Osun State senior secondary school students get computer tablets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 March 2013

Osun State senior secondary school students get computer tablets

Osun State government last week commenced the distribution of the Computer Tablets of Learning (Opon Imo) to the students of government-owned secondary schools in the state.

The distribution of the tablets started at the Ataoja School of Science, Osogbo on Monday with 385 students in the Senior Secondary School 2 (SSS2), each receiving the technological device.The project, an initiative of Governor Rauf Aregbesola, specially designed for the students of public secondary schools in the state to improve their performance in internal and external examinations.

113 comments:

Lmao. Just spending govt money anyhow.

Mohammed said...

Nice one Ogbeni Rauf

life goes on

eyehealth said...

Their uncles/aunts wee just steal it, or they's sell it. D gov could have provided white boards, painted d classrooms and equipped d library rather than this...shiooooo!

Look at the dilapidated classroom those school children are in yet the stupid retardeen thinks that a tablet is priority.......mschew

Misplaced priorities!!!
They or even their folks will happily sell them...
tcheeew

Myne Whitman said...

It is a good idea, I hope they use it well and it benefits their education.

Romance Meets Life.

God bless d Governor of Osun state

See classroom wey dem wan take dey use tablet! Misplaced priorities!

This is more lik it...well done sir

Nice one! Technological enlightenment is expedient for the young ones of any society.

Wow!!! It is a commendable effort from the govt of Osun state. This is the kind of committment required to impove the quality of our education. I hope the govt will provide free hotspot zones through out the state so that the devices can be used to full potentials.

babatunde said...

Does the student have projector in their classroom?do they know how to operate it?

ada said...

Misplaced priority n waste of poor tax payers money.no computer education yet,how can they use it

Should first give them a conducive enviroment for learning. Tablet ni capsule ko.

he bought ipads for this kids did he also provide wireless for them to use it? instead of ipads why not build a standard e-iberary for this kids so that all levels from JSS1 to SS3 can have access to the e-library/computer? in fact I'm sad. they always get it wrong...

A right step in d right direction. Very commendable.

Nice gesture from the Osun State government. Hope other State governors will learn and emulate him.

Hay dis one no awuf o.I go wear uniform go collect my own tablet be dat hehe.

promise michealz said...

Somefin dey wld collect back after dat pix was taken, shhheeeewww

Nice one....Cweamy

oimstitches said...

Good work frm aregbe but he shud repair the classrooms too for a good ambience to study...

Same thing JKF did in Ekiti state. This doesn't improve their knowledge, infact it makes dem worse. Ekiti secondary school student only use their to watch nollywood movies and porn!
Let's see wat their osun counterparts will use theirs for!!!!

After this shoot, they'd snatch all d system back and package them in one store. If u shud ever return there to donate, u'l find the tablets in a 'hot' store UNUSED. Atleast that's what most schools do

--Teeteelahyo--

this is so good. this is what our government needs to do to help our students. unlike them wasting money on tuface and annie's wedding spending millions of naira...May God help us in Nigeria.

deborah said...

Let him pay osun corpers deir state allowance na! Na dem sha dey teach dese students..ma friends at osun neva colect state salary 4 ova 6months..mshewww

He didn't give all! Dats sad, wht happens 2 d other kid?

Waste of fund as usual why tablet?

na wetin e buy

Scam!

Dis is misplace priority. Hw will a student wit no computer knowledge operates an ipad. Giving such to teachers wud hav bein beta. Govt wit fake project shaa.mtchewww

Arrrrgh to do what?

This is very good and student look so happy. As for some comment here, well this is actually a good start in learning the use of computer. It has various tool that's tasking alone first before thinking of Wifi or internet connection. At this stage, the student will be teach on the maximum benefit they can derive from it to enhance their knowledge and career.

must u mention annie nd 2face name. B hapi 4 once

Giving secondary school students computer tablets is not a plausible gesture at all..What exactly will they do with the tablets and how will it enhance their exam in a country where there is no good internet connectivity?. Instead of the gadgets, why not give textbooks, free education and employ more teachers which is another avenue to reducing unemployment level. This can also incur more expenses on some family as they may want to get their kids internet connection. Not the best Idea in the world.

Lwkm... Abi o.

Nice one,I wish they know the importance and use it well

switchloe said...

anon 7:31,i second ur comment abeg,eva since i heard wat dat useless womanizer of a gov did i've been bitterd...lik he s gonna do same 4 evry ikwa ibom daughter given out in marriage. Stupid fool,cant he see wat oda gov's are doin?atleast wat osun gov did..kudos to dis

Queen Bee said...

