Video: Christiane Amanpour's full interview with President Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 January 2013

Video: Christiane Amanpour's full interview with President Jonathan

People are saying he lied in the interview. Watch and tell us what you think...

224 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 224 of 224

I am weak.

Biko, when something is stolen in America, does Obama call Goodluck (or any other president) to help him "intercept" stolen shipment.

Why do some of you have the audacity to come here and defend this man after watching this pathetic interview?

Please, does anybody know how I can denounce Nigerian citizenship?

Emeka said...

This is disgraceful from the 'supposed' leader of our country... Not a re-assuring word from his incoherent responses.. Some of his responses were just blatantly unintellectual.. Still waiting for the day when his actions or words will change my perception and give me some sense of hope in his administration as well as heighten the prospects of growth during his tenure.

There is sense in what Jonathan said. The buyers of stolen properties are equally guilty as the thieves who sold it.
Olu

This blog has reply buttons but the only time I see them is when I am using an Ipad. I never see them when ever I use my desktop or laptop. I think Linda need to look into this. You should try and use an ipad to view this blog and you will see the reply buttons staring at you. The other problem is whoever I uses an ipad to view this blog, I can only participate as anonymous. If I tried otherwise, I won't be able to post my comments. Linda please look into this also.The other problem is when ever I uses an Ipad to view this blog, I can only participate as anonymous. If I tried otherwise, I won't be able to post and make corrections on my comments. Linda, please look into this.
Olu.Lupe Fiasco

The video was very painful to watch and this is me putting it mildly. Is our president deaf or cant he understand the questions Christane is asking? Its like he came to the interview with a boring speech in his head and the answers he gave doesnt relate to the questions asked. I thought he used to be a lecturer?

Boko Haram said...

Jesus wept....This guy is obviously suffering from dementia. Dementia (taken from Latin) originally meaning madness, from de- (without) + ment, the root of mens (mind) is a serious loss of global cognitive ability. Im not bothered about the monumental lies he dropped during the interview instead my heart bleeds when i think of him as a PHd holder using words 'like when gadaffi was dethroned' what happened to the word 'toppled'??? Secondly, what is crude oil 'stealing'?? instead of crude oil 'theft'. JONA MUST YOU FAIL IN EVERYTHING? MCHEEEW EWU ZAMBIA

Our President is a great man. He may not be as confident as Obama but in him lies a very dedicated leader. We must not forget that the challenges that we have as a nation are not issues that can be wiped away overnight. Honestly, we have made progress - maybe not the kind of progress we all have expected. We Nigerians should be more patriotic, we still fight huge wars and oil theft is some form of modern day colonialism. I agree with GEJ, if foreign countries are corrupt enough to buy stolen oil, they should clear the logs in their eyes before they can see in speck in ours. Even the money laundering issues - where does the cash go? These foreign countries have their challenges too, their presidents have their weaknesses, why should they now have a great time messing us up. We must open our eyes.

Jst imagine the way she ended the conversation afta presido said the cru8de oil is being stolen and refined abroad and nt in naija, na wa oo dem no wan make thier nyash open. Idiot americans

Before you comment on his answers THINK, before you Rush to INSULT the OFFICE of THE PRESIDENT be Rational and SINCERE. HE WAS COMPLETELY RIGHT, THE ENERGY SECTOR WOULD TAKE TIME TO TRANSFORM. THE QUESTION you ALL SHOULD BE ASKING IS, HIS HE MAKING ANY EFFORT? OBAMA HASN'T BEEN ABLE TO TRANSFORM AMERICA OVERNIGHT, IT'S STILL A STRUGGLE IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION. DON'T JUST COME ON THIS BLOG AS EDUCATED & UNEDUCATED ILLITERATES SPILLING HATE. THAT WON'T TAKE NIGERIA ANYWHERE OR SOLVE NIGERIANS PROBLEMS. WATCH HIS SPEECH AGAIN & LISTEN CAREFULLY, HE MADE A *BOLD PROMISE ON CNN LAST NIGHT* THAT WE ALL CAN HOLD HIM ACCOUNTABLE FOR. HE SAID.. & I QUOTE, "THAT BY THE END OF THIS YEAR, NIGERIANS WOULD SEE A VISIBLE IMPROVEMENT IN THE POWER SECTOR". NOW THAT's A STATEMENT/PROMISE WE CAN ALL HOLD HIM ACCOUNTABLE FOR, GOD KEEP EVERYONE OF US ALIVE. NIGERIA'S PROBLEMS STARTED MORE THAN 50YEARS AGO.. & JONATHAN HASN'T BEEN IN POWER FOR THE LAST 50YEARS. OBASANJO WHO MADE BOLD PROMISES & SERVED FOR 8YEARS DIDN'T DO MUCH EITHER. IT's A GOOD THING WE ALL CAN EXPRESS OUR OPINIONS WITHOUT HEARING A SUDDEN KNOCK ON OUR DOOR LIKE THE MILITARY REGIME.. BE REALISTIC AND RESPECTFUL WHILE YOU DO SO.. I'M SURE JONATHAN HAS HIS ADVISERS WHO READS & SEES UR FRUSTRATIONS.. THAT WAY THEY WOULD BE UNDER PRESSURE TO DELIVER. AFTER HIS !ST TERM, IF YOU"RE NOT SATISFIED WITH THE SATE OF THE COUNTRY, YOU GO & EXPRESS YOURSELVES THROUGH YOUR VOTES..DON'T EXPECT MAGIC TO HAPPEN OVER NIGHT NIGERIANS.:................ I love this guyz comments!!!!! Na today as regards power!!!!!! 2. Even if improvments would happen. There are no signs of that. His advisers are thieves and lie to him. He eats thoses lies because he's no smart!!!

