Olympic Gold Medalist Chioma Ajunwa Becomes Police DPO | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 7 May 2012

Olympic Gold Medalist Chioma Ajunwa Becomes Police DPO

Chioma Ajunwa Opara, 41, was the first Nigerian to win Olympic Gold. She accomplished that feat at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

The Imo state born Chief Superintendent of Police, who joined the Nigerian police force long before winning the long jump gold medal, was recently made the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) of Meran police station in Lagos.

49 comments:

Congrats to her!!!

sarafina said...

Good news she's not stagnant. What's left is to be jumping after criminals now...I jes hope she doesn't start jumping after money

I can't shout. At least she go fit chase any thief that tries to run away. What will make an Olympic Gold Medal winner to become a DPO is beyond me

Blessyn said...

Yaaaay!!! Now she can pursue thieves with her long legs, no need for police van.lol.

i thank God 4 her life

woow...from that to the police??....nigeria sure deosnt know how to honour tz heroes..damn. am sure she would have been sergeant before giving the post sef

wow... so dat is how her career died!!!!!! :(

Awww, Ȋ̝̊ am so proud of her, she did not limit herself like most athletes do, where when they get to A̶̲̥̅̊ certain age don't know Wђã†̥ to do with themselves

TOSAN said...

Good for her. So she is just 40? Seems she has been around forever.
http://abroadtales.blogspot.ca/2012/05/omg-moment.html

nchewi said...

Career died? How do u mean? U ought 2 be proud of her! She looks good in her uniform!! She is sacrificing her comfort 4 our collective safety. God bless her. I can't wait 4 us to have a sanitized n more humane policing system.

Well, i hoope she brings dignity 2 d force

@blessyn you read my mind i swear i was going to write the same. she might be only equipped and efficient person in the police force lol

do you people read? she didn't just join the force ... she got promoted!
And to the dadindato that said her career died .... really? Say this to yourself 3 times very slowly - I KNOW NOTHING EVEN THOUGH I THINK I KNOW MUCH

This is how you people fail exams, u never try to understand things first before yapping your mouth. Didn't you see where she wrote that she was in the police force long before she won the medal?

The career of most sportsmen in Nigeria die .She has moved on and one very well.
What would she have done without a career in the police.
I am proud of her

Ur just a cow! Linda said she was a police officer long before she won the competition.. Dum dum read b4 u post

Majek Fashek is also a Hero said...

To all those making comments that suggest that this is not good news, I'll like tell you that she's doing the honorable thing by pursing an active career. She's taking her destiny into her hands and is playing her popularity card right. She'll have a good career in the Police Force, make a change (or not) and will have a good retirement. This beats sitting in one corner and licking her gold medal and asking for government welfare. See Linda's subsequent ppost on whether "heroes" deserve post retirement welfare and you will understand that what she is doing is the more laudable act! Your strategy in life should never be tied to welfare or some past glory. 1996 olympics is almost 20 years ago and I'll be damned if that is still are claim to fame and entitlement to remuneration.

Enough with the entitlement mentality Nigerians. No one owes you anything but yourself so get off your lazy ass and earn your keep.

Congratulations DPO Ajunwa

Adellemaria said...

Wow, that's really sad, its only in Nigeria that such nonsense will happen, go to the US and see people who go to the olympic make millions of dollars after that, All Nigeria has to show is a DPO position. bullshitttttt........

'Former Athletics Drug Cheat Becomes DPO' would have been a better headline.

kcee said...

At least she is not broke and begging for help. She is doing something useful with her life.

Can't Nigerian read?she was in the police force long before winning the medal,please read properly before commenting or should Linda start writing in your native language so that you can understand.
Moreover she is achieving something instead of waiting for government to put food on her time. Nigerian don't take care of people when their services are no long needed eg ex-sport men and women,pensioners,so please invest in your future and stop waiting for government

M1MA said...

Ok now. following your question on govt being responsible for national heroes, does this lady have two horns that she became DPO from being an athlete? she only had a plan for her future which is working out well for her and penury isnt nearby. congrats Chioma!

sakara said...

if u reverse back history, u'll all remember chioma was a police officer when she went for the olympics years ago, I cant even remember d 2nd person maybe sunday or something, they were both officers @ that time, and if by now she's honored why not let us congratulate her, she sure deserve it otherwise they'll not give it to her, my take is - may she be part of the team that wl bring police force out of d shame it has made of 'itself'

Naijarian said...

