22 year old man to die by hanging in Warri for stealing N955, 600 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 April 2013

22 year old man to die by hanging in Warri for stealing N955, 600

A court in Warri has sentenced a young man to death by hanging for stealing N955k. Below is how Sunnewsonline.com is reporting it...
A 22-year-old man, Julius Aboy was yesterday sentenced to death for stealing N955, 600 by a Delta State High Court sitting in Warri. The trial judge, Justice Marshal Mukoro of High Court 1, who handed down the sentence told the convict that he is to die by hanging.
The convict was arraigned on a two-count charge of conspiracy to commit armed robbery and armed robbery, offences punishable under Sections 6(b) and 1(2)(a) respectively of the Robbery and Firearms (Special Provisions) Act Cap. RII Volume 14, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.
In the first count, Julius Aboy and others now at large were reported to have on or about the 4th day of March, 2011 in Warri, conspired with others now at large to commit armed robbery.
In the second count, Julius Aboy and others now at large were also reported to have, on or about the 4th day of March, 2011 in Warri, robbed one Godwin Gwuene of N955, 600, while armed with a gun. The money was said to be Ususu contribution (savings), belonging to workers, serving as cleaners in a company in Warri.
The armed robbery gang, of which Aboy was allegedly a member, ran out of luck when an oncoming vehicle knocked down their getaway motorbike at the scene of the crime, leading to the arrest of the convict and killing of another member of the gang by an angry mob.
Justice Mukoro said the excuse of poverty, which the convict gave as reason of dropping out of school and venturing into crime was not tenable, as poverty was not a licence for criminality.

180 comments:

TOBY said...

what are our corrupt politicians still doing alive?

Linda all I have to say is that your blog cured my high blood pressure. No joke! God bless you ♥

I get my daily dose of laugh from here. Sweet!

yvonne said...

haaaaaaaaa! i can drop the money pls dey shudnt kill d young guy! what happened to corrective measures!

so y is bankole nd his likes nt sentenced to death by hanging? na devil na im go punish dat judge fr dis yeye judge wey him judge dis yung lad so.. if na billions d boi thief nw dem fr no hang am them fr say mak him go prison, one month later u go see am fr london dey flex... all of diz thief thief politicians and yeye judges God is watchin u on plasma T.v
Vera said so

That indeed serves him right. Let him join his colleague in hell. Unfortunately however, it seems criminals on death row are hardly, if ever, executed these days in Nigeria. I can't remember hearing of any executions lately, yet many are on the death row.

tunde said...

Too bad..... no doubt he has committed an offense.....But politicians and leaders steal billions of Naira, yet nothing happens to them.

www.naijaopenmouth.com

let them hang all the other theives that stealing billions.

Ur caption "stealing"got me thinking the judge was wrong bt seeing d content of the whole statement makes clear sense y he was sentenced to death.

IJ BABY said...

oh ma goshhhh, sentenced to death?; when some people in Nigeria loot public funds worth billions of naira and they are granted bail...kai judiciary, u people are supposed to be the last hope of a common man..atleast a jail term would have served him right , WHY TAKING HIS LIFE?....GOD is watching ooo....sobbing

This is so out of place! Has the justice system in Nigeria ever given any politician who steals billions a death sentence ever? Smh! Its incontrovertible that the man needs to be punished under the law but this is out of place!

Yaaaaaay!First to comment

Babyross64 said...

Okay now that's too harsh..... Pple steal billions and get jail terms wat is wrong wit dis country???

I don't pity robbers 1 bit,especially d ones in delta. They don't just steal,they steal n kill same time

and pension scam thief dat stole billions was given a slap on d wrist nd askd to pay chiken change nd set free.naija.imagin delta state airport was built for 27.6billion,national stadium abuja was built wit less dat amount.den imagin waking up one morning and finding out dat som1 just stole d airport or d stadium,dats d brevity of d pension tefth,but una fit hang less dan a million thief,not condoning steling,but at least do d right tin.

My heart goes out to this youth that has barely even started his life but I wonder if he doesn't pay attention to the news in Nigeria to know the trend of theft of money in the country goes thus: The higher the amount the lower the penalty.

Kester said...

Weird! Does this crime warrant a death sentence? What about the Ogas at the top stealing and siphoning billions? May God save Nigeria.

tsk said...

With the bad rep of Warri people being very fraudulent, crafty and the smartest criminals out of naija, its ironic this judge would sentence him to death. I beg free the guy jo warri people are born to be thieves point blank period.

Olorilee said...

What about all the politicians and leaders stealing billions, they should all face the same punishment!!! No crime is big or small!!! Nawa oh!!!

Steve4uman said...