Stupid liar, that's who u are Mr. president.

the only problem i ve with mr president is that he is too timid or shy. He cant even look into her eye just looking down.But he defended himself sha

President Jonathan is spot on about Boko Haram. Nigerians should wake up, Boko Haram is not a consequence of poverty, they are a terrorist organisation and their ultimate goal is for Islam to be the dominant religion in the country, just like the ultimate goal of Al-Qaeda is to make Islam the dominant religion in the world.

Jonathan was not as bad as some people portrayed him in Christine's interview although some of his answers were not as coherent or presidential enough. In the area of electricity, there is no doubt, his administration has moved on a little bit from the previous ones. Nigerians are just somehow enjoying a little bit better. He however could not say much about corruption because his party PDP members and associates are involved. Corruption is seriously enshrined in the Nigerian polity. A case in hand is that of Ibori who was cleared of about 172 charges in Nigeria but pleaded guilty even to the very first charge of 16 in United Kingdom. Another issue is that of Siemens matter. Whilst the Americans involved are serving jail terms in US, their counterparts in Nigeria are still sitting in government. Jonathan came out in the open to identify with Alamaesiya (pardon my wrong spelling) a corrupt former governor. All corruption matters are happening right in Jonathan's face and he has not come out tough on them. He has identified the culprits stealing Nigeria's crude and yet he cannot do anything to them because they are the cabals all in his PDP party. It is a shame indeed for him to have asked for help outside in this regard. What are his security forces doing? On Boko Haram, some Nigerians had written in various blogs that they (BH) were likely to be insurgents or fall-out of the Libya's Qaddafi and not necessarily caused by poverty in Nigeria. There is poverty everywhere, north, east, south and west of Nigeria. Christine got it right. It is not peculiar to the north but more pronounced in the north. This was not caused by Jonathan but by the various governments in the north. Jonathan however would not have done better in that interview given the fact that it was not a scripted interview. Obama sometimes falls short in this regard.

The president was fluent and on point. Power has improved (hate it or love it). This administration was in a terrible state when Goodluck took over. Negativity towards our president wont help. Who will we pick as next president? El Rufai/ Pleaseee

Did I just hear our president call the United States State Department an interest group?

What an idiot!" Goodluck the divinely sent one". We deserve the leaders we get in this country. What an idiot. Interrupting the lady with "how?", "how?" yet couldn't provide a coherent answer to the questions.

Yet we wonder why he skipped Presidential debates before the elections.. Dumb ASS.

Aside from GEJ lieing about the economic situation, does he have handlers? Why is he dressed so shabbily? Why is the president of a huge country like Nigeria standing while taking an interview? Why is he so fidgety? Why doesn't he look straight at the camera when asked question like a President with composure? We have a lot of work to do my fellow Nigerians, this is indeed sad.

am glad he acknowledged d fact that in the power sector there's still room for improvement after Amampour grilled him when he said she should ask the average person on d street in Nigeria that power had improved!!

Lie, Lie. Did anyone notice the size of his nose and the way it seemed to grow bigger the more he spoke. Besides can't this bum answer the questions he is been asked. Sad to say, my country's president is an illiterate and an outright nincompoop. Next, Patience Jonathan on Amanpour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! By the way, mumu at January 25, 9:07am can you be coherent in your comments. In addition if as a Nigerian in 2013, all your president can promise is improvement in electricity and you feel that is something to be excited about. Well!!!!!!!!!

Liar, liar, liar, bloody lieing bastard... am watching this on my laptop charged from the office... no eletricity; excessive bills @ d end of the month... awon olosi sombori... mtchew...

COCK AND BULL ANSWERS !!!!
WE HAVE NO PRESIDENT.

This man is just a big fool!!!!

Lol, This guy cannot be our president, he cant even speak :/

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 224 of 224   Newer› Newest»