2 pastors jailed ten years over N1 billion deposit scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 January 2013

2 pastors jailed ten years over N1 billion deposit scam

Pastor Glory Abrefera and Rev Vincent Okpogo
Culled from PM News
A Nigerian High Court has sentenced two ‘men of God’, Pastor Glory Abrefera and Reverend Vincent Okpogo to 10 years imprisonment each over a N1 billion deposit scam.
Justice Ibrahim Buba of the Federal High Court in Asaba, capital of Delta state, found the duo and their company, Mustard Seed Micro Investment Limited guilty on a four count charge of carrying out banking practice without licence.
The accused persons were said to have collected over N1 billion from different individuals and organizations as deposits in an illegal banking practice.
They have also failed to account for all the deposits they collected.

Mustard Seed Micro Investment Limited was convicted on two counts and fined N2 million on each of the counts. Pastor Abrefera and Reverend Okpogo, both directors of Mustard Seed Micro Investment limited, were also convicted on two counts and sentenced to 10 years imprisonment each.
They were equally fined N2 million on each of the counts.

The terms are to run concurrently.

The accused persons were said to have sometimes between 2006 and 2007 at Warri, Delta State engaged in banking practice without the required banking license and thereby committed an offence contrary to section 2(2) of the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act, Cap B3, Vol 2, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

Part of the charge reads:
“that Pastor Glory Okeoghene Abrefera, Reverend Vincent Okpogo and Mrs Nonye Abrefera (still at large) whilst being directors of Mustard Seed Micro Investment Limited sometime between 2006 and 2007 at Warri, Delta State within the jurisdiction of the Federal High Court knowingly consented to the carrying on of banking business without a valid licence by the company thereby committed an offence contrary to Section (2) and 49(1)of the Banks and other Financial Institutions Act Cap B(3), Vol 2, laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004”.

The so-called men of God were arrested following a petition filed by some of the depositors to the EFCC, detailing the dubious activities of the accused persons.

The EFCC subsequently intervened, investigated the activities of the voodoo bank and arraigned the suspects in 2011.

Counsel to EFCC, G. K. Latona described the judgment as a milestone in the Nigerian judiciary.
He said it was the first time that persons were convicted for carrying out banking practice without the required licence.

He said the judgment would serve as a deterrent to other persons engaging in such nefarious activities

61 comments:

Looool. #voodoo bank#.......ng owerri

segunsd said...

Too many fake pastors out there, making the real ones invisible.

Anyways watch this video of Olu Maintain with Olivia (former G-Unit chick)called Hypnotize me on naijaPOSE

fetchy... said...

Lol,tôt dey r pastors,how come dey dint mention d'name f dere parish...na wa o

One billion eh? Talk about storing up uer treasure in heaven but these two caterpillar and cankerworm dom chop am !!!

Truth said...

Thank God Justice have been served. I know dis man.

Truth said...

Thank God Justice have been served. I know dis man.

BLOGLORD said...

i think the title 'pastor' is overrated. every idiot now calls himself a pastor. rubbish!

Shame shame shame, shameee!

teemah beent said...

One of ma good frend been fall victim to dis kind voodoo micro finance bank. Uptil as I de write now,she neva recova her money. Make una shine una eyes bfor u go invest ur mny for any kind bank biko.

Becky naka (Beautiful home concept....your sure plug for industrial cleaning) said...

everyday new stories, wen will all dese stop?

I'm not suprised,na only for naija #maddingcrush

Oh my God! Am a victim of this scam. My 300k, since 2006.my sweat, chei! Pls Linda pls how do I get my money back? They will have to pay with 3% interest monthly from 2006. I have all my original document. Linda pls I'v been praying for this day. help me I need that money bad.... BABY DOLL

Queen Bee said...

These pple running so called microfinance banks,its only God that will judge dem,and their judgement will be special!
they collect from the poor their lil savings in the name of giving them loan later,loan they never give!
As for this criminals bearing MOG tags,may this be the beginning of never ending troubles in their lifes.fucking bastards!!.

Guess the man doesn't want his foto taken.

OHO!!! I know Mustad seed, they used to have their office very close to where i live in warri. Initially they were paying interest to people who had their money deposited the but they werent giving out loans hence they couldnt rake in any meaningful returns.

later they started investing in capital project. In my opinion those projects were far too large and could yield returns until 20 years time. 2 of these projects that were seen were a micro finance bank and an eatery. they bought the properties, demolished them and rebuilt the from scratch. Imagine building eatries at cemetary road, or eneren junction and ekpan. very akward places. i went to the one close to my house several times and it was only an upgraded Buka. decorated with flowers on the table and smelt of bad yet expensive food. did i mention they used Solar panels (thats alot of money there) plus they had this massive sound proof Gen for back up. i dont know much about the bank but, they had many Kia cars with and MD had a big jeep. to even walk past the bank sef Mopol go like flog u, if u dont know the bank, its next to wema bank and oposite Union bank at eneren junction. unfortunately for these ones they are not as connected as Ibru, or Akingbola and the rest of them otherwise they would have had a lower sentence.

