Fire in Brazilian night club leaves 245 people dead, 200 injured | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 January 2013

Fire in Brazilian night club leaves 245 people dead, 200 injured

A fire swept through a crowded nightclub in southern Brazil early today Sunday January 27th, killing at least 245 people (and still counting) and leaving hundreds injured, police and firefighters told local media.

Fire broke out at popular night club, Kiss Club, in the city of Santa Maria, while a band was performing. There were over a 1000 people at the club when fire started at around 2 a.m. A stampede ensued immediately as party goers pushed and shoved each other to escape.

The cause of the fire is not yet known, officials said. A police spokesman told a radio station that a truck carrying 70 bodies arrived at the Municipal Sports Center, which they used as an improvised morgue.

"Sad Sunday", the governor of the southern state of Rio Grande do Sul tweeted. He said all possible action was being taken and that he would be in the city later in the day.

64 comments:

LINDA ITS NOW 240 PEOPLE DEAD...

Moi.Moi said...

May we never be @right place @wrong time... Heartfelt to those involved and their families

That's y we need to put God 1st in all we do..n always pray for one not to be at a place at da wrong time..be it right place or wrong place..may their souls rest in peace..AMEN!

GOD help us, lead us not into temptation and deliver us from evil. My heart goes out to the families that lost loved ones.

Jeez.... Close to 200 dead! OMG.... This is just a disaster! How sad... At such a party with so much people you can but imagine how things will go down badly, the sad thought alone is hard to visualise.

Chidozie Mario said...

Really a "Black Sunday" for Brazil. We pray for the RIP of the dead and the quick recovery of the injured.
On Pornography Addiction

This is so sad. May God grant their families the fortitude to bear the lost

RIP to all those affected,my condonlences to their families.it is well

Na so pple plenty 4 d club? Anyway may dier souls rest in peace. Next time dnt go to club dats a big lesson 2 u clubbers. D kingdom of God is @ hand

macaronni said...

sad. wouldnt want to die in a nightclub, not a good way to go

Its horrible dey died, but Dying witout CHRIST is more horrible.

My thoughts exactly...

Right place indeed.....

Adele said...

Oh! That's just terrible! 245 dead?! That's a lot of people dead from a single fire incident! Sad for brazil! God rest their soul and comfort their loved ones.

ldex said...

Sharap,what will u say to boko haram killings in d church...
May God deliver us frm evil

Signs of endtime,everybody should repent,$ serve God

Repent everyone,its d signs of end time

U r a fool,so they deserve 2 die cos they went clubbing?,sad human

Olufunmi said...

May their souls rest in peace. What a sad way to die

Stfu fool! Death can meet u anywhere, dose bombed in church where dey clubbing? I hope death doesn't come knockin on ur door soon.

ojay said...

How Many of Them Would Have Gone To a Church Crusade if they were invited??????

NecFix said...

The Brazillian movies 'City Of God' & 'Tropa De Elite' just came to my mind; similar scenes there. I also understand the club had just an exit...seriously? Looks like the criteria for opening a night club in Brazil is: A). It must have one exit. B). The whole of brazil is free to attend - No bouncing.
How sad :-(

enpactsolutions said...

What could have been done to avert this fire?is there a better means of emergency evacuation?all questions to ponder. May all the souls RIP and may God give the families the fortitude to bear the loss,amen
@OReese2

I swear!

Mz_dewunmi said...

"Next time dnt go to club dats a big lesson 2 u clubbers. D kingdom of God is @ hand"!!Lol...U'r funny!!

Awww,so sad,did their hairs burn too?

Anon 3:18..itz ws jez α mata of wrng plaz wrng tym...Idiat...lik sey dey no fit cum bomb yu @ dt Shepe joint yu patronise...#hisses..Anofia

Are u ok?

BBC says cause of fire is fireworks inside club ignited d sound proofing material on d walls. Am sure some dumb ass must have poured spirit on it to extinguish it causing rapid spreading of the flames. Sad sad.

