Dangote moves from the 76th to the 43rd richest man in the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 March 2013

Dangote moves from the 76th to the 43rd richest man in the world

Nigerian businessman and philanthropist, Alhaji Aliko Dangote is now the 43rd richest man in the world, according to the Richest People in the World list Forbes released yesterday.

Dangote moved from 76th with a net worth of $11.2billion in 2012 to 43rd with a net worth of $16.1bn as of March 2013. So he made about $5billion in one year! Choi!

Dangote is still the richest man in Africa. The other Nigerian billionaire on the Forbes Billionaires list is single Paddy Adenuga's dad, Global chairman Mike Adenuga, who ranked 269 with a net worth of $4.7bn.

Mexican telecoms tycoon Carlos Slim is the world's richest man with a net worth of $73bn, while Bill Gates is the second with a net worth of the $67bn. 3rd is Armancio Ortega of Spain ($57bn), 4th is Warren Buffet ($53.5bn), and 5th is Larry Ellison with $43bn net worth.

126 comments:

anniebelle said...

*sighs* Father bless my hustle

Ewaseni said...

Money matterz# Amma be on dat list some day

OMG I tap in to this blessing IJN. God make us all rich in this life time oh Lord.

Mohammed said...

Am not saying he shouldn't be saluted for moving from 76 to 43 infact, it really calls for celebration but 5 billion Naira in a year? SMH. Wale Adenuga 269? That's a long way o

Na wa ooo...the poor getting poorer and rich getting richer

lolz @single Paddy Adenuga. dat makes d both of u Lindiway*wink*

sweet

as in seeee moneeeey

Tee B said...

He keeps stepping up by the day. That's Awesome!
At least Africa is being recognized.

Justin Bieber booed and insulted by parents for showing up two hrs late to his concert

DADDYSWIFE said...

No b small choi!,money!money!!money!!!,vry soon I go reach there in Jesus name amen.make una dey reach dey go,notin mega

Na wa oooo,na so dey go call money like paper,weysomepeople never get 500 naria

I AM THE 6TH WITH A NET WORTH OF.... GUESS !!

ada said...

Big congrats sir,oh God I must be announced positively in my generation IJN Amen

wow this is great...prays he makes more money

Mini importation business with N10k said...

I see this man as my role model. this is great news for africans and indeed Nigerians

manymen said...

He's my role model. OLUWA is involved in my matter. To the Grand Commanders(Alhaji Aliko & Otunba Mike) I say may God continue to bless you. This two men are really and truly an inspiration.

Good for him. But dis news didn't reduce d poverty level in our country.

Whats d point of being the 43rd richest man wen ur staff are living in poverty and very poor salaries i hear only the top executives earn mouth watering salaries

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Owo ori baba mulika!..money dat scares poverty away!...keep doin it Big bros. See his face like honey well noodles....lol

I must be rich too oooooo. Chai!

Eya Ayambem said...

Whom God has blessed, no man can curse.

All these money he is packing, of what use are they? what will he do with that? vanity upon vanity...

Hail Jesus... I luv #success... I'm a hard working girl but I'd luv to work hard on that Carlos slim guy... Who cares about #dangote... Nor be him mate carry 1st for der...

Its nice to see Dangote increase in wealth. But what is happening to the staff who helped in making the money for him. Dangote staff are one of the worst paid people in the country. Linda u need to ask if his staff are happy.

that's my uncle!!! love you uncle Aliko it me ur neice Bolanle

All I nid 2boost my business is 1million NAIRA o!*weeping* who knows how I can contact dangote 2help a sista out!n no am nt goin2slip with him o.I no he can dash dat amount out without seeking4sumthin in return?

proudly naija,,,,case settled......off to d toilet....MR YAXX..

Oh God even if my name wouldn't be on that list just make me a self made billionaire, pings 2260FCBD

Mohammed said...

Oooh! $5 billion dollars? That's a whole lot of money

Amen ooo me too

We will get there too.God place us there.

beeba said...

So no arab in the top 5??? Wow! Heartbroken. :(

SouljaForChrist said...

You must be ready to join illuminati or worship another god...coz u can't have dis type of money and tell me you will still ave time for God asin go to church for Bible studies, Midweek Service or Sunday service...one word #Vanity just pray ur comfortable on this earth den make heaven...dis guys wealth I'm nt impressed...it takes you away from God!!!