For those who are wondering why the police, note that like Sunday Bada, Julius Aghahowa and a lot of others, she was in the police before she made it in athletics and even at that, she never retired.

Never heard of a woman DPO...

Daniel Akobi said...

Some people here should read well before commenting. The post said she has been a policewoman long before she started runing for Nigeria.

the white enchantress said...

congrats aunt chi.

Professor X said...

Are u blind? Did u not read that she's been a police officer long before winning the medal? So after she won she should have sat at home eating her gold medal? What honour are u talking about? Olodo.

Once again, she is a hero, she is a LEGEND or ICON

TOOFLY said...

errr most of u dont remember that she was a police officer when she went in for the olympics.

PLEASE SHES DOIN WELL, LOOKS HAPPY.
CONGRATS CHIOMA AJUNWA

sARA---KI said...

SARAKI:--Catch me if u can!

CONGRATS TO MRS AJUNWA-OPARA THIS GOES TO SHOW YOU HAVE TO DEVELOP YOURSELF, BUILD ON WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN BECAUSE FAME CANNOT LAST FOREVER, THIS WOMAN USED THE LEVERAGE SHE HAD FROM THE OLYMPICS AND WORKED TO WHERE SHE IS TODAY. THEREFORE THE GOVERNMENT DOES NOT OWE ANY NATIONAL " HERO" ANYTHING.

dummies o TRY AND READ PROPERLY BEFORE RUSHING TO COMMENT. she WAS ALREADY IN THE POLICE FORCE..before she started competing infact the police force gave her a good platform so we should thank them instead of ignorantly commenting mtchewww

Congratulations, Chioma!!! Now, this is what I call a national hero!

Criminals no go fit escape from because she sabi run well well. She go catch plenty thieves

Bless her she did us proud during the olympics! Anyway she was in the Guinness book of Records.

doll (retired blogger) said...

she was in the police before she went to the olympics.

commentators are making it seem like she was sucked into the police force cuz of the medal

Nimma said...

Nigerians!! And what is wrong with been a police officer??

@adellemaria u are really very stupid and ignorant FOOL. this is something she did for herself, she was in d force long before she won the medal. wat has US got to do wit it, see d way u are running your mouth like an unstoppable moron. through hardwork she has elevated herself and u are here jobless and useless enough to bring in Nigeria and US in d matter...pls be educated. IDIOT

Kudoz said...

Ok nobe Chioma be this? did she go to sleep b/cos she is a gold medalist? thumb up my dear all the best.... for those of them waiting for govt for help ride on!!

I can remember when she was promoted to sergent then after winning the medal. How time flies. GO IN THIS THY MIGHT chioma!

Nigerians cant read

Fatimah said...

@Anon May 8, 2012 1:20 AM, almost dead from laughing so hard. Dadindato?? roftlmao!

Safe to say, Aghahowa too will soon be promoted?

I met this lady in London many years ago. We were chatting like old friends and I didn't know who she was until someone introduced her to another person and her name rang a bell.
All I can say from my brief encounter with her is that this lady has some subdstance period. U can hardly say dt about a lot of Nigerian ladies these days. After that I ran into her in Lagos again. She was still the same. I know she will bring some positive change in the police force. God Help you Girl! Congrats!!!!
I'm realy proud of u.
Proudly Igbo babe!

U should probably be reading a US owned blog...COCK-SUCKER!!
Btw, hw many times ve u being to d US??

police van....hmm no more.

Kai!Nigerians read blindly!!! Its a shame....I weep for my generation...Kindly go back to the post and read it slowly again..she was a police officer long before she contested in the olympics....she wasn't made a DPO cos she represented Nigeria at the Olympics! Gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

she no need police car, make this lady dey sprint they catch thief biko :D

thenigerianexperience said...

awww I remember her! I love watching the olympics...good times :) London 2012...let go!

Way to go. I absolutely concur with u.