People that steal billions what are they going to do to them

So d billion naira thief shld just pay 750k baaa. Niaja I hail oh

............Silence!

yemolala said...

That is wickedness of d highest order for a poor guy like dat,politicians that stole millions of naira from the pension fund didnt get a death penalty by hanging ooooo.the verdicts nids to be review ooooo

One word: ridiculous

Hahah

............Silence!

Y Is ds news? The law says armmed robbery is purnishable by death. E no mata hw much u steal. Mvn on abeg!

Just read 1 news like dat: association of witches n wizards in nigeria said Buhari cannot b president. I am just wondering wen witches n wizards started seeking attention too.

yemolala said...

Linda,make sure u post that comment oooo cos am not saying wat he did was right but the verdict given to him is too barbaric ooooo.

Jasuquo said...

hello to death, haba where is the justice in that? our judicial system is not for the masses at all. its for the rich and the people that steal huge amount which has also resulted in the death of so many citizens. why death?

Chillichi said...

*its my first time commenting on ur blog*
Hmmmm, sad world. How do we sentence the political "gurus" who have stolen larger breath-taking amounts?

Don't waste your time/life stealing petty sum. if you have to steeal, steal big and you will walk freely in 9ja my country.

Imagine, death sentence for stealing less than a million, while billionaire thief are protected by our government.

what an irony.It so sad in this country of mine>

They shud ave given him amnesty naaa!!!

Chillichi said...

My first time commenting on your blog :)
well its sad...so how do we sentence those political "gurus" who've carted away breath-taking figures??? its a misplaced system....

That's just wrong and too harsh...
He's 22 for Christ sake, the aluu 4 convicts r still alive nd dis poor boy is setenced to death 4 robbery?!!
Tragic!!

Whl a pension thief gets 2 pay 750k as fine,anoda get a presidential pardon...."animal farm"nt dat am encouraging crime bt wat is gud 4 d goose is gud 4 d gander.

That indeed serves him right. Let him join his colleague in hell. Unfortunately however, it seems criminals on death row are hardly, if ever, executed these days in Nigeria. I can't remember hearing of any executions lately, yet many are on the death row.

he dies by hanging while the politicians who steal billions are set free...the only crime he has committed is 'being poor'. May God be the Judge.

Patrick said...

Why this kind judge no hear the case of Ibori, Bode George, Alamiesigha, John Yakubu etc. Abeg!

these judge will die by hanging some times some how

Wayo too full dis country, if dey hang him for stealing. What happens to all our politicians that steal our public funds, so justice only goes to d poor while d rich go scot free everyday.

Smh,na wa.

that's what you get when you live in a banana republic like NIgeria, ilind, n that same delta state ibori stole them dwarf Uduaghan is beating Ibori's record, RMD and tourism board 50million naira scandal...truly *****justice is mean't for the people who can buy it******

when judgement is given it should be reasonable and also for the fact that the accused is wrong does not mean that little consideration shouldn't be given. now don't get me wrong i'm not trying to justify the fact that he is right for what he has done but the judgement given is absurd and unnecessary. considering the fact that the cause of his action was as a result of poverty caused by government then the government is to blame at some point. had it been that poverty was not in the picture, there would be no issue . its like a chain of causation the condition the government put him through caused his action but he is wrong for stealing though but then again so many governmental official steal everyday and they still wipe of their name so i don't understand why his case should be different? my argument here is Nigeria who singed to the universal declaration of human rights clearly know that Article 3 of the universal declaration of human rights states that 'everyone has the right to life' and for the mer fact that Nigeria signed to it then it means the government who has a duty to protect these rights have failed in this case. the whole point of this is judiciary should be fair and not consider anyone as minority but as equal if it was to be a big man who has boys that run their you know what i mean business then the case would have been different.

Oga Lawyer said...

Enlighten your minds....it doesn't matter how much is stolen, armed robbery is a CAPITAL offence in Nigeria!

I know some semi-illiterates and educated illiterates will start making reference to government thieves...

ifechukwu iwuoha said...

May his greedy soul rest in peace if it s possible.....

n

poverty!poverty!!poverty!!! indeed, does the same poverty make our leaders looting our treasury too.

Wen wud diz kinda justice b excersied on diz criminal minds dat caLl demselves politicians...?

And wat did John Yusuf get for stealing billions?stealing by govt officials is worst than armed robbery....useless government!!!

That's injustice, killing someone just because he stolen. When he did not kill anybody? That's absolute injustice. What about our leaders that steal billions of naira? I am very sure someday that judge will become a politician and will steal public fund also.

Hmm Naija we hail thee!!

