Missing toddlers found dead after 39 days | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 March 2013

Missing toddlers found dead after 39 days

Culled from Punch
Two  toddlers in Ketu, Lagos State, who were declared missing on January 25, 2013 have been found dead in an abandoned vehicle on  the premises of a building next to theirs on Taike Street.
Punch Metro had on January 30, 2013, reported  story of the kids – Toheeb Adedokun (three) and Tajudeen Falilu ( three).
The family as well as the police had  suspected that  they were  kidnapped before the  discovery of their remains on Monday.
Our correspondent learnt that the vehicle in which the children were found was a  Honda Pilot Sports Utility Vehicle, which was used as collateral.

According to a police theory, the children went into the vehicle but were trapped inside, causing them to suffocate.

The Public Relations Officer, Lagos State Police Command, Ngozi Braide, said the corpses were discovered by bank officials, who had   gone to redeem the vehicle.

She said, “On Monday, at about 4:30pm, one Phillip Odi in company  with  Julius Odetola, both of whom are employees of Berachah Microfinance Bank, reported that on the same day, they received a text message from Macdonabi Jones Enterprise Limited, a customer of the bank, who pledged his Honda Pilot as collateral.

“The bank employees said on reaching the house located at 20 Taike Street, where the vehicle was parked, they discovered the corpses of the two children.”

The tragic news, however, did not go down well with residents of the street as they alleged foul play.
Our correspondent, who visited the children’s parents, learnt that the occupants of the house where the corpses were found had fled for fear of being attacked.

Some residents told PUNCH Metro that the occupants of the building had a case to answer.
One of them , who identified herself as Iya Basira said, “How could two corpses be in a compound for over a month and no one smelt any odour?

“We looked for these children for weeks and even the occupants of that building were aware that the children were missing.”

Our correspondent observed as residents pursued one of the occupants of the building, who was strolling down the road.

“Go away, we don’t want you in our neighbourhood”, they shouted.
It was learnt that earlier, an occupant of the building had to come with two policemen to be able to take some of her properties from her apartment.

It was also learnt that the vehicle had been taken to the Special-Anti Robbery Squad, Ikeja.
The parents of the toddlers and other members of the family said they planned pursuing the case to a logical conclusion.

Toheeb’s mother, Adijat, said the death of the children was controversial because on the day they   went missing, the said vehicle was not parked in the compound.

She said, “I went to that compound to look for them. On getting there, I saw a neighbour, Sir Kay’s wife. Sir Kay is into rental service and he is also a teacher. His wife told me she saw the two children that day. I didn’t see that vehicle in the compound because I looked around.”

Asked how she heard about the death of the toddlers, she said, “Some policemen came to me this morning (Tuesday) and asked if I was the mother of one of the missing children. They showed me pictures of the children and told me to point to mine which I did. They asked me to describe the clothes my child wore that day and I told them that he wore polo shirt (army colour mixed with red) with shorts. They asked for the clothes the second person wore and I told them.

“They told the fathers of the kids to follow them but we (women) were told to go back as we might not be able to withstand the shock. When I saw my husband’s face, I knew the worst had happened.”
Our correspondent, who went round the building, a bungalow with three flats, learnt that the landlord was late and the tenants had not returned.

71 comments:

But why?...................

Mad women are raped, toddlers are kidnapped and killed. Not even the dead are safe in Niaja. If you doubt it ask those who exhume dead bodies in the cemetary. It is scary.

Na wa O°˚˚˚ dis is sad

May their souls rest in peace.
I pray the truth is revealed and d culprits made to face d full wrath of Law.

~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA33310

Olumide Samuel said...

We've been facing the same problems over and over & again. This government is not providing nigerians' basic needs. They're only full of promises..

Dis z very confusing. Won't jump in2 conclusions til tins bcom a bit clearer. Waitin 4 mor info!

bella j said...

May God rest ther souls Amen..

Nawa Õoooº°˚ ◦ ......juxt speechless may dia gentle soul rest in perfect peace.....strange tinzz α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ rily happening Õoooº°˚ ◦ .....is only God dat can save us out from dis wicked world

Sexy Anonymous said...

This Is so. Sad. GOD shuld forgive those dat perpetrated dis act and grant de children eTernAl rest. I hpe de family gets justice.

PO$H said...

This is rily sad,dnt even knw wot to say bt i know kids stray most times,a similar tin happened to my friend's kid sis,she lockd herself in a car n cudnt come out,she was jst lucky to b discovered much later in d day wen she had cried out her eyes n slept off,she was almost gone...so dis case cud b similar to dt,wot i dnt undrstnd is how long it took to discover dem. Is jst so sad,may deir innocent souls RIP.

Na Wa oooO

Opelenge said...

