NFL player commits suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 July 2012

NFL player commits suicide

25 year old Tennessee Titans receiver, O.J. Murdock, shot himself in front of his high school in Tampa, Florida, this morning. Sad!

From Tennessean.com
Murdock was found in his car in front of Middleton High School, his alma mater, at 8:30 a.m., police said. He was transported to Tampa General Hospital in critical condition and pronounced dead at 10:43 a.m. Eastern time. “He was by himself,” Tampa police spokesman Andrea Davis said. “… He was alive when fire rescue transported him.”

Murdock did not report to training camp last Friday with the rest of the team, and the Titans placed him on their “did not report” list over the weekend. When asked about Murdock’s absence, coach Mike Munchak said it was for personal reasons.

“He had some personal things come up,” Munchak said on Saturday. “He called us, and we’re hoping to see him tonight.”

The Titans signed Murdock as an undrafted free agent on July 28, 2011. He spent the entire 2011 season on injured reserve after suffering a right Achilles injury early in his rookie training camp.

38 comments:

Dammy said...

For those who don't in devil, you can see him action now

Took d coward's way out..2 sad..he'll hav to explain 2 d creator y he took wat wasn't his in d first place(his life)..,,NEKS

UPON ALL THE MONEY HE HAS, THERE'S NOTHING IN THIS LIFE THAT WILL MAKE ME COMMIT SUICIDE, NO MATTER WHAT

Loudmouthed said...

Na wa

sLY said...

We no no am. Mke dem com c wetin we dey face 4 9ja,yet we no comit suicide. Na him sabi sha.

Americans are insane! That's all I can say! Was watching CI last night and a male caucasian confessed to killing 175 women btw 1977-1983. High rate of suicide,murder,rape! That country is just not it, how can such handsome young black brother pull d trigger on himself? Beats my imagination

iSaAc said...

May his soul RIP. Linda, ah, I fear u oh for accurately reporting the thing wey happen near my backyard here. So u dey cro cro every corner? @eeeao

Tale tale sign of New world order.
They have been drugging him with psychiatric drugs.. go to youtube
Making a Killing: The Untold Story of Psychotropic Drugging - Full Movie (Documentary)

9jadeltapikin... Na wah only God will safe us from all ds bad things happening in ds world

Tunero said...

My brother abi na sister dnt say that ooo! Just continue thanking God u ve not seen d rough path, there is a million n one things that can make u go down that lane just pray u never see any of that!

Janded said...

so sad. I wonder what led him to this. Suicide is not an easy way out and must be a very tough decision to make. lets not judge.

hmmmmmm said...

Mental illness and serious depression no doubt. So sad. Africans are thickskinned sha. Cos what a majority face here in naija and they still say, "where there is life there is hope"amazes me

This is extremely sad, but never judge anyone who takes their life, you don't what lead to the circumstances and what burden he had on his shoulder, just pray and be thankful for the life you have. I am not justifying suicide, but maybe he was mentally ill. All in all may the almighty comfort his family and loved ones. Tragic indeed!

Oh Lord, i thnk u for being a naija to the CORE! Olohun maje n para mi! Life equals hope fa!

Jeez!!! This is so sad. Suicide is cowardly.

dis is rili sad, so sad....wat could av made him kill himself???

Mma said...

God will safe us indeed.

Princess of Zion said...

Extremely sad; young talented man with a great future ahead! I just pray that the Lord will comfort his family!

Did anybody actually see him pull the trigger or they just found his body? The story get k-leg. He might not have done it

You are right. let's thank God for our lives

He'l get a Straight ticket 2 hell 4 kilin himself.May God 4give me

Musiclover said...

Havent posted here in a bit....

Ok, its so easy to sit behind a computer and type all sorts about this dude. Just pray that you DO NOT experience depression. Some people hurt so bad on the inside and do not tell a soul or seek counsel. Some pple have money troubles that seem insurmountable and suicide seems to be the only way out. Some people feel so inadequate and worthless.... the list is endless

Depression is real and its a sickness that is not limited to Americans, I've seen at least 2 Nigerian suicides on this blog this year. The first step is to open up to someone. So sad that this dude took the only way that seemed real to him.

Neto said...

Too bad for those he left behind. Was he trying to be matyr? Non sense.

I.T.K.
Must you make sarcastic corrections? Mtshewwww.
ESSA

Mama ifu said...

Well said @ music lover. The rich also cry, and money doesn't prevent, negate or cure depression. It can be soul-killing. And if your soul is dead, physical death is not that scary a proposition. There are a lot of mortally wounded (in the psychic sense)people walking around....

The guy even get car,me wey dey use leggedez benz,no even think of suicide.. Suffering yet smiling,cos God is in charge

linda, so if person no send money to your account, you no dey post the persons comment.

Bouckorlah Abhulimen Aileru said...

what a wasted life, taken what u can not creat and not urs in the first place. May God 4give him

abeg, any tips on how to become his next of kin???
please send ASAP. no time!!!!!

okay, I know someone who suffered clinical depression for 2 yrs, it was a tryng tym 4 her family, she went from doing crazy things to get attention, to sliting herwrists to just looking blanky and crying, now she's fyne but if her anyone in her family hear someone committed suicide they go 'maybe it was depression' walahi, i know we Nigerians are thick skinned but pray you never xperience depression

Akerele Tunde said...

love is all we need

Omo your English is mad o!! Ehen remind me again what primary skl dd u go to?...lol

Why do Nigerians call God's name in everything..Its ridicuilous

too bad. probably a woman or women related...

taye says so...

it is only God that will save us ooooooo such a useless idea

gloria said...

So sad...:(

indeed so sad