That judgement is way too hard compared to the mild sentence given to highly placed criminals who loot the nations billions by the day and GEJ giving presidential pardon to some one who even stole way more... some sad shit

chivaben said...

There must be another way to punish him, not death by hanging, besides there are government officials that's stole billions of naira, and they are walking around free, God will judge u people ooo.

And Ibori is still alive?????

Anyways its wrong to rob even if its 5000k he'll still be sentenced. But I dnt think a death sentence is fair...idk

How come James Ibori, former governors, current governors and present and past government officials have not been sentenced to death? And they stole more than N1million!

Its not dat I'm in support of dis robbery tin but delta state has a dead governor who takes action without tinkin. Like d way he stopped bike in delta state university without considering hw d pple will feed afterwards nd how students wld go 4 lectures

No comment!

ANYA IKENGA said...

He needs amnesty like boko haram

Nnkkie said...

True talk "poverty is not a licence for criminality" bt then am 1person dat is against d death penalty.I wish dey can stay his execution,hopeful an appeallant court may give a lesser punishment.his fate is nt in God's hands *sad**snh*

it's unfair to give someone a death sentence?what if he changes??for the amount of atrocities we commit in this country and in the world?but for God's abundant mercies who could stand?

i am disappointed in this judgement being passed by the judge. Thats way too hard compared to the person that single handedly stole 27billion naira pension fund. Haba death by hanging on top that small money. Not that i am in support of armed robbery but what about people stealing money at the top without carrying guns and using okada. Nigeria we hail thee

why should he be killed?! how many politicians have been sentenced?? and less dan 1million is making a young boy die by hanging?? Nigeria!!!

Nnkkie said...

Sorry *I meant nw in God's hands*

Na wa oh! What kinda sentence is that? Ofcourse robbery is not accepted or supported in d world, but which one be death by hanging?? Did he kill d president or his family? Dat a judge will sentence him to death! He didn't. Evn kill his victim so what is d hulla ballo about? See boko idiots killing people on a daily basis n yet d president has set up a comitte to grant them amnesty. Ds country is messed!

Amy said...

The Nigerian justice system is a disgrace!

I mean ds country is messed up! Square pegs in round holes!

when would corrupt officers in public places get harsh sentences for public theft? I wonder

Linda your headline is wrong! The guy is guilty of armed robbery and not theft. Please don't mislead the public. Even if he only stole one naira the punishment for robbery is not the same as stealing.

I know some will say this is armed robbery, not corruption & even though I don't condone armed robbery in any way,shape of form, any politician who has 'stolen' the people's money- money that should be used to fix hospitals & provide proper health care is as guilty as this man. When you chop the country's money as a politician instead of fixing roads, then the blood of everyone who has died on those bad roads is on your hands. Our leaders are more guilty than this man who didn't even steal up to 1m. Such an unfair world!

NIG WELDONE OOOOO NA U BIKO

They better review that case, n sentence him to few years in jail, what's d death sentence for? Kettle calling pot black.

This should be appealed! Its not like he killed anybody.

They should hang their govenor while they are at it. all these devil worshippers.

I think he shld be jailed for life not hanged.

I tire o! The same people will complain when armed robbers attack and kill people, the same people will complain when the armed robbers are caught and justice is served... Mtcheww! I'm seriously shaking my head for una.

June said...

And those stealing billions, what happens to them?

Omas992 said...

Wicked justice system. God is watching you all from His throne. His justice is PERFECT!.

Lizzy said...

Death penalty is way too high for roberry. Like other Libers said he didn't kill anyone and govt officials dey tif millions n billions sef n dey r walking around free. He shld have gotten a good number of years in prison with hard labour.

NAWA FOR NIGERIA..... I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND IT ANYMORE. AS IN I'M LOST...
WITH THE SITUATION OF THIS COUNTRY, IT HAS BECOME A 'ROB OR DIE' SITUATION. LIKE NAWA FOR OUR GOVERNMENT.

Jungle Justice said...

Sorry honey, the issue is not the amount stolen, it's the fact that he was armed, hence the "armed robbery" which carries a death sentence prescribed by law. The politicians who steal govt funds aren't armed. What attracts the death penalty is being armed. So if you have a gun in your person and you go to steal a chicken...hello gallows! But if you steal 100M unarmed, you get about 2-5yrs imprisonment and you live to steal another day.

You are a mean soul. I can't believe you actually took the time to type this vile comment.

Nwamaka said...

It is ARMED ROBBERY....Now if you'v heard of any robbery where someone was killed it might have been this guy. Linda your emphasis should be on "Armed Robbery" not what was stolen.There is a difference in law between stealing and Armed Robbery you don't need to be a lawyer to know that.

OluwaBanku said...

