Youth corper asked to leave NYSC camp for refusing to wear trousers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 March 2013

Youth corper asked to leave NYSC camp for refusing to wear trousers

Read this report from Vanguard and tell us what you think.
Reactions have started trailing the decamping of 2013 Batch A, female corps member, Ms Tolu Ekundayo, by the National Youth Service Corps, NYSC, Ogun State for wearing skirt at the Shagamu orientation camp.
In a press conference organised by Ekundayo’s church, Faith Revival Apostolic Church, FRAC, in Lagos, the expelled corps member  said she was asked to leave the camp at about 11.00pm on March 8, 2013 by the Ogun State NYSC Co-ordinator, for her refusal to put on trousers.
She explained that her refusal to wear trousers was not in disobedience to NYSC authorities but in line with her belief and faith in God.
Also speaking, Apostle Paul Adenuga condemned the manner in which Ekundayo was expelled from the camp in the dead of the night without considering her safety and called on the Director-General of NYSC and the federal government to look into the matter before it gets out of hand.
“I call on Nigerians, mostly Christians that stand for the truth, not only to jointly condemn this barbaric and bestial act but to engage in constructive dialogue with the concerned authority for the change of such policy if it is official.”

NYSC reacts
When contacted, the Ogun State NYSC Co-ordinator, Mrs T.I Anosike maintained that the Service did not expelled anybody. According to her, Ms Ekundayo opted to go instead of abiding by the rules and regulations of the scheme.

She said wearing anything outside approved NYSC kits during the orientation programme was not allowed in the camp. This she said was the reason why every corps member was made to signed undertaking on cultism and dress code.

“Nobody asked her to leave. She was asked to comply with the NYSC directives or leave. So she decided to leave. When she said that she won’t comply, we asked her to put it in writing which she did. So we didn’t expel her, she left on her own.”

258 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 258 of 258

Every one is condeming her,obviously becoz of her close relationship with God.It is very ridiculous to respect man dan God.the reason why we all breath dis moment,is by GOD almighty,not by man.so tell me why God doesnt deserve to be loved & respected.i would rather suffer here on earth & eventually go to heaven,dan enjoying all pleasures of earth & eventually end up in hell.dat woman is right.

If she cant wear d trouser she should get the f**k out of d camp and go to her church to do her NYSC dere,i hate pple forming saint whereas they are too bad in attitude,am sure her pastor will be against her cos she will never be the first to do NYSC service in her church before.

why is eveyone crucifying this girl? it is her life and faith. havent you guys seen army women wearing skirts? this one year service thing is not as serious as being in the army. i served in Zamfara and muslim ladies were allowed to wear Hijab to parade grounds. even christian sisters whose faith do not permit such were allowed to wear skirts but they will not participate in activities that such dress codes were inappropriate for. Do we not see police women on duty wearing skirts? not to mention other uniformed groups such as KIA, and LASTMA? i think the Anosike person should recall her to camp "with immediate effect"

Oga mi u don gbagaun for the other post! No try change am..illiterate mofo

Blazygurl said...

i love your faith gal. Keep it up. Depriving you of Nysc doesnt despive you of heaven too. Nysc doesnt contribute to your Success. Christ the giver of Success ll give you Good Success.

Its against her religion buh didnt she sign d undertaking for dress code & cultism? Plus evn in d Bible God says we suld respect authority

Preach it PC!!! True talk!!!

Instuction is ur life my sister,besides ur Pastors wife served her nation. Soi stop making dis tin hard 4 urself. I dnt wear trouser,bt 4 camp khaki was d only tin 2 wear. So madam u eida need help or u just want 2 mk d news

hasnt d said girl been seeing d scheme dress code all her life? didnt she know its a rule in d scheme? for crying out loud during drills & man 'o' war activities dat u'll need to climb mountains, cross bars & ropes na skirt she wan use go do those ones? dats rubbish joor. is she d only daughter of Jesus in d camp? abeg make we hear word joorr.