WOW!! Sad...

Rip

D.E said...

What wickedness, and yet we in this country are the most religious, go to our place of worship on sundays and fridays yet the act of wickedness is evident most among us, why not see your neighbour as yourself, with love knowing that every child is your child it just shows most Nigerians don't love themselves let alone love another, this just brings tears from my eyes, from aluu, to this, boko haram one tragedy and violence to another, its a matter of peace and unity among ourselves nt govt alone everyone. Its well

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Nigeria is finished. I'd advice everyone there to leave that death-hole and run over to Ghana. That country is just a disaster waiting to happen.

D.E said...

What wickedness, and yet we in this country are the most religious, go to our place of worship on sundays and fridays yet the act of wickedness is evident most among us, why not see your neighbour as yourself, with love knowing that every child is your child it just shows most Nigerians don't love themselves let alone love another, this just brings tears from my eyes, from aluu, to this, boko haram one tragedy and violence to another, its a matter of peace and unity among ourselves nt govt alone everyone. Its well

I hope dey get to d root of dis matter, cos dis is so unfair

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING FLAT TOMMY said...

ohhhhh so sad.. God be WIth Them anywhere they are..

" They went inside the car, and suffocated" kai, kai, kai, Naija! So police don use their yeye naked eyes do autopsy and forensic test! Instead of them to mobilise us forensic experts in Diaspora to come back home, they are busy out there making fool of themselves!May their innocent souls rest in peace.

Evil everyday in Nigeria...so sad..please visit gistmediaroom.blogspot.com

Its impossible 4 kids 2 stray into a honda pilot.as an adult,it takes energy 2 climb into a honda pilot nt 2 talk of kids.I smell foul play

Is it possible for dead bodies to stay in a car for dat long without releasing foul smell? Poor innocent souls! D police should get to d root of dis problem.

May their souls rest in peace

this is so sad...

So so sad?may there little souls rest in peace!

Hw did dey appear inside d vehicle since it wasn't dere d day dey got missin, a neighbour of mine gossiped wit her friend in d sittn room nt knwn her only son had locked himself up inside d wardrope until she serchd evrywher d whole street, untill d husband returnd nd out of annoyance started thrown her thnz out nd opend d wardrop to bring her oda cloths den saw his son lying week nd helpless thank God he was revived at d nearest hospital. Thnz re happenin o

mr diamoond said...

Very painful and sad story

Didn't you read that the car was not parked there the day they went missing? How can two kids be dead for long and nobody smelt anything

Great story but it's very saddening.....don't know wah d world is turning into!

Great story.. Buh it's very saddening..... Don't know wah d world is turning into!
R.I.P to d KiDz

tammy said...

Na wa o...This country is just not safe, may the soul of the little angels rest in peace.

I know ugly things happen in Nigeria, but parents should be extra vigilant with their little kids instead of just assuming that they are okay...they should be in your eyesight AT ALL TIMES!!!
Because the EVIL ones are always sticking around waiting for whom he may devour!!
#God-protect-ur-children

It is not impossible that the children wandered into the car and died of suffocation. this is so sad for any parent to discover

shyla said...

The problem now is that our police pple dont know how to pursue cases. Something that happened in january and the bodies discovered march. Luks like foul play. Cos thse kids could not have been inside that car without decomposition setting in and smelling (from the car vents alone) and on the other hand, that car i assume has been used since then. I believe they were dropped in the car after they had died for their owners to discover on time. Pity the owner of the veh. Thats y we pray not to be used as agents to bad deeds.

Its very sad...but as a christian I try not to be surprised by the terrible events occuring daily around us but with bad news popping up every now and then on CNN n local stations u can't just help but wonder if heaven would surely be worth it all? I mean this suffering and wickedness on earth....it is well.

But why would dey kill dis kids haba nowwww whyyy #sad face#

Sexy anonymous, are you okay? GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE THEM AT ALL IN JESUS NAME AMEN, ASE...if any foul play is involved in the deaths, may God visit the perpetrators with full force of His wrath

Ds s very tragic,ds shitt almost happened 2 ♍ε̲̣̣̣ wen  was much younger,Ʊ knw while playing d hide n seek game  entered an abandoned vehicle but could not open t 4rm d inside again.Tnks 2 God n my elder bro who l8r found ♍ε̲̣̣̣ after  ws exhausted 4rm screamin n cryin and almost at d point of̶̲̥̅̊ suffocatn

May God help us in this so called country, no life is safe

May God help us all... Life is not safe anymore in this so called country

How sad... RIP little ones. May those responsible never go unpunished!

Ada said...

There are no right words for a tragedy like this...may their souls rest in peace.

Julz said...