This country is so messed up and nobody should gimme that patriotism story cos I totaly believe there is no hope for Nigeria.nothing is done the right way,the justice system is dead and buried and corruption and injustice reigns supreme...Na to pack my family comot for this country sure pass.

JacQue said...

Why are u so wicked? Is jst 900k! Geeez! Ahn ahn he shld do time not death

JacQue said...

Can't he do time? I mean, its just 900k! What's going on here? This can not be in the constitution. Kill and be killed not steal and be killed! Common

Turi said...

Shurrup all of u! Did he kill someone? If he did then we can all say its ok if he dies but seriously, just less than one mill sef! Haba! Dts too much

Guys it is basically the same thing world wide. In yankee all these people like our politicians who commit what they call "white collar crime" will get like 2yrs in jail and possibly serve 1yr. Pen and paper crime but once you use weapons and physical violence then it becomes a totally different ball game and they get harsher sentence. The other thing is poor people or minorities are the ones who commit these armed stealing so that plays into it. So I guess naija elite and rich men get away with stealing becos they are not putting a gun to any ones's head but adding zeros to the end of money and writing personal checks to themselves

A man dat we all kno stole police pension money in billions, and d same court only fine him N750. a boy of 22 stole 900, thousand naira dem want to kill him? what kind of a country is dis???

When dey carry guns u can ask what they r doing alive

my point is this judgement is unacceptable and the government should better do something about it. i promise when i' done studying law i am marching back to Nigeria to solve all these cases. law should be fair and be able to conduct and make impacts on citizens. honestly, would this judgement given make society better?

Blackberry said...

No matter d review of verdict an armed robber should not be allowed to walk free pls....if u hav been attacked by ARMED robbers u will undastand dat dey shud not be given a 2nd chance....politicians don't use guns or kill to steal, dey steal wit pens.....if u wia voted into power today u will steal as well, poilitical fraud n ARMED robbery aint dsame thin but all r crimes also.

Lol. I laughed out loudly while readin all ur comments. 'who nor go nor knw'. I doubt any of u live in Warri. I do. Yesterday, an angry mob beat up a boy who stole a mobile phone-dis boy is clearly not up to 20, dey dashed his head in n beat him with heavy planks till he was unconscious. From where I stood, he looked dead. Then some ruffians carted him away sayin they were going to burn him. Of course everyone knew they were prolly part of his gang n were jst savin his ass. Bt my point is, in Waf Town, thievery is the major crime. N waffites nor geh joy, dem dey vex. So any thief caught, no matter hw small d offence, is brutally punished. I knw a couple of ruffians in my area who've been cooling off in d prison for over 8 yrs 'awaitin trial'. They'll either escape or die there. D judges in the courts here are as angry as the folks at home who get robbed. There is great joy in Warri when a thief is caught o! n dat fella must b dealt with becos Warri nor dey carry last. I'm not defendin the judge tho'.

Thorn.

We'll I don't pity d guy. Wat if they killed somebody during d robbery, besides this is how it starts. From stealing small change to looting billions. He shld face d music. In his next life, he won't dream of stealing

tosyn said...

haaa,this is not fair at all.

Omaa... said...

Correction linda, itz armed robbery n nt stealing, therez a big difference. Everywhere in the world, white collar crimes which is wat d politicians r involved in are treated differntly.
Nt dat I support d politicians bt I'll pik d stealing politician anyday ova armed robbers. If anytin had gone wrong, dey hv no probs shotting u down r raping ur dotaz! Wait till u're attacked by robbers n hv to live wit d trauma 4 life den u can decide to let dem loose on d street.
Dat said, I tink life inprisonment will b beta punishment 4 dem.

Nigerians and their ways of thinkn and comments, now most of u think the judge was too hard, but how many of u wud put ursef in the shoes of whoever was carrying the money, and imagine how you would have to pay back the money even if u dnt have.
The punishment might have been extreme but watelse could he have done,life imprisonment...I cant watch some1 being killed and at the same time poverty i repeat is no excuse for criminality...u rather beg!!! y'all saying politicians 1st, this is how some politicians started, so its good to start eradicating the problem from the root.

Tuns said...

Arindin.how does dt make u feel? Obvious u dnt av a job,watching out for Linda's post which is her own job.u better look for a job or face ur studies.

Am so much dissappointed for this cruel judgement of this nefarous justice. I really hate Nigeria for this injustice. ¦¦¦¦¦DEATH BY HANGING¦¦¦¦ for money such little amount of money. Can that stupid justice claim that he never steal since he was born. There are some other tough punishment the boy can be giving not to kill. [ i feel like crying]. The suffering blood of the young man will forever stay on the judge neck and hands. Besides, it was not noted that the boy killed when he stole the money. This makes me so sad.

