Photos from Friends Africa Dec 1 World AIDS Day novelty match | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 December 2012

Photos from Friends Africa Dec 1 World AIDS Day novelty match

The World AIDS Day ‘Play for Life’ Novelty Football Match in partnership with Friends Africa’s Goodwill Ambassador, Mr Emmanuel Babayaro (MON) took place on December 1, 2012 at the Campos Mini Stadium Lagos Island from 3pm until 6pm. This formed a part of Friends Africa’s activities to commemorate the 2012 World AIDS Day.

The novelty match was played between a team of ex-football stars (Team Eagles) and a team of celebrities in the music and movie industry in Nigeria (Team Entertainers).  People living with HIV were match officials, coaches, supporters and special guests.  In attendance was former president of Nigeria H.E. Gen. Yakubu Gowon, who shook hands with all the players just before kick-off. Team Eagles won Team Entertainers 8 goals to 3 with JayJay Okocha netting a hat trick. See photos after the cut...

Players present were –
Team  Eagles
Jay Jay Okocha, Daniel Amokachi, Celestine Babayaro, Emmanuel Babayaro, Mobi Oparaku, Jonathan Akpoborie, Emeka Ezeugo, Ben Akwuegbu, Teslim Fatusi, Taiwo Enegwa amongst others
Team Entertainers
M.I, Sound Sultan, Dr. Sid, Segun Arinze, Nonso Diobi, Uti Nwachukwu, Afeez Ayetoro (Saka), John Njamah, Yemi Blaq, Sexy Steel , ID Cabasa amongst others

26 comments:

This is a sure good avenue to spread the awareness of Hiv/Aids. Its a welcome development.

How won't team super eagles win naa!! Leave ma team entertainers ooo dem try Sef! Niceeeee onee

Who is that idiot with dreads that still brought a done to the pitch. Kmft.

Dis is nice! Love it
Cara_milano

Looks like twas a lotta fun. You gotta love Saka tho.

Wow, This is interesting. Everyone coming together to grace the worlds AIDs day. That makes them feel loved. Thumbs up to everyone that has put A SMILE on their faces.

This so lovely

Hahahaa, wetin saka wan play? Abeg make dem leave me oº° lol

Lolllllzzzzz.baba kafaya in action.I actualy save al d picz.*thumbs up linda*

so Gowon is living with HIV now. Oma ga.

Sandra Ijeme Dickson said...

Very nice

Gowon doesn't have HIV. He is on the board of Friends Africa. If you're enlightened enough you would know this. Do your research. He came to grace the occassion

See M.I like short turkey

Gown killed more people that aids has killed during the 30 months civil war. He is an aids messenger. Oya go on with other nigerians

People are fighting for a good cause even at an old age and others are critising because they are been given a free platform to air views of which they will remain anonymous for life!!!

General Gowon, I dove my hat for you. Keep up the good work.

Good to know that such players and celebrities are in support of zero tolerance to discrimination of people living with HIV!! Thumbs up Friends Africa!

lmao! funny world! Gowon who killed many,is today gracing an occasion for life...talk about eye service!

Mr.Man said...

Loooool who's the mumu saying Gowon is living with HIV? LMAO! You might as well say M.I, Okocha, Sound Sultan, Kanu & every other person there are living with HIV.

Gowon came to grace the occasion. If you can't understand that then I'm so sorry for level of your intelligence looool.

hmmm, looks like Celestine Babayaro is stil fawn as hell... anyone know if he is married..or single.

Duff my hat!

so no one can see MI's package beside the ref giving Okocha Yellow card.

M.I short sha! Na real short turkey.

baba said...

This is really nice. God bless them all.

Pam said...

Awesome!!!!I love d oneness.We are moving forward and will excel.God bless whoever brought the idea,God bless our country.I believe in Nigeria.Together we stand.

Pam said...

Awesome!!!!I love d oneness.We are moving forward and will excel.God bless whoever brought the idea,God bless our country.I believe in Nigeria.Together we stand.