I know strange things happen sometimes but I don't get how u leave with two corpses for over a month without any form of suspicion.I just pray d real truth comes out n may their young souls RIP

Medulla. said...

Mothers please dont be too busy for looking after your children. Remember God gave you the perfect gift to watch over and to care for. And so God will ask you how you handle the gift. This world is evel. Pls be in charge of you wards. May their gentle and sinless soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Oge Nsimah said...

For one month !God have mercy am tired of hearing bad newz everyday

wenger02 said...

only God knws wat happen to dis kids.RIP kid.

topeorekoya.blogspot.com said...

Its is so sad that these children had to die in that manner. I live on that street and I know what the parents of the children went through.

Philip Odi is ma friend and its so unfortunate that he has been detained @ Panti because the corpses were found in the car he is in custody of despite that he was the one that reported the discovery to the police immediately he saw them.

topeorekoya.blogspot.com

Gods knows d truth but I dnt believe dat story.Aw can dey b inside it all dis while witout pple noticing.uhmmmm somfin is fishing

Hardly have we had a week pass without a mysterious murder case waiting to be unravelled... It's become the order of the day: murder! What's this all about? People kill without respect to human life. Nobody has the right to take another's life...even God has spared us in all our iniquities. Lord, wade into this incessant murder spree in our country...expose this blood-thirsty dare-devils...so that men will know that there's still God who rules in affairs of men!

sumbrits said...

How can human body not even 1 but 2 b in the car parked in a compound and nobody from building smelt ...that's not possible even those staying on the ground floor? Common!!!wat state where they found?cuz believe 2monyhs is enuf for decomposition to take place...something not right with the kids death...

Something is not right, this story does not add up. I have a toddler too and I can say it's impossible for these 3 year olds to open the doors of an SUV them selves and climb inside. Definitely they were dumped there after they had been killed. Autopsies need to be carried out to determine the cause of death before nigerian police open their dirty mouths to say they suffocated there. May God rest their gentle innocent souls and the perpetuators be brought to book. Amen.

May dia gentle soul rest in peace,a similar case just happened in Gombe,infact d kids in question were my frd's younger ones. 3 of dem got themselves in a neighbors car n dy were stucked inside,every1 were lookin 4 dem includin d owner of d car, No one cud fink dy cud b in d car, by d time dy went to check d car,d 3 kids were dead. Its really Sad.In Gombe as I write,dy will b buried 2day.

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

Pls let us not blame govt for all d crime going on in Naija. The heart of man is desperately wicked and evil.
Imagine even on this blog a man called me for relationship. That he saw my phone no on Linda ikeji blog. So he called me! A total stranger asking for relationship! My pic is not here. Rather I have furniture pics(cos I produce furniture) .
I now ask why in the world will a normal full grown man call a total stranger asking for relationship????? If not with evil intentions...

What is great about the story? Ode oshi

The owner of the vehicle has a case to answer as well, when did he park d vehicle in d compound?
Linda pls post my comment o
Heywhy*

U re finished! Omo ale

Mama Ijebu said...

My dear,the point is,we have so much population.. As we have people going to church on Sunday,we have people going to mosque on friday and we equally have pegans,we have d wicked retartded people who human life means nothing to..So u see,the country is highly populated..Most populous country in Africa.. We should just continue to pray to God's protection not to get to the hands of the wicked people

Somtin is not right here after 39days d dead body were recovered....I believe police knew. Wt dey shd do if really dey want 2 dey shd stop purnisin d inocent soul wy are dey dectective?menawhile most. Of our women are too careles. abt d welfare of there children those kids are too young 2 be left without beign wit there mother 24 7 dis served a leson 4 careles,unchalant,iresponsible so cal mothers.

It is well..

Shyla,u're very right my dear and Amen to that prayer.

Na true u talk

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

@tope waoh! Hope ur friend is released

Pp said...

FYI, no country is heaven on earth, they all av their shortcomings. U heard!

Continue praying

Na how. 2use english appropriately b em problem,no b em fault

@Tope Orekoya, could it be that some wicked people later put the kids in the car? Why was the man's wife not detained? Why would a car be left unlocked? Come on, somebody in that house knew something.

Is there a barren woman or impotent man in the area that people made fun off? Some Nigerians love to ridicule people with problems.

It is well

It is well,world ends sooner dan we tink,be prepared.dreadii

I tink sm1 or sm group of pple might av killd dese kids 4 ritual or smtin nd dumped dem in dat car..(my tots)..An autopsy shuld b carried out while d case is unda investigation cos i feel der is more 2 d death of dese kids. And parents (nt only mothers) pls b vigilant nd neva let such young ones out of ya sight.May dey rest in peace. ~B~

my question, why should a car be parked and d car doors unlocked? Something is fishy jare