See the woman who profited $1.5m for putting innocent man in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 May 2012

See the woman who profited $1.5m for putting innocent man in prison

In 2002, when she was just 15, Wanetta Gibson (left), told police that NFL hopeful Brian Banks (right) dragged her across their school campus and raped her. Brian was arrested, tried and locked up. He spent more than five years in prison and another five years on parole. He had to register as a sex offender and was still wearing an ankle monitor until Thursday May 24th when he was exonerated after Wanetta admitted she lied about the kidnapping and rape.

While Brian was locked up, Wanetta's family successfully sued the school district, claiming it had failed to adequately protect her. The school paid the family $1.5 million.

After ten years of torture for Brian, Wanetta eventually admitted in a videotaped interview with a private investigator that Brian never raped her. But then she was very concerned about the huge pay out her family received. “I will go through with helping you, but ... all that money they gave us, I mean me, I don’t want to have to pay that back,” Gibson said on tape. She later refused to repeat her story to prosecutors, but her videotaped confession was enough to exonerate Brian. Read the full story after the cut...

A young athlete’s dream of a pro football career was rekindled on Thursday when his conviction for raping a high school classmate was thrown out after his accuser admitted the attack never happened.

Over the cheers of his family and supporters, Brian Banks, 26, called it “the best day of my life, by far.”

“If I can do this, I can get through anything,” he told The Daily just after leaving a Long Beach, Calif., courtroom. “This was my hardest part, and, as they say, good things go to people who hustle while they wait.”

In a strange twist, Banks got the chance to clear his name in February 2011 when his accuser contacted him through Facebook and asked him to “let bygones be bygones.” Wanetta Gibson later admitted on tape that Banks had never raped her, setting the stage for yesterday’s dramatic reversal.

When the judge agreed to throw out his conviction on Thursday, Banks lowered his head and wept.

Later, the burly onetime linebacker said he had left behind anger but had not lost his ambition to play in the NFL. “I knew by hanging onto bitterness, it would keep me strangled,” he said.

It was unclear on Thursday whether Banks’ accuser would face any charges. She did not attend Thursday’s hearing and efforts to reach her for comment were unsuccessful. In a videotaped interview with a private investigator, Gibson admitted repeatedly that the rape and kidnapping story was fabricated. She also voiced concern about a payout — $1.5 million — she received from the Long Beach school district while Banks was in prison.

“I will go through with helping you, but ... all that money they gave us, I mean me, I don’t want to have to pay that back,” Gibson said on tape. She later refused to repeat her story to prosecutors, according to court documents filed by Banks’ attorney.

In 2002, Banks was a 17-year-old senior at Long Beach Polytechnic High School with big dreams. The school’s legendary athletic program has spawned dozens of pro sports careers, and was once named the best in the country by Sports Illustrated. A standout linebacker and special teams player, Banks was headed to the University of Southern California on a full scholarship after being heavily recruited by other powerhouse programs.

But his hopes appeared to come to an end in July 2002 after Banks and a 15-year-old Gibson ducked into a school stairway to make out. They did not have sex, but the girl later claimed Banks dragged her across campus and raped her.

The story didn’t hold water, said Banks’ attorney. Gibson gave varying locations for the alleged attack. No DNA was found. Also, how was she dragged across campus in broad daylight without anyone seeing them? Despite the lack of evidence, prosecutors offered Banks a difficult choice: Take a plea in hopes of a short sentence, or face a sentence of 41 years to life.

Banks said he agreed to plead no contest after his lawyer said a jury would see “a big black teenager, and you’re automatically going to be assumed guilty.”

While Banks was behind bars, Gibson’s family successfully sued the school district, claiming it had failed to adequately protect her. The school paid the family $1.5 million, according to Gibson.

Banks said he was shocked when she contacted him online. He was even more surprised when she agreed to speak with him and a private investigator face-to-face, and then admitted fabricating the tale.

“The case was built on nothing,” said Banks’ attorney, Justin Brooks, director of the California Innocence Project. “He took the plea because he was scared and facing 40 years in prison, and his lawyer was telling him to take it.”

