2face & Annie Idibia receive their Prado SUV from Akwa Ibom Gov | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 March 2013

2face & Annie Idibia receive their Prado SUV from Akwa Ibom Gov

2face and Annie Idibia got a brand new Toyota Prado SUV from the Akwa Ibom state governor, Godswill Akpabio, as wedding gift. The state government today released a photo showing Annie and 2face being presented with the SUV by the state's commissioner for Information, Aniekan Umanah. 

Not only did governor Akpabio give them an SUV, he also promised to fund the traveling expenses of 20 of Annie's family members to their Dubai wedding.

The generous wedding gift from the governor caused a lot of tongue to wag online forcing the Akwa Ibom State government to release a statement defending it. See their statement after the cut...

Following spurious and false speculations in the social media concerning the wedding gift by Governor Godswill Akpabio to Mrs. Annie Innocent Idibia, née Macaulay, I wish to state as follows:

That the Governor of Akwa Ibom State Chief Godswill Akpabio, donated ONE Prado jeep to Mrs. Annie Innocent Idibia, nee Macaulay a daughter of Akwa Ibom State and renowned artist during her traditional marriage at Eket.

That the State Governor as a token of support for the couple promised to fund the traveling expenses (economy return tickets) for only 20 relatives of Mrs. Annie Idibia Macaulay to Dubai, where the couple have chosen to wed.

“That looking carefully at the surrounding events in perspective, Mrs. Annie Idibia, nee Macaulay is a daughter of Akwa Ibom State and the gift of a Prado SUV from her governor is only a gesture of love and goodwill. Her resolve to stand by her husband on his journey right from his days of youthful beginnings to stardom even in the face of challenges was commendable and a true attribute of the Akwa Ibom women.

“That It is however unbecoming that mischief makers and enemies of progress have decided to inflame the social media with incongruous reports that the State Government is sponsoring an entourage of party supporters to the wedding in Dubai, when in fact the Government is only sponsoring the travel expenses of twenty of her family members at an estimated cost of roughly Three Million Naira (N3,000,000.00) only.

“I wish to therefore urge members of the public to discountenance the misrepresentations made out of a well intentioned act of the governor.” 

The state commissioner for Information, Aniekan Umanah.

263 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 263 of 263

The statement was Okay till I saw that "only". lol before I knew I had said "god punish them" (the person that wrote the letter not 2Annie)... Simply put N3,000,000 is not "only", it's more than enough for bad bele. The state house need a better PR guy... I'll be waiting for your call ;)

He is a bloody liar... people are out there suffering.... who told that 2face cannot afford to buy the jeep for annie... beside i tink anny marrying 2face is a very wrong decision.... once a dog always a dog.. imagine pero just gave birth few months ago to the 3th child am just saying when r we going to b hearing the new of th 4th born... but anyways congrats.... said my mind

Bullshit said...

all i got from the defense statement is this..
1) akwa-ibom girls stick around a rich man not solely for love but the money.
2) they get preggy wif hopes that it wld help tie him down

if this is the way of 'akwa-ibom girls',no wonder they are sent as house-helps to destroy homes..

and pls,where is Vien Tetsola? she was meant to be the woman by his side..

Naija I hail thee, all these our Oga on Top, so bc she's marrying a man who decided to be d father of all nation, she deserves a gift n prize, where's our morals, n seriously there re no persons in d whole of akwaibom dat deserve medical attention abroad worth that price! I only hope dat gift is frm his pocket n not state funds if not God is definitely watching him in 3D! Am not hating just saying fact! Anyways congrats Annie n Innocent

Is not fair how goverment funds are been distributed to even the rich.This governor lacks direction and ideas.God will continue to provide for the needy.Well,everyone will account for whatever you did on this earth.

Godswill, must we know? What about other faithful Akwa Ibom women??In times like this I marvel at the manner these public office holders evince stupidity. They do stupid things and give stupid reasons, atleast give us smart reasons for been stupid.

Labenzy said...

ok ooooO

Anon... said...

Dear 2face,

I congratulate you and your wife on your wedding and genuinely wish you all the best for the future.

I feel that such largesse has become a reoccurring pattern in the way our Government chooses to spend money. The needs of a few have increasingly been put above the needs for many for healthcare, education, infrastructure, sanitation etc.

In the interest of everything that you stand for, I urge you to return the SUV Prado or donate it to a charity of your choosing.

You have been very blessed to enjoy a successful career and I'm certain you will enjoy even more success, and gain more respect from your fans, if you were to take this action.

So someone gets an SUV as a wedding present fine, but can really put it together when 30 members of his family is being sponsored to attend a wedding. When there are so many less privileged people who would want to be sponsored to get educated.smh.

Can u guys jst stop hating? Who said dis governor can't afford it frm his own pocket! Be it governor of akwa ibom or lagos dt donated d gift..it doesn't change d fact dat they r all not working ..atleast he tot of giving out SUV ryt? Regardless of who is receiving! Abeg let's stop blabbing!

