Philip Phillips wins American Idol | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 May 2012

Philip Phillips wins American Idol

21 year old Phillip Phillips was crowned the 11th American Idol yesterday after defeating high school student, 16-year-old Filipino-Mexican-American, Jessica Sanchez. The show's finale held at the at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, California on Wednesday evening, May 23 (Thursday morning in Nigeria).

Did he deserve to win? I thought Joshua Ledet was the best singer this season, but I guess to win something like this, you have to have the total package. Congrats to Philip.

103 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

when will a girl win it naw?????
BTW my darling lib'ers. i see sometimes that; when am off the blog some of my "lib community" brodas n sistas do miss me and ask after my whereabout. so i decided to make a formal announcement thus:
Bloglord will be 'somewhat inactive' on the blog for a period of 3weeks as am going to be off for a biz trip. (airborne most of the time)and work could get so uptite leaving me with little or no time. will visit d blog weneva i got a little time to spare during this period.
see u all in my more active mode wen i get back. love u all.
To my darling lindastic ikejegbish, easy babes. keep doing ur thing; keep d blog refreshed with gists, events n happenings. u have done well so far... love u muchos(no lesby) *bb smiley big hug *

Miss Brown said...

Jessica Sanchez is better than him jare....mtsheeeew

omonlove said...

im still so upset at this win.i have followed the show and expected Jessica sanchez to win.but it just teaches us all a lesson,life is interesting and the voters no try at alllllllllll

I'm so happy for Philip, but I actually wanted Joshua to win.

Abegi! He didn't deserve to win jor!! Joshua is my winner, wonder what Americans saw in the guy.

American idol bores me!Give me Big Brother any day,any time!

Crap,total crap,america voted wrong,sheeesh,Joshua ledet deserved 2 win,or evn Jessica,bt Philip hell no.

promise michealz said...

He didn't deserve it, my cousin and I are so pissed, and as soon as joshua was evicted we knew d whole show was rigged, I can't believe he eveb beat jessica sanchez

Teejay said...

I knew he was going to win, he was my favourite.... So happy for him

OK said...

Did he deserve to win?
No he didn't.

Nekky said...

yea me too. i was hopin it'll be Joshua Ledet cos d guy can sing very well. guess he didn't have enough voters.Joshua will go places if he decides to go into music full time cos music is in him. congrats to Philip tho.

Linda thank you for telling us but pls UK viewers are yet to watch and it is only fair to keep us in suspense.

My dear Linda, Joshua was the best o bt Phillips also deserves it anyway. Joshua&Jessica will still have a record deal guess.
-Abimbola O

U-DRIMZ said...

Hey aunty linda!!..peter okoye {PSQUARE} has been posting pics of him on a private jet on twitter,looks as if they just got one...pls investigate fast!!

NecFix said...

"...guess you need to have the total package to win idols..." You just said it linda. Josh's an amazing singer, but philip's more complete. Congrats to him

Dave1 said...

Totally agree with u Lin...Already given it to d black(gospel loving) Joshua dude. Stil tinks he has an amazing career ahead of hm,winner or not.

So because 'Uk viewers' r yet2watch we shouldn't talk bout a programme d@has finished airing? Really? #issoraii#

lafaze.blogspot.com said...

Joshua was d best, Wow dat guy Can sing, and phillip Naw ......

ryan seacrest has a hand in dz, am nt surprised....

joshua was my favourite

jeez...i hv bin following idolz...i tot jessica sanchez or joshua ledet wil emerge as d winner... Hmm..lyf z funny...i luv phillip phillipz tew tho...so am hapi 4 him....d idolz contestantz diz year wer A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!

Jessica was the best, at 16 achieved all this, its sad :'(

Esta said...

So happy he won, couldn't stand Jessica, she was just imitating Beyonce in everything, it got so annoying.....Originality is needed....but Joshua was d best singer in the whole competition

naijapikin said...