Brooks said Gibson admitted she became upset during the encounter when Banks “said something obnoxious to her, and she stormed out and called it rape, and it just snowballed from there.”

Late last year, Banks began an intense workout regime with professional trainers in hopes of getting a try-out with a professional football team. All the while, he had to wear a plastic monitor strapped to one ankle.

“Every day I wake up, I put an extra sock on my GPS to keep it nice and snug and keep it from flying around while I work out,” he said. Brooks said they hoped to have it removed late yesterday.

Banks said he would continue to train. His dream tryout: “The team that wants to give me a chance.”

Culled from Daily Post

103 comments:

Gkay said...

Sad!!!

See how d girl ugly ,after makin d poor boy snd his life in prison. Mscheeew!ds one no fit happen for naija.

Any one that had tried to rape her would've been put off by her ugly face. What goes around will surely come around and this girl will surely suffer for it. Absolute evil

Paris said...

Wicked Bitch....

Paris said...

Poor innocent man, God be with u.

LPS said...

seriously?

Adewale said...

The problem with America is they have too many laws which people abuse. Its nice to have laws protecting women, but this woman lied, and Brian lost 10 years of his life because of a flawed judicial system. Another reason why America isn't it for me. I'm sure God would have something great in store for him. What a sad story!

She doesn't even look like she has seen a thousand dollars ever let alone a mil kmt........I hope the hottest part in hell is reserved for her kmt! Poor banks, nothin can compensate forthe lost years n to think that there are many more innocent souls in jail is very disheartening #sigh!.................... Nk

orange said...

That's human being for you. And especially in U.S. any act of kindness could snowball into trouble for you. Keep your hands to yourself and your mouth shut. Keep far away from them as much as possible.

That girl is a fucking bitch. See grown ass man in tears. 10 years of his life wasted for nothing Evil. She is a winch she n the rest of her witch friends must have seen this guys glory that he is gona make it so they set him up. My brother delay is not denial. Your still gonna get to your promise land just like joseph this story brought you into the spotlight to be noticed God works in mysteries ways i tell you.

HEPHZIBAH said...

Truly, justice delayed is never denied. What a touching story! The youngman should stay hopeful and keep working. His dream might just come true. As for the bomboclastic gial...well, karma never loses address. #irestmycase

kcee said...

All i can say is that the girl is wicked and should face charges. Just imagine how she almost destroyed somebody's life. The court should use her to set an example to others like her out there that may try this rubbish with the hope of getting settled by a celebrity or someone famous.

See her face like shit!

judy said...

my sista,dis world na paw paw ooooh.

this is wickedness of the highest order,the girl should roth in jail...

dee said...

Dt gal is a bastard.it goes 2show ow messed-up dia legal system can b ivn abroad,despite all d holes in ha story dey stil found him guilty..its reli sad.​op he gets a chance 2play wit a vry gud team S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ dt he can b successful n put all dis rubbish behind him.

HeartOfMan said...

sheer wickedness. the heart of (wo)man is desparately wicked, who can know it? she just took 10 years of his life for what he did not do. Just thank God for your life, she might have decided to keep quiet till the grave

Men u dey hear.women is the root of all evil. Look at how dis woman sent by the devil to come ruin this man future.check all strong men downfall in history. u will find out that women contributed to their downfall.Guys beware of women because of them una wan go join yahoo

This is way too sad.... The girl should be arrested...Attentin-seeker, oshi

Ofilispeaks.com said...

If I type something I will just start insulting people...

Uche said...

dis is so not fair 10 wasted years jeez,i feel like cryin for him I pray God helps him........

@Ofilispeaks.com

Didn't you just type something?

laitan said...

God!dis is sheer wikedness.Am so happy God vindicated d guy but ladies r evil o.Jesus Christ

the guy now wants to sue the state of CA for $100 per day for all the days he spent in jail but the problem now is that he was not wrongly prosecuted as he took a plea bargain voluntarily. a case of having horrible lawyers!!

George_O said...

There's no doubt every judiciary system has it's flaws, but as the saying goes: it is better ten guilty men go free than one innocent man be punished. Had he gone for a full trial (rather than pleading guilty) and was found guilty (though innocent), the state would have to apologise in monetary terms. Still Gibson should be tried for perjury and wasting tax payers money. How unfortunate.