Sabina Thakerie said...

Please i will repay the money on his behalf ask them to email me.
Haba!
How much is it in dollars?
Me i don't understand your currency O!

OMG!!!

Did kim wear too much green n r u loving d ankara hot pants? Find out here www.soladunn.blogspot.com

creamy said...

The boy would have stolen a larger amount of money, that way he would just face imprisonment for a while...in 9ja d law is: d larger the money, the lesser the purnishment.

kidodo said...

Dat is our country 4 u where d rich is buying justice and d poor get justice.

Ibru n d likes no die by hangin ooo. 9ja!. D only rsn y I 8 mysef Is bcos I'm bein born in2 ds useless, God4saken country. #bammy#

I still stand by the fact that the law system in Nigeria has serious problems. You dont sentence a person to death for stealing, then why are the presidents of Nigeria that have been stealing more not been sentenced. Thank God I do not live in the country. Everything about Nigeria is backwards. Their security system stinks, their laws are something else, and the law officials are complete joke. The whole entire country needs a miracle.

Debes Chino said...

Permit me to ask, has been sentenced to death by hanging, and as well a neighboring court said Fmr Gov. James Ibori was set free while London Court said no way. Pls, what about people stealing millions and billions of Naira and going free? Let's wake up people!

Ahh I don suffer, so because of Akara money na him dose jug or na judge them call their self I no know wan kill man pikini so o. So those Ignoramous political thief's ucon! Na wa o

and Alameseiya was pardoned, lucky igbinedion walks d str of benin city a free man, what of cecilia ibru, akintola, bankole to mention but a few. ngozi iwela was comparing naija with china in her interview on CNN, does she nt knw dt in china anybody who is guilty of stealing irrespective of who you are is decapitated? its high time all these who know man and who nor know man justice is stopped in naija. shame on the judiciary!!!!

stranger said...

Well d law is very clear as to d punishment for armed robbery irrespective of d amount stolen. For those saying this judgement is unfair considering d fact that politicians embezzle more, are just ignorant of d law. 1 thing nigerians shud knw is dat for an act 2 constitute armed robbery, d weapon need not b a gun it cud even b a stick. As long as thr was an apprehension of fear created by such usage... 4give d long story and dont pray 2 lose ur possession 2 armed robbers cos u pple will not think dis judgement is ridiculous if u av eva been a victim. Besyds, its d law:)

And we have celebrated thieves ℓιкє Alamiyesigha, ibori, Goerge n d rest chopping d life of dr heads...God dey.

After una go dey insult ukraine see una lives nigeria is fucked mtchewww very useless judgement this is wickedness beyond imagination, what of those thief leaders stealing money on daily basis?

OMG hw much did he steal?its not even up 2 a million naira. So y is Bankole still alive?Wt did dey do 2him?May God punish dt justice o

See mumu ppl dey comment rubbish for mouth...If u have ever been robbed @ gunpoint, that's when u'll understand. I Was poor I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ skool but  never stole neither did  used ♏v̶̲̥̅ body for money. What Ȋ̝̊̅§ wrong Ȋ̝̊̅§ wrong Ŋ matter Ђδω big or small...when armed robbers killed more than 50 ppl along Sagamu-ore expressway, all of you were crying...nigerians should learn †Φ listen α̲̅πϑ reason wisely!

why kill him, why didnt they kill Ibori, Iyabo Obasanjo, Lam Adesina amongst others? oh please! am not saying he did a good thing but the same measure pressed down shaken together should go round all and sundry not only to the defenseless poor or down-trodden.
rubbish stupid country

Let's be clear, he's dying for armed robbery. He didn't kill anyone but he could have. Holding a weapon is intentional and means you are ready to cause bodily harm. The law is the law.

NocrapNN said...

Many ignorant people here.and you,Linda are inciting shit.

This is no case of stealing.stop rubbing your ignorance off on us.do you think your readers are stupid or uneducated.

The penalty for armed robbery in nigeria is death,he robbed with a weapon.if he had shot the man and killed him,will you people have spoken differently? Once you threaten one one with a gun and take his property,the law sees it as a capital offence....I'm not supporting embezzlement but it is different from what is on ground.he wasn't sentenced for the amount he stole but for possession of deadly ammunition.

I guess you all have never faced robbers.they have no mercy.
So,if he was poor,is that a defence? The people he stole from have been saving that money since God knows when.poor workers who will remit part of thier low salaries to see if saing can get them something tangible is who he stole from and you are defending him.