Absolute nonsense!
Is that wat they need?the condition of their learning should be improved first....rubbish political propaganda!

How about you get them PROPER CLASSROOMS first?!

ademide said...

Hehehe, al na wash abeg, am serving in a skul in osun state, ds is indeed a misplaced priority, u nid to see d clasrooms of ds students, no teachers, is corpers dts covering up, students dt. Cnt even speak english, dt don't even av basic knowledge of computer, how den is giving dem ipad a way of improving their performance...aregbe is confused trust me, wif al public skuls in osun wearing d same skul uniform, mhen dt man is indeed confused...

This aregbe is very funny! This student can't even speak english. They can't say they wanna pee in English.. How do they wanna use a tab.. Funny people. I feel his wasting money.. Don't ask me how I know. Am a corper in this state and I teach in 1 of d govt skls..

Misplaced priorities. Just look at the wall, the furniture. Desktops should have been made available for their use at school, naija.

May I remind u guyz dat they in ss2 n nt dullards...most olowo children alredi hv ipad 4..pls m hapi 4 dem..dey wud learn hw to use it! Atleast its smetin.nutin can please u ppl

ABIMBOLA said...

Facebooooooook all the wayyyyy!

Facebook all the wayyyyy!!!

Jobadie said...

This world sef. If u do somtn bad people will slam u. If u do somtn good they'll still look for one rubbish or another to talk instead of congratulating u. I tireooo!

Are you people alright at all?now am no longer sure human beings are the ones commenting on this blog,them do una go complain dem nor do una go complain,did he buy it for his family members?a lot of nigerian youth are not computer literates,during the last election that was conducted by NYSC most of them could not make use of the laptops that was provided for them to register people with,so this is surely a welcome development.smh

Darrryl said...

Are they hell are they supposed to charge the damn tablet if they don't have electricity at home? Look at the classroom they're all sitting in. Sometimes I just feel like completely exterminating all the politicians in Nigeria... they all lack common reasoning!!! OmG! News like these are just so annoying!!!!!!

Na wah the. Govt foolish you, no conducive atmosphere dem they buy table gbese. You go put connection their family wey never chop won pay for internet connect.yamayam for my table. Oshisko!!!!!

All this stupid and clueless governors,how will those tablets improve their education? are the roads to their schools good? are their teachers well paid and regularly? are the classrooms well furnished? with all this their show of blatant lack of idea except to steal money makes me question the future of naija. idiots!!

wonderful! linda u will soon have a lotta osun state senior secondary students visiting ur blog. watch out!

It started in ekiti state since last year. I wonder how a student who cnt speak or write English can appreciate a laptop,,,misplaced priorities indeed

I hope the students still have the tablets after taking this picture...

Hmmmm..... Giving of tablet, well... Why not installing computers like LCD systems in a e-libray or in computer laboratories where I.T Will be taught to thèse kids. Rauf Aregbe is really trying to upgrade thé state in infrasture, town development n'..... Attending public school in osun state is free, he provided all students in thé stàte with thé same unîform type(which is so funny as one cannot tell à school from another), he feeds them..... But to give them tablets, l'dont think they Will value it, stealling might even be on thé incréase as some students Will try to undo others. Is this why he increased our task in thé state???? Na wa for gov. When they incréase salariés, they Will find more avenues to collect it back. Why dont he give tablets to thé universities within thé state. At least thàt Will be better..

This is laudable. Seem morons here talking about the way the classrooms look, is it fine classroom that will teach them? Mumu. How is that different from you lot living in shanties yet wearing designer clothes?

Now that's something that every school should be thinking about. Electronically improved school will win the heart's of every family. It will be so lovely when your kid's come home with a Samsung Galaxy 8 or iPad 3. xdondanoticed.blogspot.com

Toyinfab said...

To all the ppl commenting, have you taken time to research on what the government plans to do. The state govt is already building model schools all around the state. The tablets are not to be taken home by the students. it is not something that requires internet connection for them to use based on what i learnt. They called it Opon Imo which means tablet of knowledge. It's more of a virtual library that has everything the students need to learn. People should always try to understand something before condemning ignorantly.

Nigerian r full of dumb people, rufai use public funds to serve the public and they are complaining, what about the governor who use public funds to buy 2face a car and dave mark bought 2face a chevy corvette with public funds n every one shouting nice car. Good job osun

Look at the disgusting classroom. See the nasty walls. Fan no dey, window no dey, coachroach dey waka for ground. But they have tablets now though so it's ok abi?

