Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 02/26/2012 - 03/04/2012

Wednesday 7 March 2012

Ghen ghen! Nigerian government no gree sha! lol

Barely 24 hours after the second batch of 56 South African deportees were sent home, the Nigerian government said it has uncovered a prostitution ring ran by a high profile South African businessman with 67 prostitutes in his employment both in Abuja and Lagos.

Consequently, the government has concluded plans to deport the 67 prostitutes who are believed to be HIV positive. The move is part of government deliberate policy to double the figure of the 125 Nigerians deported by South Africa before the consideration of any diplomatic solution to the lingering feud with the South African government." - (FL News)

ROFLMAO. Well, you can't deport a Senator of the Federal Republic over yellow fever card and expect us to do nothing. But this whole matter is becoming somehow sha!

Tweets of the day

The lovely Ms Ebube Nwagbo

Check out the figure on her! Nice!!!

Photos: Bobby Brown arrives Lagos for Friday concert

The R&B/ pop singer arrived Lagos at exactly 3PM today March 7, alongside Bell BIV Devoe. More photos when you continue...

Forty, Fearless & Free. Kate Henshaw Covers March Issue of TW

Lovely!!!

Nigerian author, Teju Cole, wins $10k prize for first novel

Author Teju Cole yesterday won this year’s Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for a “distinguished” first book of fiction, for his book, Open City.

The 36 year old writer and photographer, will receive $10,000 as prize money.

Pregnant Jessica Simpson pose nude on April cover of Elle

Pregnant Jessica Simpson, who's expecting a girl, posed nude in the April cover of Elle Magazine. That's her fiance, Eric Johnson, in the second photo. She looks beautiful pregnant.

By the way, Demi Moore was the first pregnant celebrity ever to pose nude on the cover of a magazine.

Tuface, DavidO and Shina Peters to go on tour together

According to Davido's tweet, the Pop/R&B singer (Tuface), the Hip hop sensation (Davido) and the Juju Maestro (Shina Peters) are going on tour together.

It's called the SSP Tour, which will begin with three cities, Lagos, Ijebu-ode, and Ibadan, from the 6th to 8th April 2012. The tour will also feature Banky W, M.I, Omawumi, Naeto C and a few others.

Nigeria's largest electronics market, Alaba International, goes online

Online is the way to go these days, and the people at Alaba International Market have finally recognised that fact. If you live in Nigeria and shop a lot at Alaba Market, then this must be good news to you. You don't have to got through traffic and all the hassle to buy stuff at the market, it's now online.

Alaba International Market is unarguably the largest electronics market in Nigeria, maybe even West Africa, and buyers can now shop for goods online and have their products delivered to their doorstep via courier.

Go to their SITE to learn more. You read it here first...#thankmelater :-)

Kanye West Debuts Autumn/Winter Line at Paris Fashion Week

The rapper debuted his Autumn/Winter 2012 Collection at the Paris Fashon Week yesterday. Continue to see more photos and tell us what you think...

Flytime TV Exclusive Interview with 9ice

I recommend you watch this video...

I look like the Mona Lisa? Are you kidding me?

LOL, I haf died. So some people think I look like the Mona Lisa painting in this photo of me on the right. Apparently there was a huge debate at their office about the resemblance. According to them, it's uncanny! Uncanny? Are you guys high? How do I in anyway look like the Mona Lisa? Except you want to indirectly tell me I look like a beautiful man? Which is not a bad thing BTW...:-)

Her facial expression and smile is almost eerie, like she can see right into your soul. Mine is happy! So, kilowafa gbo gbo comparison na? Abi, do you guys see any resemblance?

Dear new LIB readers, this is what we do here when it's slow news day! Hehehehe!

Kim K's got the $6, 000 Kanye West pearly shoes

The reality star, who is in Paris for the fashion week, tweeted a photo of her wearing the $6k Kanye West/Giuseppe Zanotti pearly stiletto shoes. Make way, big girls coming through!