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

This really wasn't necessary,he should have done it privately without all the noise. These people really know how to call Nigerians Foolish in more ways than one walahi. Before he became Governor,how many people him dash motor cycle? Not to talk of Prado? #Goddeywatchunaon20D#

Pls is she the only celebrity from Akwa ibom state?, am suspecting somtin

it's good to notice that more pple get upset and speak out when funds are being misappropriated. Lets all speak out when it really counts in 2015. Register and vote! learn more about those running and vote in someone that can really change this country........ Not PDP (im sure it's pretty obvious they suck!)

Peculiar Magazine said...

the Governor means well jhur, everybody shud shutup, is it not better than carrying to another country and spend

peculiar said...

2face and annie, u deserve the gifts enjoy!!!!!!

the Car is okay, but the 3 mill again that means he is spending up to 13 mill for this couple from the Akwa Ibom account. Menh that is unncessary when people in your own state havent event see 3 000 naira to further there education. U should have taken the 13 million and spread it to the poor to ensure that people are educated at least to see they have a nice life. Anyway all na Connection, I trust my Governor Rochas at least he has a bit of sense compared to una.

Congrats Annie sha, enjoy ur state money.

I will advice Annie to either sell the jeep and give it to the charity homes around Nigeria. this will boost not only her career but the love of people towards here. Anythin you receive from the governement in Nigeria they sweet, but remember e dey carry bad mouth aha. All depends on u Annie if you are reading it.

NIGERIA is your government serious...when will they stop eating your money...most importantly when will you guys revolt against it?Na wa o...it is well at Annie if you had character you would sell that SUV and donate the proceeds to the needy...how do you feel spending poor people's money...RUBBISH

Make she Berra try clean up! Always look scruffy.... Just take a look at her unkempt hair. Very disgusting.msheeeeeeeew

We just don't change. We keep on giving to those who already have

Good for them
but let report the Gov to the Oga at the top....too much spending

www.naijaopenmouth.com

Weldone Gov

CLICK HERE TO ENJOY 20 FREE SMS DAILY TO ANY NETWORK

YINOTINTO said...

congrats d Idibias. so AkwaIbom girls have to wait till they have 5 step kids and two or more rivals before they should get married? no wahala, if its 4 d sake of an SUV...lol

Is anyone asking why Annie and 2Face are accepting these riches??? bad taste from both sides, oh

Anonymous 2:15, yes she was one of dem. The lady wit pink headtie. Dat wα̲̅ڪ Annie

All d best to their marriage. But a little advice to 2face. Pls pls pls, package ur third leg for a while or learn to use condoms to avoid unnecessary embarrassment. Good luck on ur welding. Akwa Ibom Governor spend wisely.

You are very foolish and one of the many problems in this country..did u not read tbat it is with GOVT he bought the sUv and will sponsor the trip of 20 family members to dubai.
I just would not have bn bothered if it was his personal money bug govt money.. Hell no.
The press release isceven more dumb and shows how shameless our leaders are and i am surprised nobody is even questioning this act
And even the Idibias cant say no to this outrageous gift plus all the money they have.. If it was a gift from his personal purse then no problem. ..but govt money hell no.. I am weak for this country. Shame on us.

@oluomooflasgidi said...

Really? Not in anyway jealous but i am really wondering if this what tax payers pay tax for, or is this out of his personal money? cos that is the only reason i can praise him for this.

he should have given them the gift quietly,why does a governor have to show off,stupid poverty mentality

its so uncalled for,only in nigeria do public office holders squander and lavish the national treasury as if its their personal money,what a shame Akpabio,its now an embarassment to the couple,what a waste

Let's join hand Nigerians to make PdP kpeme come 2015 especially south south and south east. Mona shine una eye and brain. Sincerely, this gift is too much and the government cannot tell us it is from private purse. Simple gift that's long lasting is okay. To me, they don't take the service of the populace important.

Congrats to them but i wonder why Annie is being treated like a MATRY for love? this girl expressly stated in an interview that she wasn't sitting around waiting for tuface. She said she also moved on. fate just had it that none of the men she dated stood the test of time and tuface haven sowed his wild oats came back to one of his many broads.

Akpabio is a thief he just needs an excuse to waste state funds.. Like someone said why not make HUGE donation in their names? or build a home for widows and abused women and name it after her?how does a car which would depreciate in value from the minute a plate number is attached do anything for her this is part of our problem in this nation.

If she had married someone else, would she still be honoured as A BELOVED DAUGHTER OF THE SOIL? Yoruba calls this act ABOSI or ASE mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew RUBBISH. I am sooooo pained

online reductionist said...

3m buys 20 tickets at 150k each. would you like a calculator sir? MAGA

Warri Girl said...

Those of u that say Akwa ibom is developed should go get their heads checked! Kids are killed everyday in that state. A UK foundation is struggling to stay afloat to help the witch children. If Anne and Tuface have sense there will sell the car and give the money to charity.

Na wa o, in dis country .few dat are rich are gettin richer n poor are gettin poorer.

trust me a normal human being who knows the sweat of money will not spend such EFCCCCCC UNA DEY SEEEE, WHAT ARE YOU GUYS DOING OOOOOO. GOD I DON TIRE TO THEY CRY!, SHOW US MERCY NA, WHAT IS THE NEED LIVING WITH THIS ANIMAL. LINDA PLEASE THIS HURT ME SO MUCH OOO

Chioma said...