They had amazing talent this year...they all deserved to win, but there can only be 1 winner. I wanted Jessica, but that doesn't mean Philip didn't deserve it.

i supported joshua ledet and colton dixon through out d competition. joshua has exceptional talent, he really deserved to win, just like jennifer hudson. the world will hear of joshua. i dont want to take anything away from phillips cos he is talented by showing his dexterity on d guitar.there was also anoda thing going for philips, he is not a copy cat. he is so real. jessica sanchez had d voice but she is more of a karaoke singer for me. congrats philips. Linda i saw read ur interview with BN, IT WAS FLAWLESS AND DOWN TO EARTH. WE ARE PROUD OF U LINDA.

Mikey

Its so interesting to knw dt it aint jst d Naija viewing audience dt is plagued wt d mypoic voting sense. Joshua ladet rocks, he's still ma winner anytym anyday.

joshua is d best but he was evicted, this is racism if you ask me

juliet igboekwe said...

in my opinion he did not deserve to win. what the total package?

joshua was the best idol for the year.

nonsense, total rubbish and it is confirmed that Americans r deaf 2 excellent voices.... Phillip wasn't it all.... Joshua or Jessica deserved 2 win.

Joshua is d winner simeon has started again with his ojoro life. I trust dat joshua is going 2 b a bigger star than philips

Tama said...

am happy for him, he did a good job on the show maybe cos i love the type of songs he sings, soft rock and oldies ...LOL

i expected Philip to have long gone and have Joshua, Jessica and Skylar at the final three and one of these should have won at least if not Joshua. i just wonder what so spectacular about this Philip guy. i guess it was more of sentimental voting. but i enjoyed the programme sha.

stephanie said...

For me it shoulda been Jessica or Joshua!! But dare I say its rascism? Joshua is black, Jessica is not white either.... Don't kill me.... Its just my opinion !

stephanie said...

Josh or Jess shoulda won... Dare I say racism is working here!! Josh is black, Jess aint white either...

Don't kill me ppl: its just my opinion

Bimbo,i wanted jessica 2 win bt i tink phillip had more edge cos he cld be another chris daughtry 4rm d show

What i know is dat Joshua is the winner. Phillip does not deserve it. America did ojoro.......

cograts

So what you're saying is that is has not been mentioned anywhere on the net except on linda's blog?

i agree with Bimbola. Joshua ladet i one of the best singers ive sen in a very long time, the guy is just unbeleivable. Jessica is also very good and we cant take the fact that philip is also good too. But i felt Joshua shoulda won, but come on, its america, a white man's country, wat do u expect? and moreover its a voting competition so we really cant do much about the results. american girls voe more, they prefer white boys to mixed race babe., so... but like we know, the best deosnt always win, but they always do better than the winners, and moreover, joshua's album is already in the making so.. and jessica, she;ll be fine, i just hope she doesnt become like miley cirus. Philip is cool too oooo, i like his sexines....
but Joshua all the way mehn, the boys gives me goose bumps...in a good way.

pls check out his videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ4pNlvt0m8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4babjH3QF8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFbVKSalklw&feature=relmfu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZG3pAvKbAsU&feature=related

Oh no!phillip kinda bored me most of his performance wit d yeye guitar!joshua deserved to win or at least jessica!

He won bcos they started playing the transplant card,just towards d finale they started it so most of his votes were all sympathy.Joshua was d best amongst all of them this season though this season really had good talent.

linda the spoiler. we haven't watched it here in naija na. but i knew phillip would win. i am such an avid AI fan i practically knew who wou;d leave every week(mayb a lil cheating on the website before i watch on sunday).

one thing you guys should always know is that the underdog always wins in america, all the game shows have always towed that outcome. phillip had neva been in the bottom 3, he was the most humble at the hometown visits, while the other 2 were basking in thier new found fame, he was shedding tears. he remained the same with his boring grey t-shirt, even when tommy hilfiger advised him otherwise. the week jessica wore $1,500 loubs i knew she would be in the bottom.

he so deserved to win, he has the most distinctive voice. the semi finals jessica struggled with jackson 5 and failed woefully with mariah carey, while joshua oversang imagine and failed on mary j blige.

good win phillip phillips

Most ppl dat win don't go far. Take Timi and Omawunmi for instance. If Josh is dat Gud he'll definitely go places. So, relax guys, winner no dey carry all anymore! Kudos to Phillip

Sue said...

