Stephen Keshi reconsiders his resignation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 12 February 2013

Stephen Keshi reconsiders his resignation

Below is a press statement the Super Eagles coach released early this morning...
My attention has been drawn to reports in the media that I have resigned my appointment as the Head Coach of Super Eagles of Nigeria.
While I have had cause to express my displeasure over some issues that happened in the course of our participation in the AFCON 2013, which my team won by the grace of God, especially concerning my relationship with the Nigerian Football Federation, I have since had opportunity to discuss the various issues with all concerned. I am therefore pleased to say that I have reconsidered my position and have decided to continue with my job.
I want to thank the Honourable Minister of Sports, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, for his swift and kind intervention.
Signed
Stephen Okechukwu Keshi
12th February 2013
Keshi withdrew his resignation after a meeting with the Sports Minister yesterday. Keshi and the Super Eagles boarded their flight about 7am this morning to commence their journey back to Nigeria.

61 comments:

Dee said...

NA BCUZ E DON HEAR SAY ADENUGA GO DEY PAY AM SALARY NA EM MY GUY RECONSIDER. OLE E 4 RESIGN NA #HISSS

They no dey beg make fly folloW dead body enter grave na... When he saw d money that was lavished on him he had 2 change his mind

Okechukwu U too like shakara. But I'm sure U needed to do it to put those NFF fools in check

jbaby said...

This kain national drama!

Ogbaje Chuks said...

God is good for reversing the Keshi's decision! God bless Nigeria!

Nice one! I love his strategy and values. We need him jor!

beewhy said...

Well, I can't say I am happy or sad! I really want him to stay but knowing my country with their madness, would have also wished he didn't take back his resignation! Which ever way though, welcome back.

Doris said..... said...

I said it....Round table things!!!!!!!! At least the good was considered once in Nigeria

Thank God!!!

wat a relieve? Thank God!

am so happy keshi has reconsidered his resignation.

African man lol.. I new u will run back hahahhaha Najia men... U open u mouth to d world u no longer wan d job now u r reconsidering ur resignation very funny....Is a shame

Okay! Nice 1, considering he coached d eagles to victory then i support he remains on board. But hope he dint reconsider when he heard Adenuga's promise to take on his monthly salary sha. lol

Chibuike said...

Good for him

He has problem with the NFF not with the minister of sports. I'm happy he made a u-turn. But the sport ministry should caution the NFF.

I have lost my respect(not that it's worth anything o!) but who does that? Y announce if u know that u are only barking? And no Bite?

Anyway it's all about d Benjamin's.

Jumitebabe said...

Story story, I knw say he nor go fit resign na, work dey dis country???? He for sell garri e eye for clear!

am so happy keshi has reconsidered his resignation.

My dear , it is 'what a relief'. My goodness !

May God bring u guyz back safely. Thx for making naija proud

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)).. Naija

Thanks my brother!I have officially "repented"from not liking you BUT supporting only the BOYS.It's one of those things.To err is human......but forgive, devine.You deserve all you wish for in life for your patience.You are blessed.

All I read on this blog is negative comments. Who does not want job security. Would any of you take a job where they are not paying your salary. Even that was his main reason for staying its not a bad reason. He has a family to feed.

Nice one coming from the Bull!

I hope he will increase our salary this year as we never get another job yet.

We have been earning same salary for the past 6 years in Glo.

Sexily Endowed said...

Hmmmmmm he beta reconsider cuz ama take my share frm de $200 dat was given to him as my “sugar daddy” to be soonest lolz. Nice to have u bk Keshi......

No honor among thieves

He shouldn't have o!na d same people go shout "crucify him"!better to bow out when d ovation is loudest

I af die... LMFBAO.. Mbeke feeling tush.

Steven okechukwu "Biafra" Keshi has done a quick one. Everyone has a price, you just need to speak their language.

Doggy

Looilz libers and bad mouth.

I no understand una ooo, who nor go reconsider wen he hear say d 2nd richest man in nigeria won pay he salary from nxt month and still gave him $200,000(32million) wetin even spain were win world cup dere nor give dem dis kind money,9ja una too get money

oge said...

U hav no idea wot conditions he was put tru b4 dis tornament,now he has won,he has d braggin ryt n dey must accept his own terms simple. Dey ve agreed to his terms n hez back...plus hez a
real igbo man,dt adenuga offer is a
big pluS!!

Gud to hav him bak tho. U can say its in my wildest dream, but I see dem winning d Confederation Cup and also getting to d World Cup Finals.

The shame here is on those in govt who did not treat him well in the first place............ng owerri

Loooool. Love ya comment bro..............ng owerri

Ashi

Queen Bee said...

They should give him whatever he asks cos he deserves it!
Over the years the monies that have been spent on foreign coaches esp,is a lot and nothing came out of it rather the Eagles were going deeper into the pit of failure and hopelessness!!
Now that he has led them to win a cup that has been a dream' to naija for 19years,they are still 'yarning dust' !
I love the fact he stated his terms,atleast now dey know he's valuable.

Lmao haha

...and here I thought he was holding out for foreign offers. It's good for us he is not resigning. All is right again in the football world.

Why hurriedly give yur word wen yu knw yu can still reconsider? Anyway welcome bak,stephen.yu ve made naijas proud!!!

who are these fools criticizing Keshi that its becos of noney? don't y'all know a workman deserves his wages...idiots!THE GREMLIN HAS SPPOKEN!

Bia nwokem keshi ur too muchoooo we go share d money tell me ur hotel room no pls

Adeagbo Kabir said...