9ice Bashorun Gaa Versus Concert Promo (Video)

Saidi Balogun gets N4m car as birthday gift from Ondo state Gov

Saidi Balogun's Toyota Camry was stolen by armed robbers in 2010 and he's been riding in taxis ever since. Fortunately for him, he relocated to Akure, Ondo State about a month ago on the invitation of the Ondo state government to be part of the entertainment activities marking the 3rd anniversary of the Governor's administration. Some other Yoruba entertainers are also in the state.

One day Gov Mimiko saw the actor boarding a taxi and was surprised. When the Governor found out that one of his favorite actors does not have a car and it was his birthday in a few days, he directed his aides to take him to a car shop and get him a car. Saidi got the 2011 Toyota Camry worth about N4million. He's been in cloud 9 ever since.* End of story!

You have to admit, I'm a good story teller. My English might not be perfect, but I know how to tell a story...lol

Tuesday 6 March 2012

Sri Lankan Man Dies Attempting To Set World Record For Longest Time Being Buried Alive

Things that make you go...huh?
A Sri Lankan man has died while trying to set a record for the longest time spent buried alive. Police said Janaka Basnayake, 24, buried himself over the weekend with the help of family and friends in a trench sealed with wood and soil in the town of Kantale, about 137 miles (220 kilometers) north of Sri Lanka’s capital, Colombo. A local newspaper reported that the trench was 10 feet (3 meters) deep.
Basnayake was buried at around 9:30 a.m. Saturday. Police said that when he was brought to the surface at 4 p.m., he was unconscious and was taken to a hospital, where he was pronounced dead on arrival.
Get this, there's no world record for the longest time buried alive. So the attempt, which ended his life, was for nothing...sad. Continue reading...

Photo of the day

Five letters - L.W.K.M.D!!!

Joke Silva, Tinsel stars for BOBTV 2012!

Joke Silva                                             Ireti Doyle                             Peace Fiberesima

This year’s edition of BOBTV is set to stir up Nigeria’s capital! The organizers announced early Tuesday that veteran actress and director, Joke Silva, Executive Producer of AMAA, Peace Fiberesima and Production Designer, Pat Nebo will join the league of distinguished individuals who have excelled in their various industries; scheduled to be recognized and rewarded with the 2012 BOBTV Honours List Awards.

Photos: Rapper 2shotz and new fiancee

Told y'all the rapper recently got engaged...well here is the lucky bride-to be. Her name is Georgina Apaemi, a graduate of University of Port Harcourt. Awwwww, see love. Wishing them the very best!

$2million Hermes Kelly Diamond Studded Handbag; who wan buy?

Here's introducing the world's most expensive handbag. The £1.2 million, €1.5 million, $2 million Hermes Kelly Handbag.
The miniature totes, which are crafted from gold and studded with thousands of precious stones, double up as high jeweller and are designed to be worn as a bracelet, with the handbag strap resting on the wrist.
The main compartment - which isn't big enough to hold a pair of sunglasses - then dangles below, so it can be held in the wearer's hand.
A rose gold version of the Kelly bag, is tipped to be a hit, with crocodile scale effect and 1,160 diamonds.
One LIB reader should shake body and go and buy the bag. Common N300 million. Take a picture and send it in, the rest of us will celebrate you. You're capable! :-)

Girl loses eyes after acid attack by suitor

When a man, Alabi Olokode, made advances to Lateefah Adesope, a National Diploma holder, the lady simply turned him down on the grounds that her heart was not with him.

Like a desperate man that he is, Olokode persisted. But Lateefah maintained her stand. This, however, did not go down well with the desperate suitor.

As usual, Lateefah set out for mosque around 5.30am on December 30, 2011, for her prayers.
She said, “I was on my way to say my morning prayers at Tekunudeen Mosque, Aboru on Friday, December 30, 2011, when Olokode, who was hiding near the mosque, suddenly called my name. As I turned back, he poured a liquid substance on my face.

Nigeria vs South Africa immigration law: Game on!

Last week, the South African government deported 125 Nigerians, accusing them of having fake yellow fever certificates.

