Nigerian midwife who caused baby's death walks free from court | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 February 2013

Nigerian midwife who caused baby's death walks free from court

The 67 year old Nigerian born UK-based midwife who caused a four-week-old baby to bleed to death in a botched home circumcision operation walked free from court a few days back.

Grace Adeleye, who was paid  £100 to perform the operation on Goodluck Caubergs using a traditional African method known as 'clamp and cut, carried it out without anaesthetic, using only a pair of scissors, forceps and olive oil.

It went drastically wrong leaving the child with a serious wound and causing him to bleed to death.

Adeleye was found guilty of manslaughter by gross negligence after a trial at Manchester Crown Court and was given a 21 month suspended jail term last week.

28 comments:

Bubble gum said...

It wasn't intentional. But the parents should have known better

Eya Ayambem said...

She come resemble one country wey dem sabi black well well. their name start with Gh.

Is it Ok to leave my invitations here? I need people to see the step by step pictures of Ewa Agonyin and Banga Vegetable soup cooking.
www.wivestownhallconnection.com

Marcel Duplexis said...

The Midwife & the Baby's parents were all careless.

She even looks scary sef......*shivers

Negligence and not intentional

Abeg wetin she wear!ROTF

bubu Endowed said...

Just look at how d midwife woman looks like an old tele tele witch.Dat baby wld hunt u.

She was found guilty Of manslaughter by gross negligence. That's NOT walking free IMHO!
-NYKem.

It must av just being an honest mistake.

How did she now walk free,if she was found guilty.....linda oooo

Queen Bee said...

This woman looks scary,is she a witch doctor????her look is enuf to scare baby to death!

Olu said...

To Eya Ayambem

What is wrong in being BLACK. What u wrote is very offensive. I am black myself and guess what I am a Nigerian not a Ghanaian. I will advise that u keep to what u know in doing best(cooking) rather than making this type of statement. Because you are a married woman i am going to reserve all other comments. Meanwhile, I hereby apologize to all Ghanaians on this blog. Please disregard her statement and don't turn it to a NIGERIA vs GHANA thing.
Olu

She can walk away in this world but not in the next

Marcel Duplexis said...

It's either you are slow or you can't read. She was found guilty of manslaughter (not first degree murder)by gross negligence(meaning it was due to carelessness & it was not premeditated). It carries a lighter sentence.

No, it's not Ok. Thanks for asking. LINDA

Been! Thank me later

Going for cheaper services usually result to filmmaking!

And its a suspended sentence so if she remains a good citizen during a period of probation, she escapes jail time. Trade-medicine is not a crime, the parents' negligence also caused the child's demise.

Can't believe am reading this story on this blog,the father is a friend and i know the inside story of this gist,it's really a global village.well done Linda!

Marcel seems u don't understand da meanin of walkn free...if ur free u need not 2 be found guilty on anyfin @ all...

ℓ☺ℓ@witch doctor

£100 is not cheap. i know of nhs surgery that charges that same amount n dey do a perfect job.

Yoruba pple & their believe in traditional medicine. Wat kind of carelessness is dis? She is obviously a witch.

Ok or not but u have published her comment and invite so that means u too wanted to learn how to make the said soup!!!! Happy val

This marcel guy u r derailed, ur over sabi has maid u not to realize what walking free means.... All charges dropped, no sentence

Well the courts have ruled n d child shud RIP. But come o dis Grace no resemble Grace at all but mmboma usheku from gambia,who knows the baby might have died of utter fear seeing her face.

I thank God for her, but ur comments here я̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ really funny! Abeg black is beautiful joor Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo !! May God bless de parents with another dat will stay iJN!

I am sure thiѕ аrticle has toucheԁ all thе іnteгnet vіewers, itѕ really really fаstіdіοus artіcle on
building up new ωeb site.

Also visit mу blog :: New York Life insurance