Dupe NSTAR said...

Dear Uncle D ...your children and loved ones are your wealth..i wish you the happiness i feel in me looking in their eyes all the time.

missy said...

Craze pickin!lol

That guy hold better BAR no b small. He bought a Patek watch for thousands of pounds not just watch correct machine watch in london recently,u need to see the guards around him.I respect dis man a lot. I pray God smiles on me too like dat soon.....Amen

POSH said...

Were u born daft or u jst work on it? Whoz talkin abt naira here? N 5billion naira is nothing to shake head for. 269 is still in d list of world's richest so is an honour. Ya girl *POSH*

missy said...

Not to famz or anytin like dat,but Dangote is my uncle ooo!all of u claimers,pls shift!lolz......Dear Lord,I nid jst 5% of his wealth,amen!

Lol @ single paddy Adenuga's dad. That soulja4jesus should stop all this poverty talk abeg. God said we should have abundance so we can be a blessing to others. Your riches shouldn't stop u from serving God. God bless our hustle.

Where dis pple see money

But he is stil on d list..so there is hope

Olamilekan said...

My name shall be mension oneday very soon.

NaijaCollections said...

Good one, wish this would affect the proverty level of Africa

Wats d use if he is d 43rd richest man wen his staff are one of the poorest paid heard only the top executives and indians earn mouth watering salaries and bonuses.Linda pls investigate

Ice Princess said...

Lol @ single Paddy! What I ll celebrate here is Dangote's Success not Wealth. I like the fact that most of his investments are here in Nigeria and he has contributed immensely to the growth of the Nigerian Economy. Also love him for being a good and hardworking progeny of Dantata, that 500K given to him in 1975 has evolved to $16.1 billion dollars.

Debbie said...

Hhmmm serious mata...lord make me rich ohhh.

Used to work there before the dangote staff status is just being hyped by the media the whole package is crap for junior staff who do majority of d wrk that amounts to this billion of $$$

Debbie said...

God make me rich ohh.

GREAT love said...

Let him bring down the price of food stuff, He controls the 80% of the importation of rice and some other things. Kudos to him. More bless sir!

Speak for urself....it's ridiculous to think that being a true Christian and being a billionaire a mutually exclusive.

Ye, u right

LOL @no be him mate carry first....reminds me of my papa when I dey go school

Linda wrote this, and ppl keep repeating it, the man didn't make $5billion in a year o..his NET WORTH increased by $5billion....in fact it's not impossible that he might have made less money last year in total, but his worth could have still increased..all the same impressive feat..

Smiling all the way to the bank... Wealth put to action is forever increasing wealth

Mohammed said...

Correcting me in a nice way won't do u any harm miss posh, corrected myself even before u replied. Learn to be nice

So u believe he/she won't have time for church but will have time for illuminati? Wow; your thinking is unique!

Eddy said...

Who said money is nt good? Mek Dangote com giv me jst 1 percent of his wealth na, this world is unfair o, some ar smiling in dolars while some cant evn afford a meal ticket

Hrm paul ojeih said...

were the hell is general Ibrahim babagida, how come they forgot chief olusegun obasanjo how about comas maduka, ifeanyi uba, james ibori, and all the thieving ex governors this list is fraudulent it cant be complete with our senators that steal billions of naira even 4 time incumbent senate president David mark is not there na wa o

God pls grant my heart dsires.Amen

Bitch ass slut like angel ideh

Alhaji Dangote chooooooi!Aboki dan kano.I hail ur hustle bros,abin da dadi gaskiya.U go boi,represente all da way mehn!!!

Atleast he gv dem employment!if he shuts down his companies wat will be their fates?riding okada I guess which is worse

Abi???true talk madam,player haters shld think of trying too nt hating him plsssssssssssss.

Choi, I want to be in that list ohhh, God Bless the work of my hands IJN, Amen.

Atleast he gv dem employment!if he shuts down his companies wat will be their fates?riding okada I guess which is worse

Alhaji Dangote chooooooi!Aboki dan kano.I hail ur hustle bros,abin da dadi gaskiya.U go boi,represente all da way mehn!!!