Gucchie said...

Some people will still come here to say "don't judge a man of god" "touch not my anointed"bla bla bla...
mschew!

How bad for them to drag the holy calling of pastorhood to the mud.

So tithe n offering money no do dem self,,,,, i wonder d difference btw dem n d 1004 estate 'yahoo' boys....dis world self!!

#frm obikel

Ruby Owanate said...

Lord have mercy!

christabel ogudu said...

Wats d pastor doing in the. Pic?is he praying 4 the lawyers and judges?

Sexily Endowed said...

Hmmmmmmm but where will de money go now?

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

Na wa oooo! W̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊t̶̲̥̅̊i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ pesin no G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ hear fφя̩̥̊ ds world? W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ were D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ thinkn? ♓☺W cld D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ βε̲̣̣̣̥ S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ confident †̥ run such establishmnt wtout govt approval Ŵi̶̲̅τ any iota ☀̤̣̈̇F fear such culd land dem Ȋ̝̊̅Π Prison if D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ were caught!

Meeeeehhhnnn.......som le get mind oooo......pastors fφя̩̥̊ D̶̲̥̅̊α† matter!
*Orishirishi**

Go and ask d lord to 4give u for going beyond his instruction of just tithe

Omo Ibadan said...

Good. God will catch those people that call themselves Pennywise in Ibadan around 2007. They collected a lot of money like from us. God Punish them.

Pls don't judge them cos no one is perfect.

A MUST READ: WHY AM IN SCHOOL said...

Fake pastors, God don catch you

Shut the fcuk up mr man. Do you have to comment on every post. Go and look for a job

Shut the fcuk up mr man. Why do you feel compelled to comment on every post

Mumu what is the point of putting down what can not be easily read

You again.? You really no get work o

Instruction of just tithe lol una no go kill person

Sharrap there. That was a dull comment.

Na your type de fall mugu all in the name of Jesus

You shud shud da fuck up you fucked up low life anon.. Oloriburuku.. Leave Bonario alone. Which kind ppl full this country sef? Whn I saw his comments, I jst scrolled down to check the replies,cos I know someone was gonna say smfin stupid bou the dude.. Get a life black ass mo'fucker

Ace DJ Bentley said...

Guy, do you read how empty ur brain is after it spills?

Am sure you schooled in cameroon!

I dont think their men of GOD lo,They only use Pastors to cover face.

Diva said...

Mr anon 2:24 and 2:25 u r a coward at least he has the guts to use a name n pic, go and jump into d pit u murderfucker

Bonario must comment shar. Jobless fellow lol

Haaaa!! 2007 cnt forget pennywise too!! I was duped too

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

@Anon bastard! Na ЧЯ generation born Ãήϑ unborn βε̲̣̣̣̥ Mumu! Omo ale jati jati! Ȋ̊§ Ȋ̝̊†̥ comulsory D̶̲̥̅̊α† i must write fφя̩̥̊ U̶̲̥̅̊ †̥ understand?

How U̶̲̥̅̊ go understand M̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ writing wen ЧЯ brain Ȋ̊§ blocked Ãήϑ ЧЯ eyes S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ blind more dan D̶̲̥̅̊ 3 three blind mice! Oloshi omo! FOOL!!!!!!!!!

Ady said...

I saw hell in the hands of some of these so called pastors & I quickly picked up my Rosry & ran back to my mother church. Some of them are good but there are a handful of them that are evil. A pastor floating a bank? How do you take care of the congregation? May God help us. Amen.

ACE DJ BENTLEY IS STALKING BONARIO AND PRINCE CHARMING LIKE A RAVING LUNATIC. AHAHAHAHA...THIS IS SO FRIGGING HILARIOUS. ITS LIKE HE CHASES THEM AROUND EVERY POST AND COMMENTS AFTER THEM. DUDE...HATE KILLS. ADE PLS QUIT BEFORE YOU KILL YOURSELF OVER THESE DUDES. TRUST ME...YOU ARE BEGINNING TO LOOK LIKE A SERIOUS FOOL. IF YOU OR ANYONE ELSE DARES TO INSULT ME, IT WILL GO BACK TO YOU ALL AND YOUR LINEAGE BOTH UNBORN AND THOSE ALREADY BORN. HAHAHAHA...SUCH A HATE FILLED IDIOT. TRUST ME ITS NOT BONARIO OR PRINCE CHARMING THAT REPLIED YOU BUT AN INTUITIVE OBSERVER.

ugo.m. said...

