Pictures from the burial of Segun Arinze's late mother-in-law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 May 2012

Pictures from the burial of Segun Arinze's late mother-in-law

Mr and Mrs Segun Arinze
Late Mrs Victoria Estella Nsofor was Deputy Comptroller of Immigration Rtd. She was 63 years old. The burial took place in Oguta Imo state, 17-20 May 2012. More photos when you continue...

The Nsofor, siblings, Emma, Julie, Tony, Oby & Ijeoma
The widower, Mr Nsofor

42 comments:

LPS said...

May her soul rest in peace..Segun looks grandad!

Why are they all smiling as if its a wedding!!:s

I tire for niaja o burials has now turned to ashebi & meriment.

Hmmmmm they are from IMO right? So why all the River state dressing. Just wondering

Janded said...

Celebrating her life I guess

I think say na wedding....

U al stole ma tots. Lmao. Simja

Y dem come post Shegun's pics everywhere, as if na hm own mama die? Na wao! J.luv!

NaijaScorpio said...

I'm glad I'm not the only one who.thinks something is wrong with smiling at your mother's funeral.

Na funeral wey all dis ones dey smile like dis so?

Linda....you sef, you said" burial of segun arinzes LATE mother in law."........'doubke negative ' if you ask me, if it is a burial, she is obviously late.......smh!

Adaejyk said...

Oguta is a riverine part of imo state dts y they dressed dis way.

Jay O said...

@Anon that said why the Rivers dressing, shows how ignorant we all are in Nigeria. Oguta people dress that way because Oguta (Imo State) borders Rivers state. Remember our borders are man made, some groups of people in Rivers state are of the same group of those in Imo state, Delta state and even Anambra state.

They are dressed the way I see typical Oguta people dress.

I'm Igbo but not from Oguta, just have friends from Oguta.

churchill said...

Rest in peace

When did funerals become photo opps? This is a bit distasteful. People even smiling like hyenas

jamar said...

my thoughts exactly

Are they supposed to be crying?the woman is 63yrs nd I'm sure the kids know she's worth celebrating not sorrowing over...

Even if dey cry will she jackback to life,i tink da woman lived a fullfild lyf,so its worth celebratin.

thank you all for voicing my thoughts and answering my questions..smh

@ AnonymousMay 27, 2012 10:07 PM
If your papa and mama die, make you go wear shirt and trouser. Ode. Wetin be your business there? Na your money dem take buy am?

She led a very blessed life, a life of abundance and plenty guess that why they were smiling instead of crying.

They have cried when they did, so life goes on. Mourning is by shouting and crying, later the outcome will be sickness and hospitalisation

Their outfit is typical Oguta attire, my aunt is from their

Wtf? She is too young to die, it is normal to live well past 80 in other countries and u see nanogenerians (?) looking fwd to getting a bday card from d queen. The ceremonies shd hv been devoid of all fanfare as there is no reason to celebrate premature death

@anon 9:19 am- they should b celebrating d death of their 63yr old mother??? R u alright??

I don't get y r all these people r smiling in these pics. I had to go bak to d post header to b sure linda said "burial" and 63yr old. I understand everyone shldnt be crying but there should e an air of loss around which u r meant to fEel even 4rm d pics. From these pics, its obvious these people r happy d woman is out of their way

CHI

peter said...

eyaaa! may her soul rest in peace.

CHINWE said...

Please do not tell others how to bury THEIR dead!!!

Bury your own dead any which way you want. Everyman to his own ...

Y'all are quick to judge folks in this your Nigeria. There's time for everything. They must have done lots of crying when the lady passed and at home and it is time to celebrate her life now and thank God for the 63 yrs she lived on earth. Oguta folks dont know how to pretend. What you see is what get. Make people believe that you are mourning. It's all in the heart. So please let them be. They are fun love people if you know the Ogutians.

About their attire looking like Rivers cultural outfit, that is how the Oguta people dress. They are more like the Kalabari people of Rivers State, than the Ibos. Actually the Oguta people call other Imo people Ibos and themselves Oguta. I know 'cos my mom is Oguta and my dad is Kalabari in Rivers State. Fun loving people. They are more Rivers than Imo. So y'all haters leave them the hell alone.

What are they celabrating?

DEEFLAMEZ said...

@CHI, ABEG FREE THAT SIDE, YOU WERE NOT THERE WHEN THEY WERE ALL SHEDDING TEARS. THEY WERE ONLY POSING FOR PICTURES WHICH MEANS THEY HAVE TO WIPE THEIR TEARS AND BRIGHTEN UP

IF THEY WERE SNAPPED CRYING THEIR EYES OUT, ITS THE SAME PEOPLE THAT ARE CRITICIZING THEM NOW THAT WILL GO AGAINST THEM SAYING "MUST THEY ALL BETRAY EMOTIONS PUBLICLY? CANT THEY GET HOLD OF THEMSELVES AND ATLEAST SMILE FOR A SIMPLE PHOTOGRAPH???