My dear trust me, I have been in ur shoes, I used to say that, and close to 1.5 million came to me though in bits of 500 in 3 months this was 2009 if I tell u today I'm bk to working for that money myself u wdnt believe. For some reason I cudnt save n put the money in investment that swallowed it, mayb becos I hadn't sweated for it( well technically I sweated. But no nEed for details) long story short I'm on a saving p now and I don't spend anyhow by calculating money before it comes, and I also deny myself of things I got back then that I can still get 20 yrs from today, God keeping me alive... But I thank God for the experience, right now if I was asked how much I wanted I wd look for needs like if I needed a car, I would say pls get me a car,or pls put down payment for a Land, but for that money to enter my hand no way, rather let all monies I have worked for be put to regenerate more income once free monies can buy physical need, note need not want! But in the end, diff things work for diff people. God bless ur hustle

He keeps moving up...nice one

Pope said...

Wen I grow, I will be like him

Eddy said...

Money is good

mimi said...

Wat is Aliko waiting for to marry n start having kids or does he want to have grand children instead of children...mtchieww..

is it only me that saw the fact that Linda put emphasis on Mike Adenuga's son Paddy saying he is single

yes I said it said...

Lmao my sister I know what you mean. To work hard on him so your hard work can pay off.

kosi said...

in as much as some people in this list are my role models, I must be unsentimental to boldy say that only the devil gives this kind of wealth.
I know wat it is to be optimistic and so on. but I also know the Bible too well.
Sure a man can be wealthy through God, but think of it, this mass of wealth will negate a man's sense of life to everything Christ taught.
Rev: 18vs3: "....and the merchants of the earth grew rich from her excessive luxuries"
Vs 23: ".....your merchants were the world's great men".

"ambitions are good, but can lead to evil if obsessed".....kosi

ONEL said...

Nice one for dangote.....That realy means their is potential here...I see him climbing higher and higher....but one question is this..........Is he realy giving back to the public????????

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

@Angel,i luv ur hustle...anyone but d number one won't cut it :)

IS oil n gas money

Ah,thief like u,this made me smile after a stressful day!

Adufe said...

Linda why the emphasis on "single paddy Adenuga's father"? I can see someone has eyes for him.......Mmmmm, who nor like better thing. Gat my eyes on u too lin lin......loooool

Retard! We talking dollars,u talking nonsense? And who mentioned Wale Adenuga here? U can't evn read and u r beefing richest pple in the world?

@Angel, oooh girl u make me laff in spite of my miserable situation right now...*no bi him mate carry 1st for der* reminds me of my primary schl days, wen the report card is given and u got home with may be 20th position in a class of 25. My papa go yab u tire naa. Hahahahahaaa

www.faceboardd.blogspot.com...if you want to grow taller after puberty stage..

No matter how much u take from me I can never be as poor as Dangote~Mariam Abacha. Go figure. Our Polithievecians get bar pass Danggy but u know how the thing go.

His 43 word richest nd number one in africa rite? I definatly no dat I wil b num 1 in d world nd in africa b4 I get tu his age,nd I wil help dos wu nid my help nd b a best frnd tu d poor by God grace

Amen ooo n d works of my hands Oh God

yes

Jesus christ of burundi...43rd out of 7 billion world population!!!!!!hmmmmmmm...This cement money is real bruh! damn!

ibijoke Faborode aka jojo fabz said...

Wasz my business with Dangote??? Abeg I'm also single jus like *single Paddy Adenuga*. Pls can anyone help me hook up with him. I jus need him to make me a happy woman. Quit my job @ Porsche cos I wasn't happy. I bliv Paddy has d key to my happiness. Pls help me contact him.

Pls visit my blog. www.my-fab-diary.blogspot.com

So he should pay everybody millions of dollars abi?

Go to school and pay attention in English class first.

saintdon said...

BABA GOD, BLESS ME O

wizegeh said...

@soulja4christ pls shut up your mouth abeg, King david was a man after God's own heart, was he a poor man, he was inshort extremely rich, did job worship d devil despite all his riches?, people do evil things to get money yea but God also blesses people too and he blesses in abundance, so please mechionu dere and stop bin jealous, pray for ya own instead. Meanwhile is dangote nt looking for daughter to adopt ni? am available o.

Gosh! God abeg oh! am happy for him,is any of his sons single???????

