32 people, including 22 Nigerians arrested for multi-million credit card fraud in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 April 2013

32 people, including 22 Nigerians arrested for multi-million credit card fraud in the US

Nigerians o, choi! 32 people, including 22 Nigerians have been arrested in a multimillion, multi-state identity theft and credit card fraud ring. See the report from www.nj.com below...
The Hudson County Prosecutor's Office first got involved in the investigation in the early fall of 2012, when they received numerous complaints from victims as far away as California claiming that credit cards in their name made fraudulent retail purchases in Hudson County, officials said yesterday.
Using store video and physical surveillance, the detectives were able to identify several suspects, authorities state. Detectives then linked those suspects to hundreds of other accounts and millions of dollars in phony transactions.
Please continue...

The leaders of the group, authorities say, purchased the identities of unsuspecting victims from online brokers, who got the information from computer hackers across the United States.

In a process known as "punching," electronic account information from the cards' magnetic strips would be transferred onto counterfeit cards, which were provided to "strikers" who conducted the purchases at retailers all over the Eastern Seaboard, authorities say.

Teams of strikers purchased retail gift cards that were then used to purchase various electronic items, authorities say. Those items were then sold in bulk to fences in New York and New Jersey, authorities say. The fence would then sell the items to other people for cash payments.

The investigation has identified nearly 1,000 victims across the country and millions of dollars in phony transactions, authorities say.

Authorities say the suspects spent the proceeds on luxury cars, high-end jewelry and other lavish expenses. Some of the money was additionally sent to accounts in Nigeria, authorities say. 

Acting Hudson County Prosecutor Guy Gregory commended a long list of agencies that were involved in the take down, saying, "The operation could not have succeeded without their assistance."

Defendants charged with money laundering, theft by deception, wrongful impersonation and conspiracy include: Bolaji Ola, 30, of Sayreville; Olamide Otti, 27, of Queens; Akintunde Adeyemi, 28, of East Orange; David Brown, 27, of Parlin; Adegbola Adedeji, 31, of Parlin; Oluwaseun Jato, 23, of Hillside; Oluwasola Diji, 31, of Westbury, NY; Oladapo Araromi, 26, of Elizabeth; and Bertrand Ahaneku, 25, of South Orange.

Those charged with theft by deception, wrongful impersonation, and conspiracy include: Oluwaseun Adekoya, 25, of Sewaren; Henry Abdul, 25, of Union; Babatunde Oyefeso, 27, Union; Michael Assih, 24, of East Orange; John Orubo, 32, of Brooklyn; Idris Soyemi, 25, of Brooklyn; Imrahim Akaba, 23, of Piscataway; Vladimir Francois, 27, of Newark; Yves Desir, 29, of Irvington; Aglaide Alzuphar, 23, of Newark; Kossi Klutse, 25, of Newark; Evon Morris, 23, of East Orange; Fontessa Foreman, 27, of Newark; Olutoye Babatunde, 22, of Plainfield; Olukayode Adeosun, 30, of Newark; Gologo Benshaw, 25, of Newark; Olushola Ayeni, 31, of Brooklyn; Orwells Oyakhire, 24, of Maplewood.

Oladayo Araromi, 26, of Linden and Olujimi Williams, 24 of Hillside were charged with conspiracy. Matthew Sabo, 29, of Sayreville and Vijay Shah, 24, of Springfield, are charged with fencing, conspiracy, and receiving stolen property.

Oladayo Araromi, a nurse at Hudson County jail making $79,298, has been suspended without pay, Hudson County spokesman Jim Kennelly said today.

Of the 32 arrested, 24 appeared in Central Judicial Processing court this afternoon. Bail was set for those who appeared by Hudson County Superior Court Judge Joseph Isabella prior to their court appearance.

More arrests are expected, said Hudson County Assistant Prosecutor Gene Rubino.

There's an update on the story...read it HERE

236 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 236 of 236
Kaycee said...

That is why no go develop as a nation bcs we are tribalistic....na Naija steal and we dey look out for the names say na Yoruba...Shame on you that use tribe

Despicable characters I dare say.
Ot is more that tribe my fellow Nigerians. Here in southern California, there is a common perception that the Ibo boys living in Hollywood and the valley are mostly onto fraud of one form or the other while the same applies Yoruba bays in Riverside, San Bernadino and the Inland Empire.
The bottom line we should be addressing is the fact that they are tarnishing our common image as hardworking Nigerian immigrants.
On a heavier note, I sure hope that they are all American citizens for their own good or else given the current INS rules, they would be on the plane back to Nigeria after serving their prison term, green cards or EAD revoked.
I dare say good riddance.