What is trouser? Trouser can also be described as panties....anything that has two holes of where u can put r two legs is described as trouser, so if she says that wearing trouser is against her faith, then she should stop wearing pants becos pants is also a short tiny trouser worn inside.

Did she not confirm from her #OgaAtTheTop the rules before she came into the camp? Now the #OgaAtTheTop is saying another tin, give unto Cesar what belongs to Cesar #dazzall

U get luck say bad boys no catch u dat night dem 4 rappe u give u belle make I see how u want commot am bcos na sin 2 do adbution. If I b FG I go carry all dis pple wey no one wear trouser go all dis boko-ahram state, make dem service there. Rubbish.

ARE U KIDDIN ME?

THE PASSAGE IN D BIBLE DOESNT SAY DONT WEAR TROUSERS, SAID NOT TO CROSS DRESS.. ALL THESE PPPL WITH LITTLE KNOWLEDGE.. MEN SHOULD NOT DRESS AS WOMEN NOT SHOULD WOMEN DRESS UP AS MEN.. NOT THAT DONT WEAR TROUSERS OR STUFF ..

I just cant stop laughing!!!!!!
she just wasted her 4years or more in the university.
Yoruba will say 'edi'

Wait,is she d only one dat believes in God,is she d first to serve,NYSC is not by force,even if she was expelled,d NYSC hav every right to do so,if she can't wear trouser,den she should hv not bother to even consider service,and d church sef,shey ur church is d first to b established abi,coming out to giv useless press conference,abeg,I support NYSC,if u don't wnt to wear trouser,don't bother going for service,OBEY THE RULES
Signed
Snazzy

Cobus Adelowo said...

She prefered skirt so dt she can carry out her sexual pleasure sharp sharp...trousers na longthing...kilo fo shi?..ode oshi..ko shi jare!!!

Born again, stupid girl, dont mind her she is afraid of camp.

Peculiar Magazine said...

u be fool oo, u this girl, simple English you dont understand SMH

James Ode pataki ni e I swear.. One idiot Ekundayo came from nowhere trying to change what has been there for long because of her own fucking selfish unrealistic belief..its a camp nd u need trousers kk, u can't use skirt for most activities. She should have applied for exemption, instead of going there to create a drama. She should be BANISHED!!!

TruelyTopaz said...

well she knew the dress code of NYSC..noone wants to wear the khaki pants but we have too. its like saying you want to wear skirt in the military for what...it is easier do Man O War in trousers than skit. imagine climbing the tall wall in a skirt..come on..

i like how she loves God, she should have obeyed the authorities in the sense of wearing trousers.

so the other ladies that wore trousers, dont love God too..

sadly she needs the nysc certificate to get a job..so she'll need to go through this whole process again..not a smart move on her part..

oyewole said...

l am surprised at her actions! pple makes issue out of nothing. come to think of it, what is the tenet of her faith didn't JESUS him obeyed constituted authority by paying tithe when he was asked to? didn't she know the rules governing the orientation camp b4 accepting to serve? better still, she should have opted for exemption rather than making a public show of herself.

rubbish....she's jst seekin 4 attention. make she go hide make person see road abeg.mtchewwwww.

she must be a learner! her ogas @ d top dint teach her well oschisco!

Exemption ke? Is that how they gve exemption ??? Who told u she was 31 years at the time of graduating from school? Or she has served before by being a member of d police office, army etc abi she finish from NMA?

The Bible is complete: Give to Ceaser what is of his..... She is a boko_haran, she is one of them for wanting to cause unnecessary commotion ans seeking for unnecessary attention. Where in the Bible was it mentioned that a woman must wear a trousers? more so this 1 is Khaki(approved by the Federal Govt) she isn't a fair person and let her be flushed out of camp joor. rubbish. even my Northern sister wears the khaki trousers despite their belief.Kudos to the State Coodinator Mrs Anosike for that gallant move. !!! Mal Musa.