Riley said...

It is not the tablets that will encourage to do well, but, an environment conducive for learning. Simple Theories of Motivation. Better than nothing I guess.

It's not an iPad oo, its a tablet, way cheaper than an iPad...

senatorOJ said...

LWKMD dey at it again i just hope dey won't collect it back o....politicians chaii. lets wait n c sha..

God bless Aregbesola!! for those calling it misplaced priorities at least he is better than dat Mumu fada Xmas Governor called Akpabio dashing money anyhow to celebrities! we should commend the governor and then urge him to do more in improving the quality of the classrooms and infrastructures.. provide hotspots so the kids could link up on the web. You praise then u urge for more and Never the other way round.. God bless Nigeria..

Nawa o,you see different kind of persons on LIB,this is a very laudable effort and yet some still criticize! C'mon Y'all gotta change
¤Rahman

A tablet helps in no way for exams. Wat happened to computers. Tablet are luxuries, it's like having a blackberry phone. They don't have Microsoft office or educational stuff on them. This is so ridiculous and incompetent of the Nigerian government yet again

Lekwanu m anya ooo!!! Bia onye governor, who told you that tablet is what they need. Wait oo, how sure are we he didn't hire a chinese company to produce cheap,useless tablets. Deceive yourself!!

Very sensible comment. Tablet is too big a step. He's just laundering money. I served in osogbo,those students can't speak 10 sentences in correct english and you expect them to use a tablet? Pleaseee!
He could have simply upgraded the classrooms and bought desktops and all. He just used this tablet initiative to launder money and silence ctitics. I can place a reasonable bet that each of this tablet costs 100k and I'm pretty sure he didn't buy an ipad.

Is Gettn d student d laptop wasting of money?nxt time think b4 u talk so u wnt talk out of sense#ode

missy said...

Mcheeewwww!!!Anon 8.26 ru so dense??dis is a clear case of puttin d cart b4 d horse!take a look @ d horrible lookin class!he shudve used d money to refurbish d class n den start d students on desktop computers 1st b4 givin dem tablets.u very well said dat some of d students r nt computer literates so hw in Gods name do u expect dem to knw hw to use a tablet???I 1da who advices dese politicians sef!n u,try not to be mediocre in ur thinkin pls!

Chai!!! Smh... square peg in a round hole. Where is the internet for those stidents to fully itilise the tablets. Someone has made a fortune on the supply of tablets. Who supplied them and at how much? Most schools overseas get non branded products to cut cost and build school IT labs and improved libraries. Is it not better to equip schools than equip current students??? Mumu rulers wey we get... misplaced priorities!

Jayden O said...

No mind the mugu abeg. I'm really beginning to belive that its mostly kids that don't know there left frm their right dat comments on this blog ohh. How can computer tablets for these children be a waste of moni. Its gonna help them a lot.

Plsssss tablets don't cost dat much. Besides they will learn how to use it.

@missy,it is ur mother and ur entire family that are so densed,stupid dick sucker,can't you make ur point without insulting me?I can see you have got no home training,bloody Prostitute, bending down a lot to get ur stinking rotten cunt fucked must have actually dried up all the water in ur brain,stupid brainless whore ,fuck off my case bitch.bring it on you dirty baby slut

Ironic

@missy,In addition, If you have no home training then I will gladly give one to you,stupid cock sucker,always read comments well b4 you use that ur leprosy fingers to type insult to urself with ur bb curve,useless cheap fuck,abi the school wey you go better pass dis one?dem give you tablet for there?useless ashawo you just feel say you fit come here type insult to people any how abi?I wish it was one on one we are having this talk,make I take razor blade re design that ur ugly face for you,you craze ni abi wetin?or are u on cheap drugs or at the highest frequency of ur stupidity. brothel reject

May God punish your jealous mind there,go and drink Poison and die,the world can do with one less jealous idiot.

I'm sure u r feeling like James Bond at the moment? How many books did u have 2 read 2 type all dis? All of dem can b summarized wit 'prostitute' y so much stress?

Erm anon 11:09,u are actually the one without home trainin here.. For christ sake,y bring other people parent in cause someone abused u? Is dat how u were brought up?.. Oga o

D gov is at again. Misplaced priorities. D students can't spell computers not to talk of tablets. I know this cos I live in Osun. Let him get more teachers and a better learning environment. Yeyeh man! Hisssssssssssssss!

good job ogbeni.

