How I was robbed in an airplane. Passenger recounts midair bitter experience | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 May 2012

How I was robbed in an airplane. Passenger recounts midair bitter experience

How do you get robbed in an airplane? A passenger explained what happened to him to Daily Sun
I had travelled from Lagos to Port-Harcourt on Saturday, March, 10 2012, by 7.45a.m, in one of Nigeria’s airlines (name withheld by Daily Sun). The flight was smooth. When we touched down, an elderly man was complaining that his hand luggage had been swapped with another bag. I just laughed inside me, thinking that the man was not smart. I left the airport for the ceremony I went to attend in the Garden City.
I never knew it would be my turn to lament. As I opened my bag to bring out a bundle of N200 naira notes during the ceremony, I discovered that it had vanished. Evaporated into the thin air. The thing looked like cinema. I emptied my bag, searched and searched but the bundle of money was gone. It then dawned on me that the same fate that befell the man I disdained in the aircraft had befallen me.
Thankfully, I had my ATM card, which I used to withdraw money. I returned to Lagos the next day with the same airline, and after the plane had gained stability in the air, I asked to speak to the most senior air host. I gave my complaints, telling him it was informal, but just for his information.

They (two other crew members came to the back of the plane, beside the restroom) listened attentively to my story and sympathized deeply with me. But they gave me a rude shock when they said such happening was no longer new. According to them, it happens from Lagos to Port Harcourt, Lagos to Abuja, Lagos to Dubai, Lagos to  UK and Lagos to USA. Bags have been missing in the past, with more than half a million naira gone; dollars have disappeared along international routes. They further explained that once a traveller passes through screening at the airport, everything in the bag is known and the cartel will put one of their agents on board to carry out the ‘business.’ I asked them to make a move to stop the evil, but they just laughed and said the cartel was powerful.

I suppose people should not carry money in a bag when travelling by air. If you must carry cash or other valuables, maintain eye contact throughout the duration of the flight (no sleeping, or napping, no dulling). Once, the plane taxis to a stop, grab your luggage at once, else someone will block your view while you are seated and the other agent will carry out the ‘business.’

My wife is still lamenting that the missing money could have made some difference in the kitchen. Please alert air travellers to be vigilant about their valuables. We are really living in perilous times.
*The name of the reader who sent in this piece has been deliberately withheld.

81 comments:

Its not rocket science na, its only arik air that goes to all those routes mentioned. Since its not news to them, why won't they do something about it?if you ask me, they are all in all in it simples!!!!

Only a stupid person will leave money in their luggage what happen to your wallet or handbag....smh

Nigeria!

Sha- Sha- Sha- Shame!!!

Cee_Bill said...

Ok! 1st and foremost,its stupid 2 travel with soo much cash as dat. 2ndly,m quite shocked @ d statement made by d crew;"it happens buh not on such route as PH-Lagos",are yu shitting me? What's dat spose 2 mean. Please Nigeria has got 2 upgrade on security matters! And dat airline should be sued!!!

Seriously?........well i find it interesting that the only thing consistent in the story is LAGOS..Congrats your pick pockets have stepped up they have formed a cartel

Incredible!! If its has been noticed for more than once according to the air hosts and no effort is made to cub it. Then,we're in serious mess as a nation.this is airplane for God sake not molue.lord have mercy!!!. I doubt the sincerity of the hostess.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Never experienced it but anything is possible..

Nkem said...

I was on a flight from Lagos to Owerri where an elderly man who came into Nigeria from the U.S lost about 500k in the plane. He put his purse in the hand luggage compartment on top and when he got up to take it when the plane landed, his purse was still there but it was empty, the man cried. It was a terrible sight. Since then, I always put my bag under the seat in front of me, no dulling o.

I am, the no Sender. said...

The Nigerian and evil ingenuity. Most countries get scanners for their airport and use it for positive use. But what does Nigeria do? Go the extra mile to defraud, steal and kill.