All these young Akata girls are full blown liers , they lie at every gaddem opportunity and their mothers/fathers don't see anything wrong in it.As soon as they an opportunity to profit from it

9ja men in the U.S shine una eyes oh before dem carry lie,finish unah life

NUBIAN QUEEN said...

wow really sad what goes around surely comes around i hope the girl is punished for her lies God don't like ugly..

Oh my linda am crying here. She should go to jail and they must repay. They must see how hurtful it is. This matter should not end here.

ONOME says.......
You have been vindicated Brian;cry no more!!
The 10years you can never reclaim but the rest of your life spreads ahead of you

Weep no more.It is well

stupid ass bitch

Pleasure Chest said...

Awwwww so sad but God has plans for everybody,i have a strong feeling God kept the guy away from danger for that 10years maybe he would have died now*shrug* so best thing is to forgive the girl and move on but hey one part of me won't forgive the girl,she will rot in hell.bitch

Am sure...God has somtin great for dis guy...d gal sef no fine....dis kind guy find who to rape na dis ugly monkey..make una check wella..e fit me baba pikin..God be wit u broda

This is pure wickedness! Looking at her picture just makes me hate her even more. Evil animal, your reward is in heaven. Rubbish. Poor boy. Thank God he's out now though

Janded said...

What she did was really gross and unthinkable. She was a child though. She knows better now but she still need help. I feel for the guy and may God give him peace and help restore him.

sexyllove said...

She is juz a biatch!!!see hε̲̣я̲̣ receding hairline aπϑ very ugly face,looking so old at 25 smh.even with all †ђξ money they gave hε̲̣я̲̣ mtsewww, pity †ђξ guy buh i know dat its not †☺☺ late to start his career,with God on his side,he wuld bounce back..so sad aπϑ i hope †ђξ girl gets prosecuted,,afterall she cant escape it.....karma is like a rubber, once overstretched, it comes back landing on †ђξ face #gbam# gonna catch up wiff hε̲̣я̲̣ cuz †ђξ asshole cant escape it...#irestmycase#

LyricalMessiah said...

He should be compesated for the 10yrs he has lost...dont care who pays for it but imagine what he cld have achieved within that period..and the gurl shld be put behind bars for 10yrs to feel the pains the boy went thru for lying...period!!!

LyricalMessiah said...

U r right..even in the bible...most great men were brought down by women!!!

Femiluv said...

"The problem with America is they have too many laws which people abuse. Its nice to have laws protecting women, but this woman lied, and Brian lost 10 years of his life because of a flawed judicial system. Another reason why America isn't it for me."

Better than living in a lawless society i.e. Nigeria. Keep criticizing the US justice system while we have worse going on in Nigeria. Think of the 20 y.o girl whose been waiting for trial for 4 years.

Na d girl look like rapist 4real ooo

It took her 10 years to say the truth.We must be prayerful not to allow the devil to waste our days.If she repents GOD will forgive her but then the young man 10 years is wasted.We must be prayerfull.

She should truly repent and kneel down for forgiveness because this bitch doesn't deserve to live but leave vengeance for God.

My brother God dey. He'll see u thru evrytin

Frenchie said...

Not the first time I hear about a woman who falsely accused a guy of raping her. This is so wrong. And she has the nerve to worry about the money they might be asked to pay back! She doesn't seem to realise. She'll have to pay for this.

JobVacancy Team said...

All bcos of money? that's evil

http://jobsvacancyportal.blogspot.com

oga no one said they found him guilty. They made him take the plea bargain of silence and lesser yrs in prison than being found guilty and 45yrs in prison.

Blogtoto said...

And to think this devil-incarnate said she doesn't want to pay back d $1.5mill...i bet somewhere not too far from u someone's got a bullet with ur name on it u ratched-assed byaatch!

dis na advance yahoox2

benchichi said...

dis na advance yahoox2

Chai i go do juju for that girl o...

No one seems to mention anything about the other poor men currently in prison after being falsely accused by women.