Nawaah, my Naija peeps SMH no game spirit at all, once u dont get wat u want it is rigged or racism....whoever u want is ur own entirely ur own OPINION! u dont rule the world or america, the votes were over ratified and ratified again & trust me, some companies cant loose their billions of dollars brand name cos of peanuts to condescend to rigging, wake up, we no dey naija. Anyways, the winner is not always the most successful, check omawumi and time, or jennifer hudson who won grammys even though she dint win idols, dont be surprised if jessica or joshua already have a record label contract begging them, They are all stars already, in my own opinion,they are all great talented and unique, Joshua is fantastic but has his own style,i loved his childlikeness, Jessica is versatile but i guess Philips maturity & humility & obvious lack of desperation endeared him to the voters. if the owners of d show and judges had their way it would be different. 132 million votes cant be wrong

Major Spoiler . It hasn't been aired in Nigeria. But WTH I guess other sites are carrying it as well.

My fave was Josh followed by Jessica. But Phillip is charming so....

Congrats to him. He is an amazing singer.

Philip is good, but Joshua was the best in this season.

Co-sign!

i tink phillips deserve it, he ll be a good songwriter, he has been himself all tru the competition, he sings a "white mans" kind of songs so wat do u expect? of course he'll get more voters. i like him a lot and only ppl who understands and enjoys a "white mans" kinda song will appreciate him. joshua is good too but phillips deserve it.

Amiga said...

Linda you should have put 'spoiler alert' at the top of this post cos us UK peeps are yet to watch it. :-(

This season of American idol was the worse season I have ever watched! Since Simon left the show as a judge it became uninteresting! They keep giving J Lo satge to sing her crappy musics and the other 2 guys can't judge either, they repeat the same thing when they are judging the contestants over and over again! No single black girl on the show and only one black man! I knew from there that the show was going to be nonsense!

stilts said...

American Idol is a load of crap! The moment Joshua was evicted, I lost interest. This wasn't a case of being black or white. It was a case of Joshua was f*cking talented. One of the best singers in American Idol history. The boy got nothing less that 17 standing ovations from the judges week after week. If the finale had Joshua and Jessica...Jess happened to win, I'll still be okay coz she's very talented too. But Phillip Phillips??? C'moooon! Gimi a fuhrikin buhrake!

RANDOM THOTS said...

Blaaaaaaahhhhh "tongue out" Joshua is the winner.... they just did "America wonder" to the competition!!! any ways dat aside Loooovvee your interview on bellanaija. u r an inspiration to me..

which total package, did reuben stuttard have the 'total package' when he won. plsssssss im happy joshua didnt win cos this was just a window opening for him. he will be great. look at jennifer hudson, adam Lambeth and Chris Daughtry. they ontop and they didnt win AI

Philip ke?? Guess the klu klux klan were the ones voting. Sorry to sound so racist but its obvious they didn't want no colored boy or gal to win *southern drawl*

I'm with u on dat one.RASCISM.

I don't think he deserves to win.1st of all,the finale should have been Jessica and Joshua but then Phillips has never been in the bottom three not because he's better vocally than a no of them but because he's a white guy with guitar (WGWG) and some little white girls dat constitute a larger population of voters think he's cute.smh.I'm pretty sure Jessica and Joshua will go far as well and probably Skylar. And note that d past 5 American idol winners have been WGWG. So d result isn't absolutely shocking.just upsetting

He doesn't deserve it he's a stereotype singer. Joshua does and always will! Illuminati tinz, besides they run the show (Sony) so what do you expect? They don't want no church boy spoiling their devilish tinz@frau

Yes Linda I AGREE,

Joshua should have won this, He was the best in the season.

no nonsense said...

Everything is Racism... Racism aand Joshua got to no 3? Oh please! Where were d blacks when oyibos were voting? And why didn't u shout racism when Fantasia, Jordin Sparks and d other black guy won...biko make I hear word

Shut up already, we don hear!

Gbam! End of discussion

Since Simon left, d show has been much better! If ur not happy, take a bath and a chill pill

Blacks are even more racist than whites, atleast the whites will rather be politically correct... See d rubbish ur spewing here on top AI

CHINWE said...

Nothing spoil... The Runner ups and the not-winners end up doing better than the winners in real life.