I thank God for this info. Linda thanks.

if it is going to all that route it is definitely ARIK AIR as that is the only nigerian airline coming to the usa with all those route mentioned

Only one airline goes to USA.. arik air.
Publish.this.comment or not Linda. U know I'm right

that aint good at all, well guess i was lucky during mine cos i left 10000 in my bag, thank u Lord

Professor X said...

When I travel, my passport and cash are always in a sling bag on my body. No sleeping, napping or dulling!

Vking said...

na waooooooo...only in Nigeria such evil will happen.God have mercy

i think we all know its Arik Air........Shame

is true. On my flight from Lagos to Houston this past January, all my bags came out from the plan unlocked, locks missing. I locked them before I handed my bag over after they searched it. I was speechless. Thank God all I had in them were dirty clothes and underwear. My friends bags on flight from lagos to port harcourt last December was vandalized along with everyone on board arik air. Because of this new development, I have no business flying within Naija. There's breech of security within the Airport. Those useless airport workers who harass international travelers and collect bribes are not working. They have no business being at the entrance/exit. They need to be at the docking station. I'm still trying to figure out who to talk to that will handle this situation to the core. Cartel or no Cartel, them thieves are not powerful.

Sexy gal said...

how do you get robbed in an airplane? Now you know....but biko why are people carrying millions in cash on board whatever happened to bank transfers??

This is no news, it has been happening for a long time. A friend of mine lost all his belonging enroute london to lagos and they stuffed his box with tubbers of yams and cartons. he found out when he got home

Linda! I bow for ya heading ohh. It was misleading cos i was finking ROBBED with guns & all dose fins. This isnt new for frequents travellers lyk us. U̶̲̥̅̊ must neva dull urself wen flying & its nt advisable †Æ ̴̴͡ fly overloaded self cos of d level @ which infos leaked bout what is in one's possession.
....Olusegun

9jalifer said...

The fool who didn't watch his money got what he deserved.

Fuck Nigeria right now. Nigerians should look beyond the stupid material things they aim to acquire and realise that we are in a fucked country. Nigeria cannot change if the government and citizens are corrupt.

na woo, i wont be relax again even after paying so much

Sorry to say but the writer is not wise. If you have to carry money on you, you should keep it on your person at all times or in a bag that you can keep under you seat. This happens all over the world, not just in Nigeria.

The more u look d less u see....

This is very sad, u can't travel with peace of mind; because someone that works with ARIK feels what you bought is better for them than for you.

Ladies try to put all valuables, money, jewelry etc that can pass security clearance in ur handbags.
Even here TSA dey thief they stole my in-laws camera and padlocked the box for him...the funny part homeboy no lock box.....o_O

yes I said it said...

This is very true, I was travelling on arik air in febuary to new york and after 15mins after we were in the air some guy comes to my seat pretending dat he was asking an important question about the flight(u know arik flight from lag to ny is never full when its not december), after answering his question he lingered then I knew he was up to something.the looser then started chatting me up and I was 100% sure he was a theif cause why would a full blooded nigerian man want to chat up an obviously pregnant woman when they were many good looking girls on the flight???? After I dismissed him rudely he moved on to another single lady, when we got to NY after picking up our luggages I noticed the lady complaining to some people dat her money was missing and they later went up to some airport official but by then a lot of the people in the flight had left the airport. Its sad cause these thiefs come in all forms

Misleading how? Does 'being robbed' only involve use of guns? Why do u think people say, 'robbed at gunpoint'? Wouldn't it then be tautology?

U r obviously a thief.

people should stop being fake and reporting gist as if it happened to them.. i have flown arik air lagos to newyork 3 times and nothing like that has been reported and for your info Arik does not fly to houston so i wonder where the tampered bags/arik houston comment came from. i have travelled with money on the domestic routes and i dont have to declare money that is in my bag unless i have to. i gurantee you that those that were robbed had information leaked out from their homes and offices because the thieves know the specific bags to open and the cash is usually in a carry on bag that they take into the cabin. i have experienced someone caught opening another passengers bags in full view of other passengers,taking advantage of the fact that passengers want to settle into there seats for departure.
It happens on BA,Airfrance and the best of them so stop attacking our Nigerian carrier e.g Arik. Those who want to verify should ask around and not showcase their ignorance and lack of travel experienced. Be proud of your own brand and leave your slave mentality behind...