So all those ppl will die and go to hell.satan,u don happy

This is part of the comfirmation of a prophecy that God will distroy by fire this year. Last year it was with flood.

OMG! 245 people?

Who's the fool saying clubbing is bad? Idiot

Most of dem r going 2 end up in hell! Sad but true.

RIP 2 dose who lost deir life.....***sadface***

Most of them are going to end up in hell. Sad but true.

There are 1000 ways to die

Very sad and may they rest in peace. I guess there were no health and safety measures in the night club.

Queen Bee said...

God should help one to even 'off' in the right place o!
Imagine club wey pple don drink smoke,high up,fighting,hoes hawking dia wares',pple having sex both Physically or in the mind'...etc
Then the next thing u will see urself on the other side...chai.
God help us.

On sunday, instead of preparing 2 go 2 church,hell fire straight no hold-up,no jalloping,245 dat place(hell) must b a very big place.RIP

sad how death met them at the club! of all places. the loss is quite massive. what da hell? may they rest in peace

deborah said...

RIP to them

May our paths nt lead us to Ψ♓ξя̩̥̊ξ dt has been mapped out Fǿя̩̥̊ destruction IJN.

See braz hair biz opportunity oooh! Hp say dem hair still dey intact!

tango said...

Zombi is who u r...so its jes in a 9tclub ds culd happn shey?

Sad and it may have been a ritual sacrifice. Is it not Brazil again?
Jan 20-27 Abduction, ceremonial preparation and holding of sacrificial victim for Candlemas sexual and blood oral, anal, vaginal
human sacrifice female or child (any age)

And dis Brazilians can party like wat!I knw them well,only few of dem even worship wit real fear of God!hmmmmmmmmmm God wit judge almost all of us wit pity,nt becos we really worship Him well.

R.I.P dear, huh...night club,wht will they tell God,if u ar Godly,nt 4 nite club,infact d nite is nt long enough 4 me 2 sleep...nt 2 talk of nite activities

Very Sad!but a timely warning to Nigerian party planners,marquee tent renters and regulators!Those air- conditioned canvasses are an accident waiting to happen.No drills,no fire tenders,no exit signs, etc just owanbe and party riders!

Some of you are so silly. Fire swept through a garment factory in Bangladesh a month ago killing the same amount of people. What was those ppl's cause for being dead?

The issue isn't about people going to clubs, the issue is about building that do not have enough emergency exits and some where they are not even lit. When you are in public building make sure you know where the exits are, and don't go into building that have only one exit, meaning you get out the same way you get in.

Ode, so u think ur house is safe abi? Just pray for God's protection cos death has no boundary

Na wa o!

Is it good;a place u gO to nd do all kinds of evil;furnicate ;commit adultery;rape;dress in stupid ways.....Hw is it good. Will u want God to meet u clubbin on d last day.....

Osas said...

Yea may there souls rest in peace. Chaiii I can imagine the number of 100% virgin hair burnt all in flames*sadface*

TWITS said...

this is so pathetic. i was moved when i got this news. RIP all.

Why do so many rely on God to save them when in reality you need Good Building Codes well marked Fire Exist and Fire Alarms and Fire Sprinkler Systems and Fire Extinguishers in well lite visible places. These things are the only things that will save you.

Dis mean dey had over 500 pple in dat club hmm

Thou shall not judge, Nigerians always hypocritical of everything. I pray for God to have mercy on the lost ones.

And so will you!!! Judgemental waste of space. You are just like the pharisees of the time of Christ. Sinner like the rest of us!

boko haram Or MEND in action.

Read before u comment abeg....de said abt 1000 pipo in d club and u askin if de r up to 500*rollin eyes*

Hmmmmm menh a lot off braizilian hair will b burnt hairz D̶̲̥̅̊ã†̥ worth millions were bought rip braizilian hair

just exactly 11year after Ikeja cantonment bomd.... 27th January as always been a black sunday

Is dat a rit place?...... Dem don dey face hell on earth already....... God punishment don land GBAM.....