TV presenter, Yvonne Ekwere's Camry car stolen at Oriental Hotel | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 July 2012

TV presenter, Yvonne Ekwere's Camry car stolen at Oriental Hotel

Another day, another Camry car stolen. TV presenter Yvonne  Ekwere, popularly known as Vixen, had her grey Toyota Camry v6 salon car 2000model with plate number EX 123 BC Lagos, stolen at the parking lot of Oriental Hotel, Lagos.

Vixen arrived at the hotel a little after 6:30 on Saturday July 28th to attend the YNaija #Hashtag party; by the time she came back a little after 11pm, her car had disappeared from the parking lot.

The security men at the hotel claimed they saw nothing...and the management couldn't even show her CCTV footage.

This is not the first time a car will be stolen at Oriental Hotel. I know someone whose car disappeared there a while back. I've also had a personal experience at the hotel. I parked my car there one day, and by the time I came back, three of my tyres were flat. I was shocked because that had never happened before. The security guys then directed me to a dark spot where I could pump my tyres. It was late, I was suspicious, so I drove far way from there.

Dear Oriental Hotel management, please check your security staff!

56 comments:

Atobatele said...

Y is car stolen synonymous to this oriental hotel sef...Was dere last week and this same thing happened to one dude...d guy looked perplexed when he got to parking lot and couldn't find his car. Their securities agent needs to be checked

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Oriental Hotel has to release the CCTV video footage, plain and simple. If they don't it will confirm fears that it is an inside job.

Frank @ Ontario said...

One of the security guys don Hammer big time ! So vex vixen, na naija we dey anything is bound to happen for here. But my prayer is that ur car will be found sooner. Just believe Baba God. You Hear !!

Petty!

Camry again..mba mba cant take it anymur*dials Emeka's no.*Emekaaaa biko i no buy camry again o, just dliver Ford 2 ma house inugo :D

Some security men need to get fired. And I thought the island was more sane

promise michealz said...

Wat type of rubbish is dat! A whole hotel

D hotel shud be sued!!!! Niaja is fucked up man!

a friend's car was stolen there too some months ago and hasn't been found till this moment.
Na wa oooo. this is not good for the image of the hotel. they management had better do something about it.

godsordfx said...

It,s a pity that even in 5 star hotels cars parked at security posts are not safe. This Naija sef.....http://besthitsnow.com/index.php?id=godsord

The people at the hotel know what happened. The robbers must have paid small money to close their mouths. God will judge them!

That's terrible! I'm sure the number of events held there will be affected. They better get the police to question the security maybe she may get it back

Nonya said...

Very beautiful girl. No worry. Somebody will buy you another one. No be Naija?

Meanwhile anybody that knows that useless name dropper Dele Momodu, please give him a hard konk on the head on my behalf. I feel so sorry for journalism in Nija after reading his useless articles on Thisday. Lord have mercy on us.

The way camry misses this days. Na wa o...God help us..

WAT WAS SHE DOIN DE?

Am surprised she drives dat kinda car upon all her fake swag!!!

Art & Entertainment said...

Did you say 2000 model for tv presenter? In that case it's for her good and shows its time to get a modern ride that befits her status.

SUE JORDAN said...

THAT HOTEL NEEDS TO CHECK ITS SECURITY SYSTEM AND PERSONNEL....HOW CAN THEY NOT HAVE FUNCTIONAL CCTV...WITH ALL THE EVENTS THAT TAKE PLACE THERE....THEN THEY HAVE THE AUDACITY TO HANG "CARS ARE PARKED AT OWNERS RISK"...

Three of your tyres were flat and you were able to drive very far away from the hotel!! Hmmm na wa o

linda, av u comfirmed..? a blogspot caaried the same news yesterday but claimed to be Eko hotel....
so, am cofused...

rFOUR said...

Dear Oriental Hotel, please SACK your THIEVING security staffs, OR EVERYONE WILL AVOID YOU. SACK YOUR SECURITY TEAM OR YOU ARE PART OF THE THEFTS.

kemsugar said...

Hmmmm I'm smell a rat...de shud sue dem jor..not nice at all.. A bad reputation to em.. Its so fucked up#

Ooohh this is soooo bad. I hope the insurance company can give her another car. Linda u better take good care of ur camry. Seems like its in order right now. Hotcake

Na wa ooo...

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Stupid idiots Linda thank God say u follow ur intuition by driving away from that dark spot all of them na thieves all they know how to do is charge outrageous bills for below par services rendered common security they no fit provide how i we sure that security is not colluding with these thieves that steal peoples car
vixen car sue them if she has good evidence.

I pray the police recover the vehicle
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

SSS or the police should do a sting operation - plant a car and arrest them once they snatch the vehicle. The security guards should be "interrogated" daily for 40 days and 40 nights till they confess everything.

Everyone should avoid Oriental Hotel.

This is stupid. With the high cost of their rooms... It should be known world wide that the stupid hotel is not safe

You have all these shit going on in the hotel and no one has done anything e.g sue the hotel? Only in Nigeria, will people know how to make so much noise with little action.

The robbery is happening from
Within. The workers know what is happening. The citizens are that corrupt yet, people focus on the government.

Nene said...

Pele Yvonne, U will get a better ride In Jesus Name...AMEN

Proudly Igbo said...