R u sure itz nt JUJU THIEF...jst finking sha

If na me,e go dey my wallet and my inner pocket,dem no born the thief well.Cartel my yansh.

I live in the US. Arik just sucks! I took a local flight and it was delayed for hours and no explanation was forth coming. i vowed never to take them again. For the rest of my local travels I used Dana and I was very impressed. Every single flight (there was a lot) was super on time with take off and landing!

O ga o.Happened to my friend on his way to South Africa.Hrd about it when he called me for legal advice.Their staff at Head Office said its common in SA and dat even their boss's luggage got ransacked.Luckily they replaced his camera and gave him compensation money.

Its still amazes me that people who can afford to pay flight fares engage in this kind of act. Since I heard all these stories, I had to shine eye oh! All valuables; Passport, Money and Jewelry are kept in my hand luggage which I put under the seat in front of me and then I place my legs on the bag in case its a long distance flight and I sleep off...Every time I wake up, I check to make sure all is intact because I don't want story.

Hahahahahaha

webround said...

1) Common sense demands that if you have cash, you would carry it on you when travelling.

2) It seems from this man's story that it was his hand luggage that was 'broken' into. Does it mean he did not place the hand luggage in the bin directly over his seat or that he was not paying attention to the folks who had to take something from the overhead compartment?

3)For those who are blaming Arik, remember that this money was supposedly stolen from a hand luggage in an overhead bin; I have not yet been on a flight where the attendants 'stop' you when you stand up to take something from an overhead bin; the assumption is always that you are 'touching' your own luggage. It is expected that someone who has valuables would be on the lookout when someone goes to the overhead bin where your luggage is.

4) For the person who said he/she traveled by Arik and arrived in the USA to find out his locks had been broken -I rejoice with you too that nothing was taken but this also happens in the US. TSA randomly selects luggage and physically open it. Sometimes they put a note in your bag that this bag was searched, other times, they don't. Several times I have picked up my bag and the found the padlock broken. At a point I stopped locking my checked in bags

ONOME says..........
lolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
I'm sorry.I found the story really hilarious.Thieves have infiltrated the airlines and the sorry excuse the airline authority gives is"it's not new"...Na wa o.
Thanks for the info o.i didn't know someone could be so bold as to rob an over head hand luggage.Still trying to understand it sha.When I travel max amount on me is less than £1000 and it is in my handbag in front of me.But wait o,if I want to do number 2 in the toilet how do I secure my bag?Do I carry it with me?make them BA/Air France think say I be underwear bomber?It's a no win situation i guess.Anyhow thanks for this,I would definitely be more alert now.

Lmao

These things happen everywhere, ITS NOT AN EXCUSE THO!
Reminds me of when my dad flew from Geneva to Birmingham, he found his luggage open with baby socks stuffed into it.... Thank God none of his personal ish got missing... pilferers are just everywhere!

Theft at airports is not anything new and occurs world wide. A family member of mine was robbed of new clothes that she bought with the tags still attached and this was in the USA. While one cannot carry all of their clothes on board an airplane, one should always carry their money on their person in a location that a thief cannot access without you knowing. I prefer to carry my cash in my bra and such. I would like to see what thief will dare to put their hands in my bra without me screamin RAPE and having them beaten to a pulp. If you must travel with millions of cash in any currency simply do a wire transfer instead of risking your life and hard earn money. And don't go to sleep on any public transportation. Stay wide awake and vigilant ready to defend what is yours including your life.

Point is, if you are flying within Naija do not check your bag in unless you are sure that flight is leaving. If it is not, ask for your checked bags back. Carry very important things with you under the sit in front of you. Is not only Arik air. in 2004 my aunt flew Areo to Owerri and all my bags I gave her were cut open; half a pair shoes were gone plus other things. Same things happens on ground transportation as well.

Alertpay account said...

Whatelse will nigerians not do?