No doubt the sentence is harsh but the law is the law.the judge can do nothing.once you are found guilty,the sentence cant be increased or reduced.
Sentence for armed robbery is DEATH BY HANGING.

Yep, poverty is not a license for criminality. Armed robbery is puns0ishable by death in nigeria, even if all you got was a measly phone. This very same guy would have raped someone in the past just because he's holding a gun. Don't pity him, I sure don't.

Wat was he doin with arms? It's not out of place pls. Don't knw y pple ever bother defending armed robbers. Until u hv encounter with dem, Ul start thinking straight. Even if u steal one naira, so far as u rob with deadly weapons, u re a threat to human lives so pls next time u want to protest abt politicians dat loot money, don't defend armed robbers in d process. Stop talking like someone dat feeds from the anus. Mtcheewww

Shut up. Na poverty make him drop out? Wats wrong with u guys? He stole with deadly weapon wat re u defending here? And pls. Never use poverty as an excuse for Armed robbery and prostitution pls. Hv some sense of morality in u! Hate it wen pple give excuses for evil deeds. Rubbish

NEKS said...

I'm seriously amused when people go gaga when a criminal is sentenced 2 death for ARMED robbery.You have obviously never been robbed at gunpoint,when U watch Ur whole life flash before you.

Forget the sensational manner Linda is reporting this story,the law has already stipulated that its a death sentence for anyone found guilty of ARMED robbery.The amount he stole is of no consequence whether N100 or a billion bucks.

Besides,the dude is an adult,(not below 18).

..For those saying the big shots looting our nation should be sentenced to death,did they do it at gunpoint?..Which country has ever sentenced anyone to death for fraud or looting with a pen?Y'all should reason,please.

Do U think that felllow would have given a second thought to gunning you down,if you had stood in his way during the operation?#SMH

You are an epitome of educated illiterate. If u re actually saying passing judgement on an armed robber who is a terror and a potential threat to human lives is out of place. Same pple like u will also complain wen he kills someone with dat weapon. U pple re simply not pleased ever. U will complain at everything. I tot u re learned? Disappointed much.

Attention seeker,You are stupid for saying warri people are born thieves. There are thieves all around nigeria and the world. This is a case of the law not geographical location or people, Stereotyping is an offence, maybe u should be getting a few strokes of the cane, For your myopic thoughts as well.#

shey, they shld sentence them too to death. Rubbish

jhen said...

These guys dat go abt Robbing innocent people, I was robbed on my way to work in warri last year september, it was a very painful experience and they were. Young guys........I don't wish death on. Him tho but he shud be punished

Don't mind de idiot..u be even senior thief,abi na bcos dem neva catch u???? Ode mtcheeeeeew

labellamafia said...

With all the grammatical jargons u spill on here, I thought u were smart, its shows how empty your brain is. The only good thing about you is that you made an A in English language. The amount he stole doesn't matter. He was armed not withstanding the amount of money he stole. These armed robbers kill for even less. So before u comment use your brain, you can't find common sense in the dictionary so I don't blame you. Linda misleads her dumb readers with her captions.

labellamafia said...

Thank you...people Libers are really dumb ("SOME" of them)

labellamafia said...

All I am saying....

U'r obviously very bitter abt somtin dey did. I feel ur pain honey bt u need 2 learn 2 let go n move forward.

We all understand de law dude. De law should be amended and those unarmed thieves"politicians"should be given equal punishment. So grow up and understand. Tnk me later!

DownUnder said...

Please read the whole article again before making a fool of yourself. It's armed robbery , not fraud.

Why kill him when the govt is begging mass murderers for amnesty? Don't get me wrong, anyone who has experienced armed robbery before will certainly wish them dead, but if people like boko haram are being begged for amnesty, who deserves to go to jail or die? My point is, the day boko haram is given amnesty should be the day all our prison gates are thrown open. End of!

Pls shutup, the dude is just22, still Very young, regardless, I don't think killing him wud make matters beta, we have plp in govt stealling Billions. KMT!!! May God have mercy on us aLl.

Omg!!! U are sooooooo wicked, he without sin sud throw the stone now, its just 900k aba, the guy can go 2 jail, but come up death is just toooooo much :( I don't like reading stories like this, cuz people are stealling millions everyday and still walking FrEE

Stealin aint armed robbery... Dos mentnin politicians or so, no b gun dem carry do dia tin na... U don't hv 2 study law 2 knw d punishmnt 4 dt
'Barbie gurl'

@Anonymous 8:18/8:33; I would classify both comments as the same person; You are a disgrace to the word called "Comprehension". Read my comment very slowly again and maybe you would get more enlightenment. Gosh! Maybe take one word at a time.

Flo said...