Serves them right,as if the pple they stole from dnt nid d moni,selfishness and wickedness of man,judgement day has come to dem,fake men of God.

I think d federal govt shudder pass a bill dat all churches should pay 1million naira @d end of every month..dat wil scare off some of dem...too many pastors looking 4 riches

My dear o! If they keep/stick to "touch not my annoited" "don't judge" thingy nija go bankrupt and pastors, revs will keep swindling, defrauding and stealing... *Floetry in Motion*

palo said...

God bless u! Welcome back my dear, 80% of them are in for †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ money, pastor ko! Babalawo ni!

palo said...

Because †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ pastors involved are not big time GO's I didn't see a lot of comments on touching God's annointed, where are †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ fanatics, have u all gone to sleep or are these ones not annointed by God?

U agents from d pit of hell dt r disturbing Bona, if u refuse to repent, God will bath u with fire n brimestone. Amen.

AMEN.

those of us who invested in nospectco didnt hear anytin till today.twas a huge lesson sha.God dey watch all dis wonder banks,una cup go dey full one by one

Nija will always make lol..wat happens to d politicians????

make FG sell dere properties to take pay pple back o....

post my comment dis time o

Lol..is d police officer beside them asked to do some serious chest out? Jst curious Ni O

Etochi

lily babe said...

Its nt parish ooo.dey r pastors nd rev,so ask 4 d names of deir churches.catholics use parish nd dey dnt hav pastors,though dey hav Rev Fathers.

lily babe said...

Bonario has reali sufferd on dis blog.wats ur concern if he comments or nt?he's a dedicated reader of LIB,if he was annoyin,Linda herself wuldnt b postin his comments.u pple dat r insultin him unda anonymous,hw r we sure u guys r nt d 1 commentin on evry anonymous we c here sef?d guy is even tired nd does nt hav anytin 2 say 2 u haters again.pls leave him alone.if u cum across his comment,go ova 2 d nxt 1.I dnt no hw u'll b takin panadol 4 anoda person's headache,well sha,I had 2 take dis particular panadol 4 him cos its too much abeg,make we act mature evn though sum of us arnt.Tnx

Jenny white. said...

@sweet,honey,sugar
The anon was right.
The only place he/she(I'm guessing it's a she)got it wrong was in calling you mumu.
I've told u before that ur comments are sometimes illegible.
Please don't insult me cos I'm merely advising you.
Have a good day.

So how did u know he comments on every post? Not only do u have time to read every post, u also have time to search for Bonario's comment and then comment on his. If you have a job, it must be STALKING and nothing else. Get a life and stop hating! Na u go dey shrink.

Excuse U̶̲̥̅̊ @Jenny White......W̶̲̥̅̊ђǝrǝ Ãήϑ when did U̶̲̥̅̊ advise ♍ξ abt M̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ auto-text? Cos can't remember eva seeing ds name ☀̤̣̈̇F urs Ϟ ds blog Ãήϑ outside here!

And W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ gave U̶̲̥̅̊ T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ right †̥ §♠Ƴ M̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ writings or comments somtimes Α̲̅Я̩̥̊Ε̲̣̣̣̥ illegible? S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ way do U̶̲̥̅̊ prefer i comment Ϟ ds blog if i may ask cos i can see U̶̲̥̅̊'v turned †̥ linda's advocate Ãήϑ D̶̲̥̅̊α† Mumu D̶̲̥̅̊α† called his generations mumu?

Ȋ̊§ D̶̲̥̅̊α† U̶̲̥̅̊ Ãήϑ D̶̲̥̅̊α† mumu cannot read Ȋ̝̊̅Π btw T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ lines or W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇? If i'v chosen †̥ write Ŵi̶̲̅τ ma configured auto-text ☀̤̣̈̇F whose biz Ȋ̊§ D̶̲̥̅̊α†?

Miss/Mrs White abeg park well jooooor! Have Ά̲̣̥ great day τ̅☺ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡! *Love U̶̲̥̅̊ al T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ same.....no hate ok......trust ♍ξ......just ma opinion*Kisses****

And please, remember to collect the change from them. These men made unsuspecting pastors in Warri encourage their population of petty traders to put in almost all they had on a regular basis. Some gratuities of retired Civil Servants went in there. Pastor Abrefera used to advertise his project on DRTV; he wasn't looking nearly as well fed as he now looks.