its often difficult 4 students in private university 2 transfer 2 federal ones..

With that amount y can comfortably study medicine in one of those unis in Ukraine. Serzly...3milla is so not it abeg

big man, big trouble!!!!

Haters!!!!!!!!!!!!!! U can al GTH 4 al I care especially u @damilola get dz straight in2 ur head we (I mean BU students)all av an edge ova u. So dnt compare dat dead skul wt ours. N as 4 d mass comm studnt did u wait 2 gather d right info 4rm d skul authority b4 spreadin false rumours? 4 ur info medical students r nt payin 3m neither do d acctn,nursin n law studnts pay up 2 dat. Although d fees were increasd bt no fees apart 4 medical fees z up 2 1m. Dnt blame u guyz tell me if u av d opportunity 2 km 2 BU won't u grab it? Jst stop hating on us

its a private sch they can increase the fees how they like nd it isnt govt business

let all students come out and protest they cant suspend everybody

those of you saying my friend went there and changed;she lost her virginity....etc are all dumb dont people go to federal schools and changed or do their lecturers fall down from heaven to lecture.the truth is that those girls are not principled and they have forgotten the homes where they came from.And those of you comparing with fed universities remember the govt has different ways of generating funds which they put into different sectors.the govt already has a way of getting money that is why those in fed schools dont pay much.You are calling BU a charity org....hw wil they pay teaching and non teaching staff or do you think they are doing it voluntarily and they also pay students who are on work study.And also other charges they have to pay e.g do you think the light you enjoy in school for more than 17hrs is free BU did something about it cos I remember when we used to use the gen throughout the session.so pls try to be reasonable and the school fees is not as high as people say cos I still have a sister there or better still if you think its too high go to the regular halls instead of paying 150,000 extra or less depending on the type of hall you want.pls stop associating students' immoral act with the school or did anybody force you to party when your mates were reading or submitting assignments or writing exams and later you go to the lecturers for make-up and different stories enter.enough of all these immoral things and be disciplined.Life in BU is not that bad just do the right thing at the right time...aunty Linda abeg post

ATTENDED BABCOCK UNIVERSITY YEAH ND D FEES WZ HIGH DEN REALLY DO NT KNW Y DEY ARE COMPLAINING IF THEIR PARENTS CANT AFFORD T ANYMORE WITHDRAWAL S AN OPTION SIMPLE DEY R LIKE 100 FED AND STATE UNIVERSITIES N NIGERIA SO PLZZZZ TRANSFER TO 1

Linda, where did you get this information from, it is always better to investigate before publishing. Just checked the school website and your information has been denied. The school fees is there on the website for all to see. This is highly misleading and damaging to the institution, I just hope you are not an agent of their competitors.
For all using webometric ranking to rank universities, better grow up and be educated, web ranking as the name implies does not mean education quality or standard measurement. If public uni are up and doing well as in advanced countries nobody will want to waste money to get the same qualification and mind you the advantages of private unis in Nigeria far outweigh that of public- there is no basis of comparison.

thank you.

i dont tink u shud say so Linda, some of these pple entered when the fees were at a price they cud afford,do u tink it is easy getting into federal skools?? i was forced to enter private cos unilag n uni abj didnt take me despite the fact i had 265 in jamb. Thank God i went to private skool when the fees where still reasonable

too many ignorant retards posting comments on this site. first off this gist is false, secondly even if it isnt, insinuating that paying that much for education in BU wen u can go to a federal school is a shitty argument. i know babcock has its issues (i'm a babcock student, oh i shud say ex student)but coming on here to pull the whole goin to a private uni is wack stunt is just stupid. people want differnt things out of life and private uni's can serve as a different platform for them to achieve this, so if u are not experiencing this problem first hand, i dont think you should post ignorant comments on here

Dats not true stop posting nonsense about babcock university. Dats not what dey are paying as school fees, is only medcine dat is paying 2million bcos it covers so many thing, if you want know d exact fee check d school site.

busola said...

this is very outrageous and unfair. we all know it is a private school but that should not be enough reason to exploit them,parents send their children to private schools because of admission problems accompanied with federal universities so we shouldn't blame them and you don't expect students in 300 level to back out at this stage. private universities deceive a lot,its the same with all of them i am student of afe babalola university and they do the same for us here but ours has not gotten to that stage.its high time people stopped the notion that it is because you are rich that you send your child to a private university some parents only do it because they want the best for their children and also the federal and state universities we have in this country are not enough to accomodate every student seeking admission.

If they can tell u d date of convocation on the day of matriculation, they should hv as well told dem hw much dey'll b required 2 pay till graduation. Poor students, they were setup

Very soon this site will be famous among all blog visitors, due to
it's fastidious articles or reviews

Here is my web blog ... Gucci Ufficiale

Qanmii said...

Lolzzzzzzz lk seriously this is so so so funi.. I cnt imagine myself payin 3million to study medicine.. Aniway itz rily nt d fault of d students or parentz.. Itz d educational system dt nidz adjustment.. Wen a child has atemptd jamb nd yet no admisn 1 is left wit no option dan to opt 4 alternative meanz... But stil ppll r nt pluckin moni 4rm trees,,, d feez should be reduced cos i cnt xpect sm1 in 300/400level to change skul..

dis is rubbish.....hw do they expect our parents to raise such an amount of money....is this school a christian skul or charity organisation...i just dont understand....

successminds said...

Please think properly b4 you post comments why justify what is wrong put yourself in the shoes of the affected students as a matter of fact some parents were forced to opt for private schools because no matter how much they have tried admissions are not forth coming. those that support this outrageous act will definately do worse if given an oppurtunity like this thats why some of them never get it.its lack of integrity, reason and Accountability.

fiyin said...

If u tink of hw federal skuls strikes nowadays,u wil knw it worth

fiyin said...

If u tink of hw federal skuls strikes nowadays,u wil knw it worth

Babcock University 2014/15 admission page Now open 2014/15,call_08134342700

Educational Tutor said...

This is just too much, our government should try and regulate Tertiary Institution Fees.

Look, this is a fallacy of some sort. The amount portrayed by Linda is not exactly as it seems. I'm a Babcock law student and the amount is at most 800,000

Let's not forget that they've banned indomie oh. 😂😂. Sha, na we carry ourselves go there. God help us.

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 438 of 438   Newer› Newest»