Why are they killing this guy for
1M naira.. is that not what our leaders steal per hour??? yet nothing is done to them..

Mr Alams was release the other day with no death sentence..

Nigeria is not for the poor cos only the rich survives there.. Nonsense..

I'm not saying the boy was right oo.. put him in Jail instead of killing.. foolish lawyers and judicary system... God is watching all of you

Blackberry said...

May armed robbers visit u wit AK47 so u wud undastand dat ARMEDRObbers r to b killed no mata d amount dey stole...dose politicians dat stole billions, did u c dem wit guns? Did dey rape or kill? Grow up pls

Die for 955,600???!!! What of all the thieves in government ??? STEALING NIGERIA DRY???? Not fair at all O! ( i am not justifying it though )

Abegiii like someone said what are the thieves we call our leaders stiill doing alive.we hear pple stealing billions and they are walking about free,or even granted state pardon mschewwwwwwwwwww.

Madam Yvonne, are you aware that we have no corrective measures in this country?
If you "drop the money" on his behalf- nothing stops him from shooting you when he recognizes you in another one of his operations. You are one of the reason the crime rate in this country is high. Let them be killed. By the time they realize the consequece of their action, they'd be forced to slow down.

If you'v had a personal encounter with armed rubbers you would know that the sentence is fair enough. They are cold blooded and with no pity when they attack you. Just like they had someone killed while I watched dem and with 5 guns pointed at me. To think they are all young dudes.

To those of you calling people illiterate and all because they expressed their disgust about this then I think you all are the real illiterates here!

As for when I expressed my opinion on this it was on the grounds of personal resolve about this whole issue of capital punishment on a general perspective, yes, I am against capital punishment, how does killing someone appeal to our human nature?

Come to think of it, isn't it humans that make laws? If Nigerians frown at capital punishment it can be removed, why punish some and leave out some. Go to Asia and see Nations that give capital punishment to trivial corruption cases.

Some people bring up the point that politicians don't use guns so that's why they don't deserve capital punishment, if you are literate enough you would know the resultant effect of that politician's looting is what brings about crimes like armed robbery and all, highly developed societies with less corruption have LOW armed robbery cases, its the poor state of the country that pushes some folks to armed robbery(I AM IN NO WAY CONDONING ARMED ROBBERY though)

Are we Nigerians more educated or literate than Americans or Europeans? Yet, in some states in the US they have removed capital punishment, so what would you say about that? I as a liberal human, I go with change that's meaningful and I feel everyone has a right to have a say about such issues relating to an important aspect like this in our country.

This isn't an issue of being illiterate or not, its about choice and what you feel is right for your country, that's how laws come about, and that's how old laws get changed too.

But Alams was Pardoned
Ibori was even prosecuted in Naija
Farouk is walking around
Otedola nko.. to mention but a few.

They shudn't hang Julius-955k thief, they shud Call these govt officials to stone him to death, while we stand behind the govt officials with our own stones.
Let's see who dies First.

Chidozie Mario said...

I don't condone robbery by any means but I think the young man is being made a scape goat. They should extend the hanging to government houses.
The Balance Of Time

Shut up, Anon 8:33 PM and the rest of you. 'Authority Stealing' pass armed robbery. Fela said it all in that hit song. Go and listen to it and educate your head.

Embezzlement is a Capital offence in China. When you steal government fund in China, you will be executed.

I can't see any difference between this guy and a thieving politicians. One robbed with gun the other stole money that was meant for hospitals and good road. Without provision of health care facilities, pple dies in droves and alot of pple died from a bad roads.

so why are our politicians still alive? or are they above the law?

backson inc said...

Wow, all the dispicable looting and stealing on in this country. How many people did this man kill? Murderers like Boko Haram recieve amnesty, because our president and leaders are weak. Men who take oaths to serve their country, but turn federal money reserves into their personal cofers. This our country, Nigeria, we should all hold our heads in shame.

Too bad....fine he is a theif but d punishment is gross what about our political leaders they also should b hanged

lami said...

Linda pls correct urself because this post is misleading,stealing is different from armedrobbery.you shouldn't encourage nonsense all because u ve a means of reaching across to millions of people.wait until you are attacked in ur car or home by teenagers holding weapons then you will know there is a difference.Besides the guy and his gang are just wicked,why steal from ur fellow cleaners whom u know earn peanut and depend on that money for survival

And if he didn't get caught, he'll aim for higher next time... With a bigger gun. And shoot you dead if you try to stop him. I don't see how you can pitty an armed robber.. I find that disturbing that u pitty a killer.

Have u eva had an arm robber rape any of ur family members?den u'll knw hw far...dese armed robbers are wicked abge nd dey kill!!!