It's nice Keshi withdrew his resignation. But, I hope he's fully aware that any performance short of Nigerians expectation can lead to his forceful ejection in the future?

Adeagbo Kabir said...

It's nice Keshi withdrew his resignation. But, I hope he's fully aware that any performance short of Nigerians expectation can lead to his forceful ejection in the future?

PC shut up nd plz get a job!

2:15pm I concor with you

Before withdrawing his resignation letter, Keshi should have insisted on a re-negotiation of his contract to include a non-interference clause by anyone whomsoever.

Why are people coming her to comment that Keshi was swayed by money??? I think it is an insult to this man who has worked for months on end without complaints even though the NFF insulted Keshi over and over again by not paying him on time and then mounting a whispering campaign against him. I wonder if Nigerians would make such negative comments about the coach if he was a white man??? Keshi has proved that only Nigerians alone can take Nigeria to great heights with proper planning and integrity. Meanwhile, has anyone noticed time and again that most of the players come from the south, east, west and the middle belt??? No northern, which indicates the direction that our country is already heading towards- we are truly better without the north and their palava but the fools in power will not allow what will be to be

don't spoil them with money o OR else they will lose their focus o. It is not enough to conquer Africa- if we can conquer the world, then and only then, give them money and spoil them as you like o

Remember, his is already a multi-millionaire. They had not paid him for a year. This PR is a face saving mission for the minister because, he has been put in a tight spot and didn't have any reason/excuse to give the nigerian people.

They had already spent the peoples money hoping the eagles will lose etc.

I think that minister and his men still have to go or this nightmare will keep reoccurring

Ekene Akah said...

I feel sorry for him.Thought he understood the dynamics of Nigeria.Can already picture him being used as a scape goat someday.He will so wish he had stood his ground today.

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Ets H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊. S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

Well....itz ok sha...buh if ɪ̣̝̇ were him wld jst resign jeje cos anoda 2yrs Ȋ̊§ around d corner!

Hmmm...if tinz com G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ bad @ D̶̲̥̅̊ next AFCON....no βε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ resign D̶̲̥̅̊α† time....T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ kain termination letter wey dem G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ give U̶̲̥̅̊ ehn e G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ pass D̶̲̥̅̊ thesis wey U̶̲̥̅̊ write fφя̩̥̊ school!

nero said...

sharrrrraaaaaapppp, spiting and leaking no good boy. shame don dey catch yu? yu 4 comot when the ovation dey high and do little shakara when the NFA COME BEGGING. NA WAOH, Y not be a man for once bro keshi

nero said...

wot if nfa said dem no want yu again nko? 2 bad

o dear! Loool... Don't forget to correct the "?" to a "!"

Jay O said...

The NFF had no respect for him, all they care about as always are themselves. They though they could treat him anyhow because he wasnt foreign. Keshi can get a job anywhere, even for another African country, but he chose to stick with Naija, and was rained with insults. He proved himself as a player and he has proven himself as a coach with Togo, Mali and now Nigeria. The man deserves respect accorded to the coach of the national team. This is what negotiations are about, and I am happy it all played out this way!

Jay O said...

Here is the REAL gist!

Stephen Keshi‘s resignation and eventual U-turn, has sparked a series of reactions, counter-reactions and of course, a revealing of secrets. It has been made to understand, that the 51-year-old deliberately took the action to step down, so he could draw the attention of those in authority, to the unfair treatment he has been getting from the Nigeria Football Federation.
Related Article: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4815747184582&set=a.1362057404496.90778.1023400378&type=1&theater – Keshi Releases Statement After Withdrawing Resignation. Sources claim that Chris Green, the head of NFF‘s technical committee, has especially been on Keshi’s neck and the coach has had to put up with his interference all the while.
“Green sees himself as coach of the Eagles,” an anonymouse source said. “He dictates to Keshi on players to select and he is always of the view that Keshi is not good enough. He is an advocate of hiring a European coach. In fact during the Nations Cup, he was discussing with many coaches, especially the coach of Zambia to take over from Keshi.”
“Green and Maigari has been a pain in Keshi neck. Keshi believed that by resigning, the president will call him and tell him all these and get the guys off his back.”
Keshi withdrew his resignation, after a meeting with Sports Minister, Bolaji Abdullahi, who is reportedly unhappy with how the NFF have treated the former Mali and Togo boss.
The source continued: “The bad media is not good for Nigeria, he would have love to resolve the issue without the media attention.”
“He is not comfortable with the way they run the place. The minister wants the NFF guys sent home, just like he sent home the NPL (Nigerian Premier League) guys. He almost did last year, but he was stopped by Ayim Pius Ayim (Secretary to the government).”
Having brought the attention of the president and indeed the entire footballing circle to the matter, the source stated that Keshi now wants to be completely in charge of team affairs.
“He wants direct access to the president and also he wants the NFF off his back. The kind of politics Westerhof played in 1990s.”

He proved he is worthy of that position so I wish him the best..better that paying foreign coaches all that money no victory. One less person seeking for job.

Hope you still remember yo put God first, don't forget your new year resolution. GOD FIRST!

Pls visit your christian blog www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com for your daily Word. God bless you all.

souvenirworks said...

but ofcourse why will Stephen Keshi not reconsider his resignation, when Adenuga has promised to take over the payment of his salary. lools This one is a smart UNDERDOG!!! Lmao!

Olosho ...

I wonder why most ppl think think with their nose. Lik as if he stil won't get his salary if Adenuga didn't promise to take over d payment.