P-Square signs distribution deal with Universal Music Group | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 May 2012

P-Square signs distribution deal with Universal Music Group

P-Square has signed a distribution deal with Universal Music, South Africa. The deal was signed and sealed this afternoon at a press conference in Johannesbourg, South Africa. The music label will be releasing past and future projects with them; and handle all their digital and CD sales all over the world. These guys keep rocking. Congrats to them!

46 comments:

sexiest said...

congrats to my future husband...

see as may D be like thief for back...looool

Big up they are really makin it.

Which one is this one again? *sighs* Yes you guessed it! I'm a hater!! LOL. Nah for real tho! This is really great news and it is certainly a good look for the Nigerian Music industry!!!

how many hit tracks has been released of recent? I think they shud focus more on their music

Lilspicer said...

Is unconfirmed oooo(omo-iwo)

lanictx said

I thot mr d'banj was making noise about bringing UMG to Africa, so they actually had a presence in SA, the guy just dey run mouth anyhow(bighead) much ado over nothing... Anyways congrats to the men of the moment P-SQUARE more grease to your elbow and keep making us proud.

i knew that this would happen,....when d'banj featured snoop dog and signed with kanye west.......on this same blog and nigeriafimls.com i predicted that p-square would respond to this.........

p-square are more positioned than any other artist africa has ever know,....they are the biggest and most sophisticated artist in africa......

they may never win the grammy because of their genre of music.....but for the fact that they have twice the fans of any other artist in africa...they own african music.......

i have a lot of respect for d'banj but i believe that p-square are more strategic and stronger...

edon happen....gbam....

Who cares??? *rolling eyes*

Tim Taimi Nwosu said...

Goodluck to my favourite 9ja artists.

Janded said...

Congrats. love p2

IAmhairs said...

no wonder ghanians cnt stop hating on our swag n levels .....let dem kip hating n we aint gonna stop repping 9ja n we'll kip getting beta..GOD BLESS NIGERIA,GOD BLESS LINDA N GOD BLESS ME

ds boys r doing it big. am impressed.
bbsmiley thumbs up

Linda baby, i am as much a fan as you...pls lemme borrow ur line: THESE GUYS KEEP ROCKING! I love P Square...Period!

Wow...congrats 2 dem oo
God bless me 2!

Linda I dey telz u !!! Dis bois ar rockin scara scara!!!! Cheers pp

I'm not in anyway surprised. Hardwork pays and foresight and perseverence is the key to success. I'm happy for this duo. At least goodnews can come from Nigeria apart from stories from thieves in Abuja.

O.J Fayad said...

Making Money,Keeping the channels open,Representing, Straight up success!..
PsQuArE i SeE yOu!!

I truly think these guys are Africa's biggest artistes. I admire them. Kudos P-Square.

hun? said...

@ the second Anonymous May 31, 2012 7:29 PM okay you were making sense until you uttered the "they are the biggest and most SOPHISTICATED artist in africa...... Are you high on cheap drugs? Please never ever use that word sophisticated in the same sentence as PSAQUARE. Two totally opposite words. How dare you? have you heard them speak and conduct interviews? do they know them in U.K ni lele ni be yen? have they collabo'd with any foreign artists and Akon does not count cos he is also African...Pass the mic mennnnnn

Lanictx, just curious what part of naija are you from cos it is typical of people from the East and all those areas not to recognize when people have done well and just blindly support anyone from their area. Dbanj has done well for himself and exposed himself beyond naija, p square are doing the exact same thing so what are you yarning?

THIS IS THE GREATEST NEWS IN THE HISTORY OF NIGERIAN MUSIC! UMG- a member of the big 4! Congrats my brothers. More blessings!

Nigeria has to stand still for these guys. UMG??- this is more than I can bear.

WE ALL DO!!! N GET D HELL OUTTA HERE!

Wait wait, who go chop this money, Linda na you?

So it's true...finally confirmed?? If so, then it is right to say these are the biggest guys on the African entertainment scene. Thanks Paul and Peter for doin' Nigerians proud. We are proud of you! Much more blessings...Happy June y'all.

ugo frank said...

These guys keep moving up by the day, I bet they have large fan base in Africa that's why Universal music is interested in signing as I know they don't do baad deals.......Peter, Paul & Jude keep doing what you do best.

Now we know where that Private Jet Came... These guys r kings jor... @Lacrtix... D'banj said he was bringing def Jam 2 africa not universal..

BLOGBABY said...

Congratz to dem...iv always known dey will be bigz...hard work surely pays!

Congrats 2 J towns finest, smoba 4 ever.

Nekky said...

@Anon 7:29, u r just spot on. these guys are not just Nigerian artistes buh African artistes. like u said they may never win a grammy buh they truly own african music.

They are just something else. well positioned, strategic biz men and extremely talented. who says you have to go to London or NewYork to make it.

Congrats Psquare and keep doing africa proud. i'm a big fan....

kenkeme.com said...

BIG ARTISTES DO BIG THINGS!!! CONGRATULATIONS TO P-SQUARE.. BY THE WAY PEOPLE, ITS NOT A COMPETITION BETWEEN D'BANJ AND P-SQUARE. WE ALL NIGERIANS.

doll (retired blogger) said...

exactly its not a competition! people must look for any reason sha to take snipes at d'banj. haba! there is enough space for every one up there. Aye po gan, ibili kam bili

isis said...

This goes a long way to show us that hardwork pays. My sincere congrats 2 them, keep up the good work boys.!!

juliet igboekwe said...

congratz to you guys ohh. God bless your hustle

DEEFLAMEZ said...

OK...

@willadebo

Nzube said...

@Hun?...even your name is as LamE as your remark. What in essence is SOPHISTICATION,if I may ask...to speak English?? BUSH-MGBATI AFRICAN MENTALITY!! and what from hell is "ni lele ni be yen"...what esoteric tongue is that? FYI, one does not need to speak "your English" to be a renowned success, and SOPHISTICATION DOESNT have anything at all to do with English. These guys are Naija's biggest artistes...STOP HATING ON THEM. Linda, pls stop publishing some of these "hate remarks"..I suggest again. we take a step forth, and these tribalists take us twice back...#JUST SAYING#. CONGRATS MY BROS, P SQUARE...WE SO PROUD OF YOU GUYS!!!

P SQUARE IS INDEED THE BIGGEST IN AFRICA.

P SQUARE...100 TIMES BIGGER THAN D'BANJ (my humble opinion).

these guys no dey tire...everyday, another feat. make una enjoy; na God giv una! CONGRATS!

i love p2...congrats.

NICOLAS said...

UMG GROUP...O BOY, NO BE SMALL THING O!

Pretty sure Linda would follow this up with posts on her other 2 fav topics..Mohits and Genny..u re aware we got other Artists and Celebs in 9ja..oh and congrats Peter and Paul..my personal person to me..

koya samuel olayinka said...

congrat to them..more gist and news at www.gistyinka.blogspot.com

@Hun and Nzube. You are both being tribalistic. I agree that psquare cannot be termed sophisticated but no one in that naija has done as good as they have and no other act is as successful as they are. Nzube you called huh "bush mgbati" and called his/her language estoric. You are even worse. You both need to take several seats cos no one should be talking tribes or comparing dbanj and psquare. They are all naijas and I personally im proud of all their accomplishments