Let's write to Asiwaju to tell him. LOL!

You go to all the A-list events in lagos with a 2000 model camry?...babe u no try.

Allegra said...

The hotel would be held liable even-though most try to exempt themselves from liability.

Princess of Zion said...

This is alarming! Don't they have CCTV? Hope the car will be replaced.

TEN Commandments of Waiting- www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/10-commandments-of-waiting

'Am surprised she drives dat kinda car upon all her fake swag!!!'

You're not a serious human being. If she drove a Jaguar, you'd be talking about how many people are starving in Nigeria while she runs about with her 'fake swag' *hiss*

Which one do u drive.... mscheww.

the hotel management knows what is going on there. Thank God it has not occured to them to do collabo with ritualist.

How can customers cars be missing every now and then and they paper over it like it is nothing if not that they have'a share in the returns.
Thieves,all of them
@logosfromdac

Oriental hotel wan start car dealership naa

Bt @linda ikeji wait oh I no understand u, u sed u had 3 flat tyres and den u drove off to a far place away frm d dark spot u were directed too, hw u tk do am wit 3 flat tyres and u turn voltron carry d car for head ni? *confused smiley*

Jay O said...

The problems with Nigerians is this here. See some folks talking about her driving a 2000 car. Do you know what kind of car billionaire Warren Buffet drives? A car goes down 20% in value, when you drive it off the lot. Some ppl talking on here, are still using legedes benz, or car that my mama/papa borrow me, or used their money to buy newer model, yet dont own anything else in life of value.

Folks should avoid Oriental, and continue to put them on blast. Let management now see this, and realize they stand to lose big time!

Ahh na wah oh. If the security personnel are doing that then, only God know what the ones cleaning the rooms would be up to?

Linda e b lik say u go sabi lie o! Jst confirmd dat tday. 3 flat tyres n u drove far away frm dem.hian #Godiswatching noni.if u lik no post ds one, na ya way.

9jadeltapikin... I can't believe Ђδω they will move card at that kind oriental n d security Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ just looking d management shuld b sued Τ̅☺ court n all d saecurities on duty shuld βε̲̣̣̣̥ interogated.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

If ur car can be stolen at Oriental what hope is there???..complete shambles and no access to CCTV..so obvious the security are in on it..and doesn't do the hotel any favours..

Hey dont that hotel hand iut tags as you drive in?...thats supposed to mean no one can drive out without a tag,so there r many loops to this,either tags have been replicated or some security man is handing out tags,but the hotel can tackle this mess by introducing more secure tags.

maybe it's 2012 and not 2000 model Toyota Camry...cuz that's too old for this fine girl. I can buy her a newer model easy!!!

NP

Linda,this ur blog don turn political blog bcos u nor dey post ppl message again.U for nor start wetin u nor fit finish ooo

Security at Oriental Hotel is really poor. Study their security cam and see that there are alot of black spots on its alignment, which leaves me to doubt if they work at all. the second car park has no form of security there at all. And guess what people, "cars are parked at owners risk". When i collect the tags or paper at these hotels, i dont leave them in the car but in my wallet. God help them and let me not see the car when im out, i go give them their paper and them go produce my car. kapish!

My Loub shoes were stolen frm my room in dat freaking hotel

would it be possible for some private citizens to record the activities going on there surreptitiously?

Idiot is it only car she wud use her moni 2 buy do u kw if she has other investment? Its ur type dat will av 1m n want 2 drive 5m car ode!!!! Cut ur coat accordin 2 ur material!

Lmao...Linda did you say three tyres, u must have offended someone, may be through your blog...

Linda,u are not fit to be a blogger because you are now more of a politician.Godiswatchingu

Let me begin by saying I am quite certain this post will not be published. However, I will proceed:

1- As a reporter, well educated/read/travelled; and somehow saddled with the additional duty to educate the common Nigeria on basic security consciousness and responsibility, I find it quite disturbing that you would drive your car into a Hotel Parking lot without being issued a parking pass and raise no alarm.

2- Having understood how you feel after losing your car Yvonne, I believe it would have been only professional for you to approach the matter with more decorum rather than 'ordering' around: I am sure as a journalist you do know how to get information and action out of people (especially if they hold a clue to your just missing car).

3- I also find it hard to understand when you say you suspect the Cameras to be dummies and yet claim they were showing you LIVE footage? Dummies wouldn't be able to show live footage (I think).

4- In reality, I would be enraged if it was my car that got missing; however, it would eventually boil down to knowing if you the car owner had taken enouggh precautions to deter such from happening. i am sure a Camry 2000 is no match for the calibre of 'wheels' that a so frequently parked in the Oriental. Why did they pick on yours alone?

5- Again, I haven't seen any reaction from the Hotel (Very bad indeed). But is the public court the best place to take this even before getting an official response from the management of the hotel. Come on, we have screamed, Occupied, Yelled ....and passed severy verdicts in the public courts that never got us anywhere.

Are you sure you really want the car back? I wonder!

Caution and maturity Yvonne. We the public love you, but let not this bring out the rash and irrational side that could spell slippery slopes for your already momentous carrier!

Thank you Linda.
I knew my comment would not be published.
You have the audacity to practice same censorship on a system that allows you go un-censored.
Your day is coming!