So yesterday, Nigerian immigration refused 28 South Africans entry into Nigeria, accusing them of....erm, I'm sure they had their reasons...:-). The South Africans had entered Nigeria via South African Airways, but weren't allowed to leave the Murtala Muhammed International Airport. They were all sent back home.

Now Nigeria's foreign minister, Olusegun Ashiru, has issued the South African government a warning to either behave to face sanctions from Nigeria. So proud of my country. Let's Rock n Roll!

Funke Kuti, Ini Edo acquire state-of-the-art cars worth millions

Ini Edo acquired a customized BMW X6, while Femi Kuti's entrepreneur ex-wife, Funke, acquired a Toyota Prado. It pays to be an entertainer in this country sha...:-)

I'm sure you guys are tired of saying, 'how's this news, Linda?' Just say 'awww, I'm so happy for them', and move on. lol.

Tuface Idibia is a changed man

True story o. People who saw the singer at a club recently were surprised at how he kept ignoring babes who were trying to get his attention. And I hear a few babes tried. This is very much unlike Tuface. According to people who were observing him, other than being polite to the ladies who kept hitting on him, he very much kept to himself. He stuck with the group he came with to the club and left with them. They say he has kinda changed since getting engaged to his girlfriend of twelve years, Annie Macaulay. Good for Annie!

Nigerian Summer in Paradise 2012

The Nigerian Summer In Paradise 2012 (NSIP) Reunion Vacation (ReCay) event kicks off on May 24th- 28th 2012 (Memorial Day Weekend). This is a unique and exciting 4-day event geared towards the celebration of lives and achievements of Nigerians and Africans in the Diasporas. It provides an opportunity for all Nigerian/Africans to vacation and reunite in the United States Virgin Islands; a world class destination considered as one of the most beautiful places in the entire United States. The weather is favorable all year round and majority of the local indigenes of the United States Virgin Islands are of African descends.

Choi, I can't wait to be at this event. Yes, they invited me...Yaaaaay! lol. Continue reading...

Actress Susan Peters shows off her $2, 500 Blackberry Porsche

Gbo gbo bigz girls gadget. When you are big, you do only big thingz! :-). Pics thanks to Maestromedia

Monday 5 March 2012

26yr old Nigerian sentenced to 8years in prison for raping 14yr old girl

Ishola Adeyomi Adeoye, aged 26, from Bermondsey met a 14 year old girl in Plumstead in October 2010 and took her back to his home in Woolwich. Fully aware of her age, he gave her alcohol, waited until she passed out and then raped her.

The victim awoke in the morning and was not aware of what she had been subjected to. Later that same day, having returned home, she began to feel pain and realized that something may have happened. After making a report to the police, a DNA test proved she had been raped.

"I'll return to acting eventually" - Dakore Akande

When asked if she was done with acting or has plans to return to the art that brought her fame; the new mum replied:
My family comes first for now. I am trying to see if I can come back to work, preferably when my daughter is old enough. I don't want to be leaving her at home because I want to go to one location or the other. I want to see she's a bit OK, then I will be back. I'm an actress who loves what she does, but I have to make sure my family is fine. It's all about balancing my family and my career. But I will return acting eventually

Man pours hot water on daughter's private part for tasting soup

According to PM News, a 33 year old man, Mr. Solarin Muyiwa, (pictured above) poured hot water on the private part of his 14 year old daughter, because the young girl allegedly licked soup from the pot. He came home, his wife (the girls step mum) told him she caught the teenage girl licking soup from the pot and he reacted by beating her with a wooden stick, forcing her to put her hands in hot water and pouring some of it on her private part, damaging part of her vagina in the process. The incident happened about two weeks ago, in Ikorodu, Lagos.

A neighbour noticed what had happened to the girl and called the authorities. The father was arrested and the young girl was taken to the hospital, where she's currently undergoing treatment...

Continue to see a photo of the victim's injuries...

Willow Smith goes green!

From pink, to blonde, now green. This small pikin sef....