Vice Chancellor of University of Lagos, Prof Sofoluwe, dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 May 2012

Vice Chancellor of University of Lagos, Prof Sofoluwe, dies

The Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Professor Adetokunbo Babatunde Sofoluwe has died. He died in the early hours of this morning after suffering cardiac arrest. He was 62 years old. May his soul rest in peace..amen.

39 comments:

Awwwww....may he rest in peace.

May His Soul Rest in Peace.

Focusb said...

May his gentle soul rest in peace

Rip sir

Rip sir

Rip sir

R.I.P. What a loss!

RIP Prof....You will surely be missed

@Melanie_a425 said...

Unilag VC Died,After He Slump'd and A SHORT BLEEDING FROM HIS MOUTH AND NOSE YESTERNITE..Wen he slumped,he wounded himself from dat fall...SadFace* RIP Prof A.B. Sofoluwe (April 15 1950 - May 11 2012)-the Best Vice Chancellor in Nigeria. Alot was learnt from dis good baba...

This is so shocking and sad

To think that i still saw him on feb 29 during Makay's inaugural where he was cracking jokes and was so lively.

i guess we just have to accept dat we are dust and unto dust we shall return..

May his gentle soul RIP in Jesus name Amen.

Linda...Unilag alumnus

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

D best VC Unilag eva had. RIPP

May your beautiful soul rest in perfect peace.we will miss you.

Nkem said...

Sad, I saw him on T.V 2 days ago. May His soul rest in peace.

He was rushed to Unilag medical centre den was transferred to Luth where he died at abt 1am dis mornin he didn't die while slippin. May his Gentle soul Rest in perfect peace Amen. We love u sir

Tony Atambi said...

That was a VC of VCs...i remember d day he came to see us in Jaja Hall,Unilag...All Jaja boys ran out and were hailing him!!!...R.IP my own very VC

may his soul rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace

jescci said...

RIP Prof

Rest in peace sir, ΰя impact will never be lost

RIP Sir! U r the best dat has eva happened 2 Unilag!! We will surely miss u Sir! Farewell!

We shall all go back to dust one day. But if we love God and man without reserve, we shall have eternal life and peace. I love you.

Kwase said...

God rest your soul sir!

R I P My VC

Olalayo said...

Dis is so sad..RIP my used to be VC..

Yetinde said...

R.I.P Adetokunbo.....d entire unilag community is going to miss you sir.

zinnie said...

Sad...so sad! RIP sir.

sexylove said...

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace,(amen) met him once ,we talked at lenght aπϑ he was a very nice aπϑ jovial fellow, tis so unbelievable aπϑ very sad!!! Sigh

R.I.P Baba rere!! Fada of all... UNILAG stdnt wl surely miss uuuu buh prof Familoni of fac.of sci wl miss u MORE!!!

MIRIAM said...

This is so so sad. Was a very down to earth person. I m so heart broken. Baba Sofi as he was fondly called. Still remember him with his adire sokoto and buba. Ah!!! May Jah be with his luvly wife and family members. Adieu Prof Adetokunbo Sofoluwe.

Nigerian men/women!! Ur health is ur life !!! The earlier u start taking care of it, the better. If u know ur not going to the farm to dig holes, then please STOP SWALLOWING heavy foods! I can't even be bothered to type d rest just do ur research!!

Da doc said...

May His soul RIP.

These things can be annoying because it makes me wonder if the MONA protocol was administered. This is what is needed when someone suffers a cardiac arrest.
Morphine, Oxygen, Nitrates and Aspirin. I wonder how many Nigerian doctors have been able to successfully implement the MONA protocol.
In Yankee and other countries, when a patient comes, and you ask, many have had several cardiac arrests, bypass surgeries and a cocktail of heart and vascular procedures done to them. In Nigeria, that is not so, many people cant and dont survive. Plus there are no real preventive strategies, cholesterol screenings, serious stop smoking campaigns, all of which increases a person's risk of cardiac arrest.

While what I mentioned above is too late to save Prof Sofoluwe's life, I pray that many will use platforms such as this and others, to realize the simple measures that can save the life of others that we know that are dear to us.

We wer birthday mates...R.I.P sir

Gbemi Mowarin said...

May he find rest with his maker......Amen

Who said he died while sleeping? Olodo oshi

Akwa Ibom Ayaya said...

Death is inevitable but this is one demise so unprecedented. A great Nigerian with a selfless contribution in the development of human capital. R.I.P. Your legacy lives on.

R.I.P 2 my VC, Luv u and wil miss u. www.9janewsmag.com

I feel so so terrible with this news.He taught me in school and belive me,he was a very very nice man with a good heart.Why do very good people die soon?Prof We will really miss you.You have left a big hole in our hearts.-Biodun Oye

Adieu Prof Sofoluwe :-(. You were one of my favourite lecturers/Profs.

May God strengthen and keep the loved ones he left behind.

Rest in the bossom of our dear Lord, Prof

I juss have to comment on this one! Sofi baba was a father! Teacher of all teachers!I remember his courses "Numerical Analysis I and II".His classes were always fun and knowlegde time merged in one.Chei! This man was open hearted,approachable and down-to-earth. The whole unilag community will mourn him,he was d best ting that happened to Computer Sci dept.......so so sad #smh