How to browse free said...

This is very uncomfortable to hear, but i guess as we are in nigeria, we should already know that anything bad is possible. Stay alert stay safe.

Buk admission said...

#nigeriamustbealert mood activated. If you want to survive in Nigeria. Stay very much alert. This happens to me once.

In my opinion, the cartel may actually include some of the Arik crew themselves given that all the instances mentioned appear Arik related.

T4Toyin said...

Wow this sucks majorly! Pele ehn! Na wa oo Naija, I tire ooo

sexychic said...

AIR NIGERIA!!!!!!

even d ground ppl will beg you to take all ur valuables away. cos dey know what is going on.

they av cliques dat work together.

air travel in nigeria is just like d govt now. corrupt ass holes.
AiR NIGERIA number 1.
Arik number 2.

as crazy as aero is, ur luggage is still safer with dem dan any oda airline.

*** linda, post dis o ******

Oponu! Try nd liv 200k in ur wallet na...kmt

This is the embodiment of DEMOCRACY: free flow of information,ideas,and opinions: freedom of expressions. There's no better place to read as disparate and wild responses as these than on a Naija blog! Wow!

Johnson O. said...

Linda, please be more circumspect in the use of words. It was quite alarming to imagine that passengers were robbed in the air! This would have added a new dimension to criminality in Nigeria. The story actually pointed to the fact that money was pilfered or stolen. Robbery means forceful dispossession of property and from your report, that never happened.

Nevertheless, it is shameful that an airline can admit that such incidences occur on a regular basis perpetuated by a syndicate and nothing has been done to arrest the situation including using covert means to trap the perpetrators and bring them to book.

If you use TSA padlock, you don't have to worry about broken padlocks again. They do random searching, unlock the tsa padlocks and lock them back after searching.

U̶̲̥̅̊ must b arik air manager

B LOGLORD said...

When am travelling locally or internationally, i put my dough in my panties WITH a zipper. make d thief come naked me take d money naw.

Oya lemme help d houston victim whose bags were searched but nothing stolen. You were what is termed as a "random security check" in the US. If your bags are locked with a non tsa approved lock, they are allowed to break it and search your bag. I'm sure you saw a paper in your bag stating all of these but u declined to mention this so ur gist can be sweet, my friend pls park properly. #okbye

Maggie said...

Hmmm...very soon na pick pocket naija go dey do for plane. They have turned plane to "International Molue".

BLOGLORD said...

burr like seriously obviously some people here havent travelled before. na make e no be say dem de carryt last. pls enlighten me which arik flight goes to houston????abi another arik don comeout wen i nor know??
arik is to newyork then u transit.

A thief can easily retrieve a bag under d seat while sleeping.

toby said...

I dont understand why people use the word fool here, people are expected to make decent comments and not insults. U smart ones wait until it happens to you. Big things start small, if this security issue on these airplanes is not properly tackled we may end up seeing pirates hijack planes and ask peoples families for ransome then i will know whether you smart ones will be safe. Pls linda learn to edit those comments with offensive languages. You are doing a good job, keep it up.

toby said...

I dont understand why people use the word fool here, people are expected to make decent comments and not insults. U smart ones wait until it happens to you. Big things start small, if this security issue on these airplanes is not properly tackled we may end up seeing pirates hijack planes and ask peoples families for ransome then i will know whether you smart ones will be safe. Pls linda learn to edit those comments with offensive languages. You are doing a good job, keep it up.

I have experienced it. I was going to the UK with my mom on BA, she had Gold jewelries to give some people in the UK worth over a million Naira. We didnt realize any damage had been done to our luggage until we got to our hotel in the UK. It was a sad vacation. Cos we tried to get the airline to do something about it but nothing happened. I can remember that one of the guys at the customs followed us to the lounge area where u board. It was a sad experience anyway!

We all know its ARIK AIR,they should be grounded and i advise all not to fly that God forsaken airline...who are the cartel???cant believe the cabin crew said that...so sad for a nigeriam airline..SMH

I misplaced my handset on my way to Lagos from Calabar (Aero Contractors). For a long time I could'nt figure out how that could have happened 'cos I remember putting the phone in my back pack shortly before boarding. After reading this story, I'm pretty convinced that the phone was fapped.
P.S; I kept d bag in the hand luggage compartment.