Chai!!! Humans ehn, you can NEVER satisfy them

*shaking my head*

@willadebo

ONOME says......
May her soul rest in peace.63 is way too young to die o.People live until their 80's at least baring unforeseen circumstances.
I want to assume that pictures can be deceptive cos I see only smiles here:(Andof course maybe they re celebrating her lifebut like I said 63 years??Nooooooo,too young to die

Oguta boi... said...

It is normal for Oguta people to party after the burial rites. They bring out their best wrappers and Coral beads and dance round the villages with their age grade members.

May her soul RIP. As a retired comtroller of Immigration, the funeral was well organised, the immigration gave her d final salute. At 63, dnt tink ple shld be mourning again, its celebration of life.

Victor A said...

All, I am one of those in the pictures and a nephew of the deceased. To answer all the various questions see below

1) Why are we all smiling? - For those who are Christians and read their Bibles, you will know that death is not the end for those who believe. We are smiling because we know she has gone to a better place than where we are. We are smiling because she lived a good life, a life of service. We have mourned when we needed to, now we celebrate her life.
2) Why are we dressed as Rivers people? Well as some wise people here noted, Oguta is a riverine and Niger Delta community. We are surrounded by various Rivers communities and share a common Heritage.
Thanks all for your comments. Yes it was painful to lose her at 63yrs old, but she lived her life for people and thus we celebrate her life.
Victor A.

These are just pictures for Christ sake are they suppose to cry while taking them.you do not have an idea of d pain & sorrow they've gone thru so no one has a right to judge here.their attire is d traditional attire worn during burial in that part of town

Ada said...

These comments have taught me to never take anything on the face value. One of the daughters of the deceased is my sister-in-law. We had such a hard time here in London getting her to eat, drink even water and change her clothes right from when her mother was admitted in hospital up until when she went to Nigeria for the burial after she died. As she was waiting to board the plane I was on the phone with her and she was wailing at the airport. Same applied to her elder sister. I was worried about her coping and I must say I am happy to see these smiles because they are supposed to bury their mom and not the other way round. Please keep your criticism for yourselves.

I don't understand all this bad belle pple. People who mourn also have the right to smile. Its certainly not the end of life. For once in ur life say something nice about other people.

Oguta people are fun loving people. Despite the circumstance they don't lose sight of having fun n been happy. Obviously if they smile or cry u can never be satisfied becos u are a saddist.

If u don't know about oguta culture/traditions, attire, food, life etc. Pls ask questions b4 u make blunders in public. I wonder if some of u are true nigerians

The burial is grand, attendees excellent and all taken care of.

May her soul rest in the Lord.

Am married in oguta and am so proud - JLo

Ng said...

You guys don't know what u r talon about so please stop showing ur ignorance.
This people took care of their mother for years and r still devastated by the death.
Those pictures r not the burial day photos . The burial day proper are the ones the wore grey.
Don't keep judging people if u don't know them

Chyka said...

I was at the burial and the actual burial photos are the ones in grey ! N if the were smiling I praise God cause you have no idea what this people have one through and are still going through! How many of you can fly ur mother abroad and look after her for years ? Please say what you know . The sacrificed ally for her and buried her well.

I have just seen these photos and I have to say that what drew tears to my eyes, is not just the fact that these lovely people are burying their mother, but more my hurt at the fact that for such a sad occasion people, instead of passing on condolences are writing such nasty and horrible things...I am a good friend of the eldest daughter, who still within a few weeks of giving birth and recovering, got the sad news of her mother's death, lost an awful amount of weight, cried all through while still nursing a newborn, and as someone else said, the other sister seeing her mother through her illness in hospital, nursed her, forgot herself and then suffered the loss...and all you can do is write nasty, unfeeling comments. Please I implore you, if you have not walked in someone else's shoe you can never fully understand what they are going through, and I pray you do not have to go through it. Some of the words of condolence that people would have offered to them is to cheer up. They can see all your comments, please be sensitive to people's pain as you would want people to be sensitive to yours whatever the situation. These are very good people, and I am sure you are good people too.

Nik said...

Those useless and stupid people who is asking why they are laughing,u want them to cry 4ever right? If u don't know anything or what to comment just pls shut up. You should cry 4 eternity when your parents die ok,that's if they are not already dead, or better still u can die with them to show them how much you love them, if u don't have anything good to comment why don't u just shut up, whether u borrowed a laptop cos I know u can't afford 1 or u typed from your cheap china phone,either ways u should keep your foolish and useless comments to yourself cos its no needed here! World people!!!SMH, after all these pains and suffering that this family ve been through, see d rubbish comments people are typing. People like u can't even give your parents a befitting burial and yet u talk about people that ve done their mum proud, u be really ode and I pity 4 u.