Michelle Williams performs the Nigerian National Anthem | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 December 2012

Michelle Williams performs the Nigerian National Anthem

The former Destiny's Child group member was in Nigeria over the weekend for gospel musical event, The Experience. Michelle, who is a gospel singer now, performed the Nigerian National Anthem at the event which held on Friday Dec 7th at TBS, Onikan.. Peep the video after the cut...

48 comments:

Beautiful.... Our artiste shld take a cue

she tried o! even me as a nigerian cant remember the second part of our anthem..the trad suits her a whole lot but she look like bonga fish,slim like me hehe

Dont like it joo. She was screaming!!!

Mahmud said...

So how many billions did this unpatriotic act cost?

It was beautifully delivered, a wonderful rendition I must say

Yeah, she sang it beautifully. I was there live.

Kenygbosa said...

9ja 4 eva!! All of dem go must recognize.. We d best..

is she originally from nigeria.....justasking

2nd pic looks funny, see our 9ja mopol as dem black lyk chymney..lolss...

Wht an irritating voice.....!

Duke Emeka said...

Cool, she did well.

LMAO!Nigerian police tho.Bless you sister Mich...Kaiy

shes a lovly singer

4/10, she could never sing to be honest, but kudos for her attempt.

Kim said...

Copying Beyonce! She always tried to catch up with Beyonce but she can't! Go sit down jor!

Listening to the lyrics of the national anthem brought tears to my eyes. I feel like a person betrayed by their lover. Our founding fathers had great plans for this nation. 'to build a nation where peace and justice reigns'. Cry my beloved country.

Lovely rendition and she looks good in Iro and buba. Looks like any other Yoruba gal. God bless 9ja.

Am I the only person that is somewhat against this?

I mean it was fun when Beyonce did it the first time because it was at a concert but then, how many times do you see non-americans singing another country's anthem at event.

Worst I think is that should she even be singing this at a historic setting such as Tafawa Balewa Square???

Dejavu..haven't we been here before with mrs carter and what is it with the filthy moon face dirty gun totting morons standing next to her. Why must we feel so inferior next to American. Are we at war? Whatever happens to security in mufty MORON!

Blunt Queen said...

Standing ovation. even though her voice sounded shrill for most part. But A for effort.

Na wa o!!!! See d depressed police officers them give her as body guards..laf wan tear my pant for here.. Hehehehe naija sha. If na Kelly or Beyonce come na Ecomog Soldiers them go give her. Hehehehe Banga Soup.

Haba! 9ja police! Dem just dey like 2 imbeciles. Na dis picture she go go show dem for yankee? Kai! I'm speechless!

What's up with all the shrill screaming voice? Anywayz, thank God say she nor faint this time sha! LOL

Galore said...

lolzz.......9ja police ooooo.....cant stop laffin.......see as dem stand like AshaWo 20 Naira.....lol

Just shut up if u dnt av any point to make

Applaud the effort, hate the voice.

Jay O said...

For those saying "she's non nigerian", free her jo!

How do you know she doesnt have a Naija ancestor in her lineage from 200+ years ago?

She sang it well, I actually paid attention to the lyrics, and realize how meaningful they really are.

How many Nigerians today even remember the 2nd verse "O God of Creation, direct our noble cause"?

Bussy said...

She looks good on iro and buba

errrr, Tiwa Savage did a better job... And to the anonymous that says Michelle has been trying to be Beyonce, that will be Kelly.

creamychik said...

mr mahmud, it doesnt matter to u hw much it cost to get her down here. what matters is that Nigerians got to experience THE EXPERIENCE for free and i can say it was awesome!!!! so all those beefing that she sang the Nigerian anthem, STFU!! u can never appreciate anything

Olu-omo of d source said...

Tiwa Savage'd have done more justice to it and'd have been a better fit to sing our national anthem.Back to work,have a good day all!

It was kelly who fainted and not mitchelle, buzzo!

tayo said...

Excellent bur we don't move wen recitin d National Anthem na

Beyonce sang it best, one elo in my church sang it better, tiwa good but this one is no no. Not gd, no melody. She has like my voice lol... Which is she can't sing. Bye bye.

Who said Tiwa Did justice 2 dis..pls go bak & listen 2 Tiwa's own & compare both, if u kw hw 2 sing u will know dt michelle kill d song. Clap 3* BRAVO & standing ovation 4 u.

Lovely. Classic. She looks 'on point' in the Yoruba attire. Wondering y some pple said she was screaming.... Some Naija pple no fit even sing their national anthem.

If only we could all unitedly mean n live our national anthem; d words are very powerful... Nigeria will b 'd place' 2b.

VERY NICE, HOW MUCH WAS SHE PAID TO SING THAT SONG. AMERICAN ARTIST IS USING NIGERIA AS A DUMPING GROUND TO MAKE SERIOUS MONEY.

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

When did shouting become singing?....

ACreamyChik You are so on point. All the haters should keep hating. Some of you haters don't even know the anthem; neither have you sang it in couple of years only for you to be beefing the sweet lady. Hol' am abeg.
She did an beautiful job with the anthem; and what's to say she's not Nigerian? Did I hear you say "copy Beyonce"? It's obvious you're either dumb or outta the celeb circle *Sticking tongue out*
Even if she isn't Nigerian, how many times do your fellow Naija peeps go to USA and sing their anthem with them. Abegi make person hia word. *Mstchew!!!*
Michelle was wonderful. Shikena!

For the love of God..why did they dress her up on this horrible outfit?

Pple nd ridiculously stupid comments.appreciate wen a person who doesn't need 2 trys 2 impress u!most morons wyt d crazy comments don't ivn kno d lyrics of d anthem!she sang it beautifully nd in dat moment,I was proud of my country.way 2 go girl!!

Mo Ajayi said...

Nigerians including lagosians as a whole have trully dissapointed me, there i was thinking Lagos state was getting it right only for us to waste taxpayers money to bring in this sham and call it patrotisim.
Do tell me, exactly how much did we expend on this project of 'operation bring Michelle' to Lagos??
Her security, feeding accomodation and entourage alone could feed a 100 poor and needy Nigerians for the Christmas period.
Are we saying, our own Tiwa Savage, Omawunmi, Sasha P or Chidinma could not have done equally good a job as the import from the states did?
We as a nation and a state need to realloy encourage and talk to our selves, i wonder who in the Fasola Administration thought up this hare brained scheme? obviously raking off at least a million in their ' efforts' to get5 Micheeel thye 'hasbeen' to come to Nigeria to sing for 5 minutes.
We are trully africans who are not proud of ourselves at all.
This was a true show of shakme and shows the 'hallowed' position we take of our own so called musicians.
I am dissapointed trully.

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

U do realise we live in a world where people see d same thing from different perspectives n as such're entitled to their opinions regardless of how much they differ to urs.Ur condescending name-calling speaks more about ur lack of intelligence,exposure n education than d pple u'r trying to ridicule.

She jst dey shout,dint she listen to d beyonce version of dis, dt ws singin, dis is jst screamin no wonda dem tie dt green wrappa 4 er yash so dt shit no go fall

Princess R said...

aww Michelle Killed it. Great job girl.

www.nwavic.blogspot.com

To all those asking how or why money was spent to bring in Michelle W just to sing for 5mins the answer is she wanted to come and be a part of the Experience herself. To Mo Ajayi and others kindly try and gather the right information before u start writing stuff ur not sure of. The state govt does not organize or sponsor The Experience.Its a Gospel Concert that's free to everyone who wants to attend. I guess u can google and read up on it to know what the concert's really all about.

What a stupid comment