JAMES ISAAC said...

if this is what the law says why then do we have all the thief in high places in our present and past goverment ?

BusBus said...

Yet Alamasegha... or whatever his name is, was pardoned after stealing $55million.... Isorait...

Prince charming iv always thot u were smart, now I know better! All dose ur grammer na wash! Speakin grammer witout common sense will profit u nothing. Comparing ARMED robbery wit PEN robbery? *smh*

Brownies

Why should they sentence him to death, he needs a presidential pardon. After all, those that stole billions are still alive,

No be to kpai the boi, the wahala still plenty evry! all dis our inviscible robber politicians wey dey theive moni evryday, noone don catch em ooo not to talk of sentencing dem to house imprisonment, abegiiii i no wan vex! linda u try sha dey capture all dis aproco! i dey hail u with my left toe!! u too mushhh!

JacQue have u ever been robbed at gunpoint?

do u know how many people he has killed with his guns?

Sob all you like. thank you your lordship for this judgement.

babyross when u r robbed at gunpoint come back and tell us the story on this blog. mschewww. death to all armed robbers jare.

@Anon 8:33 PM: When government officials steal public fund, they cause poverty and unnecessary death, which is worse than somebody who steal with a gun a gun but did not harm anybody in the process. People like Obasanjo, Atiku, Babangida, Odili, Ibori, Alams, and the rest of them deserve this kind of treatment. There is no greater terror than the stealing public fund, that is why the penalty in China is death.

Poor people are so wicked. so this boy robbed poor cleaners at gunpoint and you say he should go free why didn't he also read his books and become a politician so he can steal billions with a biro and not a gun. death to all armed robbers joh.

AL said...

Coming from Delta state I’m not surprised. The convicted criminal is a disgrace to his mentors and criminal god fathers in the corridors of Delta state government both past and present. The convict has also embarrassed and wasted the time of the judiciary for stealing pittance hence nothing for the Judge to ‘chop’. Hence, the sentence is a warning to all riff raff rouges in Delta that if you must steal better to bleed the state treasury so that there will be plenty to go round [Judge, Police, SSS, EFCC, rented crowds etc].

I rest my case.

Thank you joh. tell them. moving on abeg.

I don't have a problem with the sentence. What I want to know is why the people who are stealing billions are still alive. If this is the kind of justice for 995k, then if you steal millions and billions your entire family should be wiped out. Plus parents, grandparents, children, grandchildren etc.

Li,there is a big difference btw Armed robbery and stealing. please choice of words matters. #legally speaking #

@Anon 8:33 PM. You are the educated illiterate. The reason for the high rate of armed robbery in Nigeria is because of lack of opportunity for the youths. You guys should keep justifying this so called 'pen robbers', they are not in anyway better than armed robbers, they are even worse, they cause massive suffering, make some idle youths take to crime.

Linda actually set the tone for all. These emotional and uninformed responses by deliberately misrepresenting armed robbery for stealing.The punishment is appropriate for robbing with deadly weapon.Anyone who has experieced armed robbery before will know that if anything go wrong,the robber could take the life of the victim.Linda,the opportunity to reach thousands of young people also comes with responsibility.

Ewu

My learned colleague tnk u very much...tell dem

i keep saying this... most LIB readers have serious issues.. am sure some of u would have joined in setting fire to thw ALUU 4 boys that were killed.. for how much? alamesia is prolly chilling in London.. as well as other politicians that have done wrong.. stop being heartless! y'all need to love up!

Armed robbers should be shot!! They kill, rape and inflict bodily harm, I am sure everyone visiting this blog knows at least one person that has been harmed by armed robbers. There is a difference between a 'common thief' and an ARMED robber...He deserves his punishment because i am almost sure it was not his first time.

As for all the politicians one day, one day their own time go come...

A man stole N24b,he was asked to pay N750k. If you do the math,the judge should have asked him to pay N300 and ask him to go

Dupe O said...

Freaking hypocrites!! they better start sentencing all the politicians to either life imprisonment or death

wande said...

Where are the learned people on this blog... I'm studying criminal law presently and there is a clear distinction between stealing and armed robbery. While the punishment for stealing is a jail term, armed robbery, which is a capital offense, carries death penalty. Nothing can be done about this because it is what is provided for in the Criminal Code. He might as well remain on death row for the next 10 years cuz the case will obviously go on appeal. #Nigeriacriminaljusticesystem

Wt abt d govt official who r stealing billion? Olorun a da o

seriously...the Government peronnels that have being stealing the nations money...wat have they done to them....HYPOCRITES....May God help Them...

Appreciate this post. Will try it out.

Feel free to visit my web blog: トリーバーチ財布