@ anon 10.54pm...
.I agree with u,it happens everywere.....in every country and every airline....so 4 people who take delight in insultin 9ja...well done oooo...I hv been on flights in diff countries n dis happens all d time.....just be wise n pray it doesn't get 2 ur turn

Damie said...

TIP: If you have to put your hand luggage in the overhead compartment, always put it in the one across from your seat so you can always have your eye on it.
thats a usueful tip i picked up.

the small things matter

damie

But it is common sense to keep money on your person when ever and where ever. Noone can be trusted the passenger sitting beside you included. I was in dallas in march but came from the uk and all personal belongings especially money was kept on my persons but this has alerted me more since i am going to naija in september/october.........no dulling ni yen o

the white enchantress said...

hahahahaha BLOGLORD.....e go surprise you say dem go unzip am collect and na shock go make you de look the person as e de waka de go....neva underestimate our naija. this one there is cartel, it shows boldness.

It is not only in Nigeria that these sort of things happens- I was robbed of all my money in Brazil too- exactly the same scenario! A friend of mine was on a flight from New York to London and woke up to find that all her money was gone and that the thief had even replaced the contents of her bag with newspapers, which was why she had not realised that her money was gone until she got to passport control- fortunately, the thief was kind enough to leave her passport alone or else explaining to immigration would have been wahala

Anonymous@8.40PM did you not read the article??? The passenger left the money in their carry-on bag!!!

Thank u o, i no trust airhostess or pilot talkless of passenger

Unavailable said...

bloglord yii o fe gba o

der's no doubt dat ur a leading role in d cartel, i am certain if nt y wil u b tlkin bout supportin brand wen ppl re bin robbed, yeah ryt sm stories myt be fake bt smre definitely tru, so i'll advice u to jst repent from dis theft.

Nigerian Jobs said...

LOL,Money in pants bros?But come ooh nah true sha dats d safest place for ur dough,lwkm,Naija we lawys find a way to survive.

For all those who keep saying "it happens everywhere"...maybe. But i bet you it is only in naija that the attitude is "oh, it is not news anymore....the cartel is strong....." This is another example of NAIJA FRAUDULENT CREATIVITY and it is shameful.

the white enchantress said...

lolzzzz......abeg BLOGLORD no kill me with laff......so arik doesnt go to houston.....hahahahaha.

Naijabizcom said...

when next you in an airplane and you see your hand luggage suddenly develop legs please don't be afraid to shout Ole, ole ........

Sorry oh, just bumped in on this. I'm a very regular flyer... Sometimes 3 times a week, I know Arik is notorious for delayed flights, but I'm not in any doubt this is a smear campaign. On countless occasions I have carried millions in the overhead lockers and didn't lose a dime. Some of the comments i see here must be from ppl who know next to nothing about airport processes. The TSA locks has been explained. On local Nigerian flights due to security concerned you are made to select ur luggage before the plane leaves, so from the time ur luggage is checked in to when u see it again is quite short... And you should actually see how these bags are stacked, nobody has the time to ransack ur bags in front of CCTV. When some ppl don't have money to buy present for their friends and relatives they cook up cock and bull stories of lost luggages and stolen items. Pls find some better ways to drive traffic to your blog, and stop spoiling our name. We Nigerians have been bartered enough.

sophie said...

These happened 2 my friend last year decemeber on a flight from lagos to calabar,her box was unlocked & ransacked. She lost 150k out of the 200k she had in her box,with her prefumes n gold jewelries. Arik airline operatives are high class pickpockets

Forreal men

WOW that's crazy... 
( :D )

/ \ ,
' ‎​. Alot for d info and i must say U̶̲̥̅̊ are very smart †̥O̅ sence that bastards move on um

This is sad. Noted! Btw, this probably happens in all countries though it has never happened to me!

nice post dude