A message from the Game store at The Palms, Lekki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 May 2012

A message from the Game store at The Palms, Lekki

Oh yeah, na so? What do you guys think of this warning?

68 comments:

Iyaeto said...

I'll definitely stay away and won't allow my kids to go there.. What goes on in there to warrant such a warning?

Wat crappy n absurd message. So its money 1st n customer safety last abi? Trust naija, dey go change d message sooner, wen boys show dem small pepper.

When a brand becomes so big,diz iz wat u expect! When they start out small n lookin for patronizers the reverse is the case! #one sentence...wetin i wan go find there again?! If na charm sef e don clear! *straight face*

BLOGLORD said...

thats rude! thats chasing off their customers directly. is it cos they've got name alredy???
marketing/business strategy in customer retainership and sustainance is something they ought to learn.
warning sign...total bull...

Ludicrous. Is this allowed? So if they have wet floor without a sign and you fall, it's your problem? Or wet paint and it messes ur expensive clothes up, still not their problem? Or through negligence they don't take out of date products off the shelf, it's still your problem. They must be kidding.

Ha ha very funny. Except they dash money else they are gonna lose lots of customers.

What on earth is this supposed to mean? Abi na joke?

Are u for real? Even if it's the store owner's negligence? Crazy!

Teakay said...

Simply put "Do NOT Enter"

Manesa said...

Arant nonsense! So if get injured as a result of Game's negligence, nothing will be done about it abi? These bloody south africans r taking the fucking piss! They must really think nigerians are uneducated crass idiots. What rubbish

babanla rubbish

Kemi Amarachi said...

It's really unfortunate and I call this 'Apartheid in Nigeria'. This won't happen in any other part of the world. A foreign company comes in to our homeland, we troop in like soldier ants, spend our hard-earned Naira...'at our own risk'. Who is looking out for us? Nobody! No one cares about us because we don't even care about ourselves. And let no one think this is a hoax, the signage is real, hidden in one tiny corner. Mschew!

*Bbm raised eyebrow* smiley...

Them don dey madt gan. Na so everybody in naija fit pass their own bill ni? Rubbishment make i enter and break just one nail i go BH owner and employee kmft

Even if its caused by the negligence of the owner? Surely thats grounds for a law suit. They should be sued for that statement sef.

Na so now, i don't shop there. what are consumer association doing, na to read and laugh. naija i hail thee.

LOL! I laugh Because that statement CANNOT prevent them from liablity, if a case actually comes up in court.
Negligence is negilence.
Game cannot hide under the protection of such an absurd statement. They are basically telling their employees to act however they like to their customers. But sorry, that's crap, your employees are a reflection of your company, their negligence is your negligence. Game owners, go and ask your lawyers. Olishi! Onyeohi!

Nekky said...

plain crazy!!!!!.

Dont believe this.....will check it out myself...Linda Na lie.

I luv you so much linda.no be only small 'na so'

it means we're in naija, and u cant jst sue people for breaking a bone or two in their store, thehe!

Totally wrong! There is no exemption clause for death or injury...

Are u really that STUPID or u jst feel like commenting?

QF
Jeez wat knd of creepy mssg is dt? Il say DNT GO THERE NOMORE!!!

Naija and all their useless disclaimers.thats how I went to a dry cleaner and on their receipt they wrote hat they can't be responsible for any loss of cloth,damage,late delivery,misplacement and mixup,wrinkling or discoloration,tears,machine disfigurement or whatever.bla bla,almost a the whole leaflet to shed themselves of liability for anything so I'm not surprised but anyhow,in event of any suit for tortious negligence,my dear,the court disregards all these clauses they put like bad groundnut.who will regard it?them jus they write for themselves in,make whale come.they have duty of care,shikena!!