SpeechleSs

Iamlani said...

This is great!

@missy,rotten pig you see ur stinking life?using anon to reply me so that it will look like you have supporters,but cos u have shit in ur brain,you forgot to use ur handle,in ur first reply(PJ come and see ur lost sister oooo)dumb whore,coming here to rant like a mad dog,abi you think say na to lye down spread leg we dey talk for here?dirty ashewo,see ur stupid mentality they shouldn't have gotten the kids laptops they should have given it to you instead abi?I can see that too much of fucking different dicks has reduced ur IQ,stupid fucktard,common shift make I know wetin dey smell.

My dear you are not making any sense,"poor tax payers money"who did he buy the laptops for?(His family)omg did an adult just type this?smh

Then die in ur bitterness,and I can assure you no one would even notice ur absence,RIP in advance.

fungi said...

Lol... these r just Chinese tabs...

Why can't you people just learn to appreciate things that people do,this is one of the reason why most government official divert money into their pocket instaed of actually using it to better the life of the people,cos they know that weda they do or not,they will still be criticized,so they feel its better to just satisfy their bank account,at least it won't criticize them,learn to appreciate the little people do,so that they can do more,they are some schools that are worst looking than this,with no tables or chairs and am very sure majority of you went to schools like that,so what are we talking about here.

Common shut up,the one wey you go fine reach this one?that is if no be under mango tree ur class room bin dey.learn to appreciate things

@Missy, Æ”☺ΰ r right of wat Æ”☺ΰ justs said, Æ”☺ΰ ppl should just take a look of dat local school which I'm very sure d students won't be able to operate common deskstop not to talk of galaxy tab so he's he should have at first get dem deskstop nd not galaxy tab. Senseless gov

Its like buying LV designer shoes for osun village farmers...Nice shoes..granted! Buh do they realy need them? What they need are fertilizers,tractors,rubber boots. First things first! Let's learn hw 2 get our priorities right!

Jeez some just write rubbish..at least he did somtin gud.. Learn to giv constructive criticism.. Dumbasses

Olohi said...

I hope their teachers got laptops too. Else I wonder what they'll be teaching with the tablets. Mtcheeew
Doing the wrong thing the right never made it alright!

missy said...

@Anon 5.25,who did dis to u??y r u so damn angry??ure literarily foamin @ d mouth!n ur vocabs??my goodness!its really colourful!but u dnt nid to paint a picture of all ur secret doings to us,its disgustin enuf! N my dear I dnt need to use'anon' to post a comment to reply u cos u can't do more dan uve done,which is jst to rant.I'm not a coward like u who's hidin his/her identity to spit hate bcos of a comment.I'm really sorry 4 u,jst take a chill pill ok?
@ d oda'anons' who supported me,tnx a lot!its good to knw we still have sensible pple out dere!

oh plz this is a right move at the wrong time, this things take steps, this children cant even write correctly when dictated to, and now u r giving them tablets, more reasons to make them very lazy, there will definitely be a significant increase in the the failure rate in WAEC, because they wont use tablets to answer questions will they? the school environment is not conducive enough i mean the school i served in was a govt school built with mud and located in osogbo the state capital. there are quit a number of schools like that and yet your next move is to introduce tablets. Mr Governor you are obviously surrounded with people who wanna embezzle your money, cos who ever sold dis idea to you is wicked so people.

@missy ROTFLMAO,stupid whore,good to see u supporting urself,u are so shameless,so your real name is missy abi?hahhhahahahahahahahaha,you are just an anon just like the rest of us,crawl back into ur shit hole and continue hawking ur fufu.silly whore

tax payers` money spent on tax payers. 9ce 1 gov.

osun osogbo corper teaching basic tech said...

I am an osogbo corper and I authoritatively say that more than 98% of these students cannot construct a simple sentence in english, they cannot read english, cannot read yoruba and even if the tab is in yoruba language, they cannot read it. They do not have computers in their schools, they haven't even been provided with textbooks. They were given only one pair of uniforms for over 2 months now, faded, dirty. These students will sell these tabs and buy "okada's" because that's what they do! There is absolutely no point! They should be provided with more uniforms, books, and computer rooms not tabs that they do not understand!

lovely, at least u are plantin a seed for the young generation

If I hear say dem allow dem take d tablet go house, i no go chop 4 1day.

I think the problem with most people commenting on this blog is that they don't have first-hang information, so they speculate and reach their conclusion based on assumptions and presuppositions.