Some women should used their church mind in a few things

Bearing false witnessss...through her ass in jail.

I will return to rape for real and kill her and all her family member to send a warning signal to those who are found of framing innocent people.

QMoney said...

If this shit happened in naija now,u would have heard stuff like the girl has spiritual problems or the guy's grandma dey ff am.....#justsaying

Tunde said...

Dont knw wat to write cos i might start cursing the hell of this bastard and her useless family even to the foolish judge. God will punnish them in multifolds. God, 10yrs just like dat.

I admit that some girls are extremely wicked. In primary sch some of my snrs wanted me to hang rape on my lesson teacher just because he does not look their way. It was the most horrifying time of my life. They went so far as to put ideas into my head, even made me believe that each time he touches my hand he has raped me. Can you imagine that. Mtchwwwwwww

I knew he was innocent and yet i was too scared, I never admitted it though. Thanks to God. It is just always good to say the truth b4 its too late. But I agree women can be ruthless

See wickedness of people. The girl should be punished. I'm sure she committed perjury.

Naijabizcom said...

6years in prison for offense not committed. This is akoba of the highest order, olorun ma ja ri ru e

i have always said it!the american judicial system is soo flawed!such a thing wouldn't have happened in the uk.

KOFOSHY said...

oloriburuku ma ni babii yii sha....

eji said...

This girl should be arrested and made to face the law for allowing an innocent man waste his years in jail. so sad........

eji said...

she should be made to face the law, hearless girl..

Y.Tee said...

Binch!

America and the world is open to him, he will go places bcos his hands are clean. Good luck Brian - KC

Nekky said...

wat a wicked desperate girl!!! America's judicial system is not perfect afterall. imagine sentencing sum1 without reasonable evidence. i pray d girl meets her waterloo sooner dan later. as for the young man, God will surely make u recover ur lost years n will definitely make u bigger.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

What a horrible story!

His lawyer didnt try hard enough but am happy he was vindicated.

I hope he doesnt have any warped views about women O. A round of counselling will certainly help.

if you had friends like these--> http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2012/05/lifes-choice-1.html

There is this very dangerous illusion about the so called "good american system" No system run by humans is perfect.

Openla said...

No,the problem with america is that any jury will see a black man go to jail even if all evidence prove him/her not guilty of any crime, if that guy happen to be a white guy, the case will be carefully investigated, they would know if a girl was raped, by her skin, the arm where she was dragged, the guy specimen will be tested if found on the girl,a girl accused Justin Bieber of forcing her into sex and the sex leading to pregnancy, I think that was obvious enough, but even with the fact that Justin is a very popular person and a public figure, the story is not very known... That's the advantage of having a white skin in America... God bless America...

NK said...

The girl is really crazy. She's more interested in the fact that she/her family shouldn't be made to return the money. As in, she thinks that's merely the crux of the matter????

Naijarian said...

Sad, sad, sad... What kind of stupid prosecutor went ahead with the case? Wouldn't be surprised if it's a white racist... His lawyer sef na heavy dodoyo...

Ode ni eyin mejeji kmt lucifa is listening to you on mp3 and he will send a man to you to bring u down n not a woman idiots

Did you mean throw. Thankmelater

POOR GUY!!!!

THANK GOD ITS ALL OVER.

AS FOR THE BITCH THAT DID THIS TO HIM, SHE WILL DEFINITELY PAY FOR IT. WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND. IT MAY NOT BE NOW,BUT SOMEDAY.

EKWENSU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thank God he is out that is d most important thing

AguofiaII said...

I can't begin to imagine what this guy went through. This gal should be made to face the full wrath of the law. They just can't let it be or else another person will wake up someday and do worse than this. I pray the guy still makes it in life. This is sad indeed...

juliet igboekwe said...

this is so sad. i hope she pays dearly for what she did

baba basil said...

Emm, Linda o, someone said i should tell you to correct the error, "an innocent man.

Sayedero enytan said...

God i bind any evil person that wants to bring me down at the edge of my breakthrough!!!haaa!!people can b evil sha..from making out she turned it 2 rape...Give d devil an inch he'll take a mile!!

Derek said...