Besides,my bf once bought their UPS for his television at an exorbitant price and the thing doesn't last as much as Nepa light.Cant last u to put on ur gen sef.dude packed the shit up like sum sagging boobs so I dey beef that place sef

What rubbish are they driving at they should take time if not more loss of customers

Laziness and irresponsibility personified *hiss* Let something happen to a child in that place and let them start speaking English to the child's mother and we'll see what happens. Naija women can sha cause trouble. I don't blame them. Nigeria has provided the environment for people to come inside here and mess us up. "...even if it is caused by the negligence of the owner or its employees..." my foot.

In that case, I will not be held liable if I damage one of their items. Stupid fools

sakara said...

u see whywe keep complaining we dont have a govt, in a sane society, all d branches of game wt this stupid sign shd be under lock by now!

can they try this nonsense in south africa? so if ur staff spill water and a little child run over t and slip, its d child's biz???

oh no, Nigeria when r we going to wake up from our slumber?

pls lets do a total boycott of the stupid store afterall before they arrived, alaba boys were good wt their thing, so

justthatgirl said...

WTH?????? gwad....nothing wey person no go see for this foreigners in this land!!!!!!!!!! say wetin happen naa? that we are idiots? they had better start packing up cos this is the end of their biz in this Lagos. ANUOFIAs

Most of their electronics are sourced frm Alaba int mkt.

hot girl said...

its just incase boko haram hit them

their exclusion clause would be void in the event of any personal injury or death caused to another by them. they owe a duty of care to any customer that steps foot in their shop!

awosam said...

This SOUTH AFRICAN store has not dropped their APARTHEID and obviously arrogant and absurd attitude. Tufiakwa

Naujarian said...

Lol... But reading between the lines, I'm sure they been taught a lesson or two by some sharp Nigerians... I foresee a situation where one or two of their employees would have deliberately created unsafe environment for an accomplice to exploit. Bottomline, don't go there if you are a customer other na oyo get you

Nawaaaa ooooo

No problem here, like someone rightfully said, there's no exclusion clause when it comes to death or grievous harm. I can't wait for their first matter to happen, they will so pay through their noses, a disclaimer will not redeem them from their voluntary negligence coz they owe every single customer a duty of care. So everyone, RELAX!!! A.I.J.

lawyer said...

You r so right. The exclusion clause doesn't extend to negligence. So peeps don't be scared. If anytin happens they can't hide under this stupidity

For those of you who do things like Twitter and facebook,these are the accounts of the owners of GAME. Expose them online and this will be changed within hours.with social media, the power of the consumer is enormous.use it.

http://www.facebook.com/WinWithGame
http://twitter.com/#!/winwithgame

IAmhairs said...

@Iyaeto i do understand ur grief....if nt dat i dnt wanna gt all emotional ...if nt it i'ld refere those foreigners as bastards who hv nt only decided 2 feast on our dying economy bt also 2 take advantage of wonderful nigerian families jst cuz dey hv an edge in services offered......ROTF

This can not be placed outside their stores in SA. And the sad thing is they don't make half as much money in SA as they do in nija. May God help us.

Those guys at games should go and drink rat poison, how can they put up such a disclaimer, no be dia fault in 9ja anything goes, after smiling 2d bank wt our hard earned cash, they turn against us, idiotic pple, babanla wareeeeee!

The sign is bcos of boko haram threat. If boko haram bombs game,affected people can sue. This negligence Clause aint bout wet floors or whatever. It basically bcos of the bomb threat

Ruth Richards said...

Hahaha! Who's laughing? Hmmmmm! Me. Dy have got to be kidding me

Ruth Richards said...

Hahaha! Who's laughing? Hmmmmm! Me. Dy have got to be kidding me

Louisa A. said...

They'd better "axe their lawyers". That disclaimer aint worth shit!

that's called the exclusion clause, it protects the company. however, a defence towards this is unfair contract terms act (UCTA), which prevents the exclusion clause from applying to warnings or personal injuries. furthermore, if your items goes missing in the store, u cnt hold the store responsible.
Aisha

Femiluv said...