Hehehe..........Anon corper 1983, wat r u doin on this blog? Na wa ooo, this advanced ppl no gree ooo, dem dey everywhr. As for the girl, her choice, her life. Na she sabi.

OSE said...

Am so disapointed in xtians. If its a muslim des NYSC pple wnt dare. Now its a xtain so instead of rallying behind our own, we running our mouths against ha. Muslims on d oda hand will ensure dat ds doesntgo away like dat. I tink its time we stat suportin our own.

I have a problem with these officials, if they decamp her coz she refused to wear trouser, and people here are cursing her.What do you say of muslim women that cover their head and face? they are allowed? because they are muslims? are we really scared of muslims in this country. Equal playing ground should apply!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda this is were we get things wrong and become more holy than the pople we are told in the bible give unto ceaser what belongs to ceaser if Christ was a law breaker he would have told his apostles to pay tithe directly to him.
this girl is not ready to serve pure and simple let her church conduct their own service for her she forgets that nysc certificate has a lot to do with employment this is not about religion and faith its about flagrant abuse and violation of law

How d fuck does she wanna do all dose drills wit a skirt!!!!!??? She must b high on some cheap crack, jt hope she is a virgin, stupid somebody. Mtscheeew

what Rubbish, so is she the first female to believe in God? even the bible says we should give wat ever belongs to Ceaser to Ceaser. so long you are there u must obey!. there is no place in the bible or quoran that says we should be disobedient to our laws. its a rule and you must abide. if you cant abide, den dont come, take an excemption and move on. dont know way some people should say Govt shld look into it. so that tomorrow some body somewer will tell govt that i prefer to do the camp on line cos i cant stand the stress of running and matching.
abeg lets be realistic. make she GERRAOUT!!

divalivy said...

That's her faith and we should respect that,d Hausa ladies that wear their hijab or wateva dat scarf is called in camp,is it also part of NYSC uniform? I think ppls faith shud b put into consideration. If she believes she will be sinning by wearing trouser,who is federal govt to ask her to go to hell in d name of rules? Oh pls...

Some ppl are still living in the stone age..meanwhile *expel,*sign and @ anon 8:32pm...*ask...linda don't be posting my comments o

diva said...

Shut ur trap,u sound dumb when u say give to ceaser wat is his,so if ceaser asks for ur prick or left breast u cut n give because he's ceaser. Don't quote d bible out of context especially if u don't read it often

diva said...

So even when "authority" is asking for ur head,u respect it because its "authority" huh?

diva said...

U r very correct. U r d only 1 dat has said something sensible thus far.

diva said...

U r very correct. U r d only 1 dat has said something sensible thus far.

diva said...

So even when "authority" is asking for ur head,u respect it because its "authority" huh?

Ur reply is very lame. Whether she's a virgin or not at that time of the night would you like ur sister, mother or even best friend be loitering about on d streets?

The girl in question is stupid Απϑ just looking for attention, even if she was not asked to stay till morning, she should be on her kneels begging because of her safety. Had it been she has been raped in the middle of the night. She wouldn't come out to say rubbish. Na she holy pass, xtian my foot.

lmao
forget that one she be village ashweo...she want make the guys dey see her pant while doing activities that require shorts or trousers.....

Which kin her faith and church na those ones dey pursue pastor and dey cook for them on the side...foolish girl

Kabuoy said...

What has being a virgin got to do wiv her refusal to put on trousers? Smh...

Nawah o, its just like a reverend sister attending a philosophy class & den going into the exam hall to write for the lecturer that God exists. What do you think? Iga enwe ya Zero *okpokpo notu*. What ever your lecturer tells you, that's what you have to write for him just to gain your scores. NYSC wasn't stupid when they chose trousers, she should go and die biko.

Diva said...

the truth is if government amends the rules for this girl then everyone will com out with their own rules expecting gov to change things. end of discussion.

o girl u dey mard fuckin like lyk u,are u a virgin?cme make i check u,u way ure choir master dey blow fuck out.

Reptyle said...