Let's face the fact: why did Gov Arege buy tablets? Did he distribute for his family members alone? How much were the tablets?

The challenge of most parents in Osun State is tjat they dont have the means to buy textbooks for their children. How will these children pass exams without textbooks? This was the major reason why the governor decided to invest in tablets.

Tablets or ipads can hold as much as 10, 000 textbooks, educational quizzes, comics, magazines and even games to enhance learning. Students will learn how to type and also know how to surf the internet even if their parents cannot afford it. How is that a misplaced priority? We need to start reasoning like human beings on this blog!

I read some comments about hotspots. At this stage, the students don't need hotspots for the tablets. The tablets already have installed hundreds of textbooks, educational quizes, and magazines that will help each student prepare well for exams and future educational challenge.

As for those saying that the classrooms should be repaired first, I think that is not the first priority. Even in United States where I currently live, all the schools are not built the same way. The only similarity however is that whatever technological facility is available in the city will also be provided for those in the suburbs.
Whether students live in Lagos or Osun, they should be able to use the computer and have access to free textbooks, afterall WAEC will not grade students based on how nice the classroom is.

Bolaji

Both proponents and opponents sounding childish... Cnat u guys hav a constructive arguement without abusing urselves... Everbody shud have their opinion... Me I appreciate the effort of the governor but desktops wud have been better for durability.. Does it mean that tbese kids will take this home and wen new set comes in say into ss 1 or whichever class,.new tablets will be bought?? And we know notin last in naija

D whole of osun state is fucked..........I school in osun state. ‎​s̶̲̥̅☺ I knw wat am talking abt,no light,no water,no _̅_̅̅_̅̅̅g̲̣̣̣̥o̲̣̥ÏŒ̲̣̣̣̥̥̊ÆŒ̲̣̣̣̥♡̷̴̬̩̃̊ Roads,is dat d best he can offer ?

SAMUEL said...

Very shameful that some people are commending Gov. Aregbesola of Osun state for this unwise decision. Distributing tablets to Senior Secondary School Students rather than providing good classrooms, libraries with good books, and computer laboratories in these schools where they can go and have Computer lessons is very very absurd. The gift is ill-timed and knowing fully well that using tablet requires payment of monthly subscriptions and electricity to charge it and these are lacking. It is disappointing to know that we have leaders who are not wise enough to know what is necessity for the development of education in this country. I pity Osun State maybe soon he will buy and distribute bluetooth, iphone5 and Blackberry Z10 to indigent people in the state. Rubbish!

Bee said...

Like i always say.. POLITICS IS A THANKLESS SERVICE...the move.. good and bad... but its still better than nothing. atleast those kids will believe more.

Melvin said...

A 5 year old child in the UK can blog, use email and surf the internet easily, so I am very much in support of exposing these children to such technology.
However I believe that the money could have been put to better use. if the classrooms, and the school environment was rehabilitated and put in better shape, if the library was stock with new and current books, if school buses were provided to ease movement to and from school, if new uniforms are sown and given to the children etc.
Then this group of children will not only benefit but a couple of generations after them will also do.
But Kudos to Mr. Rauf nonetheless.

Seriously, this is like clothing a pig with a white cloth when its obvious the pig will still get back in the mud. Getting tablet for them ain't the right thing to do Cos most of these students will definitely sell it and use the money for something else but i hope they get to use it wisely.

Now it is obvious that we have such bitter people here. Yu say the kids dont know hw to operate em and al, no b somewhere dm go learn? abi why una jst dey blocked for head? nothn one does would ever satisfy yu, even if Ogbeni put hn head for stick, u go say why hn no roast am for yu. Pathetic haters oshi. E maa lo wa nkan se......Osun A Dara.......

Azeez said...

Its official there are a lot of morons reading Lindas blog

Puma wearing morons

The first step would have been to organize series of teachers training in educational technology. Train them on how to use technology to scale classroom innovation, engagement, and performance. After that connect the teachers together to start having knowledge building sessions, interactions, feedback and technology plans from the curriculum. Teachers cannot use a gadget or a new knowledge they don't understand. The laptops should go first to the teachers who are meant to use it to retrain themselves and prepare rich lesson notes and work plan and to get exposed to how other practitioners all over the world are integrating technology into their classrooms. A year later, by which time the stage would have been set to empower students, the tablets can then be made available during school hours. Launching tablets in this manner may make a mess of the innovation. Instructional Designers like me can be reached for guidance. Technology is the future, but it must be well planned and executed.