Cathy Zeta! said...

Jessica was better oh! far better!

Of the last three i felt Phillip was going to win, to many it may seem lik he is not as talented vocal wise as Joshua, but that's we are judging them on the same points...all three had uniquely different voice but for me Phillip's was most outstanding.
And pls let's stop turning everything into a race issue.

I wasted an entire season following dis crap show imagin Phillip winning at the end I actually switched off the program when Josh was evicted its so sad that at the end even Jessuca lost to dis guy that behave like someone sick Oyinbo Ojoro Josh lost becos he is a Beleiver not just becos he is black remember Jenifer Hudson won the 3rd season and she is black.

Janded said...

I love phillip. He deserved if even though Josh was great too
http://abroadtales.blogspot.ca/2012/05/what-would-you-do-for-money.html

Pleeeeease don't even dare to say Philips deserve to win he's a good for nothing no talent whatsoever anyone in the entire season had more talent than him, and in comparison to te great talent around him Joshua ( who should have won) and Jessica ( 2nd place for sure) it's bull!!! Hating cause there better than the white boy c'mon

stephanie said...

If e pain u Go boil an egg! Anonymous mofo!

My dear its nt only in Nigeria even dse who were in American Idol lyk Jennifer Hudson and Adam Lambert
-Abimbola O

Adam Lambeth

cynosure faces said...

i preferred Joshua too but he was acting gay nywys i tot Jessica was good also but Philip has a very unique voice we dnt hear everyday.

Claire Negbenebor said...

Linda, you really shouldn't have put this post up, considering we don't watch it in Nigeria till Sunday. I doubt anyone would have hounded you for this post.

Why are people surprised? The active American Idol voters are teenage white girls and gays so

chommymotola said...

Jessica and Joshua are my best this year.I wonder how Philip got to the top.

See dem!
Ashawo

Simon?are you for real?
Dats xfactor,innit?
Sheeeeesh!
Warriboi

Black Pple don't vote....when dem never chop chicken finish?

Wtf shut up with that missing shit

Ok seriously I'm tired of this racism shit. We've had two black american idols. So what all the white people come together and decide we're not gonna vote for the non-whites? All 132million of them? This is the problem with blacks in America, too stuck on racism, and use it as an excuse not to success. 'My success is hindered by the white man' f**k off with that nonsense. And I'm even more pissed that Nigerians are catching this fever too. Next thing we'll hear GEJ isn't performing because he's racist or Boko Haram is bombing because it's racist or people oppose GEJ because they're racist. Foolishness.
Yes Joshua was a great singer, but how many girls were screaming for Joshua, how many grandmothers claimed Joshua as their boyfriend.??? You think the boys voted?? The girls voted, the old ladies voted, and as far they're concerned Philip Philips name is cool and easy to remember, he can sing and play the guitar and oh my gosh he is a cutie. 'OMG he's perfect' The appeal is what got Philip to win. It isn't just about singing, all of them can sing, but who has that connection to the American people, that's the American idol. Look at Kelly Clarkson, till today all her songs can relate to everyone in America. Go to youtube and listen to her songs and see the comments, people from all walks of life can relate to her. Same thing with Philip. I live in GA, and on the local news I saw the welcome he was given, stuff u didn't see on AI, all of Georgia voted for him, Atlanta alone consists of 20 million people, and you think he couldn't win and doesn't deserve it???? As Linda said, he has the whole package.
Seriously I knew Jessica Sanchez could sing and loved her singing of dream girl's song last night, but until I read it here on LIB, I didn't know her name was Jessica, I only know of the Sanchez girl. There's no recognition to her. Ok bye.

E4ma said...

From day 1 I knew it. congrats Philip u were 'my' best

Also Jermaine Jones was a very good singer

Am so happy phillip won,jessica maybe didnt win becos people were tired of d judges praiseing and making her feel as if she is beta dan d rest(i kw she is a great singer),i guess americans decided 2 teach them(d judges) a lesson.