She really did 4ckup

baba basil said...

Dnt penalize me o, the girl should be treated d same.

Maggie said...

The guy gave way for the devil. What was he thinking dragging a 15-year old to the stairway to "make out" with her. he got what he deserved, cos he's a potential rapist. you are all blaming the girl, what if it was your 15 year old sister that a 17 yr old forced to kiss her? he has never heard of courting a girl..stupid guy. you got served!!! lol

Dis gal na witch

DEEFLAMEZ said...

I REALLY DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY. SHE HA NO EXCUSE TO HAVE DONE WHAT SHE DID, COS EVEN A 10YEAR OLD KNOWS THE CONSEQUENCES OF SUCH A GRIEVIOUS ACT. ITS SUCH A PITY TO HAVE WASTED 10-WHOLE-YEARS IN JAIL FOR NOTHING OBVIOUSLY UNABLE TO FINISH SCHOOL. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS...IN OTHER NEWS, I HOPE THE GIRL TRULY GETS RAPED BY A GANG OF GORILLAS, THAT'LL BE ENOUGH COMPENSATION

Why am i not feeling the anger here as i read the comments?

I know Lib readers would have torn this guy to shred when they read it years ago, starting from the pretenders called feminists!

An innocent man wasted 10years of his life because of a useless, ugly, lying bitch!

Where are the women supporters? Cat got your tongue? Speak now! Come out and defend your fellow useless woman! 'long hiss'

nedu said...

Ma God, that's really Pathetic, thank God Brian found the grace to move on.

Pls help me to tell dem o, those evil girls seem possesed bu some special breed of demons

These are the type of people that should be tortured to death but it never happens as innocent people die instead.

I hope any 'alaroko' witch or wizard would put a big curse on her. Do that to an African man and curses will finish you. Oloshi!

All of you calling the american judicial system flawed can't even stand up and say the nigerian system is even functioning, imagine?! He accepted a plea bargain, he's not gonna get compensated, chill! Let's thank the lord he's a free man now, how many people are stuck in nigerian prisons evern without standing trial? You all need to piss off and take a look at your own system first.

the white enchantress said...

it will be so unfair if she doesn't pay back that money or do some jail sentence bc she lied.

everything happen for the good,

That US plea bargain system leaves a lot to be desired sha..........

Her own judgement is coming. One day she may be crossing the road and she will get knocked down and people will wonder why.

@maggie 11:30AM, am sure you do not understand English, if you do not very well. The writer said, they "went" not he dragged. you can re-read the story again with understanding

Its u that's stupid, olodo. Pls go and learn to read. Where did you read that he dragged her anywhere or forced her to do anything? It clearly stated that they both ducked under the stairs to make out. They were probably dating or something. Olodo, next time read well before you start causing someone out, mschew

It is certain she would not do that here in Nigeria. That is soo sad.

cynosure faces said...

smh......shes jus a a BITCH!..buh am so glad dt he forgave even bfre she confessed and am sure its d positive outlook he made out of d situation dt helped and still helping.

It is this same 'useless' woman that gave birth to u and u will marry, unless of course u r gay.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Me i fear people..some can be evil and malicious..they would wreck ur life if not careful..look at what probs 5 mins of reckless fondling did to dude's potential..
America is known for that..this jezebels don't get their way..or feel they were used..in their bitterness would cry rape..and damn the consequences!!...most especially would be a black sportsmen!!..

So she swallowed 1.5 million dollars and sent an innocent man to jail for 10 years and it's paying back the money she's concerned about. What she should have done during the interview was go on her knees and beg the guy not to press charges. Were.

Project Women Aid said...

Many reasons why women are so sick. Find out on www.awakeprograms.blogspot.com

iamfascinating said...

what wickedness!

Likas soap, Diana Stalder soaps, Neutrogena Visibly Even SPF 30, Collagen cream, Retinol cream even Wild Growth Hair Oil available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

a woman world

ToluD said...

I thought Nigeria was the only country with a flawed legal system, So America's judicial system can be this stupid. Brian Banks should sue that girl, her family and the judge who sentenced him. God save us

Gibson abi wateva u call urself...o ni jeere