So for this girl mind now, she go go give testimony for church about how dem dey persecute her abi? Abeg let her KMT joor!!!! Where has she ever seen an NYSC member in skirt? Even pregnant corp members wear the trousers in camp. How is she going to cope with all the rigorous exercises wearing a skirt?

God is a God of order and wants us as Christians to obey constituted authority abeg.

I know.. This comment is very late buh it's these religious fanatics that make Nigerians still consider religion as a factor of differentiation.. I mean, it's absurd.. What's wrong with wearing a trouser, is she saying all the girls that wear trousers will go to hell.. What of female police men? That means she'll reject a job where the prerequisite is wearing a trouser.. It's ridiculous.

It's the same bible that says we should obey our authorities, and the rule is that all para-military should put on trousers!

So do female soldiers wear skirts for training or on a mission?

The bible says thou shall not kill, but soldiers kill for sake of their countries freedom or independence.

Please people should stop misquoting the bible and be realistic!

Every profession comes with it's code of dressing!

'Apoda' geh. Trousers/Shorts=Pants ch obviously seperates d legs in2 2+ long/short cylinders! Afta ur parents n religious beliefs nurture u, ur also xpected 2 groom /'reborn' yasef.

Hi prince charming,
The pastor can change rules ,tell d girl to go back n wear shorts n trousers. Cos the fed govt wont bend rules for anyone!

*prince charmings admirer

tosin /toyosi said...

i would like to be the judge in this issue.Relevant Law-Fredom of conscience,thought and religion-Article 8 of the Human Right Act; Case authority:r(Shebena Begum) v Denbeigh High sch decided by the House of Lords.
I can be she'l fail woefully.

ada ada said...

abeg abeg abeg this girl is not serious.... i have believes too but when u go into a place, u abide by the laws of the land, simple or don't go at all. there's a perfectly good reason for the unifom and the her Church people never went to camp ni? ok how does she intend to climb, jump etc without exposing her whole inside to the world. tomorrow she will say army man rape her. u want to wear skirt, climb ropes, expose yourself and then come back and complain of injustice. go now, no be you go find work. or kukuma stay till you turn 30 then you get exemption letter..... next please

hmmmmmmmm, wasnt she aware dat kaki is tousees? let her go serve her church if she cant serve d nation.

shadiyaaa said...

lool abeg Nigerians are too dramatic ....telling her to leave if she doesn't comply with rules is not a BEASTIAL act

shadiyaaa said...

lool Toyin/ Toyosi...I know that case, and its true if they didn't let the girl wear her head gear thing to school, this trouser situation will not be a problem for the law

Elizzy said...

Hahahaha..she's just bn stupid n foolish..cn u imagine dt kumin 4 NYSC wif d mind of wearin skirts tru out ..is she ok?♓☺ÏŽ cn u do parads in skirts or she wntd FG 2 change d rules bcos of her...smh dt gal shud go n fry garri wif her mates in d villa cos she no not wat she's doin..-nfact she's nt a xtian cos she disobeyed she wudnt av bodered 2 go 4 NYSC if she knew she wsnt go 2 wear trousers..mtshwww

Make she go do youth service for her church na..Is she dat christian pass... MSCHEWWWWWW

I'm disappointed in all those who claim to support Christianity and the Bible, yet condemn this lady so vehemently. Even if you feel she didn't act right, is that the best way to teach her wisdom?

There was absolutely nothing wrong with her standing for her beliefs and every genuine Christian should appreciate that. The way and manner she went about it is a different issue. Incidentally, we weren't there to actually know how everything happened. What real Christians should do is to advice her and teach her wisdom in a kind and brotherly way.

Besides, we all know that sometimes concessions have been made for both Christians and moslems on the same grounds. That shows that it's time for the system to be reviewed, in all fairness. I'm a born-again Christian who is against trousers. Though I wore it on camp and didn't create a scene, I would fight all I can to see the issue of trousers made optional. People should be allowed to stand for their beliefs.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 258 of 258   Newer› Newest»