Linda what do you mean by the total package? Joshua deserved to win but since he was voted out next would have been Jessica but since Joshua and Jessica are not Caucasian we know how it ended.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

@Anon..why the long speech..don't be having a hissy fit mehn on LIB..calm the hell down...
Say it weren't racism 4 a sec..Dude was bland..I saw a brief sing off between dem 3..for he was the weakest singer..If I were to close my eyes..the girl for me was the best..but the Black dude had nuff charisma..and Linda didn't say he had the whole package..it was an open ended ques...

Its 3 blacks actually, reuben, fantasia and jordin sparks.

Anyone notice joshua is soooo gay!!! Can't believe nigerians are supporting a homo. Anyone also notice phillip was the only person in the entire season who didn't change his style for 1 day. Colton Dixon left the week he wore an obnoxious outfit,jess sanchez had to be saved the week she wore christian louboutin shoes like jlo(a 16 year old girl). Phillip remained the same from day 1 to the end, no airs, he never let the fame get to him and the girls sure did love him. Hi Jun(with so much personality) and phillip were my favs, so funny and playful, and both very original. It was philip's humility and quirkiness that made him win, not rascist/ojoro!

i think the girl deserves it, she has being on her game for long, josh screams,........ phils good too

Asaa said...

Pls ppl! Let's stop blaming everything on racism! This is a show and people vote! Blacks have won in d past so why bring up racism now! blacks can be pathetic for real! Philip has the total package. Singer, songwriter, plays instruments. He is a musician. Joshua sings better and has beta stage presence but we didn't vote for him. Jessica also sings well but lacks the idol personality!

Why don't we all pray for Philip's liver problem and his forth coming surgery instead of saying he doesn't deserve it!

Jhenny said...

Hmmmmm, Lin baibee, ur interview on BN #ONPOINT.....love ya

Dude....(Imitating Randy)you're just so spot on abeg! True talk! Jessica what? Abeg free us, big tyme copy cat, no originality whatsoever....congrats to Phillips! He deserved it!

American Idol move aside, VOICE is the real deal.

Which kind America Idol be dis?i was so sure Joshua was goin to win but instead they gave it to Phillip way no fit sing.Jessica fit sing pass am sef Mschewwwwwwwww,am so sure Joshua and Jessica wud go far in their career than Phillip.

ONE said....I cant believe people are insinuating that Joshua is gay..he's jst a kid that acts childlike in a childlike manner...did i mention he's the last child too? pls dnt give him a name that God hasnt given him. He was my favourite singer this season. His talent is unbelievable. Jessica was good too...skylar was another standout for me. Phillip bored me most of the time. I dnt understand his kind of music nevertheless i wish him well. please i beg u people no more name calling...if you're so perfect i wonder why you're yet to be raptured.

@Asaaa...lol abeg are u sure u are watching same AL we are watching cos is not liver problem PP has but KIDNEY get ur facts rite o.

I wanted a J-J finale but unfortunately it didn't happen but PP isn't bad too but my favorite has always been and will always be Joshua winner or no winner he will do great with the right songs!

Pls people Joshua is not gay cos he looks that way doesn't mean he is. Don't tag people what they are not without real facts.
I also think PP got the highest votes truly that's y he won, Jess needs time to mature with motions into those amazing vocals she has but Joshua has amazing soulful voice and stage presence more than them and he only needs AL for the platform and now he has it. so go make us proud JOSH cos u rock!!!!

jennie said...

Rubbish, dis is so unfair. Joshua all d way despite your win phil.

Joshua was every bodies favorite yes he can sing and yes the judges hyped him too much jooo.........maybe dat stood against him all d standing ovation haba american voters no try

uc

mstchewww...i totally wanted Joshua to win jo....

Can u all pls shut up about this racism crap! If u really did pay attention, GIRLS loved Phillip Phillips and I can bet that is why he won. It is all about the crowd, fans and people that put their money where their mouth is. I also loved Joshua. The ? Is did I log on to vote or call in to vote for him to win? No.... So if you all also didn't vote or get on a plane to attend the live shows, vote or do nothing about it....... Zip it!!!!!
Can't really stand people being ignorant. Think before u speak.

PP deserved it;unique talent though Josh was my favourite. Jessica has a phenomenal voice, nothing special as we have seen the likes of her before.

this is total racism,evn jenny was so surprised whn they evicted joshua,white monkeys wht do u expect