Tho he's not a womanizer but I heard this dangote sleeps with girls n give them 50k buhahahahhaahahahahahahhahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahha *I DIED* 50k is like 50kobo to ds man na hiaann for the stingyness

Gaddam! Alhaji Dangote, choi! U are my inspiration o, Allah anytime i look at forbes and see you there i beleive my name will be there someday. Uncle Dangote it is ur nephew from Kano.

#MoneyTinz Ten Power Women in Africa to Follow on Twitter

Ehn, ok now, you work for free..or tell your employers (or if you are a business owner, your customers) to pay you with guguru and ekpa, bcos you don't want money bcos all is vanity...

U don't need to follow paddy, aliko dangote is single himself, so leave paddy alone, paddy is not even adenuga first soon, Jide will choose wealth before him

Still the stock market is yet to recover...

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

Lmao!!I think he may have more than just d key,the door d key's meant 4 may also be in his possession...and quite possibly d house in which your happiness resides.

Yesso!

I cant be bothered. As far as I can afford a roof over my head and feed well, we are equal. Death is the leveler.

Wow! Money is good! I will get there in Jesus name Amen...Lol @ single *Paddy Adenuga's dad*...Linda Linda I see you o!...lol

There has to be a dangote gene in me somewhere! I insist on a DNA test. + I also hope paddy is gay! I would totally be gay for him! (˘̯˘ )(˘áµ”˘)( ˘˘̯)

If a Man has his Apartment stalked to the ceiling with Newspapers, we call him Crazy. If a Woman lives with 40 cats in her flat, we call her Nuts. But when People pathologically hoard so much cash that they impoverish an entire nation, we put them on the cover of Fortune Magazine nd pretend they are role models.

queency said...

People are talking about him today including u, but I tink dats not relevant...... Wat is relevant now I s for u to make a great name for urselve also........ Wat will b say about u tomorrow, my broda and sista work hard and God will bless ur hand work

Lmfao....Buhahahaha

Please go back to school.

We dey talk investors,u dey tlk politicians

Na mouth dt one get jor. We dey talk world investors u dey tlk Mariam Abacha.

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING FLAT TOMMY said...

wooooooooooooooooooooooow

Gifted Hands and grace like rain that's all I ask for ...

Dumb gel!!.....he has lots of children.....his first daughter got married to the son of Col Sani bello...in kano!....somtime ago!.....Aymii

Forbes only counts dose d@ ve a 'legit source of income'.
If nt mayb d Abacha's would be on top of list followed by d greedy-evil genius.
***JANTA***

missy said...

Mension!!!hahahahaha!!!gud reply anon5.54

Chidozie Mario said...

It is called hypermoneyaemia.
Are You On Fakebook?

Abeg go and seat ur ass somewhere,na poverty dey make you talk like this.don't worry sha it is well.

For the latest updates in nigerianschools visit
http://nigerianschoolsonline.com.ng

Why won't he be,
I bag of cement is selling for =N=200 in china
In Nigeria close to =N=2000
a bag of rice is selling for =N=3000 in cotonu
In Nigeria close to =N=10,000
And every Nigerian are buying this, do u know the deffirent?

Mr Bendel said...

Nigerians...what has Dangote done for any of you. The man employs more Indians than Nigerians. He thrives in monopoly of key commodities due to bad government policies. He destroys other people's businesses. What book has he written to help young business men and women. Where is his charity? Open your eyes people. We must stand up and fight for equal opportunities and right in this country and stop celebrating the people that have put us all in this situation.

cicy said...

If they are not happy, they should quit already and u'll see the vacant spaces filled up in a few seconds!

wizegeh said...

@Anon March 5,2013 at 11:21pm why are you so bitter, is it anybody's fault dat ur own name + surname cant open mouths talkless of doors for you? who is asking you for dangote's family tree by d way, mafilomi n dasi, u sef dey form i know dangote, his first daughter married in kano....who asked u, Announcer General, u wey dem nor even know weda u dey exist for d family.....u are here insulting someone for them....ur case is very pathetic.

@souljaforchrist...thats dumb! Which Christ are you following? The one that wants you to remain poor or a mediocre?

Gud to hv money, just making it in a cool way.hmmmmmMmmmmmmm money is talking

@winnie tom nice one. Tell him to go check on Deac. Strives the owner of Econet and the first man to ever make a GSM call in naija. He's a Christian business man.