Annie collect the keys and the ticket from am.

Chioma said...

Send me one ticket to Dubai

Who be HISS? You are nuffn but anu mpama! Afo anu! what has the Prado case got with being an Igbo or Yoruba? am sure u are nuffn but a makakwu!
DAT IGBO GIRL.

Musa Okilo said...

Akpabio is a mad man, soon to be like Abacha.
Tu face, i pity you as Annie is paying homage to Akpabio 24/7, 360 degree.

I think that this jeep cost less than what the idibias spent in akwa ibom state for their marriage.

wenger02 said...

mr governor hw does this put food on table of d poor masses in ur state? Self glory.

Is the donation & sponsorship from the private purse of the governor or from the public purse? If he personally made the donation, that's fine. He can donate his entire savings for all I care. BUT, if this expenses is from the public purse, then it is wrong and a huge SLAP to the people of Akwa Ibom for them even having the guts to defend their stupid act. How many daughters of Akwa Ibom has the governor of Akwa Ibom presented gifts to for their wedding, let alone Prado SUV? Or maybe, those ones do not deserve it. Corruption & misuse of public fund at it's highest level.

This remains wrong. this is wasting public fund. this is just just wrong...
these people have everything in advanced countries what these sort of people do is say ''please give this and that to that charity or give the gifts to blablabla''. this is state money and should not be used to do things like taking annie's family abroad. this is pure rubbish honestly...m out

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

Another example of stolen money being wasted on mindless showing off.
Nigeria has a long way to go before she can stand amongst nations with vision and integrity.
Its such a shame,and sad sad waste.

Waiti de worry 2 Baba wen carry e wedding go Dubai wen don already get everytin? U won burst dr Ecom d more. Our leaders I non knw waiti b really una problem! Una go lve waiti concern una go de do waiti no concern una. 2 Baba tell u say e de find sponsor 4 e weddi $ I de here de find jst 200,000 to start Biz nobdy de answer me. Na God go help us

Linda me $ u get problem b4?y u no de post my comment?encourage me abeg u

What is actually wrong with this our leaders, Is Annie the only lady in Akwaibom?, A whooping sum of 3million is what this mumu commisioner calls only, abi? When there are poor and less privilaged ones that can not even afford a good meal in their state...hmmm May God help us in this we country oo and eeerm eeerm Mr Innocent Idibia ask your wife questions oo, it's not just an ordinary gift.

Don't worry Akpabio dem go soon treat ur f**k up. If spent that money buying drugs for all those health centers in some remote village in Akwa ibom wouldn't that have been worth it? Who bloody cares if she's a true daughter of ur state? Is she d first woman from that state who is married to a celeb? Let Amadioha uproot u from ground.

Uche said...

this is just wasteful!!! how can u give this couple who are already filty rich these gifts? i saw a guy from that state on TV who has kidney and liver problem and all he need is just 5m for the surgery....he's been begging people for the past 1month on TV for donation! anyone of u who think this governor did well is an IDIOT!!! fools!

Tatafo said...

Thank god, they will finally have something worthy to sell to pay his childrens school fees, i hear his baby mamas are fuming over his non payment of school fees and regular upkeep, but they are spending a lot of money on dubai wedding, tuface should have done the right thing by settling their expenses on his kids, oga you better go and do that before them go halt your Dubai shindig, law they work for thier o, even if e no work for lagos, i talk my own o!

Hmmm! Stil waiting for Apostle Sulemans prophesy dat tuface will face a major scandal this year cos I wonder wat it will b...and another prophesy dat useless guvnors like dis go hear am

2baba atleast na ur fame dis rubbish geh dey after. @ speaker, ure are full of rubbish. how can u say its jst 3million as if u get am before u enter government.
there is poverty in the land, esp ur calabar where women are used as house helps. common, it shows how poor the governor and this rubbish speaker is.

see has annie they receive key like she neva see car before. anywayz, she neva see until 2baba help am. Gold digger. the best time to know a woman is wen the fame or moni of the man goes down not when he is just climbing that ladder.
@ governor, u should be the next in line in the EFFC books.
even if you give gift, must the world know? this shows his medocrity.
we need a jerry rawlings to finish all this rubbish leaders.

SK said...

Shut Up Jare, if u dnt have any better thing to say

Is
a
wedding
but
remmber
the
poor

I just like the way the work only is used ..... Three Million Naira Only...

Abeg, make we hear word. Ask pple in AKS, once u have a thing with the Governor, him no dey disappoint and must reward u with lots of gifts especially cars on ur wedding day. Annie, never talk true!!!

otobong said...

The saying "the rich keeps getting richer and the poor keeps getting poorer" in Nigeria is so true! Wake up people!

Thank you for the good writeup. It in reality was
once a entertainment account it. Look complex to more added
agreeable from you! However, how could we keep in
touch?

Review my blog; magnetized flashlights

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 263 of 263   Newer› Newest»