A rich igbo man will never marry a yoruba girl but once a yoruba man makes little money he ll try to marry an igbo women what a shame

It's a shame really that in this generation us educated people and am sure some of you commenting even schooled abroad and open minded and are still tribalististic. Most people here are blinded by the real picture. Pointing fingers at who did what. And calling Linda names. And what kills me is that tomorrow sunday most of you will pack yourselves to church and pray pass everyone. Let me point out oyinbos don't know the difference all they say is they are Nigerians. Let me point out also that I am Igbo. So am not taking sides. Our name is dragged to the mud again. And all we doing is pointing fingers. I feel sorry for my kids and yours. Please let's focus here. The bigger question how do we make this country and it's citizens a better place.

You people should watch the way you comment'is it your father father's money,we all do one thing or the other to survive no1 is a saint here pray you don't get caught cos ur own will be worse than this'idiots running there mouth like al ya hands clean'.futek.

@Lucinda, get out of here, otherwise you will be fucked!

And who said dat yorubas dont use their family for rituals. Give me a break........... Wasnt it in the news last year that two yoruba brodas killed their brother, kept his corpse in the house and was selling the parts for money. It was even reported that their father and got missing that way too. So what d heck are u guys talking about. What about the man that killed his banker wife? We should know by now that its not about tribe anymore. MOST NIGERIANS ARE SUFFERING FROM SERIOUS POVERTY OF THE MIND

This blog always reminds me of how dumb and shallow we Nigerians are.....WTF does tribe have to do with it? Did any of you choose the circumstances of your birth? individuals should answer for crimes and not whole tribes. Wole Soyinka and Chinua Achebe are Ibo and Yoruba and they've done great things........It's got nothing to do with tribe, it's individuals.

Stop acting retarded! Damn.

@ anon 1:16pm smh come after U̶̲̥̅̊? Are U̶̲̥̅̊ worth it?.. Such a shame soo many fins re wrng in dis country and wif the pple. Am a yoruba boi wif wonderful igbo frnds soo close wif brotherly bond. Buh to come here nd see dis, such hatred and tribalism? Leaves ♍ƺ in total dismay. Habba...
Igbo,Yoruba or Hausa etc I knw God has a better plan 4 Us as one Nigeria and It ll get bettr.... Feel soo sorri 4 those boiz.. #Bless

LMAO, why are you wicked?

All the Igbo ignoramuses mentioning tribe are just silly. Yes I am Yoruba and proud and don't care that almost all these boys are Yoruba. Why? Because I am not a narrow minded fool who thinks that 22 people represent millions of people. I guess I should say all Igbos are ritualists because of Orija Shrine or all Igbos are scammers because most of the lists that come out have Igbos all over the place.

You can sit in your chair and curse Yorubas out and all that BS but the truth remains that all that makes no difference to anyone other that you and any bigoted people you have around you. When any other person reads this they will see NIGERIANS. If you didn't like Yorubas before then this does not make a difference and if you did, this did not make you suddenly start hating us so be honest with yourself and see yourself for the tribalist you have always been. At the end of the day what these boys did reflects on all of us whether you like it or not. Lol.

This is really sad, imagine what this people will put their parents through, and to think that they are the ones giving Nigerians in the US bad name, i for one have been in this country for 16yrs and so far i have never been involved in any crime, i have been working two jobs and even going to School part time to take care of myself and my family and imagine how i feel when all this Americans make judgement and put all Nigerians as thieves, this is not fair at all it is not all Nigerians in the US that engage in fraudulent activities. God help us and i hope all the other young chaps out there will learn from this and get serious.

Okey said...

Linda...don't you have admin rights to screen off all these moronic comments about tribes in Naija again??? Haba..you're so well respected and your blog is no more a local thing...why tarnish our image further after the initial post by allowing all these stupid comments from tribalistic idiots who cannot see the big shame this brings on ALL of us as Nigerians?....My dear, abeg do something about it o..reading some of these comments has already started making me feel more stupid...

John cooper said : living in naija making money from yankee, jand, china malaysia etc etc, popping tins @ voodoo etc, without yahoo yahoo i for don sell my papa house. yahoo boy proud and out, these guys fk up for being caught....

funny that even in the world of crime there is so much ethnicity and nepotism in this country....we need more federal character in these things instead of having all yorubas,ibos or edos running these syndicates

Just to show how backward we Nigerians really are,i think its time to start a web site where nijah can insult each others tribes till their hearts content.
That way we can show the world how dumb some of us really are.

I loveeeeeeeeeeeee Nigerians Ibo ,Yoruba it doesn't matter. I know both. Don't be embarrassed by a bad apples behavior. I find Nigerians to be intelligent determined individuals. You have far more to be proud of than ashamed of

The tribal war between Yoruba and Igbo here is NOTHING compare to what is going on in Punch Newspaper. It is outright WAR!

Kamari said...

Yoruba people are too materialistic.. everyone knows that. these ones were just too lazy to work hard for lives they wanted.. IDIOTS

What made you think its just one of them that has a child and besides some of the names mentioned are actually hard working guys only that they are seen with and are walking with the wrong crowd. So please dont judge and let them find them guilty first.
They say nigerians are scammers when most of them are American citizens.