Like Kemi Amarachi, yep pretty much only happens in Nigeria. Never seen this in their store in SA or Botswana which are also massive.

promise michealz said...

Dats just plain stupid and rude and am so infuriated by dat, dey haff turned all nigerians 2 fools and animals dat dnt haff a say, I realy dnt blame dem, we nigerians accept anyfin and dnt complain. Bunch of incompetent fools,rubbiSh

so basically if a shelf of product falls on you and you suffer injuries you can't sue them.Only in Nigeria can these fools do this.

I will not be entering their store nor shopping there. We can stop this, by taking to twitter and retweeting till their management does something!

Na Bobo joor.... U cant exclude liability 4 of empolyees negligence. If that's d way, make we all dy wear Tshirt excluding 'our' negligence all around. Think its really stupid & Rude... Try that in Jand!!!!

AO said...

This would be my first comment ever but if Nigeria does have a sound legal system,an exclusion clause should never be able to exclude liability for personal injury or death. This is barbaric.

Sent u a tweet a few days back about how a casual worker fell through the roof and sustained injuries.He was working on the roof. The motto always for all of us should be safety first. Make issue happen,they are o so liable!

Abeg Iamhairs why are u Rolling On The Floor? Abi u no sabi the meaning of wetin you splash there?

NIGERIANS i say we boycott this f* store. With all there south African products

We should stop visiting their store

lizA said...

Any store with this kind of insensitive disclaimer should be boycotted. Rubbish!!!!!!

GIRLY GIRL said...

IT IS GOOD FOR WE NIJANS WITH OUR FOLLOW FOLLOW MENTALITY...READY TO CONSUME ANYTHING AT ANY COST....THE CHINESE COME AND DUMP ALL THEIR HAZARDOUS MADE IN CHINA PRODUCTS AND NIJA'S RUSH TO BUY..I SAY EVERYONE SHLD BOYCOTT THIS USELESS STORE AND BRING THIS TO THE ATTENTION OF THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE ..WHAT NONSENSE AND IMPETUS!!!!

Isn't there any sensible person here!
Its. A disclaimer viS a Vis the bomb threat... Haaa

lekan adewumi said...

Arrant nonsense

orange said...

They are crazy. Can they try that here in U.S. it's only in Africa. And this is because they know that nobody will do anything. In spite of this ludicrous warning, my peeps will still storm the shop daily just to prove that they are rich and can afford the junks they have on display. Shallow people.
Please, all serious minded people should boycott the mall, and paste notices around the mall for people to stay away. NGOs should step up their games and go on amber alert and serious awareness campaign against these disrespectful people. It is an insult on the people and government of Nigeria. They have no value for people's lives. If anybody drops dead or is electrocuted in their shop, the best they will do is call firebrigade to carry the corpse and if firebrigade has no water or fuel, they will call police and if those ones have to tire on their vehicle, they will call the person's next of kin, if he/she has an I.D on. Shioooo.
See if any of you have one little bit of respect left for yourselves, STAY AWAY FROM THE WORTHLESS SHOPS.

They have been harrassed, that is what. The message is stupid and they need a sensible attorney to advise. Make I ask sha. Why is it that when we get money, our children go begin behave like say dem parents don die long ago and na dem dey raise demselves? I can only imagine the monkeying from arrogant and untrained wealthy gamer kids that led to this sign. Money no be curse oh. It can bring good things to all who receive.

Lmao. I wonder

that sign simply means "stay away from this place". what else?

the white enchantress said...

hmmmmm......so sad dat some foreigners/companies can get away with anything in nigeria

The fear of Boko Haram is the beginning of common sense.

Game said...

Dear valued customers,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your concern regarding the Game signage that is currently found outside the Game store in Palms, Lekki. We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the words expressed in the message as we at Game stores take pride in serving our customers as best we can, with care and compassion, in all parts of Africa and South Africa where we operate. The signage in no way reflects those values that we hold and are currently in the process of replacing it. Please be patient while we address this issue.

Thank you once again,
Game