@jay, true that. This boys are not Nigerians. They have nationalised with the US and what ever happens to them is their business. Nigerians leave in Nigeria, not leaving as a second class citizen in a foreign land.

Doggy

Beemzy said...

Babatunde Oyefeso u r a Disgrace to d fam ..... u keep wasting ur parents money ,sha dnt put d rest of d fam over dia in bull Sh************************t dumb ass

pakistanadsense said...

Do not pass your information of credit card over the phone. and inform you issuer when you are out of country.

Whoever associates this menace to a particular tribe is damn silly and stupid. As far as i am concerned; only one or two comments made sense by pointing to the fact that all Nigerians take their shameless behavior all around the world due to our shameless attitude of stealing, corruption and fraudlent acts back home. "Charity begins at home" Ya leaders are ponzi scammers so the tails are toeing their path. Y'all bunch of idiots!!!

Well what i know is everybody is OLE but every one know where he did his own once should not blame yoruba ,or hausa every one of us is OLE ,its only arm robber that bad, internet ,robber ,paper robber,gov robber,abroad is not easy to life if once is not know how to do 1+2=12,but we should know what to do,that is the best,omotowodele ni iyaree yoyin,most of people write word here if they in usa or uk they can do more than that if they know the way,everybody check your self .........

@anon 6.12 You are a fool i swear down

UP NIJA we always at the top for real we are the best and we need to let them know we are...We were used to serve them but right now they are the ones serving us...but guys you fucked up you called yourself hackers but you dont know how to look at your shoulders where are you bugs fuck you need lectures...I AM HERE PLEAsE COME AND ARREST ME e mu ti...a bi e ti mun ni

Virtual Credit Card said...

Here i have Question that Is the Credit Card is the Taxable? If yes than how much?

Facebook VCC & VCC said...

Can i convert my rewards to cash back if i get rewards on open a new account.

I m a yoruba man & proud to be..... pls stop blk on blk crime. Yoruba, ibo or hausa we are all nigerians. Now, Charity begins @ home. Mr Goodluck is the head of fraudsters. It is very despicable that our people involved in this intolerable acts. But not just nigerians who re scammers. For instance, look @ ENRON situation or those wall street sophisticated thieves. Or watch a new TV show call American Greed & tell what u think. Realistically speaking, the big boys of this country are the true scammers.

A promise ring is a kind of commitment to your partner.
Diamonds are all about getting engaged large size rings, while gold is associated
with marriage. 6) If you or your partner think of jewellery as more of
a female thing, fear not.

Stop by my homepage; site

They were probably trying to impress those wack NY naija girls

Vicky said...

This is cool!

I never knew that a matter like this has been going on in this word of ours, but i will urge some of u who only sat ur ass down there waiting for different stories from travelers and just judging through all the social media posting and counterfeit news hovering around the world rather than looking at some other side of things before u start judging. Nigerians are not bad people and never would be because this whole thing going on about the blemish acts towards the country's image are not supposed to be what about those that has happened from the same american citizens which would never be shown to the world all countries are corrupted, america are not even talking about the mexicans out there which are causing so much atrocities, drug trafficking and all sort of illegal acts they will never bring them to the light because they are part of the Northern america continent whatever that has to do with africa is what they start exaggerating and some fools will start backing them up, we all know the truth what about the mission america has accomplished in Libya the war is still going on there no one is really talking about that. Wise up my fellow africa and don't any white skinned folks always tagged us a bad reputations at all time.

Now let me clarify u igbos that are here for criticizing ur fellow brother only because of blemish accusation placed on other tribe Yoruba are not lazy people so as the igbos either even the hausas, these three tribes has made the country's name traveled far specifically Igbos and Yoruba both have their good and other side. I'm not here to criticize anyone or trying to make any comment against anyone, what i must say is let us not allow anyone to start making Nigeria the top stories concerning crime at all time, there was a break in at the white house in the same United States the moment they started doing a background checking for them they found out one Nigerian born american was among the next story that goes to the headline was Nigerian has break in to the white house meanwhile the guy was born and raised over there probably someone who has never even stepped Nigeria, of recent there was a news concerning one american guy who went and rape a girl somewhere in europe the new has vanished from google now i wonder why the one for africa still remained there since 20012, those money they are talking about what about those good heritage of africa the artefact they stole and took over there a lot of things they forcefully taken from africa those trade by bather they have made over helping african countries they have put them behind and just trying to act sagacious over things. Believe u me if it was those american doing all the fraud and other activities they will modernize it and coated somehow nice for the world to accept what about Gay law, what about Illuminati and what about the Church of Satan but it goes all over the world was all that the good things to be invented in a country i'm proudly Nigerian to the call and a Yoruba to the fullest i will never ridicule my country or tarnish the image of my tribe either, just like the americans and the u.k always proud of their nationality.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 236 of 236   Newer› Newest»